1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Releases Catalyst 10.4 Preview, Fixes Bad Company 2 Issue for Radeon HD5000 Users

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,429 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,799
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    And boy, do they EVER!!! less than 5 seconds per map, for me, now. Used to be one of the last entering the server, tonight through 6 rounds on 3 servers, I was first every time.

    I had taken out a building, and a MCOM station, before the other team even had 2 spawned yet.

    Awesome stuff!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Marineborn

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    wow nice drivers only problem i encountered is it wont load up just cause 2 now, im reinstalling hopefully that will fix it, but the load times have gotten wicked fast about 5-9 seconds and bam son im capturing flags well all the usless snipers spawn on the other team and hide in there litlte hidey holes
     
  3. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    467 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    TR
  4. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,033 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Well sort of, but NVIDIA DX10 was fine, while ATI DX10 is still slow. 2-3 minutes though sounds really bad, didn't take nearly as long with 10.3 cat.

    Might take a while to fix, not really that many DX11 NVIDIAs out there and all of them aren't playing BC2 either :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,863 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Brasil
    nice no more flickering, and 10 sec less loadings
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,047 (9.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,704
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    loading takes me 1-2 minutes, running DX10.1 i assume.

    That would be why nvidia dont load slow, they dont run 10.1 - they run 10.0
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Cant wait for its release
     
  8. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    409 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    So this is a problem with the 5000 series cards and dx10 and dx 11? I run a 5870 on xp and the load times are pretty fast for me. Like 30 seconds. I always thought it was smoking fast compared to bf2.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,047 (9.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,704
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    you run DX9 on a 5870? dear god, lol.



    Its a game issue with DX10.1 and DX11. drivers can fix this issue somehow.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    621 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Yeah, that is smoking fast compared to bf2, but w/ these drivers load times are reduced to <10 seconds.
     
  11. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,168 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Florida, US
    they need to come out with the 4k version
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    409 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    and whats so "lol" about running a 5870 on dx9?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,349 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,095
    Location:
    'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
    The point. You missed it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,047 (9.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,704
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    the 2GB address space limit, the fact you have a DX11 card and can only use DX9.0C (skipping 10.0, 10.1 and 11 games)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    409 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Well aside from maybe Stalker expansions , I don't think I've missed much in the way of DX 10 or 11 gaming. I hope I'll be impressed by bad company dx 11....... I just got a windows 7 and looking forward to installing it. And as for 2gig space limits, my games all run just dandy @ 2560 X 1600 thank you!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,562 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,537
    Even under multiplayer? to me Gaming should be tested in Multiplayer mode as usually there is way more activity going on.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)