• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT Tested on Z490 Platform With Resizable BAR (AMD's SAM) Enabled

Joined
May 11, 2006
Messages
139 (0.02/day)
System Name HTPC
Processor Ryzen 3600
Motherboard ASRock X570M Pro4
Cooling Aquacomputer Cuplex Kryros Delrin + Aquaduct 720XT
Memory Mushkin Ridgeback DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Waterforce WB RTX 2080Ti
Storage Crucial M1 500GB
Display(s) Philips 55POS9002/12 OLED TV
Case Silverstone Sugo SG11
Audio Device(s) FiiO D03k -> Pioneer A676 -> KEF iQ7
Power Supply Seasonic G550 PCGH Edition
Mouse MX Master
Keyboard Corsair K63 wireless Lapboard
Clearly not, as if you did, you would've know why it won't come to older AMD CPUs. AMD doesn't support the instruction needed.
Maybe read the full twitter thread linked to above if the explanation here wasn't good enough, or the Wikipedia link provided above.

From above twitter thread.
View attachment 178091
As I wrote before: Where is the connection between those instructions and large Addressing? That those are now way faster is no news to me since I read the Anandtech test, but there was no connection to resizeable BAR made there.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
9,658 (1.55/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
As I wrote before: Where is the connection between those instructions and large Addressing? That those are now way faster is no news to me since I read the Anandtech test, but there was no connection to resizeable BAR made there.
You clearly didn't read the thread on twitter then. It explains that the instructions are needed to encode/decode the data that is being sent between the CPU and the GPU, as its sent compressed. In pre Zen 3 CPUs, this would be too slow, whereas Intel has supported these instructions for several years already.
 
Joined
May 11, 2006
Messages
139 (0.02/day)
System Name HTPC
Processor Ryzen 3600
Motherboard ASRock X570M Pro4
Cooling Aquacomputer Cuplex Kryros Delrin + Aquaduct 720XT
Memory Mushkin Ridgeback DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Waterforce WB RTX 2080Ti
Storage Crucial M1 500GB
Display(s) Philips 55POS9002/12 OLED TV
Case Silverstone Sugo SG11
Audio Device(s) FiiO D03k -> Pioneer A676 -> KEF iQ7
Power Supply Seasonic G550 PCGH Edition
Mouse MX Master
Keyboard Corsair K63 wireless Lapboard
There is a link to
In that thread without further explanation and accompanied with the same questions as mine. From what I understand it might improve things above 4GB, but having fast access to 4GB chunks would still be a huge increase to the standard 256MB.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Messages
1,236 (0.59/day)
If these are accurate results this is very promising! I wonder if it has anything to do with the loading of assets in wider open games that RDR2 is getting that massive boost. I can attest that no matter what I do in some games I cannot get away from those micro stutters whenever I am exploring the world and as new items load I there is a slight, but noticeable stutter. If this fixes that I will kiss some feet! This is one of the biggest things that keeps driving me crazy in games that I have not yet been Able to fix
Sounds like possibly a storage or memory bottleneck.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
5,632 (1.39/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor AMD RYZEN 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Strix X570-E
Cooling Custom Loop. Two 360ies + 280 rad. 8x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. EK-Quantum Momentum monoblock.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-15-15-36 CR1[16-18-18-32-50;TRFC560@3200MHz]]
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270 + Acer XV242Y
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow V3 - Yellow Switch
Software Windows 11 insider
Sounds like possibly a storage or memory bottleneck.

I ran the game from an Optane 900P. It still stutters a lot. It is the Game engine design and it is kinda specific here. It ain't a bug or flaw, it is like that by default, the engine is sensitive to this feature. Not that we have truly a lot such engines capable of having so much and doing things all the time at the same place. We cannot compare it with Cryengine, UT4 or Frostbyte whatever... apples and oranges.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Messages
1,236 (0.59/day)
Latency, bandwidth, and capacity restraints can really all cause major performance slowdowns and what you describe sounds kind of like a classic case of it, but given you say with Optane there very well could and probably is something else cause performance issues. It's interesting that doesn't seem to make a pronounced difference and yet SAM has a enormous difference on the minimum frame rate. There has to be a logical explanation to that matter I would imagine. To be pair on the optane matter isn't NVME actually better in certain regards in terms of performance worse latency yet higher bandwidth!!? On another note with Optane did you try NTFS compression? You can net a bit more bandwidth like that. In a lot of cases what you describe is generally one of the issues I mentioned. Some games are inherently poorly coded though like EQ2 with the shadows being CPU rendered it's a design pisser for certain.

In the case of RDR2 might even be clip plane view distance matter I ponder too much loading quickly in instance at once at high details and not enough culling and detail reduction of the distance resources of textures and animations relative to the system hardware. There is a lot open world games that have problems trying to load way to much stuff at once in the distance that cause hitching and slowdowns if you don't tame those settings a bit. It's a good looking game and that kind of thing can kill performance quickly especially if VRAM or other system resources is a bit borderline.

What happens when you reduce memory frequency with the same latency to the FPS I ponder. If memory frequency impacts heavily the game defiantly is memory bandwidth limited to a degree. Still that doesn't explain how SAM is yielding such enormous FSP minimum gains to me that implies a bottle neck from storage or the PCIE interface itself. It could very well be the PCIE BAR size is the actual bottleneck in this instance. Really w/o increasing the BAR size there are still ways around the problem, but not necessarily as easy or simple at the same time.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
803 (0.49/day)
System Name Blackbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Asus TUF B550-Plus WiFi
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill FlareX 3200Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3060 Ti Gaming Z
Storage Kingston KC3000 1TB + WD SN550 1TB
Display(s) LG 27GP850-B
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z200
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G305
Keyboard MasterKeys Pro S White (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores It plays games.
Boosts performance to an almost difference class of product wow!

I'm kinda sad now that SAM might not come to Ryzen 3000 and older. From a comment on videocardz:


Wikipedia source


Ah, shucks. My slim hope of this making it to Zen2 has been crushed. I guess this shiny new feature may end up kind of backfiring on AMD somewhat, since Intel can apparently enable this on much older CPUs if they want to. Not that AMD didn't know that beforehand, so kudos to them with going with it anyway.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2014
Messages
1,187 (0.46/day)
Location
Nowy Warsaw
System Name SYBARIS
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI Arsenal Gaming B450 Tomahawk
Cooling Cryorig H7 Quad Lumi
Memory Team T-Force Delta RGB 2x8GB 3200CL16
Video Card(s) Colorful GeForce RTX 2060 6G V2
Storage Crucial MX500 500GB | WD Black WD1003FZEX 1TB
Display(s) AOC 24G2 24" 144hz IPS | LG 22MP68VQ-P 22" 75hz IPS
Case In Win Mana 136
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud X | iVOOMi iVO-169SUFBT 2.1
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Razer Viper Mini | Cooler Master MM711 | Logitech G102 | Logitech G402
Keyboard Fantech MK871 RGB TKL Outemu Blue mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10 Education 21H1 x64
Ah, shucks. My slim hope of this making it to Zen2 has been crushed. I guess this shiny new feature may end up kind of backfiring on AMD somewhat, since Intel can apparently enable this on much older CPUs if they want to. Not that AMD didn't know that beforehand, so kudos to them with going with it anyway.
You and me both, son. You and me both.
 
Joined
May 11, 2006
Messages
139 (0.02/day)
System Name HTPC
Processor Ryzen 3600
Motherboard ASRock X570M Pro4
Cooling Aquacomputer Cuplex Kryros Delrin + Aquaduct 720XT
Memory Mushkin Ridgeback DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Waterforce WB RTX 2080Ti
Storage Crucial M1 500GB
Display(s) Philips 55POS9002/12 OLED TV
Case Silverstone Sugo SG11
Audio Device(s) FiiO D03k -> Pioneer A676 -> KEF iQ7
Power Supply Seasonic G550 PCGH Edition
Mouse MX Master
Keyboard Corsair K63 wireless Lapboard
Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Messages
1,236 (0.59/day)
Ah, shucks. My slim hope of this making it to Zen2 has been crushed. I guess this shiny new feature may end up kind of backfiring on AMD somewhat, since Intel can apparently enable this on much older CPUs if they want to. Not that AMD didn't know that beforehand, so kudos to them with going with it anyway.
I mean be realistic it's Intel we are talking about here they'll probably enable it on the current lastest MB socket if you're lucky or use it as a excuse to rebrand them for a quite buck.
 
Top