• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Releases First Socket FM1 Athlon Processor

Was it wise on AMD's part to disable the integrated GPU on Athlon X4 FM1?

  • Yes, else there would be nothing different between this and A-series

    Votes: 7 43.8%
  • No, they should have at least left a crippled, yet functional iGPU

    Votes: 9 56.3%

  • Total voters
    16

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,314
Likes
17,423
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,192
Likes
633
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | MSI nVIDIA Vanta 16MB
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#2
Is the GPU unlockable?
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2008
Messages
28
Likes
9
Location
Stratford Upon Avon, England, UK
System Name Toshiba Satellite L50D-C
Processor QuadCore AMD A10-8700P, 1800MHz (18 x 100), 3200MHz Turbo, 2MB L2 Cache
Motherboard Toshiba Satellite L50D-C
Cooling 5-Fan NoName Laptop Cooling Pad
Memory Hynix 8192MB DDR3-1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon R6 Graphics (Carrizo) 512MB 384 Shaders 800MHz
Storage SanDisk SDSSDA240G (240 GB, SATA-III) + HGST HTS541010A9E680 (1000 GB, SATA-III)
Display(s) LG Philips LP156WF6-SPB5 1920x1080 IPS LED laptop screen
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC235 @ AMD K15.6 - High Definition Audio Controller
Power Supply LGC PA5185U-1BR S 45000 mWh + 65W Toshiba PA5178U-1ACA
Mouse Rapoo N1200
Keyboard Laptop Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home Edition 64-bit
#3
I think there will be some method to unlock itm like the ACC to unlock disabled cores!:)
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201
Likes
2,387
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#4
unlocking GPUS ftw!
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,876
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#5
Now just give us some ITX mobos.
 

faramir

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2011
Messages
203
Likes
27
#6
Hiow comes this thing is slower than majority of the 45 nm 4-core lineup, yet it has TDP that surpasses any of them ?

I wish they made a decent GPUless 32 nm K10-based chip, clock it as high as realistically possible (3.5+ GHz should be easily doable, considering A8-3850 is capable of passing the 3.7 GHz mark with BCLK overclock alone ... and that's with its GPU enabled, wasting previous TDP room for mediocre graphics performance) and market it as a midrange solution for those who need more CPU and GPU performance than Llano can provide, so people would opt for miore powerful discrete (AMD) GPU options and finally make some use of the multitude of twin 8x PCI-e FM1 boards we've been seeing recently.

Such a chip would be positioned inbetween Llano and 4-core Bulldozer with regards to CPU performance while costing roughly as much as top of the line Llano. This way people could trade onchip GPU resources and TDP for higher CPU power and AMD would be making same profit margins as with A8-3850 chips, plus improve its discrete GPU sales. An upgrade path from Llano while still retaining the platform people already invested in ? Sounds much better than the crippled 2.6 GHz chip to me.

Since Bulldozer won't be avaliable for the FM1 platform and since it appears that FM1 is a dead end anyway this would be a perfect solution for breathing more life into machines people are buying today without causing any undue market cannibalization between differet AMD architectures. Heck, perhaps this architecture could pass the 4.5 or even 5 GHz mark at some point once the 32 nm manufacturing process quirks are ironed out, considering the rather trivial 45 nm Phenom II overclocking ? Now that would be some way to milk the ancient Athlon architecture down to the last dime :)
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#7
Hiow comes this thing is slower than majority of the 45 nm 4-core lineup, yet it has TDP that surpasses any of them ?

I wish they made a decent GPUless 32 nm K10-based chip, clock it as high as realistically possible (3.5+ GHz should be easily doable, considering A8-3850 is capable of passing the 3.7 GHz mark with BCLK overclock alone ... and that's with its GPU enabled, wasting previous TDP room for mediocre graphics performance) and market it as a midrange solution for those who need more CPU and GPU performance than Llano can provide, so people would opt for miore powerful discrete (AMD) GPU options and finally make some use of the multitude of twin 8x PCI-e FM1 boards we've been seeing recently.

Such a chip would be positioned inbetween Llano and 4-core Bulldozer with regards to CPU performance while costing roughly as much as top of the line Llano. This way people could trade onchip GPU resources and TDP for higher CPU power and AMD would be making same profit margins as with A8-3850 chips, plus improve its discrete GPU sales. An upgrade path from Llano while still retaining the platform people already invested in ? Sounds much better than the crippled 2.6 GHz chip to me.

Since Bulldozer won't be avaliable for the FM1 platform and since it appears that FM1 is a dead end anyway this would be a perfect solution for breathing more life into machines people are buying today without causing any undue market cannibalization between differet AMD architectures. Heck, perhaps this architecture could pass the 4.5 or even 5 GHz mark at some point once the 32 nm manufacturing process quirks are ironed out, considering the rather trivial 45 nm Phenom II overclocking ? Now that would be some way to milk the ancient Athlon architecture down to the last dime :)
I think you misunderstood what FM1 is really for. Granted this chip seems pointless at this price point.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,516
Likes
757
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#8
not to mention it does have the northbridge on chip.

not sure how good an idea it would be to unlock the gpu cores... with 320-400 of them the chances of some not working are pretty high. may not be very useful unless the program that unlocks them can pick out the good cores, if the thing hasn't been neutered with a laser.
 

faramir

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2011
Messages
203
Likes
27
#9
I think you misunderstood what FM1 is really for. Granted this chip seems pointless at this price point.
Well, would you care to enlighten me in that case ?

FM1 is a dead end that will be used by first generation desktop APUs (Llano) and possibly some Trinity models, then it's gone for good (just like LGA1156 and LGA1366 on Intel's side). By coming up with a decent GPU-less Llano successor - something this new Athlon could have been, but just isn't - the folks who're investing into FM1 and A-series chips today would still have a viable upgrade path for some time to follow, trading the integrated GPU capability for CPU capability and sticking a discrete graphics card into their motherboard (where the PCI-e slots are likely to go unused today) for a combination that could easily cope with computing and graphics requirements of the forseeable future. This would allow AMD to squeeze even more money out of their old architecture, so it would be a win-win situation.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
1,952
Likes
943
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 512GB Plextor M8PeG NVMe, 500GB Crucial MX200
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Roccat ISKU
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/j1yypa
#10
not to mention it does have the northbridge on chip.

not sure how good an idea it would be to unlock the gpu cores... with 320-400 of them the chances of some not working are pretty high. may not be very useful unless the program that unlocks them can pick out the good cores, if the thing hasn't been neutered with a laser.
1. There's no such thing as a northbridge any more, AMD integrated the memory controller ages ago and what was left was a simple PCI Express controller which is now inside the chip package as well.

2. It doesn't work like that, go read a couple of graphics card reviews here and you might get a better idea how it works. For one, they're hardly "gpu cores" that's a BS marketing term and on top of that, as they're enabled in clusters of a predetermined amount based on the GPU design, in this case 80 at a time, you're looking at 4-5 clusters which means that it would have to be possible to enable and disable the clusters individually rather than each of the shaders.
 

CoreDuo

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
39
Likes
4
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 @ 3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte X38-DS4
Cooling Stock HSF
Memory 6GB DDR2-800
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 9600 GT
Storage 128GB Crucial M4, 2x2TB Samsung HD204UI
Display(s) ASUS VE247H
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Power Supply 620W Seasonic M12II
Software Windows 7 Professional
#11
Well, would you care to enlighten me in that case ?

FM1 is a dead end that will be used by first generation desktop APUs (Llano) and possibly some Trinity models, then it's gone for good (just like LGA1156 and LGA1366 on Intel's side). By coming up with a decent GPU-less Llano successor - something this new Athlon could have been, but just isn't - the folks who're investing into FM1 and A-series chips today would still have a viable upgrade path for some time to follow, trading the integrated GPU capability for CPU capability and sticking a discrete graphics card into their motherboard (where the PCI-e slots are likely to go unused today) for a combination that could easily cope with computing and graphics requirements of the forseeable future. This would allow AMD to squeeze even more money out of their old architecture, so it would be a win-win situation.
How is FM1 a dead end when the Piledriver CPUs as well as the Bulldozer-based Trinity APUs are both going to be released on socket FM2? I'm sure there will be chipset differences as there always has been with AMD but I really don't think they'd rehash the same ideals that made Socket 754 fail. It would be strange for FM2 not to have backwards compatibility with FM1 else it would be a fruitless endeavor to name them similarly. If there's any dead end, it lies entirely with AM3+ as it's more than likely going to be discontinued as soon as the FM2 chips roll out.

Source
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,946
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#12
MLTN its a damaged GPU and an attempt to refine the process even more before their next spin.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Messages
1,724
Likes
203
Location
So. Cal.
#13
Well I haven't completely got my head wrapped around the whole context of what this means...

Although, my first thought on the Athlon X4 631 with disabled graphics… for a FM1/A55 mobo? So you pay top dollar for the mobo (at least right today) and still need graphics. I considered $80 for such CPU a little rich! I suppose if the pricing drops for FM1 mobo’s, though the cheapest I see are $70-80 and tray CPU is say more $70, I suppose it’s a option if the processing power is more than say the X4 925.

I don’t know as of right today what this means considering costs or what this option provides over a 880G and X4 925. I just don’t see the value of going FM1 what’s your upgrade path? It seems like AMD has a fair amount of binned chips and sure there’s folk who want to play with them, but IdK.

I see Lano is fine idea it's just not a smart enthusiast/geek platform. It great for workstation, light home use and with a PCI slot for a graphic upgrade sometime out in the future still has legs. I kind of get a feeling AMD might make some specific Southern Island model down the road, an optimized card that really works at trading the workload, but isn’t intended as standalone, it needs the APU/FM1 to even work. It’s a great way for them to pluck at least one upgrade, for those who ventured into the APU’s first go around.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,526
Likes
375
System Name Lailalo / Edelweiss
Processor FX 8320 @ 4.5Ghz / i7 3610QM @2.3-3.2Ghz
Motherboard ASrock 990FX Extreme 4 / Lenovo Y580
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus / Big hunk of copper
Memory 16GB Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600+ / 8GB Hyundai DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 / GTX 660M 2GB
Storage Seagate 3TB/1TB + OCZ Synapse 64GB SSD Cache / Western Digital 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) LG Ultrawide 29in @ 2560x1080 / Lenovo 15.6 @ 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper / Lenovo Y580
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Whatever Lenovo used
Power Supply Antec Truepower Blue 750W + Thermaltake 5.25in 250W / Big Power Brick
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 Home
#15
Pointless CPU. I'm building an FM1 build for an aunt who doesn't need more than that. This CPU defeats the purpose of the APU build.

I wouldn't count FM2 to be backwards with FM1. This isn't like simple CPUs which can either run slower to disable a function to work on older AM2. You are also adding the GPU component to that. The next APUs will likely be better and more powerful, with performers going above the low mid range. Unless AMD completely designs for compatibility between platforms. Personally I think it would be easier for them to just focus on advancing APUs more before gearing for compatibility.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
218
Likes
14
#16
piece of junk

motherboard prices for fm1 is high so buying this cpu is pointles
a better buy is 45nm athlon x4 with lower motherboard price
it looks like Amd is taking a bad example from intel's 1155 high
motherboard price
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Messages
1,724
Likes
203
Location
So. Cal.
#17
If AMD can dump Llano's “old K10” integrated graphics controller communication through the main memory (CPU-GPU latency), Trinity could take a huge leap. Then if Hybrid graphics needs only to communicate the cards memory directly though PCI-E to the APU they might see more gains.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,314
Likes
17,423
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#18
Added News Poll.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#19
I think ppl here dont understand what this can do to help

an APU has far better memory bandwidth in certain games like Codemasters titles a STOCK 3850 APU offers 20fps more then a stock 1090T with the same gpu used

theres a sort of TDP limit built into the AMD APU chip

with the GPU disabled in theory and if were lucky that means we can clock the CPU further because the GPU isnt contributing to the TDP thus lower TDP to start with do to GPU being disabled may allow for higher overclocks its not 100% but thats my guess

and considering the APU has nearly 3000mb/s of memory bandwidth more over a Phenom II chip and is the same price if disabling the gpu lets an APU hit 3.8ghz well that would mean an APU would surpass a Phenom II quad in just about everything at that point.

It essentially means that you get 1866mhz ram speeds out of box, at the same ram speeds aka 1333 the A-3850 has 3000mb/s more memory bandwidth getting 1866mhz out of box further improves this bandwidth making an A-series quadcore if its able to push higher clock speeds far more effective then say a 955 or 965BE
 

Nesters

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
121
Likes
26
#20
So, is there anyone with an Athlon X4 631 (damn cheap)? I've seen several benchmarks on MSI boards with a "Lab Burst Mode" enabled showing 4+ghz clocks and good scores.
I mean with improved memory management this CPU is better performing than a similar clocked phenom in a lot of benchmarks/games.
It's hard to find any info because there's literally no reviews out there just thinking of it as A6 with a hardware disabled iGPU, rather than a potential overclocker.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,516
Likes
757
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#21
you might want try the Buy/Sell section of TPU
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
499
Likes
119
System Name Multipurpose desktop
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1605T @ 3.75Ghz , NB @ 2.5
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 1.0)
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems Rev. C, 2x120mm CM Blademaster
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP (4x4GB) @1666Mhz 9-9-9-20-24 1T
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix R7-370 4GB OC
Storage 2x WD Caviar Black 500GB Sata III in RAID 0
Display(s) Acer S211HL 21.5" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master Centurion 534+, 3x 120mm CM Sickle Flow
Power Supply Seasonic X650 Gold
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium SP1
#22
It's likely that the GPU core is fused or has some kind of fatal problem.
I think this is AMD salvaging some partially faulty silicon (i.e gpu).
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#23
I wonder how this CPU will compete against a FX-4100? That's what has me worried. Salvaging parts makes sense from a business perspective, but I dunno that AMD should have products within it's own lineup that could potentially compete with one another, either in price, or performance, as fighting yourself in the market is just plain old stupid.
 
Joined
May 16, 2011
Messages
1,430
Likes
460
Location
A frozen turdberg.
System Name Runs Smooth
Processor FX 8350
Motherboard Crosshair V Formula Z
Cooling Corsair H110 with AeroCool Shark 140mm fans
Memory 16GB G-skill Trident X 1866 Cl. 8
Video Card(s) HIS 7970 IceQ X² GHZ Edition
Storage OCZ Vector 256GB SSD & 1Tb piece of crap
Display(s) acer H243H
Case NZXT Phantom 820 matte black
Audio Device(s) Nada
Power Supply NZXT Hale90 V2 850 watt
Software Windows 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Lesbians are hot!!!
#24
I wonder how this CPU will compete against a FX-4100? That's what has me worried. Salvaging parts makes sense from a business perspective, but I dunno that AMD should have products within it's own lineup that could potentially compete with one another, either in price, or performance, as fighting yourself in the market is just plain old stupid.
Maybe since BD failed so hard against Intel, they have decided to compete with themselves so it seems like they are competitive with something.
 

Nesters

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
121
Likes
26
#25
This CPU overclocked should rape FX-4100 (~955BE) and if I'm not mistaken FM1 socket is here to stay for another generation, isn't it?