• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon Crimson Edition Drivers

Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,825 (1.32/day)
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.8Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW 2150/2240
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
does anyone know if these drivers support pre 5K cards, on amd's site it says that they are eol and thats about all but in the drivers inf even the 2900XT(entire 2K series and up actually) is in it.

I am wondering if this driver will work on a older pc with a HD4250
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,385 (4.04/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
does anyone know if these drivers support pre 5K cards, on amd's site it says that they are eol and thats about all but in the drivers inf even the 2900XT is in it.

I am wondering if this driver will work on a older pc with a HD4250
Crimson only supports GCN based GPUs. VLIW GPUs like @L'Eliminateur 5870 and my old 6870 aren't supported. 2000-series were removed from support ages ago.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,825 (1.32/day)
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.8Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW 2150/2240
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
yea I tried it only has a newer HDMI driver for that old lappy, well thats something at least considering its not supported
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2015
Messages
11 (0.01/day)
System Name Custom Built
Processor AMD FX-8350
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z
Cooling CORSAIR H110 280mm
Memory G.Skill F3-2400C10-8GTX 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-19200U X 4
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Radeon R9 380 GV-R938G1 GAMING-4GD X 2 CrossfireX
Storage 2 X Mushkin Chronos 60GB SSD, RAID0; 2 X Mushkin Chronos 240GB SSD, RAID0
Display(s) 2 X Acer XG270HU 27"
Case NZXT CA-PH410-B1 RT
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply EVGA 220-PS-1000-V1 80 PLUS Platinum 1000 W
Mouse Logitech G9x
Keyboard Logitech G510s; Logitech G13
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme: 6607 (with FreeSync enabled)
Finally figured out my problem with Civilization IV. I had to disable AGP texture acceleration. I didn't have to do that until I installed Crimson, and it broke something, because even after I went back to 15.7.1 I still had to disable the texture acceleration. And of course there's no option to do that in any AMD/ATI UI, let alone Crimson. I had to fiddle around with the registry...
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,825 (1.92/day)
Location
Texas
System Name SnowFire / The Reinforcer / Portable?
Processor i7 8700K 5.0ghz (24/7) / 2x Intel Xeon X5670 / Intel i7 7700HQ
Motherboard Asus Z370 Prime-A / Dell Dual Socket (R710) / HP Omen Stock
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop in Push Pull Config. / Dell Stock / HP Stock
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb DDR4 3000 CL 16 / 1333mhz DDR3 96gb 12 x 8gb / 12gb DDR4 3 x 4gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / RX 580
Storage Samsung 512gb SSD RAID 0 and 2tb HDD x4 RAID 5 / 300gb x8 RAID 5 / NVME 240gb SSD and 1tb HDD
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor / 1080p 60hz Freesync display
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R710 Rack Mount Case / HP Omen 17
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Home
Just attempted three installs on 3 different machines and here's my results:

Desktop:
Took about 2 minutes to complete on it (Raid 0 Samsung 840 and 850 Pro) installing just over old install, no problems though screen stayed black through most of the install so I didn't get to see what it was doing. Restarted, no issues so far.

Laptop with FX 7500 APU:
Fresh install of Windows 8.1 (Soon to be 10), decided to try the install fresh on it and it took less than a minute (OCZ SSD Trion).

Laptop with A10 5600M:
Installed on Windows 10 over older Catalyst, took it more than 2 minutes on a san disk SSD (may have been more than 3 but I did not time it, just took a lot longer than others I noticed).

All three don't seem to show any issues so far but only my desktop has been tested much. Seems ok to me but I need to try Star Wars and some other games before I say its all good. Only thing I noticed that I really like so far is the Freesync monitors show up and show their range in the display.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,373 (0.54/day)
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster Masterbox 5
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser GSP500
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G513 Tactile
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Apparently theres an issue with the crimson drivers that locks your fan speed at very low speeds, even when you are gaming and for some reason some cards are not thermal throttling and are getting ruined, it happened to me as well but i noticed the fan speed was locked before any damage was done, just make sure the fan speed is on auto in the control panel.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2012
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Location
Austin,TX.
System Name Mine...
Processor AMD FX(tm)-8350 Eight-Core Processor
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling 8-10 internal fans.
Memory Crucial (BALLISTIX) 32 GB Kit(8GB x4) DDR3L-1600 CL8 VLP UDIMM Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX R7970/3GB DOUBLE Dissipation(model: FX-797G-TDFC)LIFE TIME Warrenty
Storage Crucial_CT960M500 SSD 1,WDC WD1500(VelociRaptor),WDC WD3000(VelociRaptor),WDC WD6000(VelociRaptor)
Display(s) Samsung LED 40" LED HD Display(Series 6)
Case AZZA Genesis 9000
Audio Device(s) intergraded within MB.
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 W PS
Software Windows 7 64-bit(FULL retail version)
THEY...are NOT "STABLE" within the Fallout 4(PC)game---period! That IS the consensus from every PC gamer on the web,that reviews(fairly and truthfully),even the most recent beta version of that driver!
Also, that Raptr(sub-program)---is a joke! Always has been,and apparently ...always will be,it's never been an attribute only a detriment to any installed game(s).
Whether, you agree with me or not...these are my facts(based on experience!).

And,if you don't like the way I punctuate-------get over it!
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
10,405 (2.04/day)
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
Im a PC gamer... on the web, and its stable for me. So your theory is wrong.

I actually read the install instructions and didn't install Raptr.


I could care less.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
45 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe Mugen 4
Memory Kingston HyperX Beast 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 390 Gaming 8G
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 256GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster BX2231
Case Thermaltake Armor VA8000BWS
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7
I can't switch the primary display with these drivers, need that, uninstalled, they were running fine though.

Same section Bytales is talking about, it's not working anymore.

cyaburg
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,385 (4.04/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
45 (0.01/day)
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Scythe Mugen 4
Memory Kingston HyperX Beast 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon R9 390 Gaming 8G
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 256GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster BX2231
Case Thermaltake Armor VA8000BWS
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7
Am sure that option wasn't there last week, else would have seen it, maybe some bug, I will try it again later this week, thanks :)

cyaburg
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2015
Messages
231 (0.14/day)
Location
Dominican Republic
System Name Old but Gold
Processor A10-6800k : 4,700GHz@1.4v
Motherboard Asus F2A85 V-PRO
Cooling CoolerMaster Gemin 2 S524 with a modded crazy fan on it :D
Memory 8GB G.Skill RipJawZ @2400MHz Dual Channel; 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) Clud3D R9 290 RoyalAce core@1077 mem@1350
Storage Dual 500GB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Asus VH198T Res 1440x900@75Hz, Aspect Ratio 16:10, 10000000:1 Contrast Ratio
Case Diablotek Predator
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892 Unlocked DTS and DD :) !!!
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech Generic PS/2 Keyboard !
Software Win 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores 2,810 on Valley 1.0 Custom Preset: Ultra DX11 1080p 4xAA.
THEY...are NOT "STABLE" within the Fallout 4(PC)game---period! That IS the consensus from every PC gamer on the web,that reviews(fairly and truthfully),even the most recent beta version of that driver!
Also, that Raptr(sub-program)---is a joke! Always has been,and apparently ...always will be,it's never been an attribute only a detriment to any installed game(s).
Whether, you agree with me or not...these are my facts(based on experience!).

And,if you don't like the way I punctuate-------get over it!
Getting 60fps v-sync'ed on fallout4 @2560x1600 and as for the Raptr Gaming app, just delete it's config file and it'll work again(if interested).
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,654 (0.59/day)
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabertooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
not so sure i am sold on the new gui, but they work and have new features!!!!

they will not run the hz as high an overclock as cru would :/

as issues go it aint the biggest :D
 
Top