• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Releases the Radeon Adrenalin Edition 20.2.2 Drivers

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,899 (2.03/day)
System Name Poe
Processor I7-7700K 4.8/5.2++ 24/7 depending on conditions and challange.
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code custom bios
Cooling Custom water 240MM OCool 45mm plus 240 EK Radiator cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz OC'd 3600 with C-14 T1 timings
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon reference
Storage 970 EVO M.2 nvme \1TB, Samsumg 860 Evo 1TB / WD 1TB blue storage drive
Display(s) Samsung CHG70 1440P Freesync 2 HDR10
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W FTW
Mouse Logitech G703 with wireless charging pad
Keyboard Corsair K68
Software Windows 10 Pro
Will the drivers be as problematic?

Sadly, if so, yeah, pass.

It's absurd the number of things I've had to fix myself. Case in point: I pointed out the fast sync issue and even identified why it is happening (certain navi spinning and/or bios revisions don't support the FW_DSTATE Power management flag) like, a month ago. It's written here in one of the 5700 XT threads. AMD is just now acknowledging it's an issue, and their fix? To just turn the thing off? That's laughable. *I* literally did better than that with a simple softpowerplay table.

They need to try better. I'm loading these, but hopefully they won't bite me.
Pretty bold statement you have there froggy..

Want to put your talent to work in Vanguard?

PM me, or post here and I'll be sure you get in.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
14,915 (2.97/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs in bootable RAID0 by HIGHPOINT - SSD7202
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/23478641 www.3dmark.com/spy/13863605 www.3dmark.com/pr/306218
Pretty bold statement you have there froggy..

Want to put your talent to work in Vanguard?

PM me, or post here and I'll be sure you get in.

I don't make it lightly. I did my homework. It seems to be fixed in later bios revisions, but you still get odd screen flicker, so it isn't perfect. Could be related to the handover when near the top of the freesync range.

The soft powerplay table I made is a kludge, but it works. It just turns that PM flag off via a mask.

I appreciate the offer but I am already way too busy as is (I work as a security consultant now and I always have something to do) and probably should stop messing with my gpu. If things change though, I will let you know. It does sound fun.
 
Last edited:

ARF

Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
1,333 (2.82/day)
This all depends on the games used for testing. DMC5 and BFV are heavily optimized on AMD cards, for example.

This is why I prefer purchasing video cards based on what games I plan to play or what engines they are/will be using instead of an overall/relative performance chart.

Yes, it depends on the games mix itself, too.

- games mix;
- PCIe 4.0 (gives 2-3% performance improvement on its own);
- Windows 1909 all updates installed;
- Radeon Software (latest WHQL preferably), settings there should be for maximum performance, should be tested for maximum performance;
- latest chipsets drivers (very important);
- appropriate Windows power plan.
 

Cheeseball

Not a Potato
Supporter
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
1,494 (0.33/day)
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
System Name Custom AMD Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS TUF GAMING X570-PLUS (WI-FI)
Cooling EVGA CLC 280mm AIO Liquid Cooler
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB (8GBx4) F4-3200C16-8GTZR
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 FTW3 ULTRA GAMING 10GB
Storage 250GB Samsung 970 EVO NVMe, 2TB Inland Premium NVMe, 1TB Crucial MX500 SATA, 4TB WD Blue SATA
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV340CK Pbmiipphzx 34" UWQHD 1440p, LG 27GN850-B UltraGear 27" 1440p 144 Hz
Case NZXT H510i Matte White
Audio Device(s) Kanto Audio YU2 and SUB8 Desktop Speakers and Subwoofer, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Corsair RMx Series RM750x 750W
Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire Haste
Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy Origins Core
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 20H2
- PCIe 4.0 (gives 2-3% performance improvement on its own);

Yeah, I agree with everything you wrote except this. I would say 1% or less.

This is waaaaaay more noticeable with the 5500 XT 4 GB because it would rely on system RAM once the VRAM is saturated, so the PCI-E 4.0 speeds would make sense in this situation.
 

ARF

Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
1,333 (2.82/day)
Yeah, I agree with everything you wrote except this. I would say 1% or less.

This is waaaaaay more noticeable with the 5500 XT 4 GB because it would rely on system RAM once the VRAM is saturated, so the PCI-E 4.0 speeds would make sense in this situation.

:(








 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
1,070 (0.21/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Blackwidow/
Processor Ryzen 3700x / Threadripper 3960x
Motherboard Asus x570-i/ Asus Zenith ii Extreme
Cooling Aio/Custom watercooling
Memory 16gb ddr4 3600MHZ G SKill TridentZ royal / 32gb ddr4 3600MHZ G.Skill TridentZ Royal
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro 5700xt / 5700xt waiting on big navi
Storage WD Black 1TB boot / Samsung 970 evo+ 1tb boot
Display(s) Asus XG32VQ / Dual LG 27gl850
Case NZXT H1/ 011 Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) On board/ Soundblaster ZXR
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum sfx-l 650w/ Seasonic Prime Titanium 1000w
Mouse Logitech G 900/ Razer Viper Ultimate wireless
Keyboard Logitech G915 TKL/ Logitech G915 Wireless
Software Win 10 Pro
Depends really on use case and software environtment it seems. I haven't had a problem with my new RX 5600 XT in the first 3 weeks, but then I had two black screen crashes basically on idle within 4 days.
Due to work related stuff I had to open up Chrome along side Firefox with hw acceleration enabled and after 2-3 minutes swapping tabs on Chrome I had a black screen crash and the computer restarded after a couple of seconds just like a BSOD.

Then had the same thing happen when I had Discord open and just did a right click on my Steam tray icon, menu still came up. But right after that it hardlocked the PC. After that I disabled hardware acceleration in Chrome, FF, Discord, even Steam. Even uninstalled f.lux thinking there might be some compatibility problems too.

Now with the new drivers I turned everything back on again, bar reinstalling f.lux. Will report back if I run into problems again.
You're right because my wife's Vega 64 system was fine. Three only black screen was during initial installation which is common with any driver install.
 

Cheeseball

Not a Potato
Supporter
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
1,494 (0.33/day)
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
System Name Custom AMD Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS TUF GAMING X570-PLUS (WI-FI)
Cooling EVGA CLC 280mm AIO Liquid Cooler
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB (8GBx4) F4-3200C16-8GTZR
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 FTW3 ULTRA GAMING 10GB
Storage 250GB Samsung 970 EVO NVMe, 2TB Inland Premium NVMe, 1TB Crucial MX500 SATA, 4TB WD Blue SATA
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV340CK Pbmiipphzx 34" UWQHD 1440p, LG 27GN850-B UltraGear 27" 1440p 144 Hz
Case NZXT H510i Matte White
Audio Device(s) Kanto Audio YU2 and SUB8 Desktop Speakers and Subwoofer, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Corsair RMx Series RM750x 750W
Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire Haste
Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy Origins Core
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 20H2


The averages for the other games seem to fall into the 1% or less margin of error, however Fortnite? How did they benchmark this? It doesn't have a benchmark tool, so joining matches are always going to be different since its a multiplayer.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
6,556 (2.73/day)
Location
USA
System Name Paladius Tacet
Processor Ryzen 5600x - Auto OC w/ Ryzen Master
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk + SAM Enabled
Cooling EVGA 280mm AIO
Memory G.Skill 2x16 3800 cas16 Dual Rank
Video Card(s) Navi 6800 + Auto OC (gpu core option)
Storage 2TB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XF243Y 23.8" IPS 12-Bit 165hz 1080p
Case Corsair 110Q Silent + NZXT Aer-P exhaust fan
Audio Device(s) SennHD58X, Custom Tube AMP, Modi 3 DAC
Power Supply EVGA 700w Gold
Mouse Razer Naga X (2021 Edition)
Keyboard Kingston Hyperx Cherry Mx Blue
Software Linux Ubuntu, Libreoffice, Steam
Err, try out those games first before concluding that OpenGL in the driver is broken. The OpenGL renderer for Doom (2016) hasn't been updated for a while. id concentrated on improving Vulkan since thats solely used for id Tech 6 (Wolfenstein II, Youngblood, Saber3D engine) games now.

I play a lot of old games that use opengl though and have no Vulkan alternative... so if AMD can't fix it... then I have to roll Nvidia. cause i enjoy my old games still :/
 

Cheeseball

Not a Potato
Supporter
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
1,494 (0.33/day)
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
System Name Custom AMD Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS TUF GAMING X570-PLUS (WI-FI)
Cooling EVGA CLC 280mm AIO Liquid Cooler
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB (8GBx4) F4-3200C16-8GTZR
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 FTW3 ULTRA GAMING 10GB
Storage 250GB Samsung 970 EVO NVMe, 2TB Inland Premium NVMe, 1TB Crucial MX500 SATA, 4TB WD Blue SATA
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV340CK Pbmiipphzx 34" UWQHD 1440p, LG 27GN850-B UltraGear 27" 1440p 144 Hz
Case NZXT H510i Matte White
Audio Device(s) Kanto Audio YU2 and SUB8 Desktop Speakers and Subwoofer, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Corsair RMx Series RM750x 750W
Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire Haste
Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy Origins Core
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 20H2
I play a lot of old games that use opengl though and have no Vulkan alternative... so if AMD can't fix it... then I have to roll Nvidia. cause i enjoy my old games still :/

Okay, so OpenGL performance on Windows may be shot since the latest version of X-Plane 11 (with an actively developed OpenGL renderer) is pretty bad. The same game on GNU/Linux though seems to be excellent so it is the drivers at this point.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,899 (2.03/day)
System Name Poe
Processor I7-7700K 4.8/5.2++ 24/7 depending on conditions and challange.
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code custom bios
Cooling Custom water 240MM OCool 45mm plus 240 EK Radiator cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz OC'd 3600 with C-14 T1 timings
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon reference
Storage 970 EVO M.2 nvme \1TB, Samsumg 860 Evo 1TB / WD 1TB blue storage drive
Display(s) Samsung CHG70 1440P Freesync 2 HDR10
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W FTW
Mouse Logitech G703 with wireless charging pad
Keyboard Corsair K68
Software Windows 10 Pro
I don't make it lightly. I did my homework. It seems to be fixed in later bios revisions, but you still get odd screen flicker, so it isn't perfect. Could be related to the handover when near the top of the freesync range.

The soft powerplay table I made is a kludge, but it works. It just turns that PM flag off via a mask.

I appreciate the offer but I am already way too busy as is (I work as a security consultant now and I always have something to do) and probably should stop messing with my gpu. If things change though, I will let you know. It does sound fun.
No worries, you know how to reach myself and INSTG8R, FordGT90Concept, and AlienIsGOD . AMD is trolling the treads all over the web seeing what issues that are plaquing ppl. Honestly they are really trying to iron out these issues. I think mamma bear has turned up the fire under the RTG guys asses to get this stuff sorted out asap.

Also best to you on the job and hope it all works in your favor :toast:
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
6,556 (2.73/day)
Location
USA
System Name Paladius Tacet
Processor Ryzen 5600x - Auto OC w/ Ryzen Master
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk + SAM Enabled
Cooling EVGA 280mm AIO
Memory G.Skill 2x16 3800 cas16 Dual Rank
Video Card(s) Navi 6800 + Auto OC (gpu core option)
Storage 2TB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XF243Y 23.8" IPS 12-Bit 165hz 1080p
Case Corsair 110Q Silent + NZXT Aer-P exhaust fan
Audio Device(s) SennHD58X, Custom Tube AMP, Modi 3 DAC
Power Supply EVGA 700w Gold
Mouse Razer Naga X (2021 Edition)
Keyboard Kingston Hyperx Cherry Mx Blue
Software Linux Ubuntu, Libreoffice, Steam
Okay, so OpenGL performance on Windows may be shot since the latest version of X-Plane 11 (with an actively developed OpenGL renderer) is pretty bad. The same game on GNU/Linux though seems to be excellent so it is the drivers at this point.

that was my original point, if the drivers aren't fixed by now after all this time, why should I trust them with big navi to be any better? makes more sense for me to play it safe, just get nvidia. not saying nvidia doesnt have issues, but they are much less in number and frequency, and tend to be fixed faster minus one or two specific things.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
386 (0.22/day)
System Name Gaming PC / I7 XEON
Processor I7 4790K @stock / XEON W3680 @ stock
Motherboard Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII FORMULA / GIGABYTE X58 UD7
Cooling X61 Kraken / X61 Kraken
Memory 32gb Vengeance 2133 Mhz / 24b Corsair XMS3 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gainward GLH 1080 / MSI Gaming X Radeon RX480 8 GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 500gb ,3 tb seagate, 2 samsung 1tb in raid 0 / Kingdian 240 gb, megaraid SAS 9341-8
Display(s) 2 BENQ 27" GL2706PQ / Dell UP2716D LCD Monitor 27 "
Case Corsair Graphite Series 780T / Corsair Obsidian 750 D
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD / ON BOARD
Power Supply Sapphire Pure 950w / Corsair RMI 750w
Mouse Steelseries Sesnsei / Steelseries Sensei raw
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma / Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 1064bit PRO / Windows 1064bit PRO
All YouTube videos show the same results - RX 5700 XT is in line with RTX 2070 Super / RTX 2080.

I don't know why TPU's results are so low for the Radeon - can be anything - software settings, Windows version, drivers version too old, etc.

TPU use uslees game in benchmark that not even 10% of ppl play
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2011
Messages
1,853 (0.51/day)
Location
Greece
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X@95W
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx 400 Black
Memory 2*8GB PATRIOT PVS416G373C7K@3333MT_C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 Pulse 8GB
Storage Sandisk SSD 120GB, INTEL 540S SSDSCKKW180H6 180GB, Samsung F1 1TB, Hitachi HUS724040ALE640 4TB
Display(s) AOC 27G2U/BK IPS 144Hz
Case SHARKOON M25-W 7.1 BLACK
Audio Device(s) Realtek 7.1 onboard
Power Supply Zalman Z550
Mouse Sharkoon SHARK Force Black
Keyboard Trust GXT280
Software Win 7 sp1 64bit/Win 10 pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores CB R15 64bit: single core 173p, multicore 1306p
WTFtech seriously??

From TPU's own latest GPU performance summary charts:

5700XT 183%
2070Super 196%

So 13% difference is the same tier now I guess?

I think you just responded too quickly because to calculate % of diff between 2 performers you just divide the one's performance metrics with the other's. So, here you should divide 196/183 to get 1,07=7% difference.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
14,915 (2.97/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs in bootable RAID0 by HIGHPOINT - SSD7202
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/23478641 www.3dmark.com/spy/13863605 www.3dmark.com/pr/306218
No worries, you know how to reach myself and INSTG8R, FordGT90Concept, and AlienIsGOD . AMD is trolling the treads all over the web seeing what issues that are plaquing ppl. Honestly they are really trying to iron out these issues. I think mamma bear has turned up the fire under the RTG guys asses to get this stuff sorted out asap.

Also best to you on the job and hope it all works in your favor :toast:

Well I played my most crash prone game today, KSP, and said I'd "start work when it crashes."

It's still not crashed, so I'd better start work... but so far AMD is doing great at fixing things this release... and ruining my work ethic. :laugh:
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,190 (0.54/day)
Location
Ikenai borderline!
Honestly they are really trying to iron out these issues. I think mamma bear has turned up the fire under the RTG guys asses to get this stuff sorted out asap.

Then why haven't they fixed the multi-monitor power consumption yet?
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
704 (0.13/day)
Location
Northern Ontario Canada
System Name Just another PC
Processor Ryzen 1700
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370-K3
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14
Memory DDR4-2133 2x16GB
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 8GB
Storage Samy 960 EVO 500GB m.2, 1TB SSD & a 2TB spinner
Display(s) LG 27UL550-W
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 (no window)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 550W
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard Corsair Strafe with browns
Software W10 Pro x64 v2004
Benchmark Scores Wife says it's fast
Then why haven't they fixed the multi-monitor power consumption yet?

While I don't disagree with you, and it should be looked at, would that be driver or vBIOS? It's a negligible issue, in that it just uses a few watts extra compared to the competition. I wish my clothes dryer used as much power as that.

Still on 19.1.1 with my RX480................
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.43/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
What if the expected to launch soon Navi 21 turns out to be almost 100% faster than the RX 5700XT, thus obliterating everything including heavily overclocked RTX 2080 Ti ?
If it's bundled with a driver package like the current one where you can't opt out of all the garbage, hard pass.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
298 (0.42/day)
System Name Fractal
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5800X
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX B450-F Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.Black
Memory 2x8 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3600Mhz CL18 (CMK16GX4M2D3600C18)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 5700XT
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 PRO 2TB
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Blackout w/ USB-C
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 7 Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 850w 80+ Titanium
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero SE
Keyboard Corsair K68
Software Win10 Pro
It's almost Spring 2020 and you still can't play 2016 DOOM on a Navi gpu... ugh... I'm going nvidia next round sorry everyone. I tried to give them a chance but that is insane.

Are you kidding? I've played dozens of hours, no hiccups. Runs amazing.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
793 (0.19/day)
Location
Michigan
System Name Daves
Processor AMD Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard AsRock X570 Taichi
Cooling Enermax LIQMAX III 360
Memory 32 GiG Team Group B Die 3600
Video Card(s) Powercolor 5700 xt Red Devil
Storage Crucial MX 500 SSD and Intel P660 NVME 2TB for games
Display(s) Acer 144htz 27in. 2560x1440
Case Phanteks P600S
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair RM 750
Mouse EVGA
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Windows 10 Pro
No black screens on either 5700 xt I have in two systems since last driver update.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (6.01/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I don't make it lightly. I did my homework. It seems to be fixed in later bios revisions, but you still get odd screen flicker, so it isn't perfect. Could be related to the handover when near the top of the freesync range.

The soft powerplay table I made is a kludge, but it works. It just turns that PM flag off via a mask.

I appreciate the offer but I am already way too busy as is (I work as a security consultant now and I always have something to do) and probably should stop messing with my gpu. If things change though, I will let you know. It does sound fun.

Go for it, I'd join myself but im on a phone only right now

You're right because my wife's Vega 64 system was fine. Three only black screen was during initial installation which is common with any driver install.

Not worried about the screen flicker from installing, that is the driver calibration.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
14,915 (2.97/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs in bootable RAID0 by HIGHPOINT - SSD7202
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/23478641 www.3dmark.com/spy/13863605 www.3dmark.com/pr/306218
If it's bundled with a driver package like the current one where you can't opt out of all the garbage, hard pass.

You do realize it comes with handy turn-em-off buttons, right?

Oh, and they literally provide Radeon Pro version with none of that I guess if you really want...
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.43/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
You do realize it comes with handy turn-em-off buttons, right?

Oh, and they literally provide Radeon Pro version with none of that I guess if you really want...
Link?

What gets turned off, you seeing it, or it running?

It literally doubled the amount of apps running on my comp at idle.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
14,915 (2.97/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs in bootable RAID0 by HIGHPOINT - SSD7202
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/23478641 www.3dmark.com/spy/13863605 www.3dmark.com/pr/306218
Link?

What gets turned off, you seeing it, or it running?

Not sure what exactly you are asking.

To get the Radeon Pro Drivers just claim you have a Radeon Pro equivalent card in driver selection. Say one of the W5000's and it will give you them for WIndows 7. They install fine. For some reason they only list them automatically for consumer cards on Windows 10.

1582950542305.png

This is where you turn the junk off, or so I tried. It may be running in the background, but it has no performance impact or net traffic so hell if I care.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (5.69/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
It's almost Spring 2020 and you still can't play 2016 DOOM on a Navi gpu... ugh... I'm going nvidia next round sorry everyone. I tried to give them a chance but that is insane.
It will get fixed ("known issue") but it was scoped out of this release.

The Witcher 3 is older and AMD fixed an issue with it in this driver.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.43/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
Not sure what exactly you are asking.

To get the Radeon Pro Drivers just claim you have a Radeon Pro equivalent card in driver selection. Say one of the W5000's and it will give you them for WIndows 7. They install fine. For some reason they only list them automatically for consumer cards on Windows 10.

View attachment 146240
This is where you turn the junk off, or so I tried. It may be running in the background, but it has no performance impact or net traffic so hell if I care.
Thx for the info, now screenshot your task manager.
 
Top