• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon RAMDisk Pitched as Trial

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,153 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,105
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#26
What would be a huge step forward is if I could use my VRAM as main system memory when not gaming. Still unsure why this can't be addressed somehow. Think of all that super fast GDDR5 just sitting there idle.

Would be great if they could adapt this tool for something like that.
there is no way to use vga ram as system ram. it's possible to make a ram disk with vga memory, i started coding that a while ago, but then decided it's a waste of time.. memory is so cheap nowadays and 1 GB more or less won't make any difference.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,970 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,333
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#27
Would the latency of the PCIe bus even make it worthwhile?


I have a new trinity laptop at home I am setting up, and it has 8GB of RAM since I upgraded it to take advantage of dual channel (for all of $18 you think they would have done this anyway).


Might have to give it a try.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.35/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#28
Would the latency of the PCIe bus even make it worthwhile?
compared to HDD or SSD, it would be astronomical.

Still a dumb idea. We just purchased 64GB of ram for our server workstations for a couple hundred.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,998 (0.64/day)
Likes
611
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
#29
Ram is super cheap now, everybody should be putting minimum 16GB to 32GB for there basic rigs. Why not, and RAMDisk a bunch of that.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,970 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,333
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#30
I mean compared to RAM.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.05/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#31
Fun fact: Despite RAM disks being still largely impractical despite the average joe now having at least 8GB such functionality was even built into old school Macintosh System 7. Back when you had like 64MB total.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.35/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#32
I mean compared to RAM.
That would only matter if you were to use the RAMdisk in a manner that is akin to RAM, but since it is a RAMdisk, that would be like allocating your RAMdisk and use it for page-file memory. Which is hilariously redundant.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
520 (0.18/day)
Likes
161
System Name SKY OC
Processor i3-6100 4.6GHz
Motherboard Z170 FATAL1TY K4/D3
Cooling TPC-612
Memory Trident X 2400CL9
Video Card(s) HD 7850 CFX
Storage Vector 150
Case HAF XB
Power Supply Capstone 550M
#33
This is the coolest thing since Windows Ready Boost :)
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,970 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,333
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#34
That would only matter if you were to use the RAMdisk in a manner that is akin to RAM, but since it is a RAMdisk, that would be like allocating your RAMdisk and use it for page-file memory. Which is hilariously redundant.
:slap:

You don't say.

I am saying the difference in latency from Vram & PCIe VS DDR3 ram. Plus with dynamic clocking on Vram to save power. With 8GB of system RAM I don't believe the tech will ever use more than about 4GB, but I would never use this in a production environment, the last thing I need is it bombing out during a firmware update and killing a $5K component and costing me a day or two.

Perhaps if it got a user 5% higher FPS in a demanding game it would be worth it. GTA comes to mind where their streaming protocol for the world is ineffective at times, having it all cached in RAM would be beneficial.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.35/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#35
:slap:

You don't say.

I am saying the difference in latency from Vram & PCIe VS DDR3 ram. Plus with dynamic clocking on Vram to save power. With 8GB of system RAM I don't believe the tech will ever use more than about 4GB, but I would never use this in a production environment, the last thing I need is it bombing out during a firmware update and killing a $5K component and costing me a day or two.

Perhaps if it got a user 5% higher FPS in a demanding game it would be worth it. GTA comes to mind where their streaming protocol for the world is ineffective at times, having it all cached in RAM would be beneficial.
I see where you might be confused. This woudln't be for actual gaming performance, it is more for loading common games or files that you use often, and that generally take a while to load.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,970 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,333
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#36
Err. Right.



Have you ever actually ran performance monitoring while playing a game?




The software caches "hot files"that are accessed often in the "drive" for faster access. All you need to look at is hard faults, parent process and files to determine what needs cached. Those little hiccups and missing textures now go away. As good as windows is at memory management, there is the limitation of the program and what it calls and can allocate of system RAM, this is just a way around those limitations.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.35/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#37
Err. Right.



Have you ever actually ran performance monitoring while playing a game?




The software caches "hot files"that are accessed often in the "drive" for faster access. All you need to look at is hard faults, parent process and files to determine what needs cached. Those little hiccups and missing textures now go away. As good as windows is at memory management, there is the limitation of the program and what it calls and can allocate of system RAM, this is just a way around those limitations.
If you have enough RAM for it, everything about a game will be loaded into RAM, and should not be grabbing from the hard drive (or in this case RAMdisk) for anything.

In the case of RAMdisk, everything is first loaded from RAMdisk into your RAM, therefore RAMdisk is totally taken out of the equasion until something else needs to be loaded into memory by the game.

When the game needs something on demand, like textures, it will grab that from the RAM.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.05/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#38
This is the coolest thing since Windows Ready Boost :)
I do thankfully think I detect some sarcasm yet can't be 100% sure...
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2010
Messages
520 (0.18/day)
Likes
161
System Name SKY OC
Processor i3-6100 4.6GHz
Motherboard Z170 FATAL1TY K4/D3
Cooling TPC-612
Memory Trident X 2400CL9
Video Card(s) HD 7850 CFX
Storage Vector 150
Case HAF XB
Power Supply Capstone 550M
#39
I do thankfully think I detect some sarcasm yet can't be 100% sure...
Thanks, I try and ride that fine grey line. Reminds me, I need to lol at the VP debates tonight:laugh:
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.05/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#40
That's an easy task.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,970 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,333
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#41
If you have enough RAM for it, everything about a game will be loaded into RAM, and should not be grabbing from the hard drive (or in this case RAMdisk) for anything.

In the case of RAMdisk, everything is first loaded from RAMdisk into your RAM, therefore RAMdisk is totally taken out of the equasion until something else needs to be loaded into memory by the game.

When the game needs something on demand, like textures, it will grab that from the RAM.
Only after it has been loaded the first time, and only until it is dumped from memory.

There are significant improvements to more RAM, but you eventually hit a wall with it too, then it becomes the next slowest part, which is the HDD.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,704 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,116
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#42
Only after it has been loaded the first time, and only until it is dumped from memory.

There are significant improvements to more RAM, but you eventually hit a wall with it too, then it becomes the next slowest part, which is the HDD.
yep data access topology

Cache, Ram, HDD
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
343 (0.15/day)
Likes
34
Location
Ft Stewart
System Name Queen Bee
Processor 3570k @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte UD3 Z77
Cooling Water Loop by EK
Memory 8GB Corsair 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming WaterCooled
Storage 1x Western Digital 500GB Black 1x Intel 20GB 311 SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2420G
Case CoolTek W2
Power Supply Corsair 650Watt
Software Windows 7 Pro
#43
My workstation at work with 40GB of RAM using a Duel LGA 771 takes forever to boot, why? I would never use more then 2.5GB since we use VM's, so I decided to use a RAMDisk Boot Load Software. On Boot the HDD loads the RAM with everything on it, (only about 28GB worth of stuff on it) the speed I experience (load times) well it makes me jealous, lol. So i know the advantage of a software that would dynamically assign a partition on the RAM according to the software that was being used. Good job AMD, or who rather who ever finalizes this first.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,970 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,333
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#44
Data reads are often compressed/encrypted, and may not be optimized, creating significant waits as data is hard faulted, and then the command is issued, the heads have to seek to the data, read, assemble and or decompress, transfer, and then act upon.

A cached read from RAM eliminates a significant portion of these steps and thus time, and during boot as well during dependent execution of a program the next step may or may not be loaded into RAM if that data has not been called yet. Even at 500MBps for a SSD, or 800MBps for my array it is significantly slower than system RAM.

RAMdisk software has been around for awhile, but it is still going to be years before many are brave enough or comfortable enough to put it into production environments.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
511 (0.15/day)
Likes
124
System Name Epsilon
Processor A12-9800E 35watts
Motherboard MSI Grenade AM4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR4 2400 Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon R7 (IGP / APU)
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1
Display(s) AOC 29" Ultra wide
Case Generic
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 380w
Software Windows 10
#45
Do you want to know how a RAM drive performs,
Use virtual box, install windows XP, it should be less than 10GB, copy that virtual hard drive to the ram disk and then boot it. See what happens ;-)
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
2,576 (0.64/day)
Likes
510
Processor Mysterious Engineering Prototype
Motherboard Intel 865
Cooling Custom block made in workshop
Memory Corsair XMS 2GB
Video Card(s) FireGL X3-256
Display(s) 1600x1200 SyncMaster x 2 = 3200x1200
Software Windows 2003
#46