• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Releases the Radeon Adrenalin Edition 20.2.2 Drivers

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,870 (2.21/day)
System Name Black blade red blood!
Processor I7-7700K 4.8/5.2++ 24/7 depending on conditions and challange.
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water 240MM OCool 45mm plus 240 EK Radiator cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz OC'd 3600 with C-14 T1 timings
Video Card(s) Vega56 all day long
Storage 970 EVO M.2 nvme \1TB, Samsumg 860 Evo 1TB / WD 1TB blue storage drive for my gal ^I^
Display(s) 144 Free sync 32" ultra wide
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W FTW
Mouse Logitech G703 with wireless charging pad
Keyboard G15 ol school
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores lol let's play!
Will the drivers be as problematic?

Sadly, if so, yeah, pass.

It's absurd the number of things I've had to fix myself. Case in point: I pointed out the fast sync issue and even identified why it is happening (certain navi spinning and/or bios revisions don't support the FW_DSTATE Power management flag) like, a month ago. It's written here in one of the 5700 XT threads. AMD is just now acknowledging it's an issue, and their fix? To just turn the thing off? That's laughable. *I* literally did better than that with a simple softpowerplay table.

They need to try better. I'm loading these, but hopefully they won't bite me.
Pretty bold statement you have there froggy..

Want to put your talent to work in Vanguard?

PM me, or post here and I'll be sure you get in.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,677 (2.75/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 32" 1440p LG 32GK850F Freesync 2 Monitor based on an AU Optronics true 8-bit AMVA Panel
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
Pretty bold statement you have there froggy..

Want to put your talent to work in Vanguard?

PM me, or post here and I'll be sure you get in.
I don't make it lightly. I did my homework. It seems to be fixed in later bios revisions, but you still get odd screen flicker, so it isn't perfect. Could be related to the handover when near the top of the freesync range.

The soft powerplay table I made is a kludge, but it works. It just turns that PM flag off via a mask.

I appreciate the offer but I am already way too busy as is (I work as a security consultant now and I always have something to do) and probably should stop messing with my gpu. If things change though, I will let you know. It does sound fun.
 
Last edited:

ARF

Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
316 (5.27/day)
System Name ARF System 1
Processor AMD Athlon 64 4400+ X2
Motherboard ASRock 939A790GMH 790GX
Cooling Arctic Freezer 13
Memory 4 x 1 GB DDR400
Video Card(s) Radeon ASUS EAH4670/DI/512MD3
Storage ADATA XPG SX900 128 GB
Display(s) LG 24UD58-B
Case Cooler Master HAF 912 Plus
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit, all updates installed
This all depends on the games used for testing. DMC5 and BFV are heavily optimized on AMD cards, for example.

This is why I prefer purchasing video cards based on what games I plan to play or what engines they are/will be using instead of an overall/relative performance chart.
Yes, it depends on the games mix itself, too.

- games mix;
- PCIe 4.0 (gives 2-3% performance improvement on its own);
- Windows 1909 all updates installed;
- Radeon Software (latest WHQL preferably), settings there should be for maximum performance, should be tested for maximum performance;
- latest chipsets drivers (very important);
- appropriate Windows power plan.
 

Cheeseball

Not a Potato
Supporter
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
1,122 (0.27/day)
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
System Name Dell G5 15 5587 (2018) / AMD Custom Rig
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-8750H Processor (Coffee Lake) / AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Intel HM370 / ASUS TUF GAMING X570-PLUS (WI-FI)
Cooling Stock Dell twin-fan and copper heatpipes cooling system / AMD Wraith Prism
Memory SK hynix 16GB (8GBx2) - 2Rx8 DDR4 SODIMM 2666MHz / G.SKILL TridentZ 16GB (8GBx2) F4-3200C16D-16GTZR
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q / NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER FE + Sapphire RX 5700 XT (Reference)
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB NVMe M.2 / ADATA SU800 1TB SATA 2.5" / Lots of M.2 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) Stock Dell 60 Hz IPS LCD panel / LG 27GL650F-B UltraGear 27" 1080p 144 Hz 1ms
Case Stock Dell G5 15 5587 (2018) body / NZXT H510i Matte White
Audio Device(s) Kingston HyperX Cloud II
Power Supply Dell Power Adapter 180W NDFTY / Corsair RMx Series RM750x
Mouse Dell touchpad / Razer Viper Ultimate
Keyboard Stock Dell G5 15 5587 laptop keyboard with backlit RED LEDs
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1909
- PCIe 4.0 (gives 2-3% performance improvement on its own);
Yeah, I agree with everything you wrote except this. I would say 1% or less.

This is waaaaaay more noticeable with the 5500 XT 4 GB because it would rely on system RAM once the VRAM is saturated, so the PCI-E 4.0 speeds would make sense in this situation.
 

ARF

Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
316 (5.27/day)
System Name ARF System 1
Processor AMD Athlon 64 4400+ X2
Motherboard ASRock 939A790GMH 790GX
Cooling Arctic Freezer 13
Memory 4 x 1 GB DDR400
Video Card(s) Radeon ASUS EAH4670/DI/512MD3
Storage ADATA XPG SX900 128 GB
Display(s) LG 24UD58-B
Case Cooler Master HAF 912 Plus
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit, all updates installed
Yeah, I agree with everything you wrote except this. I would say 1% or less.

This is waaaaaay more noticeable with the 5500 XT 4 GB because it would rely on system RAM once the VRAM is saturated, so the PCI-E 4.0 speeds would make sense in this situation.
:(








 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
1,042 (0.22/day)
Location
Florida
Processor Ryzen 3700x / Threadripper 3960x
Motherboard Asus x570 crosshair- i/ Asus Zenith ii Extreme
Cooling Air/ temporary air
Memory 16gb ddr4 3600MHZ G SKill TridentZ royal / 32gb ddr4 3600MHZ G.Skill TridentZ Royal
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro 5700xt / 5700xt waiting on big navi
Storage WD Black 1TB boot / Samsung 970 evo+ 1tb boot
Display(s) Asus XG32VQ / Dual LG 27gl850
Case NZXT H1/ 011 Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) On board/ Soundblaster ZXR
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 1200w / Seasonic Prime Titanium 1000w
Mouse Logitech G 900/ Razer Viper Ultimate wireless
Keyboard Razer Chroma Black Widow/ Logitech G915 Wireless
Software Win 10 Pro
Depends really on use case and software environtment it seems. I haven't had a problem with my new RX 5600 XT in the first 3 weeks, but then I had two black screen crashes basically on idle within 4 days.
Due to work related stuff I had to open up Chrome along side Firefox with hw acceleration enabled and after 2-3 minutes swapping tabs on Chrome I had a black screen crash and the computer restarded after a couple of seconds just like a BSOD.

Then had the same thing happen when I had Discord open and just did a right click on my Steam tray icon, menu still came up. But right after that it hardlocked the PC. After that I disabled hardware acceleration in Chrome, FF, Discord, even Steam. Even uninstalled f.lux thinking there might be some compatibility problems too.

Now with the new drivers I turned everything back on again, bar reinstalling f.lux. Will report back if I run into problems again.
You're right because my wife's Vega 64 system was fine. Three only black screen was during initial installation which is common with any driver install.
 

Cheeseball

Not a Potato
Supporter
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
1,122 (0.27/day)
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
System Name Dell G5 15 5587 (2018) / AMD Custom Rig
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-8750H Processor (Coffee Lake) / AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Intel HM370 / ASUS TUF GAMING X570-PLUS (WI-FI)
Cooling Stock Dell twin-fan and copper heatpipes cooling system / AMD Wraith Prism
Memory SK hynix 16GB (8GBx2) - 2Rx8 DDR4 SODIMM 2666MHz / G.SKILL TridentZ 16GB (8GBx2) F4-3200C16D-16GTZR
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q / NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER FE + Sapphire RX 5700 XT (Reference)
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB NVMe M.2 / ADATA SU800 1TB SATA 2.5" / Lots of M.2 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) Stock Dell 60 Hz IPS LCD panel / LG 27GL650F-B UltraGear 27" 1080p 144 Hz 1ms
Case Stock Dell G5 15 5587 (2018) body / NZXT H510i Matte White
Audio Device(s) Kingston HyperX Cloud II
Power Supply Dell Power Adapter 180W NDFTY / Corsair RMx Series RM750x
Mouse Dell touchpad / Razer Viper Ultimate
Keyboard Stock Dell G5 15 5587 laptop keyboard with backlit RED LEDs
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1909

The averages for the other games seem to fall into the 1% or less margin of error, however Fortnite? How did they benchmark this? It doesn't have a benchmark tool, so joining matches are always going to be different since its a multiplayer.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
4,186 (2.10/day)
Location
USA
Err, try out those games first before concluding that OpenGL in the driver is broken. The OpenGL renderer for Doom (2016) hasn't been updated for a while. id concentrated on improving Vulkan since thats solely used for id Tech 6 (Wolfenstein II, Youngblood, Saber3D engine) games now.
I play a lot of old games that use opengl though and have no Vulkan alternative... so if AMD can't fix it... then I have to roll Nvidia. cause i enjoy my old games still :/
 

Cheeseball

Not a Potato
Supporter
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
1,122 (0.27/day)
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
System Name Dell G5 15 5587 (2018) / AMD Custom Rig
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-8750H Processor (Coffee Lake) / AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Intel HM370 / ASUS TUF GAMING X570-PLUS (WI-FI)
Cooling Stock Dell twin-fan and copper heatpipes cooling system / AMD Wraith Prism
Memory SK hynix 16GB (8GBx2) - 2Rx8 DDR4 SODIMM 2666MHz / G.SKILL TridentZ 16GB (8GBx2) F4-3200C16D-16GTZR
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1060 Max-Q / NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER FE + Sapphire RX 5700 XT (Reference)
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB NVMe M.2 / ADATA SU800 1TB SATA 2.5" / Lots of M.2 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) Stock Dell 60 Hz IPS LCD panel / LG 27GL650F-B UltraGear 27" 1080p 144 Hz 1ms
Case Stock Dell G5 15 5587 (2018) body / NZXT H510i Matte White
Audio Device(s) Kingston HyperX Cloud II
Power Supply Dell Power Adapter 180W NDFTY / Corsair RMx Series RM750x
Mouse Dell touchpad / Razer Viper Ultimate
Keyboard Stock Dell G5 15 5587 laptop keyboard with backlit RED LEDs
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1909 / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1909
I play a lot of old games that use opengl though and have no Vulkan alternative... so if AMD can't fix it... then I have to roll Nvidia. cause i enjoy my old games still :/
Okay, so OpenGL performance on Windows may be shot since the latest version of X-Plane 11 (with an actively developed OpenGL renderer) is pretty bad. The same game on GNU/Linux though seems to be excellent so it is the drivers at this point.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,870 (2.21/day)
System Name Black blade red blood!
Processor I7-7700K 4.8/5.2++ 24/7 depending on conditions and challange.
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water 240MM OCool 45mm plus 240 EK Radiator cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz OC'd 3600 with C-14 T1 timings
Video Card(s) Vega56 all day long
Storage 970 EVO M.2 nvme \1TB, Samsumg 860 Evo 1TB / WD 1TB blue storage drive for my gal ^I^
Display(s) 144 Free sync 32" ultra wide
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W FTW
Mouse Logitech G703 with wireless charging pad
Keyboard G15 ol school
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores lol let's play!
I don't make it lightly. I did my homework. It seems to be fixed in later bios revisions, but you still get odd screen flicker, so it isn't perfect. Could be related to the handover when near the top of the freesync range.

The soft powerplay table I made is a kludge, but it works. It just turns that PM flag off via a mask.

I appreciate the offer but I am already way too busy as is (I work as a security consultant now and I always have something to do) and probably should stop messing with my gpu. If things change though, I will let you know. It does sound fun.
No worries, you know how to reach myself and INSTG8R, FordGT90Concept, and AlienIsGOD . AMD is trolling the treads all over the web seeing what issues that are plaquing ppl. Honestly they are really trying to iron out these issues. I think mamma bear has turned up the fire under the RTG guys asses to get this stuff sorted out asap.

Also best to you on the job and hope it all works in your favor :toast:
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
4,186 (2.10/day)
Location
USA
Okay, so OpenGL performance on Windows may be shot since the latest version of X-Plane 11 (with an actively developed OpenGL renderer) is pretty bad. The same game on GNU/Linux though seems to be excellent so it is the drivers at this point.
that was my original point, if the drivers aren't fixed by now after all this time, why should I trust them with big navi to be any better? makes more sense for me to play it safe, just get nvidia. not saying nvidia doesnt have issues, but they are much less in number and frequency, and tend to be fixed faster minus one or two specific things.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
290 (0.21/day)
System Name Gaming PC / I7 XEON
Processor I7 4790K @stock / XEON W3680 @ stock
Motherboard Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII FORMULA / GIGABYTE X58 UD7
Cooling X61 Kraken / X61 Kraken
Memory 32gb Vengeance 2133 Mhz / 24b Corsair XMS3 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gainward GLH 1080 / MSI Gaming X Radeon RX480 8 GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 500gb ,3 tb seagate, 2 samsung 1tb in raid 0 / Kingdian 240 gb, megaraid SAS 9341-8
Display(s) 2 BENQ 27" GL2706PQ / Dell UP2716D LCD Monitor 27 "
Case Corsair Graphite Series 780T / Corsair Obsidian 750 D
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD / ON BOARD
Power Supply Sapphire Pure 950w / Corsair RMI 750w
Mouse Steelseries Sesnsei / Steelseries Sensei raw
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma / Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 1064bit PRO / Windows 1064bit PRO
All YouTube videos show the same results - RX 5700 XT is in line with RTX 2070 Super / RTX 2080.

I don't know why TPU's results are so low for the Radeon - can be anything - software settings, Windows version, drivers version too old, etc.
TPU use uslees game in benchmark that not even 10% of ppl play
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2011
Messages
1,539 (0.47/day)
Location
Greece
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X@95W
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX
Cooling Zalman CNPS5X PERFORMA
Memory 2*8GB PATRIOT PVS416G373C7K@3200MT-c16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 Pulse 8GB
Storage Sandisk SSD 120GB, INTEL 540S SSDSCKKW180H6 180GB, Samsung F1 1TB, Hitachi HUS724040ALE640 4TB
Display(s) LG IPS235
Case SHARKOON M25-W 7.1 BLACK
Audio Device(s) Realtek 7.1 onboard
Power Supply Zalman Z550
Mouse Sharkoon SHARK Force Black
Keyboard Trust GXT280
Software Win 7 sp1 64bit/Win 10 pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores CB R15 64bit: single core 163p, multicore 1223p
WTFtech seriously??

From TPU's own latest GPU performance summary charts:

5700XT 183%
2070Super 196%

So 13% difference is the same tier now I guess?
I think you just responded too quickly because to calculate % of diff between 2 performers you just divide the one's performance metrics with the other's. So, here you should divide 196/183 to get 1,07=7% difference.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,677 (2.75/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 32" 1440p LG 32GK850F Freesync 2 Monitor based on an AU Optronics true 8-bit AMVA Panel
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
No worries, you know how to reach myself and INSTG8R, FordGT90Concept, and AlienIsGOD . AMD is trolling the treads all over the web seeing what issues that are plaquing ppl. Honestly they are really trying to iron out these issues. I think mamma bear has turned up the fire under the RTG guys asses to get this stuff sorted out asap.

Also best to you on the job and hope it all works in your favor :toast:
Well I played my most crash prone game today, KSP, and said I'd "start work when it crashes."

It's still not crashed, so I'd better start work... but so far AMD is doing great at fixing things this release... and ruining my work ethic. :laugh:
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
2,412 (0.44/day)
Location
United Kingdom
Honestly they are really trying to iron out these issues. I think mamma bear has turned up the fire under the RTG guys asses to get this stuff sorted out asap.
Then why haven't they fixed the multi-monitor power consumption yet?
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
284 (0.06/day)
System Name Just another PC
Processor Ryzen 1700
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370-K3
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14
Memory DDR4-2133 2x16GB
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 8GB
Storage Samy 960 EVO 500GB m.2, 500GB SSD & a 2TB spinner
Display(s) LG 27UL550-W
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 (no window)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 550W
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard Corsair with browns
Software W10 Pro x64 v1809
Benchmark Scores It can run the interwebs
Then why haven't they fixed the multi-monitor power consumption yet?
While I don't disagree with you, and it should be looked at, would that be driver or vBIOS? It's a negligible issue, in that it just uses a few watts extra compared to the competition. I wish my clothes dryer used as much power as that.

Still on 19.1.1 with my RX480................
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.50/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
What if the expected to launch soon Navi 21 turns out to be almost 100% faster than the RX 5700XT, thus obliterating everything including heavily overclocked RTX 2080 Ti ?
If it's bundled with a driver package like the current one where you can't opt out of all the garbage, hard pass.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
101 (0.35/day)
System Name Fractal
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX B450-F Gaming
Cooling Stock AMD Wraith Stealth
Memory 2x8 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000Mhz CL15 (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 5700XT
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 PRO 2TB + multiple SATA Rust spinners
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Blackout w/ USB-C
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 7 Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 850w 80+ Titanium
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero SE
Keyboard Generic Dell
Software Win10 Pro
It's almost Spring 2020 and you still can't play 2016 DOOM on a Navi gpu... ugh... I'm going nvidia next round sorry everyone. I tried to give them a chance but that is insane.
Are you kidding? I've played dozens of hours, no hiccups. Runs amazing.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
587 (0.16/day)
Location
Michigan
System Name Daves
Processor AMD Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard AsRock X570 Taichi
Cooling Enermax LIQMAX III 360
Memory 32 GiG Team Group B Die 3600
Video Card(s) Powercolor 5700 xt Red Devil
Storage Crucial MX 500 SSD and Intel P660 NVME 2TB for games
Display(s) Acer 144htz 27in. 2560x1440
Case Phanteks P600S
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair RM 750
Mouse EVGA
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Windows 10 Pro
No black screens on either 5700 xt I have in two systems since last driver update.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,336 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I don't make it lightly. I did my homework. It seems to be fixed in later bios revisions, but you still get odd screen flicker, so it isn't perfect. Could be related to the handover when near the top of the freesync range.

The soft powerplay table I made is a kludge, but it works. It just turns that PM flag off via a mask.

I appreciate the offer but I am already way too busy as is (I work as a security consultant now and I always have something to do) and probably should stop messing with my gpu. If things change though, I will let you know. It does sound fun.
Go for it, I'd join myself but im on a phone only right now

You're right because my wife's Vega 64 system was fine. Three only black screen was during initial installation which is common with any driver install.
Not worried about the screen flicker from installing, that is the driver calibration.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,677 (2.75/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 32" 1440p LG 32GK850F Freesync 2 Monitor based on an AU Optronics true 8-bit AMVA Panel
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
If it's bundled with a driver package like the current one where you can't opt out of all the garbage, hard pass.
You do realize it comes with handy turn-em-off buttons, right?

Oh, and they literally provide Radeon Pro version with none of that I guess if you really want...
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.50/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
You do realize it comes with handy turn-em-off buttons, right?

Oh, and they literally provide Radeon Pro version with none of that I guess if you really want...
Link?

What gets turned off, you seeing it, or it running?

It literally doubled the amount of apps running on my comp at idle.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,677 (2.75/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 32" 1440p LG 32GK850F Freesync 2 Monitor based on an AU Optronics true 8-bit AMVA Panel
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
Link?

What gets turned off, you seeing it, or it running?
Not sure what exactly you are asking.

To get the Radeon Pro Drivers just claim you have a Radeon Pro equivalent card in driver selection. Say one of the W5000's and it will give you them for WIndows 7. They install fine. For some reason they only list them automatically for consumer cards on Windows 10.

1582950542305.png

This is where you turn the junk off, or so I tried. It may be running in the background, but it has no performance impact or net traffic so hell if I care.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,798 (6.16/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
It's almost Spring 2020 and you still can't play 2016 DOOM on a Navi gpu... ugh... I'm going nvidia next round sorry everyone. I tried to give them a chance but that is insane.
It will get fixed ("known issue") but it was scoped out of this release.

The Witcher 3 is older and AMD fixed an issue with it in this driver.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.50/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
Not sure what exactly you are asking.

To get the Radeon Pro Drivers just claim you have a Radeon Pro equivalent card in driver selection. Say one of the W5000's and it will give you them for WIndows 7. They install fine. For some reason they only list them automatically for consumer cards on Windows 10.

View attachment 146240
This is where you turn the junk off, or so I tried. It may be running in the background, but it has no performance impact or net traffic so hell if I care.
Thx for the info, now screenshot your task manager.
 
Top