1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon HD 7900 ''Tahiti'' Pictured, 384-bit Memory Bus Confirmed?

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 8, 2011.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,485 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,145
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Um, that's not what I see(I see 8+6 in both cards, and pinout for 8x8):

    power.jpg
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 4, 2016
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,716 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
  3. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,377 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    663
    Doesn't look any larger then the backside of my 5870s.
     
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,485 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,145
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    Whatever it is, it's dman exciting. Seeing cards now...does that mean we get a launch within weeks? One can hope...
     
    nt300 and pantherx12 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Casecutter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,629 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Me think's... AMD will hold that and refine it until the top Shelf Kepler's come. Either the XDR2 designation to the existing 7970 or a new model. Consider if they wait... could they release both a Single and Dual XDR2 :rolleyes:
    That might send Kepler packing... :nutkick:
     
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,351 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,657
    Location:
    Florida
    So basically your going to change the address space?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,207 (10.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,154
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No, pressing buttons that change the "t=" value of those posts in the database.

    Back to topic.
     
  8. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,988 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    It is 2x 8pin you can tell from the solder points. Now who know you may only need 1x 8 1x 6 to be able to run them.

    How long do you think these are they look like they are slightly longer than that M/B so maybe 9.5 -10"?

    [​IMG]


    Lets play a game name those other parts we have
    ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s...
    SanDisk Ultra SDSSDH-120G-G25 2.5" 120GB SATA II I...
    CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850 V2 850W ATX12V v2....
    Just can't figure out the ram or that case maybe a Corsair Obsidian Series 650D (CC650DW-1) Black Ste... hard to tell basing it off a couple screws I can see.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2011
  9. GSquadron

    GSquadron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,264 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    From what i know they will make high end parts with xdr2 vram
    so this is not a high end part. If it is, than there will be no xdr2 vram
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,345 (11.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,628
    I doubt the final card will have two 8 pin adapters. Both Cayman and Cypress had two 8 pins on their "engineering samples".
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,351 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,657
    Location:
    Florida
    I agree if anything they did it so they could beat the ES cards to get an idea of theoretical performance instead of basing it off of computer models.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  12. D4S4

    D4S4

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    697 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    just wanted to say that that's a f*cking awkward place for a 12th memory chip, especially since it's right between the gpu and pcie connector and there seems to be plenty of room on the other end of the "ring".
     
  13. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,207 (10.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,154
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    As if placing VRM near display outputs wasn't awkward enough (on HD 6800 series reference boards). It doesn't matter.
     
  14. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Very nice. Do want!
     
  15. D4S4

    D4S4

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    697 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    thb i never even saw that. seems that crosstalk and other interference are no longer an issue which is nice but one chip so close must have smaller latency than the others, i wonder how they've handled that. i know there are a lot of wavy traces going from memory chips on my x1800.
     
  16. WarraWarra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    268 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    So vram only on one side of the card ?? surely they have vram on both sides of the card or 2x 12 capable ram chip places ??
    Would be a waste to have ram on the back side, no cooling for it and only gpu on front under the cooling system.

    If they follow the same as with the mGPU's then the top of the range gaming ones has xdr memory in either 2GB/4GB versions.
     
  17. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,099 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    852
    GDDR5 doesn't need that much cooling, my 6990s have some ram on the back of the pcb and they've never had any problem even at 1450mhz.
    What's really toasty is the GPU and VRMs
     
  18. Marineborn

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    i seen the supposid specs on these cards, apprently extremly nice, ill pick up 2 when it comes out. to replace my 2 6870's that will be sold at that time
     
  19. R_1

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    449 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Looks and feels cheap! Where is the back plate?
     
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,345 (11.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,628
    Since there's no components on the backside a backplate isn't needed. I'd rather not have a backplate trapping heat on the PCB anyways. It's also an engineering sample. Cayman's ES didn't have a backplate either, the retail 6970 did.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,205 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    953
    Location:
    Multidimensional
    XDR2 memory could be used for an eyefinity HD7970 version ^_^
     
  22. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,099 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    852
    Also as an exclusive on the 7990 to gain more bandwidth?
     
  23. badtaylorx

    badtaylorx

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    509 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    what are you smokin???

    i think it looks like they're goin back to a 5XXX style design.....LOVE IT
     
  24. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    my thoughts exactly.
     
  25. Cruise51

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    91 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    *drooling on myself*

    8-pin might be for pushing clocks? Looks power hungry but that won't stop me from buying it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)