1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD R9 290 4GB - awesome potenial!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by kvist1992, Nov 15, 2013.

  1. kvist1992

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vejle, Denmark
    Hi guys!

    This is my very first thread here on Techpowerup, and I hope I've placed it in the right subforum! :D

    I got one of the very first AMD Radeon R9 290 4GB cards here in Denmark, and why not start with a little OC?

    Setup:
    - Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4,2GHz
    - AMD Radeon R9-290
    - 2x4GB DDR3-2400 RAM
    - 750w XFX Pro series PSU

    Settings:
    - ASIC = 69,9%
    - GPU = ~1.200-1.235 MHz (947 MHz)
    - RAM = 5.700-5.800 MHz (5.000 MHz)
    - vGPU = 1.412v (1.1250v)
    - Power = 150%
    - Target temp. = 84C
    - Max. FAN = 70%

    Performance:
    3DMark Vantage: 42.998
    http://hwbot.org/submission/2449097_kvist1992_3dmark_vantage___performance_radeon_r9_290_42998_marks
    [​IMG]

    3DMark11: 15.174
    http://hwbot.org/submission/2450197_kvist1992_3dmark11___performance_radeon_r9_290_15174_marks
    [​IMG]

    3DMark Firestrike: 10.748
    http://hwbot.org/submission/2448871_kvist1992_3dmark___fire_strike_radeon_r9_290_10748_marks
    [​IMG]

    3DMark Firestrike Extreme: 5.522
    http://hwbot.org/submission/2449027_kvist1992_3dmark___fire_strike_extreme_radeon_r9_290_5522_marks
    [​IMG]

    At 70% FAN the card makes a lot of noise, but not more worse, than I still can be in the same room!

    I'm amazed by the stockcooler performance. But I also had to made some changes to the card.

    I used a ASUS BIOS on the card, and therefore I can use the vGPU function in ASUS GPU Tweak. This opens up for a lot more OC pontential than the card offer out of the box. :rockout:

    Hope you liked my first thread!

    Cheers from Denmark!

    //Kvist
     
    manofthem says thanks.
  2. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    736 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    SO basically with a watercooled (=no noise) 290 non-X you can have Titan's performance... cool stuff! BUt that 1.4v on the core... hopefully the card's stock VRMs will last...
     
  3. kvist1992

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vejle, Denmark
    #1

    Yep! That is pretty awesome! The performance in benchmarks beats 780TI with about 5%! :toast:

    I used a voltmeter to check up on the voltage. The real voltage is 1.35v :)
     
  4. Raptorpowa

    Raptorpowa

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    48 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I'll wait till mantle comes out then I will decide on the gpu, but then again I'm rocking 3x 7950 I should be ok and wait for 20 nm gpu :) Congrats on the ewasome gpu tho.
     
  5. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,974 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,828
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Both your GPU and CPU core voltages are a little on the high side o_O
     
  6. kvist1992

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vejle, Denmark
    Yeah i know, but the CPU runs stable at 4,3Ghz at 1,2v now ;) Its only AMD who needs that high voltage. :)
     
  7. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    736 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Ofc we always have to account for a 780TI oc'ed... in which case EVGA actually sells a 1000mhz model which is like 15% morethan stock (and still stock volt). Much more expensive than a 290 though :D
     
  8. kvist1992

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vejle, Denmark
    That sounds like a diiirty card!! :nutkick:

    I spend $510 on the card. The price here in the Nordics sucks....
     
  9. kvist1992

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vejle, Denmark
    3 x HD7950 ROCKS! And thanks! I think I've got a very special card. The potential is awesome!:)
     
  10. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,389 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Just over $7 LESS then over here.

    Great performance @ a far more affordable price :toast:
     
  11. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    736 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    the asus card is around 360GBP in the UK. That's 580USD according to google.

    Fun fact: according to Techpowerup review: "•According to AMD, the Radeon R9 290 will retail for $399."
     
  12. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    6,022 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,059
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    5,210 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,991
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
  14. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,389 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    That's after shipping and tax for the various countries: some have them much pricier then we do, unfortunately :(
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2013
  15. kvist1992

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Vejle, Denmark
    The Titan cost about 7.000 DKK or $1.300,, Our prices sucks.. It's a little better from UK and Germany!
     
  16. Eroticus

    Eroticus

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    660 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Israel
    290 In israel around 572 USD ×.×
     
  17. purecain

    purecain

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    712 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    195
    good going with the OC... impressive results... guttered for you, that you didn't get a 290x in disguise, but it looks like the quality of the rest of the silicon is high...

    I just bought one already flashed and paid an extra 30quid NOT FOR THE FLASH, but to make sure its a 290x as I already own one and want to use crossfire with the extra shaders...

    felt a bit wrong though, ive kind of took the fun out of finding a 290x in a 290box.... over at another forum a person called gibbo(I think that's him) has the job of finding them and he says most would unlock in a bundle of 5 cards, then the next 5, then a batch of 5 real 290's that do not unlock....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Bullet Dodging Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,574 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,500
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Gibbo is top man at Overclockers UK..... or one of the top men at least :) If he can't find them noone can lol!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)