• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Releases Newer Hotfix Driver, Addresses Far Cry 2 and STALKER: Clear Sky Issues

Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#26
Man I think it hates me. I driver cleaned it to extinction, but it still wont go. I cant do a normal uninstall either because it wont load windows with the driver on. I have to safe mode driver clean and uninstall without ATIs uninstaller.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#27
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#28
Yes, I've gathered that by now.;) For some people it all works fine, for some it doesn't. A friend of mine has a very similar system to my q6600/4870 setup and it works perfect for him.:ohwell: I'm kinda making it out to be a bigger deal than it is since DX9 on ultra settings looks freaking georgeous, and I can barely tell the difference. It's just the principal!:banghead:
:toast:
Can you delete your pagefile? IE changing it to no page file, then click on "set". Then return it to system manage size (or whatever you had it set to) then click on "set". You may need to reboot if it tells you to. See if that helps with the stuttering.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#29
Download link for it wont work. Lamez.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#30
Googled for another link. Il try removing the C++ also.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#31
Can you delete your pagefile? IE changing it to no page file, then click on "set". Then return it to system manage size (or whatever you had it set to) then click on "set". You may need to reboot if it tells you to. See if that helps with the stuttering.
I would give you 1000 thanks if I could! DX10 now runs like buttery smoothness. I used to always put my pagefile on the HDD with my games on it, but stopped doing that when I switched to Vista. I cleared it, restarted, then set it to my game drive as system managed and it works great. :toast:
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#32
nope for me.... i want buttery goodness....
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#33
Bah, the stuttering is back. Strange it worked once, and now it's back to the way it was.:ohwell: I have to stop this and just finish the game in DX9.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#34
Bah, the stuttering is back. Strange it worked once, and now it's back to the way it was.:ohwell: I have to stop this and just finish the game in DX9.
You may need to increase your pagefile. What do you have it set to?
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#35
8.10 wont even install now... 5 hours on this.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
189 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
#36
8.10 wont even install now... 5 hours on this.
I to have the stutter and have the following setup, Q9450@ 3.85GHZ, Visiontek 4870 512 DDR5, P5Q Deluxe, 4GB DDR2 1153MHZ, 3 X 150GB Western Digital SATA2 16MB Cache in RAID 0, 750W Silver Stone Decatholon, I have a Thermalright heatsink on the 4870 and it is running cool..
I to did the page file thing and yes it worked for bout ten minutes or so.. then it was worse then before IMO. I am how ever on the 8.10 drivers and have not used the hot fix or even tried the 8.11 or whatever they are called
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#37
Mine didnt have performance issues, it just wont install. Me thinks the 8.11 betas were somehow different....
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#38
You may need to increase your pagefile. What do you have it set to?
It's system managed and stays around the 4300 area. I'm using 4gb of ram, you think I should put 4096 minimum and 8192 max?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#39
It's system managed and stays around the 4300 area. I'm using 4gb of ram, you think I should put 4096 minimum and 8192 max?
What does the OS recommend? Sometimes it may recommend something different then it currently allocates (odd I know). Start with what it recommends.

After you changed that reboot and start up the game. Play for about 10 minutes and exit. Hit Control, Alt, Dlt to see your Commit Charge. What is your total limit and peak?

Edit:
Almost forgot, make sure you delete the page file from C drive if you are now using another drive for page file. I've read posts were it can revert back to the old page file location if it's not deleted. You may need to go make sure you show all files and folders.


1. Close all programs so that you are at your desktop.
2. Click on the Start button. This is the small round button with the Windows flag in the lower left corner.
3. Click on the Control Panel menu option.
4. When the control panel opens you can either be in Classic View or Control Panel Home view:

If you are in the Classic View do the following:
1. Double-click on the Folder Options icon.
2. Click on the View tab.
3. Go to step 5.

If you are in the Control Panel Home view do the following:
1. Click on the Appearance and Personalization link .
2. Click on Show Hidden Files or Folders.
3. Go to step 5.

5. Under the Hidden files and folders section select the radio button labeled Show hidden files and folders.
6. Remove the checkmark from the checkbox labeled Hide extensions for known file types.
7. Remove the checkmark from the checkbox labeled Hide protected operating system files.
8. Press the Apply button and then the OK button and shutdown My Computer.
9. Now Windows Vista is configured to show all hidden files.
source
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#40
Fixed it. Disabled second card in device manager. Started up now. Im about to test if it can turn it back on fine.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#41
Fixed it. Disabled second card in device manager. Started up now. Im about to test if it can turn it back on fine.
Oh, ok I didn't take into account you guys were using CF :eek:. In that case restart CF and then go to the directory you have your game. Change the .exe of your game to AFR-FriendlyD3D.exe and see if that stops the problem.

Edit:
Or were you referring to another problem?
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#42
I am talking about me simply getting into windows. When I installed 8.10 HF2 when it tried to load windows it would show me my desktop background for only a split second then would change to low res. It would then go black completely with a old DOS under type blink. Then BSOD. It will repeat forever. Disabling the second adapter in safe mode fixed the issue, but while in normal windows i just found if I try to turn back on the second card, a instant blue screen will come with the same old error.

Can anyone else test on this? If you use 4850s crossfire you will know RIGHT AWAY!
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#43
On a side note I have yet to get AVIVO accelerated videos to play smooth in any release ive tried to test(8.11 beta and these new ones mostly). The audio and video look great quality wise and audio plays fine, but the video framerate wise stutters like no other. Also a "v-sync off" visual tearing effect is new in these 8.10 hotfix drivers. Right in the center like you have too high of framerate in a game.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#44
In Task Manager it's currently showing me 1289M/8103M page file. In Virtual Memory settings it says Recommended: 6141 MB / Currently allocated: 4106 MB
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#45
On a side note I have yet to get AVIVO accelerated videos to play smooth in any release ive tried to test(8.11 beta and these new ones mostly). The audio and video look great quality wise and audio plays fine, but the video framerate wise stutters like no other. Also a "v-sync off" visual tearing effect is new in these 8.10 hotfix drivers. Right in the center like you have too high of framerate in a game.
Actually im not that sure. I mostly tested in Media Player Classic Home Cinema edition, but trying to see if I can get it to work in WMP11...
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
976 (0.27/day)
Likes
82
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio
Processor AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.825ghz 1.36v
Motherboard ASRock x370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-C14s
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb 3200
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 ti
Display(s) LG 4k IPS
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 + more fans
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA P2 750w
Mouse G900
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro
#46
Bah, the stuttering is back. Strange it worked once, and now it's back to the way it was.:ohwell: I have to stop this and just finish the game in DX9.
Strange, I guess the 4850 and 4870 arnt so similar after all. I have no stuttering to speak of. Performance of my single card with this driver is ALMOST as smooth as it was with crossfire 8.11 beta. I set it to optimal which put everything on very high and 1 think at ultra, and another at high. 1920x1200 4xAA directX 10, playable.

Side note why does video upscaleing have to be so hard and confusing? This 24inch is a blessing and a curse as it makes all normal res stuff including DVDs look low res crapola!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,805
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#47
very unheard of from AMD, releasing patches quicker than the 1 month updates? I guess someone took over the Head of Driver Dev.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#48
sure this hotfix working , ati late to release it after old suck hotfix just like nvidia do with them driver's , but nvidia fix it quick
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,213 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,805
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#49
you sound very much like a flipflop. Im glad AMD is trying to stay ontop of this type of stuff.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#50
I bet this bastard hotfix doesn't work for AGP cards.

>.<