• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Releases Catalyst 15.9 Beta Drivers

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,637 (8.52/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
AMD released its latest Catalyst software update. Version 15.9 Beta brings you game optimizations for Star Wars Battlefront Beta, and Fable Legends. It also resolves an issue where DirectX 12 (feature level 12_0) support was not being reported by DXDIAG on supported Radeon graphics cards; a Dragon Age: Inquisition related bug in Mantle API mode; and frame-stutter in Assassin's Creed Unity, in CrossFire mode. Some issues related to BenQ's 144 Hz FreeSync monitors were also fixed.



DOWNLOAD: AMD Catalyst 15.9 Beta for Windows 10/8.1/7 32-bit | Windows 10/8.1/7 64-bit

View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2013
Messages
148 (0.07/day)
  • [59298] Final Fantasy XIV - Heavensward may crash when run in DirectX 11® mode and borderless window mode
Passing on it then. Hopefully they will solve this by the time the 15.9 proper rolls out...
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,222 (0.34/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Acer Nitro 5
Processor AMD FX-9590 || R5 2500U @ 35W
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R 2.0 || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + frankenstein loop H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB DDR4 @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || RX 560X
Display(s) Samsung U28E590 4K & S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P IPS @ 100Hz Freesync enabled
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 135Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
  • [59298] Final Fantasy XIV - Heavensward may crash when run in DirectX 11® mode and borderless window mode
Passing on it then. Hopefully they will solve this by the time the 15.9 proper rolls out...
Seeing as they specifically state it crashing when in borderless window mode, does using fullscreen mode or windowed (with border) alleviate crashing?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,453 (8.60/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
*heavy breathing*

too excited to read the release notes before commenting, so uhhh... hi.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2013
Messages
148 (0.07/day)
Seeing as they specifically state it crashing when in borderless window mode, does using fullscreen mode or windowed (with border) alleviate crashing?
Probably, but since borderless is the best way to play it and since I've got no use for those DX12 fixes in the driver, I'd rather stick to 15.7 for the time being.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2013
Messages
1,450 (0.64/day)
Location
Athens, Greece
System Name 3 systems: Gaming / Internet / HTPC
Processor Intel i5 4460 / Thuban 1455T(Unlocked 645) @ 3.7GHz @ 1.30V / A6 7400K
Motherboard ASRock Z97 Extreme6 / Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 / ASUS FM2+
Cooling Modified AM2 Asetek MicroChill / Noctua U12S / CoolerMaster TX2
Memory 16GB Kingston KHX1866C10D3 / 16GB Adata 2133MHz / 8GB Kingston 2400MHz (DDR3)
Video Card(s) GT 620 / ASUS HD7870 2GB + GT 710 (PhysX) / A6 7400K iGPU
Storage Intel NVMe 500GB, Samsung NVMe 250GB + more / Kingston 240GB + more / Samsung SSD 120GB
Display(s) Samsung LE32D550 32'' TV(2 systems connected) / LG 42''
Case Sharkoon Rebel 12 / Sharkoon Rebel 9 / Xigmatek Midguard
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Chieftec 850W / Sharkoon 650W / Chieftec 560W
Mouse CoolerMaster / Rapoo / Logitech
Keyboard CoolerMaster / Microsoft / Logitech
Software Windows
A quick retest of Fable Legents, especially on the Fury, would have been interesting. But I guess under DX12 whatever optimizations AMD, or Nvidia, can do, wouldn't change the fps much.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,454 (4.02/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
It also resolves an issue where DirectX 12 (feature level 12_0) support was not being reported by DXDIAG on supported Radeon graphics cards
dxdiag looks right on my 390 now.

@W1zzard : Should GPU-Z match the highest feature level in dxdiag with this driver installed?
dxdiag_gpuz.JPG
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,825 (1.31/day)
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.8Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW 2150/2240
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
did anyone else notice that if you resize any window it will eat all of the vram until the window is closed?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,453 (8.60/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
It would be all kinds of awesome if the OP posted the release notes in the thread!! :respect:
they're there with the download link. gotta go there anyway.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
50 (0.03/day)
Processor Intel i5-3350P
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 8GB mixed
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro RX 470
Storage 840 EVO + WD Red
Display(s) DELL U2412M
Case CM N200
Audio Device(s) O2+ODAC
Power Supply EVGA Bronze 600W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard 6Gv2 (it's shit)
Software W10
Firefox leaks memory and crashes with this driver.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
10,425 (2.03/day)
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,825 (1.31/day)
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.8Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070 FTW 2150/2240
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
Firefox leaks memory and crashes with this driver.
its probably being caused by the memory leak issue with these drivers, some programs will fill up the vram instantly almost and not free up the vram even after you close it for some people.

check your vram usage after starting firefox and moving the window around to check and if you have the bug just go back to 15.8.

http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/AMD-Catalyst-15.9-Beta-Memory-Leak.aspx

https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/3mtc6v/warning_big_gpu_memory_leak_bug_in_159_beta_on/
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=402805
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,454 (4.02/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,764 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,867 (2.24/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
doesn't fix the DXDIAG Problem on my 7970
980 time I guess
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
1,109 (0.41/day)
System Name desktop
Processor i7-4770k
Motherboard Asus z87-plus
Cooling Corsair h80
Memory 32gb G.Skill Ares @ 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC (ACX 3.0)
Storage 2x Samsung 1tb 850evo SSD, 3x WD drives, 2 seagate
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU 27inch IPS G-Sync 165hz
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster x-FI Platium, Turtle beach Elite pro 2 + superamp.
Power Supply OCZ Z Series 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Keyboard Logitch G710+
doesn't fix the DXDIAG Problem on my 7970
980 time I guess
I think card would need a bios update to show DX12, but wouldn't expect that from AMD given the age of chip, its EOL at this point.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,867 (2.24/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
I think card would need a bios update to show DX12, but wouldn't expect that from AMD given the age of chip, its EOL at this point.
1. a 7970 is a 280x they are identical
2. the 7000 series was confirmed as having DX12_0 support ages ago
3. its not EOL
 
Joined
May 1, 2010
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
System Name Dricast
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory 12GB Mushkin DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA Geforce GTX460@GTX560 Clocks in SLI
Storage SanDisk 120GB SSD, Hitatchi 1TB, Hitatchi 2TB
Display(s) Dell 24"
Case Antec 902
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
Theirs a Memory Leak issue with these drivers when you resize a Window. Happens in 7 and 10 from my testing. Be wary of this driver release.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,454 (4.02/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
All these driver do is crash when using win 10
The Witcher 3 and Unigine Heaven seem to run okay on my 390 with the beta driver. That's all I've run since switching to it as I've been rather busy but, I do think that AMD's installer doesn't upgrade the drivers right. Ever since I started using DDU to remove the current driver prior to upgrading, it seems to work just fine. I don't use Firefox very often, so I wouldn't have encountered that one but I haven't had a BSOD or a crash since installing it and benchmark scores seem to be the same as the prior driver.

I had a lot of issues when the driver didn't upgrade properly though which is why I use DDU every time now.
 
Top