• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Readies 3.70 GHz Phenom II X4 980 Black Edition Processor

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
AMD is looking to give its Phenom II series a finale, with a new quad-core Phenom II X4 model, the Phenom II X4 980 Black Edition. The new chip will be clocked at 3.70 GHz out of the box (18.5 x 200 MHz). It achieves this speed while staying within the 125W TDP envelope. Based on the 45 nm "Deneb" silicon, the X4 980 BE features four x86-64 cores with 512 KB dedicated L2 cache each, and a 6 MB shared cache. Compatible with AM3 and AM2+ sockets, the chip packs a dual-channel memory controller that supports DDR3-1333 MHz or DDR2-1066 MHz memory standards. AMD will unveil the new chip soon, as the company gears up to launch next-generation chips in June.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#2
Interesting AMD, dat would be nice for ppl who dont know how to overclock, and I thought Phenom II supported 1600MHz Ram speeds????:eek:
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,481 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,030
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#3
WTF??? lol, i thought they was done with Phenom II, o well still a nice stock clock, id take one if some one gave me one lol :p

Naaa Lionheart, only 1333, gotta overclock for those speeds.
 

Kitkat

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
768 (0.24/day)
Likes
75
#4
Interesting AMD, dat would be nice for ppl who dont know how to overclock, and I thought Phenom II supported 1600MHz Ram speeds????:eek:
"dat's" the motherboard @1600 and "dat's" the 790FX. The 890FX supports 1800-2XXX. At the chip its 1333 you oc to get there. You wouldn't buy a black without ocing its a waste of money.

WTF??? lol, i thought they was done with Phenom II, o well still a nice stock clock, id take one if some one gave me one lol :p

Naaa Lionheart, only 1333, gotta overclock for those speeds.
Yes "they was done" with it. there is more than one "team" working on things im sure this is one of there last projects b4 moving on.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#5
Oh ok that makes sense now, cheers guys.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.30/day)
Likes
123
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
#6
Interesting... nice to know that the person I'm selling my mobo & CPU to after the Bulldozers come to light will still have plenty upgrade options. At least AMD doesn't just dump previous gen owners.
 

Dr. Nick

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2011
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
System Name GigaVision
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
Cooling Cooler Master V6GT
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 6950 2GB
Storage too many to list currently
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair AX-750
#7
3.7Ghz stock speed sounds nice. I bet you could reach 4Ghz without even raising the voltage.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
662 (0.21/day)
Likes
85
Location
I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
System Name 2 sys spec seperated by "|"
Processor R7 1700 | Xeon 2680
Motherboard Asus | HP Z620
Cooling Water | Air
Memory 64gb | 128 gb
Video Card(s) EK-FC - RX Vega 64 | quadro K4000\GTX970
Storage Many SSD's
Display(s) AOC 28" 4K something
Case Corsair Carbide 88R
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard TT Meka G1
Software Ubuntu 17.10 - 4.14 AMDGPU
#8
3.7Ghz stock speed sounds nice. I bet you could reach 4Ghz without even raising the voltage.
perhaps.
but 3,7 ghz, will we reach 3.8 stock speeds ? highest stock clocked desktop cpu ?
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
867 (0.29/day)
Likes
207
Location
London, UK
System Name The one under the desk / Media Centre
Processor Xeon X3730@3.6GHZ / Phenom II X4 805E
Motherboard Gigabyte P55M-UD4 / Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Corsair H70 + 2*PWM fan / Arctic Alpine 11
Memory 16GB DRR3-1333 9-9-9-27 / 4GB Crucial DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCU GTX 680 / Gigabyte 560TI
Storage Kingston V200 128GB, WD6400AAKS, 1TB Seagate 7.2kRPM SSHD / Kingston V200 128GB
Display(s) Samsung 2343BW + Dell Ultrasharp 1600*1200 / 32" TV
Case C'M' Silencio 550 / Some ancient SilverStone brushed aluminium media centre
Audio Device(s) No.
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W / EVGA 430W
Mouse Mionix Naos 3200 / Generic PS2
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro / Evoluent Mouse Friendly Keyboard (Logitech OEM)
Software Windows 7 Ult x64
Benchmark Scores Nah.
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
6,823 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,901
Location
Viking Land
System Name Ivy Biatch
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard ASSRockzz z77TOTHEEXTREME!!!!
Cooling bleh
Memory 2x4gb crucial 1866
Video Card(s) HD7770, yes it does BF3
Storage 120gb Vertex
Display(s) 226BW
Case whats that, oh my table
Audio Device(s) stock onboard thing
Power Supply HX850W
Software 7
#10
they should just put it at 4.0 instead to finish the PII lineup with a proper speed
 

Hustler

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2010
Messages
100 (0.04/day)
Likes
39
#11
Well i suppose they have to use up the last remaining stocks of Phenom II's somehow......

Still a good , cheap CPU though, that will have more than enough grunt (for games) for the next couple of years.

Infact, put one of these with a 560 or 6950, and you have a kick ass cheap gaming rig.....
 

Over_Lord

News Editor
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
764 (0.29/day)
Likes
91
Location
Hyderabad
System Name BAH! - - tHE ECo FReAK
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 1.15V
Motherboard ASUS 785G EVO
Cooling Stock
Memory Corsair Titanium 4GB DDR3 1600MHz C9
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850 @ 1.049v
Storage Seagate 7200.12 500GB
Display(s) BenQ G2220HD
Case Cooler Master Elite 334
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VX550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#12
perhaps.
but 3,7 ghz, will we reach 3.8 stock speeds ? highest stock clocked desktop cpu ?
this was imminent. SInce Bulldozer is launching in June 2nd week, AMD as customary have to refresh their line-up every quarter, starting this may is Q2 2011

So I guess a 3.4GHz Phenom II X6 is possible.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
662 (0.21/day)
Likes
85
Location
I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
System Name 2 sys spec seperated by "|"
Processor R7 1700 | Xeon 2680
Motherboard Asus | HP Z620
Cooling Water | Air
Memory 64gb | 128 gb
Video Card(s) EK-FC - RX Vega 64 | quadro K4000\GTX970
Storage Many SSD's
Display(s) AOC 28" 4K something
Case Corsair Carbide 88R
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard TT Meka G1
Software Ubuntu 17.10 - 4.14 AMDGPU
#13
this was imminent. SInce Bulldozer is launching in June 2nd week, AMD as customary have to refresh their line-up every quarter, starting this may is Q2 2011

So I guess a 3.4GHz Phenom II X6 is possible.
Maybe we will see one last phenom II at 3.8
Just to have beaten intel in mhz's and its almost 7 years since last intel set the record for x86 mhz cpu's

mhz doesnt really matter, but just for the fun side of it :p
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
396 (0.13/day)
Likes
61
System Name Just A Gaming Rig.
Processor AMD FX-8320 @4.1GHz, 1.268V
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 Evo R2.0
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Club 3D R9 280X 3GB royalQueen, @1115/1615MHz
Storage OS+Often used stuff: Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB, Mass storage: WD Blue 1TB
Case Zalman Z3 Plus
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Software Windows 8.1 64-bit
#14
Just give us Bulldozer already...
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,530 (0.46/day)
Likes
377
System Name Lailalo / Edelweiss
Processor FX 8320 @ 4.5Ghz / i7 3610QM @2.3-3.2Ghz
Motherboard ASrock 990FX Extreme 4 / Lenovo Y580
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus / Big hunk of copper
Memory 16GB Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600+ / 8GB Hyundai DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 / GTX 660M 2GB
Storage Seagate 3TB/1TB + OCZ Synapse 64GB SSD Cache / Western Digital 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) LG Ultrawide 29in @ 2560x1080 / Lenovo 15.6 @ 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper / Lenovo Y580
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Whatever Lenovo used
Power Supply Antec Truepower Blue 750W + Thermaltake 5.25in 250W / Big Power Brick
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 Home
#15
But still for the price...why bother when the other BE models can clock just as high. Course I'll reserve final judgment for when a review is done, but right now I'm doubting it would be worth the expense which likely has it in the X6 range. Might as well go X6 at that point.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2009
Messages
76 (0.02/day)
Likes
22
Location
Montreal, Canada
System Name Non Existent
#16
they should just put it at 4.0 instead to finish the PII lineup with a proper speed
I believe AMD needs to keep the chip within the TDP of 125W. Their cooling solution must be up to par and the mobo needs to have proper power delivery.

I can't say for sure but it actually sounds like a pretty big achievement for AMD. You can argue that they are making new SKU's just to sell chips (and that would be a strong argument) but I'd like to take a more positive view and say that 3.5GHz was their limit for 125W TDP at one time (just for example). As the manufacturing process matured, they were able to hit 3.6GHz within 125W and again, further maturation has allowed them to squeeze 3.7GHz out of 125W.

If that is in fact the case then Bulldozer should be a more mature chip than it would have been without those milestones from the Gen before it.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,585 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,917
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#18
I think this is kickass! The average user doesn't overclock. So, giving them the option of buying a 3.7ghz cpu is great for everyone that likes amd. :toast:
 

Dave63

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
106 (0.04/day)
Likes
12
Location
Hamilton, NY
System Name X-Tek
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE OC @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard ECS GF8200A Black Series
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory G-Skill PC2-6400 4GB
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC 768MB
Storage WD 320 GB
Display(s) ASUS 23" Full HD HDMI LED Backlight
Case Xigmatek UTGARD
Audio Device(s) Integrated 8-channel HD Audio
Power Supply BFG 550W GX Series
Software Windows 7 Home 64 Bit
#19
I believe AMD needs to keep the chip within the TDP of 125W. Their cooling solution must be up to par and the mobo needs to have proper power delivery.

I can't say for sure but it actually sounds like a pretty big achievement for AMD. You can argue that they are making new SKU's just to sell chips (and that would be a strong argument) but I'd like to take a more positive view and say that 3.5GHz was their limit for 125W TDP at one time (just for example). As the manufacturing process matured, they were able to hit 3.6GHz within 125W and again, further maturation has allowed them to squeeze 3.7GHz out of 125W.

If that is in fact the case then Bulldozer should be a more mature chip than it would have been without those milestones from the Gen before it.
If the 3.5GHz was their limit for 125W TDP, what is it for the 95W that is my max TDP on my mobo and I am at 3.5GHz stable. So I can see this new chip over 4.0GHz eazy, I will be holding off for bulldozer to be out to start the new build this fall and turn this one into a 24/7 folder for fun:rockout:
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#20
Nah. It was the same back in the days with the Brisbane Athlons 6000+ . They had a pretty high base clock but you could barely OC them because they had reached the limits of the current process node. I doubt we will see any new Ph II's unless of course you don't count Llano as Phenom ;]
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#21
If the 3.5GHz was their limit for 125W TDP, what is it for the 95W that is my max TDP on my mobo and I am at 3.5GHz stable. So I can see this new chip over 4.0GHz eazy, I will be holding off for bulldozer to be out to start the new build this fall and turn this one into a 24/7 folder for fun:rockout:
Those TDP ratings are what they are rated and guaranteed to work with is all.

My mobo is 140w max but I could run 200w through it, it just isn't designed for it.
 

Dave63

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
106 (0.04/day)
Likes
12
Location
Hamilton, NY
System Name X-Tek
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE OC @ 3.5Ghz
Motherboard ECS GF8200A Black Series
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory G-Skill PC2-6400 4GB
Video Card(s) MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC 768MB
Storage WD 320 GB
Display(s) ASUS 23" Full HD HDMI LED Backlight
Case Xigmatek UTGARD
Audio Device(s) Integrated 8-channel HD Audio
Power Supply BFG 550W GX Series
Software Windows 7 Home 64 Bit
#22
I agree I do not think that the TDP would limit it to only 3.5GHz. And yes most current mobo you can run a higher TDP than thay are rated at.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,381 (2.57/day)
Likes
5,821
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#23
Why not go for another extra 300 and slam a magic 4GHz number on it?
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2009
Messages
510 (0.17/day)
Likes
73
Location
UK South
System Name AMD FX
Processor AMD FX 8350 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus Sabretooth 990FX R2.0
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB Corsair Vegance 1866
Video Card(s) AMD HD7970 Gigabyte
Storage Sandisk Extreme SSD, 500gb SG Sata
Display(s) Samsung 2333sw
Case HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750w
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#24
not surprised on this, i built a system the other day for a customer with the 1100T and was simply amazed at how easy it reached 4.0ghz with a simple artic freezer pro rev2.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,712 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,781
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2 (+3 on/off)
Processor W3670 4.00 GHz/ W3670 3.8 / 4790K 4.4/ i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/ UD5
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/D14
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/ Mus
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 970 ASUS / 2x970 MSI/970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD, all EVO 840
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/700 W Enermax
Software WIN7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
#25
Why not go for another extra 300 and slam a magic 4GHz number on it?
I'm pretty sure there is a good reason for not doing that. ;)

Edit: More then one good reason...