• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Radeon HD 6450 1024 MB

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#1
AMD's new Radeon HD 6450 sets out to compete in the lowest end performance segment. It offers twice the shading power as the aging HD 5450 which results in a solid performance increase in gaming. With a price of $55 it doesn't break the bank, but does it have enough performance for the latest games?

Show full review
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
520 (0.18/day)
Likes
161
System Name SKY OC
Processor i3-6100 4.6GHz
Motherboard Z170 FATAL1TY K4/D3
Cooling TPC-612
Memory Trident X 2400CL9
Video Card(s) HD 7850 CFX
Storage Vector 150
Case HAF XB
Power Supply Capstone 550M
#2
you can combine two of these cards in SLI
Will I need an SLI hack for these AMD cards to work in SLI? ;)

On a serious note, perhaps you could include IGP's in the performance comparison chart so someone could see if it would be worth stepping up from a 780G chipset, for example.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#3
as always the question is 'but can it run crysis' unfortunantatly the answer is no

i like the idea of 2 in sli though
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#4
the problem with the IGPs is that it will be on a fundamentally different test system. kinda unfair testing a i7 at over 3 ghz vs. a weak fusion platform
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#5
the problem with the IGPs is that it will be on a fundamentally different test system. kinda unfair testing a i7 at over 3 ghz vs. a weak fusion platform
oh sorry i thought this was a full graphics card, if this is intergrated i might look into a laptop with this in it, you should do an SLI review
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
3,119 (1.16/day)
Likes
1,560
System Name The "Oh shit we have competition"
Processor Core i7 8700K @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Ultra Gaming
Cooling Custom WC & 240MM Rad
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4 DDR4 2666Mhz 16GB
Video Card(s) Palit Jetstream GTX 1080 OC 8GB
Storage 5TB HDDs + 1TB SSDs
Display(s) U2713HM + 2433T + XL2430T 144Hz
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Antec Edge 750W
Mouse The almighty Logitech G400
Keyboard Cougar 600K Cherry-MX Blue
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
THIS is how HTPC GPUS should be made!
Another great review w1zz

ps just one problem and its the noise :\
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,377 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#7
THIS is how HTPC GPUS should be made!
Another great review w1zz

ps just one problem and its the noise :\
Yes, but the problem is that AMD has the 4200 onboard, Intel has whatever they have in SB. No need for these extra crap in HTPC.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#8
oh sorry i thought this was a full graphics card, if this is intergrated i might look into a laptop with this in it, you should do an SLI review
HD 6450 is a discrete graphics card. but how do i test it against multiple IGPs ?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Yes, but the problem is that AMD has the 4200 onboard, Intel has whatever they have in SB. No need for these extra crap in HTPC.
On the Intel side, if you want to overclock, you have to have a descrete GPU. This will help keep these cards alive.

And I refuse to use onboard that robs system RAM anyway, so I'd buy one of these for my HTPC.
 

Jonap_1st

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2010
Messages
288 (0.11/day)
Likes
13
Location
South Green Jakarta
System Name Old Damned Rigs!
Processor AMD Phenom X4 9850 BE 2.5GHz
Motherboard MSI K9A2-CF
Memory 2 x 2GB DDR2 PC8500
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce 9800GT
Storage Hitachi 250GB Sata-II
Display(s) Chimnei 22" LCD Wide
Case Powerlogic Modena GTX2500
Power Supply Amacrox Warrior 400w
Software Windows XP Professional SP3
#10
again, these low-end cards seem to run-out for lives. price difference between 512MB and 1GB models is still high (around 30-40% more expensive) but still not give us good performances ratio on 3D gaming. it is right that someone says if you want to build an HTPC you can stick on IGP, its cheap and silent.

if there's 512MB models and it priced around $40 maybe i will reconsider my words..
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,377 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#11
On the Intel side, if you want to overclock, you have to have a descrete GPU. This will help keep these cards alive.

And I refuse to use onboard that robs system RAM anyway, so I'd buy one of these for my HTPC.
IDK why you would oc your HTPC, and I thought Graphics RAM is mirrored to System RAM?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
IDK why you would oc your HTPC, and I thought Graphics RAM is mirrored to System RAM?
Because I overclock everything.:D Even if I wasn't planning on overclocking because it was going in an HTPC, I still wouldn't buy the shitty H61/67 chipset and kill any chance of it. If you are going SB, P67 is the only option, IMO.

I believe the graphics RAM being mirrored ended with DX9.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2010
Messages
386 (0.14/day)
Likes
115
Location
Romania
Processor Intel Core i5 4570
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Kingston ValueRAM CL9 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTS450OC-1GL
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Black + Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) T200HD
Case Delux MZ401
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax NAXN 500W
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
#15
The GT520 had a one day glory at TPU. Then came the 6450 and made it more ridiculous.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,377 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#16
I believe the graphics RAM being mirrored ended with DX9.
How does that work? When you play DX9 games using a DX11 card, do you still need mirroring, or as long as you have a DX11 card mirroring will not occur?
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#17
HD 6450 is a discrete graphics card. but how do i test it against multiple IGPs ?
Fine two CPUs that perform nearly the same in games when using the exact same graphics card. One from Intel, one from AMD. Neither using on-CPU graphics, unless a Sandy Bridge model you've found is on par with what I've laid out, and a Fusion (for now) obviously won't be on par with any of the Intel desktop models lol

Or you could compare using a GPGPU test, like Sandra? *shrug* Don't know how CPU intensive those are though, only time I had a program that could read cycle usage was when I ran the GPGPU test with an E350+HD 6310+HD 5770 (16 cores total) at the same time lol

Only problem is it'd be time consuming to find CPUs that match the criteria above. And expensive, if you don't have a variety already at your disposal :ohwell:
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#18
How does that work? When you play DX9 games using a DX11 card, do you still need mirroring, or as long as you have a DX11 card mirroring will not occur?
DX9 game = memory mirrored
DX11 game = memory not mirrored

or at least that is how I understand it.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,377 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#19
DX9 game = memory mirrored
DX11 game = memory not mirrored

or at least that is how I understand it.
That confuses me. Because if that is the case, booting up in DX11 mode will let me play the game with lower amount of RAM than if I boot the game up in DX9.
 

hajj_3

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
I wish you showed the power consumption of the Nvidia GT 520 compared to the AMD HD6450, deciding which card to buy.

Btw the Nvidia GT 520 has feature set d support which adds hardware decoding for VP8/WebM, i don't think the AMD HD6450 can do this, maybe you could ask AMD?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,396
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
That confuses me. Because if that is the case, booting up in DX11 mode will let me play the game with lower amount of RAM than if I boot the game up in DX9.
Yep, that is how it should work. It is one of the many improvements of DX11, or maybe DX10, I don't remember.
 
Last edited:

Radys

New Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2011
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
4
#22
I wish you showed the power consumption of the Nvidia GT 520 compared to the AMD HD6450, deciding which card to buy.

Btw the Nvidia GT 520 has feature set d support which adds hardware decoding for VP8/WebM, i don't think the AMD HD6450 can do this, maybe you could ask AMD?

See what I mean? There are reviews useful for the users and reviews useful only for this or that hardware company who appears better than the competition in the review.

hajj_3, I can't post links in here, they are deleted read this (and google UVD 3.0, HD3D) :

The HD 6450: DirectX 11, OpenGL 4.1, Eyefinity, DirectCompute 11 si OpenCL 1.1, UVD 3 and HD3D.

DirectCompute 11 is similar to Nvidia CUDA.

Eyefinity - multiple monitor support

HD3D - 3D display support - works on any display with HDMI 1.4a, no need for active glasses like for Nvidia, passive glasses are OK. No need for 120Hz display, 60Hz is fine.

UVD3 - provides hardware acceleration for media content like MPEG2, H.264, XVID, DIVX, MPEG4, MKV, AVC, VC1 regular or high definition video formats. You can use Media Player Classic (free), WinDVD (free) or PowerDVD. Features picture-in-picture dual stream decoding. Offers the best quality for video playback with pixel sharpening.

GT 520 - 29W load, 10W idle
HD 6450 - 27W load, 9W idle.

Neither is good for gaming, only for video and the regular stuff.

No, it can't play Metro 2033, not even on "Very High" :D thanks for the info, techpowerup.
 
Last edited: