• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
I am aware. Thats why I think Im going to get a gtx 570. The current drivers are just too abysmal its really rather mind blowing.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,759 (2.72/day)
Likes
3,651
Location
04578
really drivers are that bad for you? hmm must be i got magical cards cause i havent hit a single snag yet running my actual 6970s hmm interesting what exactly is wrong with the drivers.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
really drivers are that bad for you? hmm must be i got magical cards cause i havent hit a single snag yet running my actual 6970s hmm interesting what exactly is wrong with the drivers.
Currently Im getting really bad performance in il2 sturmovik. Its a very old game that was perfect on the 4890 and should have no trouble running on this, even so I get slowdowns and graphical errors. Worse still is a total lack of linux drivers. I know they will get better but I dont really feel like waiting, I already did that with the 4890 (which is an amazing card but took far too long to reach maturity) but it takes too long. Nvidia already has linux drivers out. Im past the point of fanboyness now. At this point its between the 570 and 6970 but the 570 has the drivers I need and its cheaper.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,759 (2.72/day)
Likes
3,651
Location
04578
well if you run linux thats half the reason i run it on a few older machines for the family around here but otherwise i wont touch it with a 10 foot pole for gaming. I have no issues but im running Windows 7. To be honest it comes with the territory tho each company has ups and downs. Linux isnt AMDs strong suit. never was for that matter. Then again i expect that

apple commands what is it 9% of the market linux 1% and microsoft makes up the other 90% in terms of OS usage
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
well if you run linux thats half the reason i run it on a few older machines for the family around here but otherwise i wont touch it with a 10 foot pole for gaming. I have no issues but im running Windows 7. To be honest it comes with the territory tho each company has ups and downs. Linux isnt AMDs strong suit. never was for that matter. Then again i expect that

apple commands what is it 9% of the market linux 1% and microsoft makes up the other 90% in terms of OS usage
Good point. I like both companies, Ive owned gpu's from both as well. I love linux but not for gaming. 100% of my gaming takes place on windows, but even so you still need a driver to even run linux in proper resolution on any given graphics card, and amd isnt offering that yet. At this point idk. I only have a 750w psu so I might get a 6970 so I can crossfire...really depends... They are both good.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,759 (2.72/day)
Likes
3,651
Location
04578
well i can say right now on windows i wont go nvidia

sorry shogun total war,, medieval total war wont run on nvidia cards after the 7000 series and alot of the older ancient games i have dont like there hardware from the dx10 era either. so im kinda forced to stick with ATI to keep playing the classics i have. which really sucks that said ive had 0 issues on 64bit windows with the cards the only game that screws up is GTA IV but thats more of an over glorified benchmark for me so no big loss as its rockstars fault no amds do to the mem restrictions going haywire over the amd gpu having 2gb of ram
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,652 (2.63/day)
Likes
3,438
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
IMO the 6950 flashed to a 6970.... Im starting to think it's a hit and miss on certian 6970's for opening up the shaders.... im thinking a 6950 is just that, a 6950 with problems that is stable....

After all the problems I've seen flashing to turn a great gpu into a wanna be monster 6970....

There must be a reason why amd have the two different gpu's.... one is true, and the other is a dud!!!! not all, but alot.

I think I'm going to invest a few extra dollars and get whats tried and true..... 6970!!!

I have better things to do than flash a mite be gpu that fails :pimp:

I wanna game and not mess with bios flashes that mite work...
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,652 (2.63/day)
Likes
3,438
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
yea keep telling yourself that brad just as i do cause that $140 saved seems mighty handy right now lol
Yeah but really,,, I read so many issues flashing the 6950 to a 6970 :rolleyes:

Im lazy bro lol
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
yea keep telling yourself that brad just as i do cause that $140 saved seems mighty handy right now lol
That 70 I saved isnt helping me at all. Im gonna have to return this since the flashing didnt work so he does have a point actually. If your lucky its awesome. If not then forget it.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2011
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
well i can say right now on windows i wont go nvidia

sorry shogun total war,, medieval total war wont run on nvidia cards after the 7000 series and alot of the older ancient games i have dont like there hardware from the dx10 era either. so im kinda forced to stick with ATI to keep playing the classics i have. which really sucks that said ive had 0 issues on 64bit windows with the cards the only game that screws up is GTA IV but thats more of an over glorified benchmark for me so no big loss as its rockstars fault no amds do to the mem restrictions going haywire over the amd gpu having 2gb of ram
Do you have any info on where I can check how well a gtx 570 will run older games? Its "il2 sturmovik 1946". I dont expect any problems but you never know...
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.95/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
Yeah but really,,, I read so many issues flashing the 6950 to a 6970 :rolleyes:

Im lazy bro lol
Flash goes wrong switch to other bios, deal with reflashing other one later :toast:
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,759 (2.72/day)
Likes
3,651
Location
04578
well i have 2x 6970s thats $140+ that $140 could allow me to buy an entire water cooling kit and if i sold my FRIO even more so :toast: but yea overall im happy but kinda wish id had gone 6950 due to crossfire performance the 6970s arent faster in a $140 sense but overall i paid for it and i got what i paid for so cant complain really now i just have to wait for bulldozer cpus so i can go tri fire :roll:
 

turbobeta

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
UPDATE:

Gigabyte HD6950 with 6970 bios, unstable at 865/1335. Weird random infrequent crashing going in and out of games, like alt tabbing.

Replaced with the alternate method, of using a 6950 bios with unlocked shaders, instead of using a 6970 bios. (The alternate method supposedly is friendlier on the gpu and ram, because of voltages.) So far I am stable with no weird artifacts or alt tab crashes for 3 days at 840/1325. Once an updated version of MSI Afterburner, and an updated version of catalyst (11.01 would be nice!) release, I will try for higher clocks again.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
dudes, gddr5 ram used at 6950 are 5000 mhz , but 6970 has got 6000 mhz, check hynix , so, there is a problem, or will be. im having some artifacts seldomly. GPU is ok but ram is not.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2006
Messages
433 (0.10/day)
Likes
31
Location
NJ
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 1800x @ 4.0ghz
Motherboard ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H100i Push/Pull
Memory G Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3200C14-8GTZR x2
Video Card(s) ASUS RX580 8gb Polaris 10
Storage 512GB ADATA XPG SX7000 M.2 PCIe NVME
Display(s) AOC 40" LCD C4008VU8 4K 3840x2160
Case Corsair Graphite Series 600T Mesh
Power Supply Antec True Power Quattro 1000W PSU
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Flashed my XFX and having no issues...


PHP:
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,652 (2.63/day)
Likes
3,438
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Mt-Tremblant, Qc
Processor Q8400*3.4+ghz / E6850*3.6ghz
Motherboard Rock solid Asus P5K3 / Asus P5P43TD
Cooling Corsair H50 / Stock
Memory 8G OCZ intel extreme*1750 xmp / 3G OCZ Plat*1450
Video Card(s) 6950 --> 70
Storage OCZ vertex 2 *120 / WD 320G / sung 1.5T / WD 2T
Display(s) 28'' INC / 24'' samsung
Case Antec 900 / Vento
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z5500 / Logitech Z580 + Altec Lansing 2.1 cones
Power Supply Ultra / Antec
Software 7 64
just received 6950.

Received the 'unable to unlock rom' notice after atiwinflash attemp,

Followed W1zzard's steps to do it through CMD, Typed "atiwinflash -unlockrom 0'' and received error message: atiwinflash is not recog as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

note: i have a usb 3.0 adapter card in my second pci-e slot
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,753 (0.73/day)
Likes
869
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
I am so not explaining this one.
:roll:






I had better luck with the Asus bios as far as stability is concerned compared to the sapphire.
I was freezing in game at 900 mhz (1375 ram), but flashed to asus and the problem went away.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2006
Messages
433 (0.10/day)
Likes
31
Location
NJ
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 1800x @ 4.0ghz
Motherboard ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H100i Push/Pull
Memory G Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3200C14-8GTZR x2
Video Card(s) ASUS RX580 8gb Polaris 10
Storage 512GB ADATA XPG SX7000 M.2 PCIe NVME
Display(s) AOC 40" LCD C4008VU8 4K 3840x2160
Case Corsair Graphite Series 600T Mesh
Power Supply Antec True Power Quattro 1000W PSU
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Correct me if I am wrong, people are trying to match 6970 clocks and was not the purpose of this mod to just unlock the Shadders? I mean I read nothing of W1zzard saying you could or should try and match 6970 clocks as well. Am I wrong or did I miss something. Of course I am not against trying to squeeze every bit out of a card, just want to know if I should bother. In terms of frame rates I mean really are those few extra clocks going to make any real difference in everyday gaming? Benchmarks sure it is fun to see what you hit but I cannot see it making any differnce in games. Heck BC2 Nam or just BC2 looks and plays the same with my 6950(70) as it did with my 5850... I still suck, lol... Heck I thought if I got a 6950 and modded it I would just plain kick ass an pwn and sadly I still suck... Damn all this money and I still cannot hit the side of a barn, LMFAO...
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.13/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
Correct me if I am wrong, people are trying to match 6970 clocks and was not the purpose of this mod to just unlock the Shadders? I mean I read nothing of W1zzard saying you could or should try and match 6970 clocks as well. Am I wrong or did I miss something. Of course I am not against trying to squeeze every bit out of a card, just want to know if I should bother. In terms of frame rates I mean really are those few extra clocks going to make any real difference in everyday gaming? Benchmarks sure it is fun to see what you hit but I cannot see it making any differnce in games. Heck BC2 Nam or just BC2 looks and plays the same with my 6950(70) as it did with my 5850... I still suck, lol... Heck I thought if I got a 6950 and modded it I would just plain kick ass an pwn and sadly I still suck... Damn all this money and I still cannot hit the side of a barn, LMFAO...
I don't understand what you're saying, yes the purpose of the 6950 unlocking is to gain access to the extra shaders that are found on the 6970 cards. But you don't need W1zz to tell you to if you should try overclocking the cards. Most people will unlock the cards and naturally try and push the clock speed up to or over 6970 speeds. It's about getting the best performance for your dollar.

Whether or not overclocking is worth it depends on the person, games usually do see a frame increase depending on how far you take the overclock. Now of course whether or not the frame difference is noticeable depends. If at first you're getting an average framerate of 50 and your overclock takes you to 60 frames, then yes, generally you won't see a difference, but if you're originally getting 25 frames and your overclock gets you to 38 frames, then it definitely is worth it in that particular game.

And sucking in games has nothing to do with computer performance lol, not unless you're using an ancient system and you're lagging in everything you play.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,753 (0.73/day)
Likes
869
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
And sucking in games has nothing to do with computer performance lol, not unless you're using an ancient system and you're lagging in everything you play.
But more perf makes your e-peen bigger and you feel better about yourself.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2006
Messages
433 (0.10/day)
Likes
31
Location
NJ
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen 1800x @ 4.0ghz
Motherboard ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H100i Push/Pull
Memory G Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3200C14-8GTZR x2
Video Card(s) ASUS RX580 8gb Polaris 10
Storage 512GB ADATA XPG SX7000 M.2 PCIe NVME
Display(s) AOC 40" LCD C4008VU8 4K 3840x2160
Case Corsair Graphite Series 600T Mesh
Power Supply Antec True Power Quattro 1000W PSU
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
But more perf makes your e-peen bigger and you feel better about yourself.

Yea what he said, lol...

I was joking guess my lol'l did not give that away??? The facts are in most games going from a 6950 to a 6970, who is really going to notice... I sure can't...