• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Phenom X3 2.3GHz Tested

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
AMD Phenom X3 is supposed to fill the gap between today's dual-core and quad-core processors. First results with the new line of CPUs emerged earlier this weekend. The German site PCGamesHardware has tested AMD Phenom X3 working at 2.3GHz using AMD 790FX motherboard, 2x1GB PC2-6400 RAM (CL5-5-5-15), one NVIDIA 8800 GTX OC (626MHz core, 1458MHz shader and 1000MHz memory) and Windows Vista 32-bit OS.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
144 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
Processor Intel E8400 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte EP35
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P w/ dual NF-P12
Memory G.Skill 2x1GB DDR2-800 @ 650MHz
Video Card(s) HD 3870 512MB
Storage WD 250GB, Sammy 80GB, WD 80GB, Seagate 80GB
Display(s) HP w2408h
Case CoolerMaster ATCS 840
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 850w Modular
Software Windows Vista Business 64-bit, Ubuntu 9.04, Windows XP Pro SP2
#2
Pretty good results. If priced right, these can be successful. If these really are quad-cores where one core isn't working, then AMD can save some good money!

These are expected around mid-Q2 2008, right?
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.72/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#3
Pretty good results. If priced right, these can be successful. If these really are quad-cores where one core isn't working, then AMD can save some good money!
they are, at least thats what is being said...
I don't think you could activate the 4th core though... its damaged anyway... :laugh:
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
144 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
Processor Intel E8400 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte EP35
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P w/ dual NF-P12
Memory G.Skill 2x1GB DDR2-800 @ 650MHz
Video Card(s) HD 3870 512MB
Storage WD 250GB, Sammy 80GB, WD 80GB, Seagate 80GB
Display(s) HP w2408h
Case CoolerMaster ATCS 840
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 850w Modular
Software Windows Vista Business 64-bit, Ubuntu 9.04, Windows XP Pro SP2
#4
they are, at least thats what is being said...
I don't think you could activate the 4th core though... its damaged anyway... :laugh:
Well, in that case, if they are quad cores with a defective core then AMD is making a really nice move! Instead of throwing out the bad chips and wasting money (they AMD has little of) they are selling them as triple-core processors :) And their performance isn't even that bad either!

This is something Intel probably couldn't really do as it would cost them more money since their quad-core is two duals glued together :laugh:.
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#5
Intel has a different scheme. Dies with one defective core become low power notebook chips. A correctly working die, that draws lots of power is a low end unit. The high end dies are ones that draw lease amount of power. The highest binned chips are the low power high freq units, those are the quads.
 

Sh00t1st

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
371 (0.08/day)
Likes
25
Location
Austin,Texas
System Name Battlefield 3
Processor Phenom II x3 715 heka unlocked to x4 3.3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE ga-ma785g-ud3h
Cooling arctic cooling freezer 64 pro
Memory 4 gig ddr2
Video Card(s) saphire 5770
Storage 60gb mushkin ssd,120 and 160 gig ide
Display(s) 1 19" crt, 2 17" crt
Case 30 dollar gaming case with fan grills removed
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 450 corsair
Software windows 7
Benchmark Scores Plays battlefield 3 well enough that i was ranked 1st globally in vehicles for november and december
#6
i hate how the chips always say they are from the year before, what confidence to know a brand new chip is already a year old in the companys eyes lol.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.72/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#7
i hate how the chips always say they are from the year before, what confidence to know a brand new chip is already a year old in the companys eyes lol.
haha! well i think its because it was delayed so much
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.74/day)
Likes
379
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
#8
"AMD Phenom X3 is supposed to fill the gap between today's dual-core and quad-core processors."

Phenom X3 2.3GHz get 2575 is 3DMark06 CPU score, I get 2627 with my dual @ 3GHz, so mine is better \o/ :p @2.66GHz I get 2367, so 2.3 GHz would be ~2100 and that would be a lot more than Phenom X2. Now if they make those X3s near same price as Core 2 Duos, then AMD got a winner :)
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,936 (1.36/day)
Likes
825
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#9
dont by fooled by the 2006 cpu score.. its a single core x 3.. your dual is a single core x 2.. being as most things stiil just use one of the cores its the single core score that really tells u how fast the things are..

sandra does pretty much the same thing.. pretends a quad core is 4 x as fast as a single.. which of course is utter rubbish in a world which is mostly single thread still..

trog
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
1,455 (0.34/day)
Likes
43
Location
The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
Processor custom dupont risk chip cpu prototype
Motherboard custom ibm x5 solid state carbon mainboard
Cooling industrial technologies prototype dupont custom heat transfer unit
Memory 6x 2gig prototype ecc hnc ddr4
Video Card(s) prototype low energy version nvidia 9 series unnumberd card
Storage 1tb solid state hdd
Display(s) 44 inch samsung plasma screen tv/monitor
Case custom ibm mobile home server case
Audio Device(s) custom Yamaha sound processing processor in spm format
Power Supply 1200watt deli cord custom made dupont type psu
Software sun unix/windows type v
#10
well done AMD, thanks for triggering another Intel price cut, any ideas on how much these triple core cpu's will cost?
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#11
I can't understand why people are pleased with these results. Intel's aging quad core beats all of AMD's new chips fairly easily at stock, and I have to believe the new 45nm chips will absolutely destroy them in benchmarks. Were also not mentioning how easily Intel's chips can OC, gaining more performance for price while staying cool. The Phenom 9500 on NewEgg is almost the same price as the Q6600, it's bugged or so I hear, and gets outperformed. The only thing ATI & AMD got right in my book in the last year or so is the 3800 series.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,201 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,799
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
thats not a big jump vs the CPU with Lower Clocks. So it appears its making progress.
"AMD Phenom X3 is supposed to fill the gap between today's dual-core and quad-core processors."

Phenom X3 2.3GHz get 2575 is 3DMark06 CPU score, I get 2627 with my dual @ 3GHz, so mine is better \o/ :p @2.66GHz I get 2367, so 2.3 GHz would be ~2100 and that would be a lot more than Phenom X2. Now if they make those X3s near same price as Core 2 Duos, then AMD got a winner :)
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.74/day)
Likes
379
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
#13
I can't understand why people are pleased with these results. Intel's aging quad core beats all of AMD's new chips fairly easily at stock, and I have to believe the new 45nm chips will absolutely destroy them in benchmarks. Were also not mentioning how easily Intel's chips can OC, gaining more performance for price while staying cool. The Phenom 9500 on NewEgg is almost the same price as the Q6600, it's bugged or so I hear, and gets outperformed. The only thing ATI & AMD got right in my book in the last year or so is the 3800 series.
Not everyone overclocks despite how it looks so looking at techpowerup users as a medium xD AMD has been faster in real games with similarly priced processors, don't know if they still are. Not all Core 2s stay cool while OCing. My chip goes superhot if you up the voltage a bit. Same for that Q6600, if it's not G0 stepping.
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
919 (0.24/day)
Likes
239
Location
Florida
Processor Core I7 5930k @ 4.6ghz 1.28v / Core I7 4770k @ 4.6ghz 1.25v
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe / MSI Z87 Mpower
Cooling H220x modded / Swiftech H220 modded
Memory 16gb ddr4 Corsair Dominator 2800mhz / 16gb ddr3 2400 G.Skill Sniper Series
Video Card(s) R9 290x + 2 R9 290s / EVGA 780 Hydro Copper
Storage Sandisk 480gb / Samsung 840 pro 256gb OS drive,1.5TB WD Black 64mb, 6TB WD/Seagate, 840 evo 240
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2711 / Dell UltraSharp U2711
Case Obsidian 750D /Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Creative ZXR / Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic x1200 plat / Cooler master v1000 gold
Software Win 8.1/ Win 7
#14
Not everyone overclocks despite how it looks so looking at techpowerup users as a medium xD AMD has been faster in real games with similarly priced processors, don't know if they still are. Not all Core 2s stay cool while OCing. My chip goes superhot if you up the voltage a bit. Same for that Q6600, if it's not G0 stepping.
first off you are right not everyone overclocks...i didnt oc my e6420 until i decided that i was going to buy a new processor which i still havent bought yet ....
second amds athlon cpus were so good... i did not expect the improvement that the phenoms would be leaps and bounds overthem for the simple fact that they were already at a high....on the other hand
the p4s and the pentium ds... sucked so badly the only way for intel to go was up...not down...and if it werent for amd it would not be this way...
intel had to do something...and it did and i am glad....i
reviews have also shown that the nehalem or whatever and these yorkfields do not yield substantial improvement to be labeled as revolutionary products...IMHO i really do believe that yorkfield and nehalem are just improvements in the core architecture...the last one might be a new marchitecture but it is not leaps and bounds as of yet...it may be...and it might not be...
furthermore the phenom although quite unimpressive given its current state is no way at its best...and we must not forget that
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,111 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#15
first off you are right not everyone overclocks...i didnt oc my e6420 until i decided that i was going to buy a new processor which i still havent bought yet ....
second amds athlon cpus were so good... i did not expect the improvement that the phenoms would be leaps and bounds overthem for the simple fact that they were already at a high....on the other hand
the p4s and the pentium ds... sucked so badly the only way for intel to go was up...not down...and if it werent for amd it would not be this way...
intel had to do something...and it did and i am glad....i
reviews have also shown that the nehalem or whatever and these yorkfields do not yield substantial improvement to be labeled as revolutionary products...IMHO i really do believe that yorkfield and nehalem are just improvements in the core architecture...the last one might be a new marchitecture but it is not leaps and bounds as of yet...it may be...and it might not be...
furthermore the phenom although quite unimpressive given its current state is no way at its best...and we must not forget that
athlon64 was great... until the first core2 hit the market. from then on, intel has been in the lead and this doesnt help AMD get anywhere near intel. - dont forget this is compared to the Q6600 (kentsfield) and the new 45nm penryn is on its way out... and they are clocked a lot higher, and can do 4Ghz easily on air cooling. AMD cant keep up.


Not everyone overclocks despite how it looks so looking at techpowerup users as a medium xD AMD has been faster in real games with similarly priced processors, don't know if they still are. Not all Core 2s stay cool while OCing. My chip goes superhot if you up the voltage a bit. Same for that Q6600, if it's not G0 stepping.
i've seen that with allendale chips mostly. (and the new variants, 2MB conroes) on the E4x00 series. I guess they were the failures, and thats why they got dropped to budget chips
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#16
My athlon 64 still does a fine job.
Wonder what the price of these are going to be and the life span?

Will game devs use 3 cores in the future or will thay jump straight to utilizing 4 cores?
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#17
I believe multithreaded means that it takes advantage of any cores there. Doesn't matter how many cores you have.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,111 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#19
+1 to that - supreme commander scales well enough, on a quad core i can simply set the affinity to less cores and watch my FPS drop with each one.

to the AMD people: i have an FX-62 here as well (bought off this forum, in fact) and its got NOTHING on the intels for gaming. even at 3Ghz, it cant match a CPU at 1/8th its price (E6750) at stock, let alone OC'd. (gaming, not benchmarks - the AMD system sucks at supreme commander even with the same video card)
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
919 (0.24/day)
Likes
239
Location
Florida
Processor Core I7 5930k @ 4.6ghz 1.28v / Core I7 4770k @ 4.6ghz 1.25v
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe / MSI Z87 Mpower
Cooling H220x modded / Swiftech H220 modded
Memory 16gb ddr4 Corsair Dominator 2800mhz / 16gb ddr3 2400 G.Skill Sniper Series
Video Card(s) R9 290x + 2 R9 290s / EVGA 780 Hydro Copper
Storage Sandisk 480gb / Samsung 840 pro 256gb OS drive,1.5TB WD Black 64mb, 6TB WD/Seagate, 840 evo 240
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2711 / Dell UltraSharp U2711
Case Obsidian 750D /Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Creative ZXR / Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic x1200 plat / Cooler master v1000 gold
Software Win 8.1/ Win 7
#20
+1 to that - supreme commander scales well enough, on a quad core i can simply set the affinity to less cores and watch my FPS drop with each one.

to the AMD people: i have an FX-62 here as well (bought off this forum, in fact) and its got NOTHING on the intels for gaming. even at 3Ghz, it cant match a CPU at 1/8th its price (E6750) at stock, let alone OC'd. (gaming, not benchmarks - the AMD system sucks at supreme commander even with the same video card)
you must understand that and amd of yesterday is not gonna seriously beat or contend with its successor...

and to the guy who replied to my post...i think you miss the point... i basically meant that the leaps in improvements from the a64 to phenom should not be that great early...in the long run we will see the benefit alot more...thats why we have a thing called revisions...the leap from the athlon xps to the 64s were enormous because it was a change in the marchitectural structure and design...in reference to the phenom being a change like that is absurd in more ways than one... a look at DAAMITs roadmap would show this....

also all amd need is just to recoup as much as possible...and to tell you the truth...the reason why you can go to newegg and still see the first batch of phenom 9500 available is because thats the low end...and no one building a system around their so called spider system wants to build it with a weak processor when they know that if they already have an am2 proc they can tough it out so to speak and wait for the better processors that will/should be arriving shortly...i for one is doing that and i own both a am2 sys and a core2...i support em all....i run nvidias chipsets/gpus...intels cpu/chipsets/even gpu (laptop)...amds chipset(790fx)/gpu/and of course their cpus

So no fanboi here im an avid supporter of them all and i will be getting a q9450, phenom black ed(higher than 2.3 stock), another 3870 and if the 3870 x2 can run cx withe the 3870 then i will just substitute that instead, another 8800gt and i might just change my intel mobo...
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
1,044 (0.22/day)
Likes
42
Location
Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
System Name Jezebelle
Processor FX6300 @4.5GHz
Motherboard Biostar A880GZ
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD 7870 Tahiti 2GB
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 480GB, Sammy 1TB F3
Display(s) BenQ Xl2411Z
Case Acer Aspire T180 stealth case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 7.1 HD, does the job!
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software 7 Pro
#21
+1 to that - supreme commander scales well enough, on a quad core i can simply set the affinity to less cores and watch my FPS drop with each one.

to the AMD people: i have an FX-62 here as well (bought off this forum, in fact) and its got NOTHING on the intels for gaming. even at 3Ghz, it cant match a CPU at 1/8th its price (E6750) at stock, let alone OC'd. (gaming, not benchmarks - the AMD system sucks at supreme commander even with the same video card)
I have the same cpu at the same speed as yours, I can't understand your problem with gaming tho, I only have issues with Crysis but then again I've only got 2GB or ram and a 256MB x1950 Pro! Also, where can I buy an E6750 for 1/8th of the price of an FX-62? The cheapest I've found a retail E6750 in the UK is £116 but the fx-62 can commonly be purchased on fleabay for similar dough if rip-off merchants are avoided, they're not as common a chip I believe! :eek:
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
1,044 (0.22/day)
Likes
42
Location
Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
System Name Jezebelle
Processor FX6300 @4.5GHz
Motherboard Biostar A880GZ
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD 7870 Tahiti 2GB
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 480GB, Sammy 1TB F3
Display(s) BenQ Xl2411Z
Case Acer Aspire T180 stealth case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 7.1 HD, does the job!
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software 7 Pro
#22
Oh, and GO AMD WOOT WOOT! :D
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#23
Hell yeah, yall are right. I sincerely hope that is what AMD is doing. Makes alot of sense and they could also make X2s if two cores were damaged or no good. If they did it that way, they wouldnt have to have two different lines tooled to make x2s and x4s <G>
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#24
Not bad...
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,111 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#25
I have the same cpu at the same speed as yours, I can't understand your problem with gaming tho, I only have issues with Crysis but then again I've only got 2GB or ram and a 256MB x1950 Pro! Also, where can I buy an E6750 for 1/8th of the price of an FX-62? The cheapest I've found a retail E6750 in the UK is £116 but the fx-62 can commonly be purchased on fleabay for similar dough if rip-off merchants are avoided, they're not as common a chip I believe! :eek:
The FX chips cost a ton here in aus, so it will be different overseas. The sup com issue is odd, but may just be related to the expansion - everything runs great on the two intel systems, but slow as poop on the AMD system with the 8600GT.

Price wise, the FX-62 retails for $1100 in aus, while my quad core goes for $350.

However the phenom just hit the market here, around $350 for the quad 9500 model. This puts aside my price concerns, however i do think the performance will be lacking compared to intel... so these tri-cores better have a good price advantage when they hit.