• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Releases the Radeon Adrenalin Edition 20.2.2 Drivers

Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,406 (3.17/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard 1991 IBM Model M (Second Generation White Label Part #1391401)
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
You don't have to install "Geforce Experience" to get the NV driver working. With AMD, you don't get the choice to NOT install their version of it, which is very invasive.

I had options for turning all that stuff off in the NVIDIA driver I installed. No telemetry, none of that.

The telemetry isn't part of Geforce Experience, it's part of the core driver.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.40/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
The telemetry isn't part of Geforce Experience, it's part of the core driver.
I see. Well whatever it is, it's not not anywhere near the level of intrusive as AMD drivers are. Also seem to recall an option for turning it off (telemetry) on install.
Disclaimer: I am no NVIDIA fanboy, it just is what it is.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
1,326 (0.31/day)
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard Asus P6T v2
Cooling Noctua D-14
Memory OCZ Gold 1600
Video Card(s) Powercolor PCS+ 5870
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F3 1 TB
Display(s) Samsung LE-B530 37" TV
Case Lian Li PC-B25F
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
The telemetry isn't part of Geforce Experience, it's part of the core driver.

I was under the impression that I can use NVCleanstall to remove all telemetry and retain only the driver, please tell me that hasn't changed, and sorry for the brief derail.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,830 (2.36/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v21H1
I see. Well whatever it is, it's not not anywhere near the level of intrusive as AMD drivers are.
DisplaySessionContainer1.log
Code:
#0(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000007F0}<NvContainer>      Container main v1.19 [secure load library = ON]
#1(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000007F0}<NvContainer>      Telemetry API initialized
#2(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000007F0}<NvcHost>          Base host initialized successfully
#3(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000007F0}<NvcHostWin32>     Open parent process 0000000000000214 for PID 1636
#4(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000007F0}<NvcHostWin32>     Win32 host initialized successfully
#5(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000007F0}<NvcHostWin32>     Use external event 'Global\NvContainer1636-session1-c:_program files_nvidia corporation_display.nvcontainer_plugins_session' for quitting
#6(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000007F0}<NvcHost>          Load plugins from C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\Display.NvContainer\plugins\Session
#7(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000003F4}<NvcHostWin32>     Parent process tracking thread started with timeout: 4294967295

Untitled.jpg


That's after installing the drivers with NVCleanstall, and only selecting base driver, physx, usb-c connector driver, HDMI audio driver, and DLSS.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.40/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
DisplaySessionContainer1.log
Code:
#0(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000007F0}<NvContainer>      Container main v1.19 [secure load library = ON]
#1(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000007F0}<NvContainer>      Telemetry API initialized
#2(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000007F0}<NvcHost>          Base host initialized successfully
#3(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000007F0}<NvcHostWin32>     Open parent process 0000000000000214 for PID 1636
#4(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000007F0}<NvcHostWin32>     Win32 host initialized successfully
#5(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000007F0}<NvcHostWin32>     Use external event 'Global\NvContainer1636-session1-c:_program files_nvidia corporation_display.nvcontainer_plugins_session' for quitting
#6(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000007F0}<NvcHost>          Load plugins from C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\Display.NvContainer\plugins\Session
#7(I)[2020-03-01 21:35:49,595]{000003F4}<NvcHostWin32>     Parent process tracking thread started with timeout: 4294967295

View attachment 146378

It shuts it down, though. I have the same thing. It's not a persistent thing, constantly running.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,406 (3.17/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard 1991 IBM Model M (Second Generation White Label Part #1391401)
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
I was under the impression that I can use NVCleanstall to remove all telemetry and retain only the driver, please tell me that hasn't changed, and sorry for the brief derail.

You can. I meant the nvidia installer does not differentiate.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.40/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,406 (3.17/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard 1991 IBM Model M (Second Generation White Label Part #1391401)
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
Looks like telemetry is running there..

Install it stock, which seems to be your complaint. It's a bit worse.

Honestly at this point I'm not sure what your point of contention is anymore though, so feel free to correct me.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.40/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
Install it stock, which seems to be your complaint. It's a bit worse.

Honestly at this point I'm not sure what your point of contention is anymore though, so feel free to correct me.
AMD software does not let one opt out of installing its version of "GeForce Experience" and it's terrible.
A) Has its own browser
B) Has app that pops up mid-game on ya. "Hey! It's us, AMD, here to interrupt your game you paid a lot of money for and our card to run, but hold on! You can't do that until we get these settings right for it. Also, we're monitoring what games you run."
C) Is constantly running 5-6 things and stealing CPU cycles to datamine you.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,830 (2.36/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v21H1
It's a bit worse.
More so than his complaint about AMD's drivers being intrusive. Neither AMD or Nvidia are saints with the direction their drivers have taken. Nvidia's drivers are much worse is my current assessment.

I have nothing against Nvidia getting feedback through their drivers using telemetry but it should be optional if I want to participate.
Edit: Same goes for AMD for telemetry.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.40/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
More so than his complaint about AMD's drivers being intrusive. Neither AMD or Nvidia are saints with the direction their drivers have taken. Nvidia's drivers are much worse is my current assessment.

I have nothing against Nvidia getting feedback through their drivers using telemetry but it should be optional if I want to participate.

Have you installed AMD drivers and tried to run a game lately?
Any post-20 drivers?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,406 (3.17/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard 1991 IBM Model M (Second Generation White Label Part #1391401)
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
AMD software does not let one opt out of installing its version of "GeForce Experience" and it's terrible.
A) Has its own browser
B) Has app that pops up mid-game on ya. "Hey! It's us, AMD, here to interrupt your game you paid a lot of money for and our card to run, but hold on! You can't do that until we get these settings right for it. Also, we're monitoring what games you run."
C) Is constantly running 5-6 things and stealing CPU cycles to datamine you.

The opt-out is Radeon pro, and you can literally turn everything you described off.

You seem mad that a process still runs. Ok, Radeon Pro exists partially for this reason.

Have you installed AMD drivers and tried to run a game lately?
Any post-20 drivers?

Yes. It sounds like you spent about 5 minutes with it and had a fit rather than just unbinding the hotkeys and turning the options off.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,830 (2.36/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v21H1
Have you installed AMD drivers and tried to run a game lately?
Any post-20 drivers?
I left around the time frame of 19.8.1.
Yes. It sounds like you spent about 5 minutes with it and had a fit rather than just unbinding the hotkeys and turning the options off.
That's what I always did, and got rid of Relive recording processes.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.40/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
The opt-out is Radeon pro, and you can literally turn everything you described off.

You seem mad that a process still runs. Ok, Radeon Pro exists partially for this reason.



Yes. It sounds like you spent about 5 minutes with it and had a fit rather than just unbinding the hotkeys and turning the options off.

Well that's not common knowledge for us plebes. That Radeon Pro stuff.

No, I spent 4 minutes looking at what it was doing, then the next 2 turning off and deleting everything in CNext folder.
What is this crap running? Where is it? That was never there b4..shut off! Oh! Can't shut off? Delete all dlls in folder..
After 2 reboots, no problems. No settings, but no roundy roundy with the mouse cursor, either.
And I'm not happy about it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,406 (3.17/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard 1991 IBM Model M (Second Generation White Label Part #1391401)
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
Well that's not common knowledge for us plebes. That Radeon Pro stuff.

No, I spent 4 minutes looking at what it was doing, then the next 2 turning off and deleting everything in CNext folder.
What is this crap running? Where is it? That was never there b4..shut off! Oh! Can't shut off? Delete all dlls in folder..
After 2 reboots, no problems. No settings, but no roundy roundy with the mouse cursor, either.
And I'm not happy about it.

No, the not common knowledge for plebes is the "delete all dlls" approach. Most people look for a toggle.

The Radeon Pro's do need to be more visible though. They only show up automaticly on Radeon cards if you choose WIndows 10 as your OS. Why? Who knows.

And I'm not happy about it.

As far as I can tell, you are the first to complain about this. There is lots to complain about mind. Just... this is new.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.40/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
No, the not common knowledge for plebes is the "delete all dlls" approach. Most people look for a toggle.

The Radeon Pro's do need to be more visible though. They only show up automaticly on Radeon cards if you choose WIndows 10 as your OS. Why? Who knows.



As far as I can tell, you are the first to complain about this. There is lots to complain about mind. Just... this is new.
Kids today don't know how to shut down and delete dlls and inis to stop a program from running. AMD is taking advantage of them.
PS: I deleted the ini in the "telemetry" folder. No more logs! Oops!
(and the the log, to see if respawned) Maybe a couple other things, too.
Unnecessary junk is unnecessary.
telemetry..jpg
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,406 (3.17/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard 1991 IBM Model M (Second Generation White Label Part #1391401)
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
8,612 (3.35/day)
Location
USA
The telemetry isn't part of Geforce Experience, it's part of the core driver.


Can you just block firewall of all Nvidia .exe's in program folders and program x86 folders? Or is there a hidden folder that isn't shown that does the telemetry? assuming you are doing a regular install of Nvidia drivers. or do you recommend W1zz's NV Clean Install?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,406 (3.17/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard 1991 IBM Model M (Second Generation White Label Part #1391401)
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
Can you just block firewall of all Nvidia .exe's in program folders and program x86 folders? Or is there a hidden folder that isn't shown that does the telemetry? assuming you are doing a regular install of Nvidia drivers. or do you recommend W1zz's NV Clean Install?

If you use nvcleanstall the telemetry tries to run, but is basically broken and shuts down.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,221 (0.72/day)
Location
Tanagra
I updated to these today for my 5700XT. In regard to fan speed changes, I noticed that the minimum fan speed on the blower has been increased--I used to be able to set idle at 700rpm, now it's 1100rpm. No matter, it still washes out with the other fan noise. I noticed the fan doesn't seem to get too wound up either, maxing at 2100rpm. With the auto-undervolt, (1150mV) temps hover in the mid-70s, and game clock averages 1800mhz. No crashes or issues in Forza 7 or Destiny 2.

I just let the installer do the work, telling it to reset, so it uninstalls the existing and reboots before installing the new driver.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
8,612 (3.35/day)
Location
USA
I updated to these today for my 5700XT. In regard to fan speed changes, I noticed that the minimum fan speed on the blower has been increased--I used to be able to set idle at 700rpm, now it's 1100rpm. No matter, it still washes out with the other fan noise. I noticed the fan doesn't seem to get too wound up either, maxing at 2100rpm. With the auto-undervolt, (1150mV) temps hover in the mid-70s, and game clock averages 1800mhz. No crashes or issues in Forza 7 or Destiny 2.

I just let the installer do the work, telling it to reset, so it uninstalls the existing and reboots before installing the new driver.

I prefer a little fan speed running when cards are idle, regardless of team green or red. I always felt it helped for some reason. Good move by AMD imo.

If you use nvcleanstall the telemetry tries to run, but is basically broken and shuts down.

but you didn't answer my main question, I am curious if we just block all the .exe firewalls for nvidia in program files and program files x86, won't that stop the telemetry too?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,406 (3.17/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard 1991 IBM Model M (Second Generation White Label Part #1391401)
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
but you didn't answer my main question, I am curious if we just block all the .exe firewalls for nvidia in program files and program files x86, won't that stop the telemetry too?

Apologies, yes, it should.
 

lesovers

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2019
Messages
19 (0.03/day)
The 5700 series cards have some new power improvements for multi-monitors including:
  • Card power for two 1080p multi-monitors driven with the same resolutions is now only 8 Watts compared to 33 Watts previously
  • Card Power for a mixture of difference resolution multi-monitors when the monitors are turned off by Windows (by power options) is now only 8 Watts compared to 33 Watts previously
Have used ATi/AMD graphic cards since 2009 (HD5850, 280X , RX580 and 5700XT) and have had very few driver issues at all. The black screen in Google Chrome when playing videos for example appears to be fixed, just run the “amdcleanuputility.exe” before installing the new AMD driver. Never had a crash at all in any game on my ATi/AMD cards over the last 11 years and the MSI 5700XT Gaming X is a rock solid card on my 2 x 24” and 1 x 30” monitor setup.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X 8-core
Motherboard ASRock X570 TAICHI
Cooling Enermax LIQFUSION 360
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 64GB (4 x 16GB)
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Radeon RX 6800
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG322CQRV 32"
Case Phanteks Eclipse P500A
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud II - Gaming Headset
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS GX-850, 850W 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB Pro SE, Wireless
Keyboard CORSAIR Strafe RGB MK.2 Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 pro
These are the first 2020 drivers that don't crash my computer in games.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,148 (5.49/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
AMD software does not let one opt out of installing its version of "GeForce Experience" and it's terrible.
A) Has its own browser
B) Has app that pops up mid-game on ya. "Hey! It's us, AMD, here to interrupt your game you paid a lot of money for and our card to run, but hold on! You can't do that until we get these settings right for it. Also, we're monitoring what games you run."
C) Is constantly running 5-6 things and stealing CPU cycles to datamine you.
If you don't have Radeon Software, you can't configure things like FreeSync without very complicated registry edits.

Radeon Software does not upload any telemetry data unless you agree to do so during setup.

NVIDIA hasn't updated their Control Panel is almost two decades now.

A) Some people like to use a browser while gaming. It's an option you're free to ignore.
B) Disable Toast Notifications under gear icon -> General.
C) When Radeon Software is closed, it uses next to nothing.
 
Top