• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon VII Detailed Some More: Die-size, Secret-sauce, Ray-tracing, and More

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36,199 (8.78/day)
Likes
18,601
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Crucial MX500 500GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#1
AMD pulled off a surprise at its CES 2019 keynote address, with the announcement of the Radeon VII client-segment graphics card targeted at gamers. We went hands-on with the card earlier this week. The company revealed a few more technical details of the card in its press-deck for the card. To begin with, the company talks about the immediate dividends of switching from 14 nm to 7 nm, with a reduction in die-size from 495 mm² on the "Vega 10" silicon to 331 mm² on the new "Vega 20" silicon. The company has reworked the die to feature a 4096-bit wide HBM2 memory interface, the "Vega 20" MCM now features four 32 Gbit HBM2 memory stacks, which make up the card's 16 GB of memory. The memory clock has been dialed up to 1000 MHz from 945 MHz on the RX Vega 64, which when coupled with the doubled bus-width, works out to a phenomenal 1 TB/s memory bandwidth.

We know from AMD's late-2018 announcement of the Radeon Instinct MI60 machine-learning accelerator based on the same silicon that "Vega 20" features a total of 64 NGCUs (next-generation compute units). To carve out the Radeon VII, AMD disabled 4 of these, resulting in an NGCU count of 60, which is halfway between the RX Vega 56 and RX Vega 64, resulting in a stream-processor count of 3,840. The reduced NGCU count could help AMD harvest the TSMC-built 7 nm GPU die better. AMD is attempting to make up the vast 44 percent performance gap between the RX Vega 64 and the GeForce RTX 2080 with a combination of factors.



First, AMD appears to be maximizing the clock-speed headroom achieved from the switch to 7 nm. The Radeon VII can boost its engine clock all the way up to 1800 MHz, which may not seem significantly higher than the on-paper 1545 MHz boost frequency of the RX Vega 64, but the Radeon VII probably sustains its boost frequencies better. Second, the slide showing the competitive performance of Radeon VII against the RTX 2080 pins its highest performance gains over the NVIDIA rival in the "Vulkan" title "Strange Brigade," which is known to heavily leverage asynchronous-compute. AMD continues to have a technological upper-hand over NVIDIA in this area. AMD mentions "enhanced" asynchronous-compute for the Radeon VII, which means the company may have improved the ACEs (async-compute engines) on the "Vega 20" silicon, specialized hardware that schedule async-compute workloads among the NGCUs. With its given specs, the Radeon VII has a maximum FP32 throughput of 13.8 TFLOP/s

The third and most obvious area of improvement is memory. The "Vega 20" silicon is lavishly endowed with 16 GB of "high-bandwidth cache" memory, which thanks to the doubling in bus-width and increased memory clocks, results in 1 TB/s of memory bandwidth. Such high physical bandwidth could, in theory, allow AMD's designers to get rid of memory compression which probably frees up some of the GPU's number-crunching resources. The memory size also helps. AMD is once again throwing brute bandwidth to overcome any memory-management issues its architecture may have.



The Radeon VII is being extensively marketed as a competitor to GeForce RTX 2080. NVIDIA holds a competitive edge with its hardware being DirectX Raytracing (DXR) ready, and even integrated specialized components called RT cores into its "Turing" GPUs. The "Vega 20" continues to lack such components, however AMD CEO Dr. Lisa Su confirmed at her post-keynote press round-table that the company is working on ray-tracing. "I think ray tracing is important technology; it's something that we're working on as well, from both a hardware/software standpoint."

Responding to a specific question by a reporter on whether AMD has ray-tracing technology, Dr. Su said: "I'm not going to get into a tit for tat, that's just not my style. So I'll tell you that. What I will say is ray tracing is an important technology. It's one of the important technologies; there are lots of other important technologies and you will hear more about what we're doing with ray tracing. You know, we certainly have a lot going on, both hardware and software, as we bring up that entire ecosystem."

One way of reading between the lines would be - and this is speculation on our part - that AMD could working on retrofitting some of its GPUs powerful enough to handle raytracing with DXR support through a future driver update, as well as working on future generations of GPUs with hardware-acceleration for many of the tasks that are required to get hybrid rasterization work (adding real-time raytraced objects to rasterized 3D scenes). Just as real-time raytracing is technically possible on "Pascal" even if daunting on the hardware, with good enough work directed at getting a ray-tracing model to work on NGCUs leveraging async-compute, some semblance of GPU-accelerated real-time ray-tracing compatible with DXR could probably be achieved. This is not a part of the feature-set of Radeon VII at launch.

The Radeon VII will be available from 7th February, priced at $699, which is on-par with the SEP of the RTX 2080, despite the lack of real-time raytracing (at least at launch). AMD could shepherd its developer-relations on future titles being increasingly reliant on asynchronous compute, the "Vulkan" API, and other technologies its hardware is good at.

View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
May 13, 2013
Messages
65 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
Location
MADAGASCAR, Antananarivo
System Name Righolder
Processor intel i5-4590
Motherboard Crap Mobo
Memory Gskill Trident-X 2133mhz 9-11-10-28-1N @1333
Video Card(s) r9 fury nitro 1020/500
Display(s) Philips 227ELH
Case Deepcool Dukase
Power Supply Raidmax RX-1200AE
Software Win 10 64bit
#2
still 64 ROPs damn...
so just Vega but at 7nm and more hbm2 to boost up the price.
where is Navi??
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,144 (0.92/day)
Likes
567
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard X399 Fatal1ty Professional Gaming
Memory Team NightHawk 3600 4x8GB
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB 3-way Raid 0, Toshiba 8TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Urban T81
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX II
Power Supply FSP Aurum Pro 1000W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#3
still 64 ROPs damn...
so just Vega but at 7nm and more hbm2 to boost up the price.
where is Navi??
Well the Pixie Dust was good while it lasted.
My Vega 56 with the LC Bios on a custom loop does 1780Mhz, so yeah I guess you can have that 16GB of HBM2.

The EVGA 2080ti Black went up $100 last night, I guess thats something too, should have gotten one $999, what a "steal".
What AMD showed was better marketing for nVidia then what even nVidia can come up with.
"AMD used CEO in leather jacket! It's super effective!"
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3,028 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,866
#4
Some ones reporting it wrong. Maybe people are looking at TPUs database which says ROPs 60.

ArsTechnica said:
The new chip has 128 ROPs to the old chip's 64, doubling the number of rendered rasterized pixels it can produce
AnandTech said:
Instead, the biggest difference between the two cards is on the memory/ROP backend. Radeon Vega 64 (Vega 10) featured 64 ROPs and 2 HBM2 memory channels running at 1.89Gbps each, for a total of 484GB/sec of memory bandwidth. Radeon VII (Vega 20) doubles this and then some to 128 ROPs and 4 HBM2 memory channels, which also means memory capacity has doubled to 16GB. And then there’s the clockspeed boost on top of this: 1800MHz for the ROPs, and 2.0Gbps for the HBM2 memory. As a result Radeon VII has a lot more pixel pushing power, and a lot more in the way of resources to feed it to get there. Given these changes and AMD’s performance estimates, I think this lends a lot of evidence to the idea that Vega 10 was unbalanced – it needed more ROPs and/or more memory bandwidth to feed it – but that’s something we’ll save for the eventual review.
Toms Hardware said:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
2,928 (5.49/day)
Likes
1,813
Location
Poland
System Name skurwiel szatan
Processor i7 5775c OC:4.3/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz Power save: 3.3/1.06v
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical VLP 1600 CL8 1.35v OC @2400 CL10 1.6v
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X Trio 2GHz
Storage SU900 128 (OS),850 Pro 256+256+ 512+860 Evo 500 (games),4TB of HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) Mad Catz FREQ wireless
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
#5
AMD wants to close the 45% gap with async. Well that sounds optimistic for those who will buy RVII instead of 2080.
In those 5 titles that support it ? I thought even AMD themselves let the async shader fad die on its own,almost no one has implemented it for three years it's been out.
Turning on RT on more powerful cards would be poinless if they're not hardware accelerated for RT. 2070 has 60TFlops of RT performance and it barely copes.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3,028 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,866
#6
AMD wants to close the 45% gap with async. Well that sounds optimistic for those who will buy RVII instead of 2080.
In those 5 titles that support it ? I thought even AMD themselves let the async shader fad die on its own,almost no one has implemented it for three years it's been out.
Turning on RT on more powerful cards would be poinless if they're not hardware accelerated for RT. 2070 has 60TFlops of RT performance and it barely copes.
Turing arc would scale badly. its a 1:1 SM to RT ratio. It already big as it is. They have to improve the ratio next time around.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,144 (0.92/day)
Likes
567
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard X399 Fatal1ty Professional Gaming
Memory Team NightHawk 3600 4x8GB
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB 3-way Raid 0, Toshiba 8TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Urban T81
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX II
Power Supply FSP Aurum Pro 1000W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#7
AMD wants to close the 45% gap with async. Well that sounds optimistic for those who will buy RVII instead of 2080.
In those 5 titles that support it ? I thought even AMD themselves let the async shader fad die on its own,almost no one has implemented it for three years it's been out.
Turning on RT on more powerful cards would be poinless if they're not hardware accelerated for RT. 2070 has 60TFlops of RT performance and it barely copes.
You know whats the best thing about Async-Compute? nVidia supports it properly since Volta.
Turing does everything this does and some more.

As much as Jensen Huang is an ass-hat, what he said has some truth in it.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2012
Messages
299 (0.13/day)
Likes
157
System Name ATHENA
Processor Intel 9900K
Motherboard MSI Z390 MEG Godlike
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S, 3xNoctua IndustrialPPC 120mm 2000RPM PWM, 3xSilverstone AP 180mm 1200RPM
Memory 4x16GB Trident-Z 16GB 3866mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 2080 Ti Gaming X Trio
Storage 3 x Samsung 970 2TB
Display(s) Acer X34P 34" 21:9 3440x1440 @ 120hz
Case Silverstone FT02
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000w
Mouse FinalMouse Classic Ergo 2 + Evoluent VerticalMouse C
Keyboard Logitech DinovoEdge
Software Windows 10 + OpenSUSE Tumbleweed
#8
Turning on RT on more powerful cards would be poinless if they're not hardware accelerated for RT. 2070 has 60TFlops of RT performance and it barely copes.
It should be noted that Nvidia has a huge ass achilles heel with the RTX series - that RT operations are INT based, and that the card needs to flush to switch between FP and INT operations.

Dedicated Hardware acceleration for RT is a smokescreen IMO, the key is if you can cut down your FP or INT instructions as small as possible and run as many as parallel as possible. AMD does have some FP division capability so its possible that some cards can be retrofitted for RT.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
202 (0.05/day)
Likes
98
#9
AMD wants to close the 45% gap with async. Well that sounds optimistic for those who will buy RVII instead of 2080.
In those 5 titles that support it ? I thought even AMD themselves let the async shader fad die on its own,almost no one has implemented it for three years it's been out.
Turning on RT on more powerful cards would be poinless if they're not hardware accelerated for RT. 2070 has 60TFlops of RT performance and it barely copes.
Who said async compute was dead. It was primitive shader and dsbr that never worked on vega, not async compute. I think you are confused here. Never ever AMD said async compute was not supported or dead.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
735 (0.29/day)
Likes
255
Location
Norway
System Name Games/internet/usage - Server - backup - HTPC2
Processor I7 5820k - AMD A8-5600K BE - I7 920 - A8-7600
Motherboard ASUS X99-A2 - Gigabyte GA-F2A85X-UP4 - MSI x58 pro-e - Gigabyte GA-F2A88XN-WIFI
Cooling custom water loop for cpu and gpus - CM - Arctic Cooling Freezer Xtreme r.2 - Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Memory 16GiB Crucial Ballistix Sport 2666 MHz - 8GiB 1600MHz - 12 GiB corsair thing - 8GB 1866MHz - 8 GB
Video Card(s) 2x Radeon R9 290X CF 1100/1350 - HD 7560D - 2x Radeon HD6950 CF - A8 -7600
Storage Samsung XP941 500 GB - 60 GB SSD + 6 x HDD 4 TB in RAID 6 - 4 SSD and 2 HDD - 250 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP - Remote desktop - the Dell when in use - 55" TV screen
Case Caselabs Magnum M8 - Fractal Design Define R4 - Nanoxia DS 1 - Antec ISK 110 VESA
Audio Device(s) Toslink -> Shiit Modi 2 Uber -> Matrix m-stage -> HD650 - none - as main - HDMI out -> 5.1 system
Power Supply beQuiet dark power pro 1200W- corsair RM750x - Corsair AX850 - Antec 90 W pico power
Mouse Logitech G402 - remote desktop - Logitech G402 in use - Logitech K830
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB - remote desktop - Corsair K95 RGB when in use - Logitech K830
Software Win 10 Pro - Win server 2012 essentials - Win 7 Pro - Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not high enough
#10
Are the 64 ROPs conformed? becaue Anandtech has that number at 128.

At 64 ROPs per card the Raster power of the card is comparable to a 295X when CF is working (a 4 year and 9 month old card)
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
202 (0.05/day)
Likes
98
#11
still 64 ROPs damn...
so just Vega but at 7nm and more hbm2 to boost up the price.
where is Navi??
you want something true high end wait until next year. or you are just setting yourself up for disappointment. Everyone knew before the announcement, reddit, forums. They expected 2080 peformance and no better and were okay lol.

Navi may not be a high end but really good mid range. So just letting you know don't be disappointed. AMD has more to gain from a new architecture so wait until that to see good things.

read that again.I said it's supported in a handful of games only,not that's it's not functional

that 12% lead over 2080 in strange brigade vulkan is amd cherry picking testing methodology too.

https://www.computerbase.de/2018-09...m-high-level-vs-low-level-api-strange-brigade

they chose to run vulkan plus async,where e.g. v64 is 12% faster than 1080. 1080 works better in dx12 mode async off,where the advantage of amd card is 7% only.
Got it. AMD cant have features that boost performance in games. Only Nvidia can. So AMD users should turn off async compute in games because Nvidia cant do it as good and turn off vulkan. Every company is going to show off the best their hardware can do. Whether you like it or not. WHat you are saying is one sided talk. Plus there are more benchmark numbers out there for vega 2 you just need to look.

Are the 64 ROPs conformed? becaue Anandtech has that number at 128.

At 64 ROPs per card the Raster power of the card is comparable to a 295X when CF is working (a 4 year and 9 month old card)
Honestly if they got this performance with 64 ROPs that is even more impressive. they still managed to squeeze 25-30% more performance out of Vega from same old GCN with a shrink.
 
Last edited:

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36,199 (8.78/day)
Likes
18,601
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Crucial MX500 500GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#12
Some ones reporting it wrong
There is no technical document from AMD or statement from any AMD spokesperson that stated 128, despite Vega20 being out since Q4-2018. Anandtech assumed 128 because memory bus width has doubled (while conveniently ignoring that the 4096-bit Fiji/Fury too had 64 ROPs). Other sites picked it up from them. We (and some other site editors) reached out to AMD to confirm ROP count in the meantime.

This is the only Vega20 block-diagram available for now (picked up from MI60 slides):



I only see four pixel engines per pipeline, 16 in all, which do 4 pixels/clock, working out to 64 ROPs.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
2,928 (5.49/day)
Likes
1,813
Location
Poland
System Name skurwiel szatan
Processor i7 5775c OC:4.3/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz Power save: 3.3/1.06v
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical VLP 1600 CL8 1.35v OC @2400 CL10 1.6v
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X Trio 2GHz
Storage SU900 128 (OS),850 Pro 256+256+ 512+860 Evo 500 (games),4TB of HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) Mad Catz FREQ wireless
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
#13
Got it. AMD cant have features that boost performance in games. Only Nvidia can. So AMD users should turn off async compute in games because Nvidia cant do it as good and turn off vulkan. Every company is going to show off the best their hardware can do. Whether you like it or not. WHat you are saying is one sided talk. Plus there are more benchmark numbers out there for vega 2 you just need to look.
no you did not get it. they're comparing best case scenario for radeons vs worst case scenario for nvidia. same as some rviews are comparing games like deus ex md in dx12 mode where vega wins not even mentioning that 1080 on dx11 is faster than vega dx12.

anyway,my point was wrong in the first place since I looked at v64 vs 1080 only, the same chart shows turing cards seem to get better in vulkan+async on mode so let's not argue about something I was wrong about in the first place.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
3,028 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,866
#14
There is no technical document from AMD or statement from any AMD spokesperson that stated 128, despite Vega20 being out since Q4-2018. Anandtech assumed 128 because memory bus width has doubled (while conveniently ignoring that the 4096-bit Hawaii/Fury too had 64 ROPs). Other sites picked it up from them. We (and some other site editors) reached out to AMD to confirm ROP count in the meantime.
Did you get any confirmation on the FP64 1/2 or 1/32. Database says 1/2. Thats equal to Titan V. Hard to imagine they canabalizing their MI60/50 with a $699 part.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
2,928 (5.49/day)
Likes
1,813
Location
Poland
System Name skurwiel szatan
Processor i7 5775c OC:4.3/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz Power save: 3.3/1.06v
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical VLP 1600 CL8 1.35v OC @2400 CL10 1.6v
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X Trio 2GHz
Storage SU900 128 (OS),850 Pro 256+256+ 512+860 Evo 500 (games),4TB of HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) Mad Catz FREQ wireless
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
#15
isn't rop performance tied to memory bandwidth in some way ? even if they cust the sp count and did not improve clocks by much they might've gained a lot with 1tb/s
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
735 (0.29/day)
Likes
255
Location
Norway
System Name Games/internet/usage - Server - backup - HTPC2
Processor I7 5820k - AMD A8-5600K BE - I7 920 - A8-7600
Motherboard ASUS X99-A2 - Gigabyte GA-F2A85X-UP4 - MSI x58 pro-e - Gigabyte GA-F2A88XN-WIFI
Cooling custom water loop for cpu and gpus - CM - Arctic Cooling Freezer Xtreme r.2 - Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Memory 16GiB Crucial Ballistix Sport 2666 MHz - 8GiB 1600MHz - 12 GiB corsair thing - 8GB 1866MHz - 8 GB
Video Card(s) 2x Radeon R9 290X CF 1100/1350 - HD 7560D - 2x Radeon HD6950 CF - A8 -7600
Storage Samsung XP941 500 GB - 60 GB SSD + 6 x HDD 4 TB in RAID 6 - 4 SSD and 2 HDD - 250 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP - Remote desktop - the Dell when in use - 55" TV screen
Case Caselabs Magnum M8 - Fractal Design Define R4 - Nanoxia DS 1 - Antec ISK 110 VESA
Audio Device(s) Toslink -> Shiit Modi 2 Uber -> Matrix m-stage -> HD650 - none - as main - HDMI out -> 5.1 system
Power Supply beQuiet dark power pro 1200W- corsair RM750x - Corsair AX850 - Antec 90 W pico power
Mouse Logitech G402 - remote desktop - Logitech G402 in use - Logitech K830
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB - remote desktop - Corsair K95 RGB when in use - Logitech K830
Software Win 10 Pro - Win server 2012 essentials - Win 7 Pro - Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not high enough
#16
isn't rop performance tied to memory bandwidth in some way ? even if they cust the sp count and did not improve clocks by much they might've gained a lot with 1tb/s
According to btarunrs post the ROPs are tied to the Graphics pipeline, on Nv chips its tied to the memory controllers, so it is probably 64 ROPs
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
18,597 (3.47/day)
Likes
20,665
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#17
We (and some other site editors) reached out to AMD to confirm ROP count in the meantime.
Just to clarify on that, we're still waiting for response from AMD.
 
Joined
May 29, 2017
Messages
439 (0.73/day)
Likes
67
#19
Why is Radeon VII only 7.5% faster in hitman 2?

Makes me feel better about AMD's performance numbers at least! Suppose they left it in to counteract the insane spikes up. Dunno, weird they left that one in.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
399 (0.09/day)
Likes
320
Location
Malaysia
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Gigabyte AB350M Gaming 3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2400 @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon RX Vega 56 flashed 64 VBIOS
Storage 120GB Samsung Evo 840 SSD+ 2TB Seagate Barracuda + 2TB Seagate Surveillance
Display(s) 24" LG 24MP59G
Case Tecware Nexus M
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD modded
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard CM Storm QuickFire Pro Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#20
I highly doubt it have 128ROPs. If it did have 64 ROPs then old Vega56/64 are memory bandwidth starved. Then again, all AMD recent GPU are bandwidth starved for example RX470 that uses the same memory as RX480 performs very close to it. GCN is reaching its limits, its good for compute but not as a gaming card. They need to put more than 4 Shader Engines, which in return increase geometry units and number of ROPs.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,144 (0.92/day)
Likes
567
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard X399 Fatal1ty Professional Gaming
Memory Team NightHawk 3600 4x8GB
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB 3-way Raid 0, Toshiba 8TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Urban T81
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX II
Power Supply FSP Aurum Pro 1000W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#21
Did you get any confirmation on the FP64 1/2 or 1/32. Database says 1/2. Thats equal to Titan V. Hard to imagine they canabalizing their MI60/50 with a $699 part.
The MI50 and 60 are not display cards in the sense that they have no display output at all.
If this has the full FP64 performance, this card might indeed has some merit, as a Vega FE replacement.
A much cheaper Radeon Pro without all the proper certifications, that is if this card has access to the Pro drivers and ROCm etc.
 
Last edited:

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36,199 (8.78/day)
Likes
18,601
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Crucial MX500 500GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#22
The MI50 and 60 are not display card in the sense that they have no display output at all.
They have one mini-DP for diagnostic purposes.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
197 (0.47/day)
Likes
102
Location
Asia
Processor Intel Core i5 4590
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97x Gaming 3
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600(800MHz)
Video Card(s) Intel HD 4600
Storage Transcend SSD370S 128GB; Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S20D300 20" 768p TN
Case Delux DLC-MV888
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair VS450
Mouse A4Tech OP-620D
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores BaseMark GPU : 250 Point
#23
Did you get any confirmation on the FP64 1/2 or 1/32. Database says 1/2. Thats equal to Titan V. Hard to imagine they canabalizing their MI60/50 with a $699 part.
AMD usually have FP64 1/16 of FP32 on consumer card for last 3 generation. AFAIK Hawaii has FP64 1/8 of FP32.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
566 (0.19/day)
Likes
202
#24
It was'nt a simple die-shrink just alone if the thing suddenly has 128 ROPS vs original 64. Could someone investigate this? With a wider memory controller there's alot more bandwidth available now which should kill any negative aspects the previous chip had and needed badly for improving performance (HBM OC'ing).

If they do happend to add 64 more ROPS then the performance benefit should be alot better then what it is now, right? Because the original VEGA seemed to be bottlenecked by both amount of ROPS and memory bandwidth. It's a different chip then which i find a weird move since NAVI is coming out as well. That means they are running at least 3 different GPU's on the assembly line from RX590 to VEGA and NAVI. The 60 CU's seem to be a choice to get best from a single wafer. Perhaps there are bios mods available for a full 64 CU unlock. :D

Furthermore the performance seems good; i'm about to slam 2000 euro into a complete new TR2 system so this card is more then welcome.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2012
Messages
74 (0.03/day)
Likes
36
#25
Good luck with RayTracing in software, if that was viable we would have had that already. If they do it it is just a desperate move not to look obsolete.

Do not expect RayTracing in hardware until end of 2020 and even then they will be years behind nVidia who will, by that time, be in the process of readying their third gen RTX cards for release.

We need Intel to enter the market with RayTracing from the get go in 2020.

I also have a feeling that AMD may be working secretly with Intel on RayTracing tech to sett up a unified standard against nvidias RTX.
 
Last edited:
Top