• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Releases the Radeon Adrenalin Edition 20.2.2 Drivers

Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,211 (3.01/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs in bootable RAID0 by HIGHPOINT - SSD7202
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
Thx for the info, now screenshot your task manager.

No need, because I honestly don't care and am pretty dang sure I'll find some driver processes.. If that really bothers you, use Radeon Pro.

then why is listed as an official issue in original post from AMD?

Yep, kinda suggests something is up doesn't it? :laugh:
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
91 (0.11/day)
Location
Indonesia
System Name Oophaga-X
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro WiFi
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB 3600 MHz
Video Card(s) Zotac 2070 Super
Storage NVME 2x, SSD 2x, HDD 1x
Display(s) Dual monitor LG 29WK600 + LG 22MP5
Case CoolerMaster NR200P
Audio Device(s) ALC something-something
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse G304
Keyboard G512
Software Windows 10 Pro
Well, I just narrowed my 5700XT instability to the use of riser card on my new case (RVZ03) and outside of one time the Radeon software crashed because of accidental power reset, all is good. However I do wonder why they recommend to disable enhanced sync. Oh well...
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (5.65/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
However I do wonder why they recommend to disable enhanced sync.
Black screens, I think. It's going to take a long time to get it sorted so disabling Enhanced Sync is a temporary fix.
 

Cheeseball

Not a Potato
Supporter
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
1,495 (0.33/day)
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
System Name Custom AMD Rig
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS TUF GAMING X570-PLUS (WI-FI)
Cooling EVGA CLC 280mm AIO Liquid Cooler
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 32GB (8GBx4) F4-3200C16-8GTZR
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 FTW3 ULTRA GAMING 10GB
Storage 250GB Samsung 970 EVO NVMe, 2TB Inland Premium NVMe, 1TB Crucial MX500 SATA, 4TB WD Blue SATA
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV340CK Pbmiipphzx 34" UWQHD 1440p, LG 27GN850-B UltraGear 27" 1440p 144 Hz
Case NZXT H510i Matte White
Audio Device(s) Kanto Audio YU2 and SUB8 Desktop Speakers and Subwoofer, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Corsair RMx Series RM750x 750W
Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire Haste
Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy Origins Core
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 20H2
Are you kidding? I've played dozens of hours, no hiccups. Runs amazing.

He's using the OpenGL renderer, although now the bug mentioned above affects the Vulkan renderer too.

No need, because I honestly don't care and am pretty dang sure I'll find some driver processes.. If that really bothers you, use Radeon Pro.

I didn't know you can use the Radeon Pro drivers. I wonder if the support for OpenCL is better than in Adrenalin.

Ah well, I just started to uninstall Adrenalin 20.2.2 now and am downloading Enterprise 20.Q1.1 just to try this out. There isn't an equivalent to the RX 5700 XT, so I just chose the W5700 which is basically a non-XT. I don't really game that much with the 5700 XT and mostly use it for OpenCL stuff where-in I use the 2080 Super for higher FPS/CUDA.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,611 (1.16/day)
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB + 860 EVO 2TB + WD Black 5TB
Display(s) 32'' 4K Dell
Case Fractal Design R5
Audio Device(s) BOSE 2.0
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
VR HMD HTC Vive + Oculus Quest 2
Software Windows 10 P
He's using the OpenGL renderer, although now the bug mentioned above affects the Vulkan renderer too.



I didn't know you can use the Radeon Pro drivers. I wonder if the support for OpenCL is better than in Adrenalin.

Ah well, I just started to uninstall Adrenalin 20.2.2 now and am downloading Enterprise 20.Q1.1 just to try this out. There isn't an equivalent to the RX 5700 XT, so I just chose the W5700 which is basically a non-XT. I don't really game that much with the 5700 XT and mostly use it for OpenCL stuff where-in I use the 2080 Super for higher FPS/CUDA.

Curious regarding your application of OpenCL on Navi. Wasn’t it recently mentioned that Navi’s OpenCL implementation is broken or something?

A colleague of mine purchased a MI25 for her ML work, ended up using more time solving hardware lockups than put it to actual work. It was a huge headache for her. Way cheaper than its Tesla counter parts though
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
1,155 (0.39/day)
Processor i5 6600k @ 3.9 GHz
Motherboard MSI B250
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 pro rev 2
Memory Crucial 2x8 2133 CL16
Video Card(s) RX580 8gb oc
Storage Liteon 256gb + Patriot Burst 256
Power Supply Seasonic 620
Software Win 10 x64
I got 0xEA: THREAD_STUCK_IN_DEVICE_DRIVER on my RX580 with this 20.2.2.
 
Last edited:

ARF

Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
1,333 (2.65/day)
I got 0xEA: THREAD_STUCK_IN_DEVICE_DRIVER with this driver.

Oh, dear you :(

It's like these drivers for Navi are written from empty sheet by interns in India who receive $530 per month for their job.

How to fix the BSOD Error 0xEA THREAD_STUCK_IN_DEVICE_DRIVER

Bug Check 0xEA: THREAD_STUCK_IN_DEVICE_DRIVER
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
1,155 (0.39/day)
Processor i5 6600k @ 3.9 GHz
Motherboard MSI B250
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 pro rev 2
Memory Crucial 2x8 2133 CL16
Video Card(s) RX580 8gb oc
Storage Liteon 256gb + Patriot Burst 256
Power Supply Seasonic 620
Software Win 10 x64
Oh, dear you :(

It's like these drivers for Navi are written from empty sheet by interns in India who receive $530 per month for their job.

How to fix the BSOD Error 0xEA THREAD_STUCK_IN_DEVICE_DRIVER

Bug Check 0xEA: THREAD_STUCK_IN_DEVICE_DRIVER

I did a clean install went back to 20.2.1 so far oky.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
3,941 (0.66/day)
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name RiseZEN Gaming PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ stock - (Ryzen 7 5700X - When AMD)
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty X370 GAMING X AM4 (ROG Crosshair VIII? Can I Dream - LOL)
Cooling Corsair H115i PRO RGB, 280mm Radiator, Dual 140mm ML Series PWM Fans
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 3200 (Maybe get another 2 for 64GB Total)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ SE + (Radeon 6700XT | When the $ is Right)
Storage Corsair Force MP500 480GB M.2 (OS) + Force MP510 480GB M.2 (Steam/Games)
Display(s) Asus 27" (MG278Q) 144Hz WQHD 1440p + 1 x Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1080p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 450D Gaming Case
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries 5Hv2 w/ ASUS Xonar DGX PCI-E GX2.5 Audio Engine Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair TX750W Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64-Bit Edition
Benchmark Scores I'm the Doctor, Doctor Who. The Definition of Gaming is PC Gaming...
My Vega 64 system had the black screen issue only during the first 8 minutes or so after initial post but... only on the original adrenalin release. Every subsequent update I didn't have an issue with. On my 5700xt system never experienced it whatsoever.
That is the majority of 5700 series owners, they haven't experienced any such issues.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,211 (3.01/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs in bootable RAID0 by HIGHPOINT - SSD7202
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
Wasn’t it recently mentioned that Navi’s OpenCL implementation is broken or something?

They fixed that in some early January release.

In other news, I just got a crash. Not fixed entirely, I guess. Back to Radeon Pro drivers...
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
3,941 (0.66/day)
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name RiseZEN Gaming PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ stock - (Ryzen 7 5700X - When AMD)
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty X370 GAMING X AM4 (ROG Crosshair VIII? Can I Dream - LOL)
Cooling Corsair H115i PRO RGB, 280mm Radiator, Dual 140mm ML Series PWM Fans
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 3200 (Maybe get another 2 for 64GB Total)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ SE + (Radeon 6700XT | When the $ is Right)
Storage Corsair Force MP500 480GB M.2 (OS) + Force MP510 480GB M.2 (Steam/Games)
Display(s) Asus 27" (MG278Q) 144Hz WQHD 1440p + 1 x Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1080p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 450D Gaming Case
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries 5Hv2 w/ ASUS Xonar DGX PCI-E GX2.5 Audio Engine Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair TX750W Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64-Bit Edition
Benchmark Scores I'm the Doctor, Doctor Who. The Definition of Gaming is PC Gaming...
They fixed that in some early January release.

In other news, I just got a crash. Not fixed entirely, I guess. Back to Radeon Pro drivers...
Restart your PC, and try again.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (5.97/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Not sure what exactly you are asking.

To get the Radeon Pro Drivers just claim you have a Radeon Pro equivalent card in driver selection. Say one of the W5000's and it will give you them for WIndows 7. They install fine. For some reason they only list them automatically for consumer cards on Windows 10.

View attachment 146240
This is where you turn the junk off, or so I tried. It may be running in the background, but it has no performance impact or net traffic so hell if I care.

It's a overlooked part of coding. It was a risk I took providing the links to the other user, thank God they work in W7.

They fixed that in some early January release.

In other news, I just got a crash. Not fixed entirely, I guess. Back to Radeon Pro drivers...

Keep reporting them R-T-B

Oh, dear you :(

It's like these drivers for Navi are written from empty sheet by interns in India who receive $530 per month for their job.

How to fix the BSOD Error 0xEA THREAD_STUCK_IN_DEVICE_DRIVER

Bug Check 0xEA: THREAD_STUCK_IN_DEVICE_DRIVER

Become a coder. If bugs, report bugs, it is not rocket science.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,611 (1.16/day)
System Name Virtual Reality / Bioinformatics
Processor Undead CPU
Motherboard Undead TUF X99
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory GSkill 128GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB + 860 EVO 2TB + WD Black 5TB
Display(s) 32'' 4K Dell
Case Fractal Design R5
Audio Device(s) BOSE 2.0
Power Supply Seasonic 850watt
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry MX Blue
VR HMD HTC Vive + Oculus Quest 2
Software Windows 10 P
They fixed that in some early January release.

In other news, I just got a crash. Not fixed entirely, I guess. Back to Radeon Pro drivers...

Sorry to hear that.

Keep on solving these problems, it is for a noble cause.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
6,935 (2.85/day)
Location
USA
Processor i7-7820HK
Memory 2x8gb (16gb)
Video Card(s) gtx 1070
Storage 2TB SSD
Display(s) 17.3" 96hz 1080p IPS
Yeah keep up the good work R-T-B. At least when it comes to CPU's we have innovation finally thanks to AMD. Intel was becoming very stagnant and lazy. I think AMD also lit a little fire, though not as big under NVIDIA's butt. Will be nice to see some next gen hardware this Fall. I'm hoping for 20% gains or more on the GPU's at every budget level. Maybe I am being too optimistic? I feel like there has been some technology breakthrough though, so hopefully not.
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
1,070 (0.21/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Blackwidow/
Processor Ryzen 3700x / Threadripper 3960x
Motherboard Asus x570-i/ Asus Zenith ii Extreme
Cooling Aio/Custom watercooling
Memory 16gb ddr4 3600MHZ G SKill TridentZ royal / 32gb ddr4 3600MHZ G.Skill TridentZ Royal
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro 5700xt / 5700xt waiting on big navi
Storage WD Black 1TB boot / Samsung 970 evo+ 1tb boot
Display(s) Asus XG32VQ / Dual LG 27gl850
Case NZXT H1/ 011 Dynamic XL
Audio Device(s) On board/ Soundblaster ZXR
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum sfx-l 650w/ Seasonic Prime Titanium 1000w
Mouse Logitech G 900/ Razer Viper Ultimate wireless
Keyboard Logitech G915 TKL/ Logitech G915 Wireless
Software Win 10 Pro
Yeah keep up the good work R-T-B. At least when it comes to CPU's we have innovation finally thanks to AMD. Intel was becoming very stagnant and lazy. I think AMD also lit a little fire, though not as big under NVIDIA's butt. Will be nice to see some next gen hardware this Fall. I'm hoping for 20% gains or more on the GPU's at every budget level. Maybe I am being too optimistic? I feel like there has been some technology breakthrough though, so hopefully not.
You and mde both. Not to change subject but I'll add, I honestly believe ampere and big navi will compete with each other.
 

ARF

Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
1,333 (2.65/day)
You and mde both. Not to change subject but I'll add, I honestly believe ampere and big navi will compete with each other.

Maybe not. There are some hints that Ampere is a compute-oriented micro-architecture and gaming cards won't be released at this time.
That will be Hopper's job next year.

So, once Navi 2nd generation launches, it perhaps won't have competition.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2019
Messages
300 (0.41/day)
System Name Fractal
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5800X
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX B450-F Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.Black
Memory 2x8 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3600Mhz CL18 (CMK16GX4M2D3600C18)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 5700XT
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 PRO 2TB
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Blackout w/ USB-C
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 7 Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 850w 80+ Titanium
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero SE
Keyboard Corsair K68
Software Win10 Pro
then why is listed as an official issue in original post from AMD?

Whens the last time you actually tried playing through the game? Did it hang after this driver update?
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.42/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
No need, because I honestly don't care and am pretty dang sure I'll find some driver processes.. If that really bothers you, use Radeon Pro.



Yep, kinda suggests something is up doesn't it? :laugh:
The only real "driver process" is "aticlxx" or something like that. Everything else is bloat.
RSEManager, OW-whatever..all bloat.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,211 (3.01/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs in bootable RAID0 by HIGHPOINT - SSD7202
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
The only real "driver process" is "aticlxx" or something like that. Everything else is bloat.
RSEManager, OW-whatever..all bloat.

If you say so. One of those manages power management states. But sure.

There is some bloat in the standard driver, maybe even some in Radeon Pro. But no more than modern NVIDIA, so not sure what you were expecting.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (5.97/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
If you say so. One of those manages power management states. But sure.

There is some bloat in the standard driver, maybe even some in Radeon Pro. But no more than modern NVIDIA, so not sure what you were expecting.

His ignorance knows no bounds
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.42/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
If you say so. One of those manages power management states. But sure.

There is some bloat in the standard driver, maybe even some in Radeon Pro. But no more than modern NVIDIA, so not sure what you were expecting.
His ignorance knows no bounds

Power management is done by hardware and software on the GPU. And I'm the ignorant one? Hoo-boy! :laugh:
Those chokes and resistors aren't there to make it look pretty. What does the card firmware do then?
The cards work fine with only the main driver installed; Better, even. Let me be quiet before AMD catches onto that.

If you say so. One of those manages power management states. But sure.

There is some bloat in the standard driver, maybe even some in Radeon Pro. But no more than modern NVIDIA, so not sure what you were expecting.
There is more than modern NVIDIA, way more. NVIDIA doesn't have Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram profile-crawling folders and its own browser that can sneakily connect to the internet.
At least if they do, you can opt out of installing it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,211 (3.01/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs in bootable RAID0 by HIGHPOINT - SSD7202
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
Power management is done by hardware and software on the GPU.

Heh, I've only been hacking the power management part of the softpowerplay tables with mitigations for bugs in the driver AND firmware, what do I know?

There is more than modern NVIDIA, way more. NVIDIA doesn't have Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram profile-crawling folders and its own browser that can sneakily connect to the internet.

Neither does Radeon Pro. Also, those profiles do nothing if you don't link your account. That's kinda the idea.

What does the card firmware do then?

Accept pmu command and implement them, mostly, as well as contain the stock sppt.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,809 (2.52/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v21H1
There is more than modern NVIDIA, way more. NVIDIA doesn't have Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram profile-crawling folders and its own browser that can sneakily connect to the internet.
At least if they do, you can opt out of installing it.
Nvidia's Geforce Experince, and telemetry integrated into the driver? There's no opting out of the telemetry with the drivers unless you disagree with the EULA or utilize the Microsoft Basic Display driver.

Why would @W1zzard waste his time with creating, and maintaining NVCleanstall if it doesn't serve a purpose?
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.42/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
Nvidia's Geforce Experince, and telemetry integrated into the driver? There's no opting out of the telemetry with the drivers unless you disagree with the EULA or utilize the Microsoft Basic Display driver.

Why would @W1zzard waste his time with creating, and maintaining NVCleanstall if it doesn't serve a purpose?
You don't have to install "Geforce Experience" to get the NV driver working. With AMD, you don't get the choice to NOT install their version of it, which is very invasive.

I had options for turning all that stuff off in the NVIDIA driver I installed. No telemetry, none of that.
 
Top