• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Radeon High Ends and a Panasonic 50VT20 Issues

Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
40 (0.01/day)
Likes
8
#1
Hi guys.

I experience something very interesting with high end graphics cards from AMD Radeon 5xxx series up to 7970, and only with high end graphics cards. Radeon 5450 for ex. doesn't have this problem.

I have the PC connected to a Panasonic Plasma 50VT20. This thing occurs only with the plasma. Same graphic card connected to a monitor or LED HDTV doesn't have this problem.

In BIOS, during POST, loading operating system, UNTIL the driver is fully loaded, the image shows that in the picture below:

Ideas suggestions?



 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#2
the tv can't handle 640x480 properly at the refresh rate its running at. i have seen it with a few graphics cards usually on older flat screen tv's.

when it first comes on does the tv show the settings its running at ?

like "640x480 75Hz" or something
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#3
How are you connecting the computer to the TV; HDMI/DVI, VGA, Component? I have a Panasonic 42" Plasma and even at lower resolutions it muddles by.

Do other machines do this on the same TV? Can we rule out the PC real quick because I'm confident that this is the TV. Clearly the TV doesn't like something, maybe the refresh is too high for the tv at 640x480 or something like that.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#4
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
40 (0.01/day)
Likes
8
#5
The problems is the TV with high end AMD graphics cards. Some entry level GPU's doesn't present this issue. Only high end GPU's. AMD only.

Any solution?

PS: The same GPU's with another LED HDTV or PC Monitor, no problems.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#6
I take it that it only happens on the boot screen and bios? Just ignore it it's not going to cause any issues.
 

Rustler

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
ovidiutable, did you ever fix this problem?

I had exactly the same issue using the built-in graphics of the AMD APU's on FM2+ board about a year ago while building a new media center PC for my Panasonic TV. The display was split in to 3 pieces in bios and in windows at any res. At the time I worked in a computer store so I had access to loads of parts for trouble shooting. I tried 3 APU's (A6, A8, and A10) 3 different brand and model mobos and different RAM. I also tried HDMI, DVI-HDMI and VGA cables. In the end I got sick of trying to figure it out so I pulled an old Pentium dual core system out of the junk cupboard, put a HD5450 in it and its worked fine on my Panasonic Plasma ever since.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,221 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,810
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#8
Necroing a post is a no no