• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Radeon HD 6950 Can be Unlocked to HD 6970

Joined
Dec 4, 2010
Messages
427 (0.17/day)
Likes
212
Processor X5650 @3,7 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Ga-EX58-UD5
Cooling Cogage True Spirit
Memory 2x8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury 1866 CL10
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX 1070
Storage 250Gb MX100 SSD+1TB WD Green
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 2560x1440 27" PLS 96Hz
Case NZXT Tempest
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750w 80 Plus Gold Modular
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Win 10 Home 64 bits
Succes here with my sapphire 6950,first i tried to load the 6970 bios with winflash but did not work,then i tried with the command lines in cmd but did not work,then i downloaded your update pack and here you can see,1536 shaders and 880 mhz Gpu /1375 mhz memory. Thx W1zzard:respect:
Now the strange thing is that i have no way to change voltages in CCC or in Trixx...
 

Attachments

Last edited:

minos

New Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
XFX to ASUS

Hi guys
Can I go from a XFX 6950 bios to a ASUS 6970 bios?
Or can I only unlock when I use XFX/Sapphire bios?
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
520 (0.18/day)
Likes
161
System Name SKY OC
Processor i3-6100 4.6GHz
Motherboard Z170 FATAL1TY K4/D3
Cooling TPC-612
Memory Trident X 2400CL9
Video Card(s) HD 7850 CFX
Storage Vector 150
Case HAF XB
Power Supply Capstone 550M
Keep in mind that 6950 cards have lower binned memory chips than 6970, not rated quite as fast. This may cause artifact problems for some people unlocking and running memory at 6970 speeds. Easy fix is to reduce memory speed.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (1.17/day)
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
Sweet way to save 60~70 bucks.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2010
Messages
315 (0.12/day)
Likes
159
Location
City 217
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 925
Motherboard ASRock M3A770DE
Cooling Ice Hammer IH-4***
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7870 2GB
Storage 500GB SATAII Samsung | 500GB SATAII Seagate
Display(s) 23" LG 23EA63V-P
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy SE
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Software Windows 10 x64
Might cause all kinds of artifacts in 3D. Neat lottery, though.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Mac Pro 2010 / Gaming PC
Processor Xeon W3680 3.33Ghz / core i7 860@3.6Ghz
Motherboard intel X58 / Gigabyte P55A-UD4P
Cooling Stock / Noctua NH-D14
Memory 24 GB DDR3-1333Mhz / 8GB DDR3-1600 CAS 8
Video Card(s) Radeon HD5870 1Gb / Radeon HD6950 2GB
Storage 3 x 2TB Caviar black + 600GB velociraptor / 1TB Caviar black
Display(s) 24" HP ZR24w / 24" BenQ 2400W
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtech 889A for both
Power Supply Stock 1000W / OCZ Z series 650W
Software OS 10.7.5 / windows 7 64 bits
Keep in mind that 6950 cards have lower binned memory chips than 6970, not rated quite as fast. This may cause artifact problems for some people unlocking and running memory at 6970 speeds. Easy fix is to reduce memory speed.
This is my question ! Do someone had problem with memory speed ? Because 6950 card have 1250mhz memory ships (and run at 1250mhz) while 6970 card have 1500mhz memory chips (and run at 1375mhz).

Also, what about overclocker that can't reach the 6970 880mhz core speed with their 6950 ? Can we still unlock the card to 6970 speed ?
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2010
Messages
427 (0.17/day)
Likes
212
Processor X5650 @3,7 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Ga-EX58-UD5
Cooling Cogage True Spirit
Memory 2x8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury 1866 CL10
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX 1070
Storage 250Gb MX100 SSD+1TB WD Green
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 2560x1440 27" PLS 96Hz
Case NZXT Tempest
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750w 80 Plus Gold Modular
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Win 10 Home 64 bits
i have run the card for 3 hours now,i have run Unigine heaven 2 times,played 1 hour of BC2,all at stock speeds,had no problems,the card runs at 84 celsius at full load,before bios change at about 80 degrees.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
Keep in mind that 6950 cards have lower binned memory chips than 6970, not rated quite as fast. This may cause artifact problems for some people unlocking and running memory at 6970 speeds. Easy fix is to reduce memory speed.
I haven't seen this. Typically I've seen completely even distribution performance wise, sometimes the 6950 memory even clocks higher than on 6970s, and vice versa. Usually about the same. Now the core I question, they seem just as capable as 6970 cores just not as voltage efficient, so I suspect some of these unlocks will be unstable until we get wide spread voltage control with afterburner.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
i have run the card for 3 hours now,i have run Unigine heaven 2 times,played 1 hour of BC2,all at stock speeds,had no problems,the card runs at 84 celsius at full load,before bios change at about 80 degrees.
The slight temperature difference is quite understandable, considering the clocks differences, and that's why there are also slight differences in the reference 6950 and 6970 coolers.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
Keep in mind that 6950 cards have lower binned memory chips than 6970, not rated quite as fast. This may cause artifact problems for some people unlocking and running memory at 6970 speeds. Easy fix is to reduce memory speed.
Actually if it's like the 5 series cards it won't artifact because the card will auto correct, it would just show a performance decrease.

Overclocking the memory on these cards is quite different from any other card so far. Normally you'd expect rendering errors or crashes, but not with these cards. Thanks to the new error correction algorithm in the memory controller, every memory error is just retransmitted until everything is fine. So once you exceed the "stable" clock frequency, memory errors will appear more often, get retransmitted, but the rendered output will still look perfectly fine. The only difference is that performance drops, the further you increase the clocks, the lower the performance gets. As a result a normal "artifact scanning" approach to memory overclocking on the HD 5800 Series will not work. You have to manually increase the clocks and observe the framerate until you find the point where performance drops.
Source
 

bigboi86

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
1,442 (0.34/day)
Likes
30
Location
techPowerUp!
System Name Just getting started....
Processor Athlon II Propus 620 @ 3.51ghz (quad core) L3 cache enabled
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 (great heatsink, 40c max load overclocked)
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR31600 4gb 2x2
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4850 by XFX
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB SATA
Display(s) Acer 21.5 inch viewable G215H 1920x1080p, AOC 22inch 1680x1050
Case Antec 300, stock for now
Audio Device(s) Onboard, Turtle Beach headphones / crappy logitech desktop speakers
Power Supply Corsair 650 watt PSU <3
Software Windows 7 x64
Wow so this flash actually opens up the shaders and everything?

I've been waiting for a graphics card that you can flash like the 9800SE or the x800 GTO2.

Hell even the old Nvidia 6800 vanilla could be unlocked to a 6800GT/Ultra.

I just got a 6850 though, I'm pretty happy with it. It overclocks like a BEAST.
 

bigboi86

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
1,442 (0.34/day)
Likes
30
Location
techPowerUp!
System Name Just getting started....
Processor Athlon II Propus 620 @ 3.51ghz (quad core) L3 cache enabled
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 (great heatsink, 40c max load overclocked)
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR31600 4gb 2x2
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4850 by XFX
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB SATA
Display(s) Acer 21.5 inch viewable G215H 1920x1080p, AOC 22inch 1680x1050
Case Antec 300, stock for now
Audio Device(s) Onboard, Turtle Beach headphones / crappy logitech desktop speakers
Power Supply Corsair 650 watt PSU <3
Software Windows 7 x64
Does anyone know if the 6800 series has the auto correcting thing on the memory controller? I really don't like the idea of it. I use artifacting to tell when I have gone too far.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
Does anyone know if the 6800 series has the auto correcting thing on the memory controller? I really don't like the idea of it. I use artifacting to tell when I have gone too far.
It does, i have been using atitool to be able to see when the fps drops due to unstable memory speeds.
 

bigboi86

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
1,442 (0.34/day)
Likes
30
Location
techPowerUp!
System Name Just getting started....
Processor Athlon II Propus 620 @ 3.51ghz (quad core) L3 cache enabled
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 (great heatsink, 40c max load overclocked)
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR31600 4gb 2x2
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4850 by XFX
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB SATA
Display(s) Acer 21.5 inch viewable G215H 1920x1080p, AOC 22inch 1680x1050
Case Antec 300, stock for now
Audio Device(s) Onboard, Turtle Beach headphones / crappy logitech desktop speakers
Power Supply Corsair 650 watt PSU <3
Software Windows 7 x64
It does, i have been using atitool to be able to see when the fps drops due to unstable memory speeds.
Ah, thanks. This kind of sucks though, no wonder I haven't seen any memory errors.

Now instead of clocking and looking for errors, I have to clock and see if the framerates drop, which to me, is less reliable than looking for graphical errors(artifacts).

Right now mine is running 850mhz core/1020mhz memory, stock voltage, fan manually set to 70%(I don't mind the noise). Runs great, I haven't the need to overclock it further yet.

HIS kind of has a shitty stock cooler. It reminds me of a zalman VF900.




A little cooler under a huge shroud lol. I don't think it cools the ram off, either.

I should have done more research before I got it, but it's a great card other than the puny cooler.

Sorry for the thread derail, please continue. :)
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,625 (0.35/day)
Likes
552
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle Nostromo
Processor R7 1700X Base Clock @4.000.000.000 Hz
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI (BIOS 1701)
Cooling Hydro H110i V2 High Performance
Memory 2x8 GB Dominator CMD16GX4M2B3200C16 v4.31
Video Card(s) 970 STRIX
Storage 960 EVO M2 500 GB w. EKWB EK-M.2 NVMe nickel heatsink / UV400 480 GB / Red PRO 4 TB
Display(s) VG248QE
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Onboard / JDS Labs O2 AMP / K550 headphones
Power Supply AX 860
Mouse KANA
Keyboard K60
Software Win 10 Pro x64 / KIS 2018
Benchmark Scores 2141 lightyears per hour.......
Any luck with Gigabyte yet?

I'm thinking about buying this card GIGABYTE GV-R695D5-2GD-B Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bi... and would like to know if anyone has had luck with it yet.
I have just purchased exact the same card...I sure hope it can be unlocked.
The downside right now is, that I will not get it before january the 4th......
I could have purchased the ASUS card - but that would have cost me 32$ extra......
So lets cross our fingers :rolleyes:
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
Awesomeness!:)

Might grab one in the future and try some unlocking.:)
 

mtosev

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Messages
1,462 (0.31/day)
Likes
144
Location
Maribor, Slovenia
Processor Core i7 930
Motherboard Asus P6X58D Premium
Memory 6gb SuperTalent WB200UX6G8
Video Card(s) xfx radeon hd 5970 black edition
Storage Intel X25-M 80
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2209wa
Case Haf 932
Audio Device(s) Integreted sound card
Software w7
Cool. more bang for your money:)
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2006
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
10
Next step... Accelero Extreme plus but the problem is when the memory kits will be available and i should try other sets of memory kits..The memory dimension should be standard.The only problem is the VRM cooling...
 

HD4870

New Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
47 (0.01/day)
Likes
13
Location
Sohag, Egypt
System Name High End
Processor Core i7 920@4.25Ghz 1.3v
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 3x2GB OCZ DDR3 2000Mhz Blade 9-9-9-24-1N
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6990+HD6970 Tri-Fire@950/1500 (6000 GDDR5!)
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 50GB + 3x1.0TB WD Black + 2.0TB WD Green + 1.0TB WD Green + 640GB WD Blue
Display(s) 3 X Benq G2420HD 24" in Eyefinity
Case NZXT Phantom Red
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply SeaSonic X-850 80+ Gold
Software Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage P21584 3DMark06 26725
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,625 (0.35/day)
Likes
552
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle Nostromo
Processor R7 1700X Base Clock @4.000.000.000 Hz
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI (BIOS 1701)
Cooling Hydro H110i V2 High Performance
Memory 2x8 GB Dominator CMD16GX4M2B3200C16 v4.31
Video Card(s) 970 STRIX
Storage 960 EVO M2 500 GB w. EKWB EK-M.2 NVMe nickel heatsink / UV400 480 GB / Red PRO 4 TB
Display(s) VG248QE
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Onboard / JDS Labs O2 AMP / K550 headphones
Power Supply AX 860
Mouse KANA
Keyboard K60
Software Win 10 Pro x64 / KIS 2018
Benchmark Scores 2141 lightyears per hour.......
eehhhh....sorry my arab is not so good.....;) .. but I see the numbers....and that is what counts :)
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,734 (0.73/day)
Likes
855
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
304 (0.11/day)
Likes
135
Location
Michigan
System Name Daves
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 4.00
Motherboard AsRock X370 Killer SLI/ac
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16 GIG GSKILL Ripjaw @ 2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
Storage Crucial M.2 250 Samsung 840 EVO 250-Samsung 850 Pro-WD 1 TB
Display(s) LG 27
Case NZXT
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply EVGA 750
Mouse EVGA
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Windows 10 Home
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
43 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
System Name Back to intel again
Processor Intel i7 5820k
Motherboard EVGA x99 classified
Cooling 360 deepcool AIO
Memory 16GB G.Skill 2800mhz
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD6970 x2
Storage Vertex4 256 x2 Raid 0
Display(s) Samsung 27" S27A850TSK 1440p
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo Red and Black
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse razor naga hex
Keyboard K70
Software Windows 8.1 x64
I haven't seen this. Typically I've seen completely even distribution performance wise, sometimes the 6950 memory even clocks higher than on 6970s, and vice versa. Usually about the same. Now the core I question, they seem just as capable as 6970 cores just not as voltage efficient, so I suspect some of these unlocks will be unstable until we get wide spread voltage control with afterburner.
Going by the review on TPU 6950 ram is rated at 1250mhz and 6970 is rated at 1500mhz
and the max you can overclock to atm is only 1450mhz
 
Last edited: