• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD RX580 8GB

surenmunoo

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2021
Messages
12 (0.21/day)
Hi All. I need some help please with the an AMD RX 580 8GB Graphics card. When this card is connected I cannot get into my PC Bios for some reason. It used to work fine but then just stopped showing the Gigabyte splash screen and no more bios. If I remove the card I can get into bios and I tried a Nvidia GT710, I can get into bios with Nvidia as well just not with RX580. I opened up the card to find a switch but it does not have one, I changed the thermal paste as well. I tried the RX580 in an Asus PC and the same issue. It will not give the splash screen or bios but boots straight into windows 10. The 2 PC that I have is a Gigabyte Z490 Vision D with i7 11700k CPU and the other is an Asus Dog B560-F Gaming 10700K CPU. It used to work perfectly on both boards but I needed to put it into the Gigabyte again and was given this problem. Do I need to flash bios again? I bought this 2nd hand about 2 months ago and it worked fine till now.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,956 (8.22/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Thats a UEFI issue, i've seen it on a few RX580s, even when GPU-Z shows the UEFI box is ticked (supported), it still didnt work

You just need to find an updated BIOS for your card to correct the bug


As for why this happened, either you changed your BIOS from Legacy/CSM to UEFI yourself, or you did accidentally flip the BIOS switch without realising it
(Or did you flash another BIOS?)
 
Last edited:

surenmunoo

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2021
Messages
12 (0.21/day)
Thats a UEFI issue, i've seen it on a few RX580s, even when GPU-Z shows the UEFI bug is ticked (supported), it still didnt work

You just need to find an updated BIOS for your card to correct the bug


As for why this happened, either you changed your BIOS from Legacy/CSM to UEFI yourself, or you did accidentally flip the BIOS switch without realising it
(Or did you flash another BIOS?)
I have not made any changes except to move the card from the Asus to Gigabyte board and this issue started. How do I fix or install the bios on the RX580
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,956 (8.22/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Read the label on the GPU for what exact model it is, for a start

then post a screenshot of GPU-Z main page here, so we can see what BIOS its on, with what memory type and its stock clocks
 

surenmunoo

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2021
Messages
12 (0.21/day)
Read the label on the GPU for what exact model it is, for a start

then post a screenshot of GPU-Z main page here, so we can see what BIOS its on, with what memory type and its stock clocks
Hi, Find as requested. Thank You
1627675171996.png
1627675216437.png

1627675430499.jpeg
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,956 (8.22/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Problem i'm seeing, all the sapphire GPU's seem to have that exact same BIOS

VGA Bios Collection | TechPowerUp

You can flash any of those that show "Hynix" as a supported memory type (on the left, lower down once you open one of the pages up) such as this one - however if it doesnt fix the issue, then you may need to crossflash to a similar BIOS from another vendor

This asrock has similar clock speeds, Hynix support, and a newer core BIOS version by almost a year
VGA Bios Collection: ASRock RX 580 8 GB | TechPowerUp
 

surenmunoo

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2021
Messages
12 (0.21/day)
Problem i'm seeing, all the sapphire GPU's seem to have that exact same BIOS

VGA Bios Collection | TechPowerUp

You can flash any of those that show "Hynix" as a supported memory type (on the left, lower down once you open one of the pages up) such as this one - however if it doesnt fix the issue, then you may need to crossflash to a similar BIOS from another vendor

This asrock has similar clock speeds, Hynix support, and a newer core BIOS version by almost a year
VGA Bios Collection: ASRock RX 580 8 GB | TechPowerUp
Does not work, I keep getting P/N mismatch or subsystem id mismatch error.
1627717342004.png


1627717428878.png


What I did notice is that if I use the IGPU HDMI I can get into my Bios and if I enable CSM there, save and reboot then the EGPU allows me to enter PC Bios.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,956 (8.22/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
CSM disables UEFI, which is why that works

Oh i see a difference there with Polaris XL and polaris XTX mentioned with those BIOS files... i'll have to check i found the correct ones (I've found and fixed this problem just the once, personally)

This one is Polaris XTX like yours

VGA Bios Collection: ASRock RX 580 8 GB | TechPowerUp
 

surenmunoo

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2021
Messages
12 (0.21/day)
CSM disables UEFI, which is why that works

Oh i see a difference there with Polaris XL and polaris XTX mentioned with those BIOS files... i'll have to check i found the correct ones (I've found and fixed this problem just the once, personally)

This one is Polaris XTX like yours

VGA Bios Collection: ASRock RX 580 8 GB | TechPowerUp
Thanks, I will give it a try now.

CSM disables UEFI, which is why that works

Oh i see a difference there with Polaris XL and polaris XTX mentioned with those BIOS files... i'll have to check i found the correct ones (I've found and fixed this problem just the once, personally)

This one is Polaris XTX like yours

VGA Bios Collection: ASRock RX 580 8 GB | TechPowerUp
Still no luck

1627718954779.png
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,956 (8.22/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Huh so Polaris XL is meant to be the RX570... so why is that showing as an RX580 BIOS?

Edit: ahhhh that was the weird chinese exclusive cut down version thats really an RX570 in disguise. Thats why that one link didnt work, apologies for missing that.
 

surenmunoo

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2021
Messages
12 (0.21/day)
Huh so Polaris XL is meant to be the RX570... so why is that showing as an RX580 BIOS?

Edit: ahhhh that was the weird chinese exclusive cut down version thats really an RX570 in disguise. Thats why that one link didnt work, apologies for missing that.
So mine is actually a RX570? hmmm I need to talk to the seller :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,956 (8.22/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
So mine is actually a RX570? hmmm I need to talk to the seller :)
nono, the file i linked before that didnt work - was explaining why it failed

subsystem mismatch, im pretty sure you can force flash around let me find out

Edit: another older thread here on TPU said:
"open cmd in admin mode and use force flash command.
use atiflsh 2.74 or 2.93"

I believe force flash was removed in newer versions, and doesnt work with the GUI

AtiFlash.exe -f -p 0 newbios.rom

another edit: theres a guide here for flashing 480 cards to 580, which has some nice instructions (and the versions of the flash tool you need)

How To: Flash Your RX 480 to an RX 580 In 8 Easy Steps! | Play3r

Remember that if you have any issues, you can flip to the second BIOS or boot the system from your intel graphics and try another BIOS
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
326 (0.15/day)
System Name My system is my pet?
Processor Intel Core i5 9400f 2.9GHz/4.0 Turbo (NoOC)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370M D3H rev. 1.0
Cooling An okayish Cooler but it is better than Intel's stock
Memory Corsair Red Line 8x2 16GB 3000MHz (NoOC) DDR4-3000 15-17-17-35 (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R) V1.35 ver 4.24
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce MSI 980 Ti Golden Edition (No OC)| Spare: GTX 650 Ti 1 GB
Storage Samsun 860 EVO 1 TB | Spare: WDC Black 930 GiB WD1003FZEX
Display(s) Asus VG248QZ 1920x1080 144hz 24" (Current: 60hz, because Contrast is lowered with 60+ Hz)
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair 850W RMi power supply (Overkill I know -long story-)
Mouse Logitech M105
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 21H2
I am glad you actually want to take to the seller, many others just give up and tries to "fix" their card. If all people are like you, those people will not be easily be able to sell such weird items.

Edit: But Mussles, isn't this misleading to sell?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,956 (8.22/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
I am glad you actually want to take to the seller, many others just give up and tries to "fix" their card. If all people are like you, those people will not be easily be able to sell such weird items.

Edit: But Mussles, isn't this misleading to sell?
this isnt about selling it, it's about getting a screen before it boots into windows

it's a fully working card, you just cant access the BIOS (black screen til OS loads)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,253 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
this isnt about selling it, it's about getting a screen before it boots into windows

it's a fully working card, you just cant access the BIOS (black screen til OS loads)

Give me a moment

Interesting E388 is on the PN of the card which is supposed to be the subsystem ID on (1002 67DF 1DA2 E388) or 1002 6FDF 1DA2 E388) but E353 is being used. It will take me a bit.

I have not made any changes except to move the card from the Asus to Gigabyte board and this issue started. How do I fix or install the bios on the RX580
Update the GA board bios first

I hope you didnt knock off a smd on the board

Or ESD


Open gpu-z again, by the uefi checkbox, click the black arrow and attempt to upload the gpu bios to the VGA bios collection/database within the program itself. You should get prompted that the bios is already in the database with a link. Copy and paste the link here. I want to verify a few more items

It would appear our database for the Sapphire Pulse RX 580 with Micron Memory did not get a bios outside of 2017, E353 or E387 for the PN/Subsystem ID was used.

Verified Bios:

E353
2017 11 20

E387
2017 11 14

Unverified bios:

E353
2017 11 20











E387
2017 11 14











 
Last edited:

surenmunoo

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2021
Messages
12 (0.21/day)
Give me a moment

Interesting E388 is on the PN of the card which is supposed to be the subsystem ID on (1002 67DF 1DA2 E388) or 1002 6FDF 1DA2 E388) but E353 is being used. It will take me a bit.


Update the GA board bios first

I hope you didnt knock off a smd on the board

Or ESD



Open gpu-z again, by the uefi checkbox, click the black arrow and attempt to upload the gpu bios to the VGA bios collection/database within the program itself. You should get prompted that the bios is already in the database with a link. Copy and paste the link here. I want to verify a few more items

It would appear our database for the Sapphire Pulse RX 580 with Micron Memory did not get a bios outside of 2017, E353 or E387 for the PN/Subsystem ID was used.

Verified Bios:

E353
2017 11 20

E387
2017 11 14

Unverified bios:

E353
2017 11 20











E387
2017 11 14











Hi, when i click the black arrow by the UEFI tickbox i only get 2 options, Save to file and submit to online database" no option to flash bios there.

Give me a moment

Interesting E388 is on the PN of the card which is supposed to be the subsystem ID on (1002 67DF 1DA2 E388) or 1002 6FDF 1DA2 E388) but E353 is being used. It will take me a bit.


Update the GA board bios first

I hope you didnt knock off a smd on the board

Or ESD



Open gpu-z again, by the uefi checkbox, click the black arrow and attempt to upload the gpu bios to the VGA bios collection/database within the program itself. You should get prompted that the bios is already in the database with a link. Copy and paste the link here. I want to verify a few more items

It would appear our database for the Sapphire Pulse RX 580 with Micron Memory did not get a bios outside of 2017, E353 or E387 for the PN/Subsystem ID was used.

Verified Bios:

E353
2017 11 20

E387
2017 11 14

Unverified bios:

E353
2017 11 20











E387
2017 11 14











So this below rom flashed but i still cannot see PC Bios without CSM enabled. My PC board is on the latest F20 bios because of Rocket Lake COU that i have.

1627767071577.png


Give me a moment

Interesting E388 is on the PN of the card which is supposed to be the subsystem ID on (1002 67DF 1DA2 E388) or 1002 6FDF 1DA2 E388) but E353 is being used. It will take me a bit.


Update the GA board bios first

I hope you didnt knock off a smd on the board

Or ESD



Open gpu-z again, by the uefi checkbox, click the black arrow and attempt to upload the gpu bios to the VGA bios collection/database within the program itself. You should get prompted that the bios is already in the database with a link. Copy and paste the link here. I want to verify a few more items

It would appear our database for the Sapphire Pulse RX 580 with Micron Memory did not get a bios outside of 2017, E353 or E387 for the PN/Subsystem ID was used.

Verified Bios:

E353
2017 11 20

E387
2017 11 14

Unverified bios:

E353
2017 11 20











E387
2017 11 14











Link as requested

VGA Bios Collection: AMD RX 580 8 GB | TechPowerUp
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,956 (8.22/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (EK Quantum Velocity block) (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Custom EK loop, 360mm top exhaust rad 280mm front intake rad
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate 1750MHz 737mv | 10950MHz VRAM
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2x 32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Eidairman knows a bit more about this than i, so i'll let him take over from here
 

surenmunoo

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2021
Messages
12 (0.21/day)
So i managed to force flash another bios in but still cannot boot without CSM enabled.
1627753826081.png
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,253 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Sounds like you need a GOP update. I will research this further
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,253 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thank You


Not sure if this will help you to help me any bit but after some digging i got this below
View attachment 210676

Im not turning up anything additional for your particular RX580, I only see RX590 updates with micron memory with a Sub ID of E366. Its a risk but if the card has a dual bios switch, Id say flash the uefi bios but not the csm bios.

The only other option is to Reach Sapphire for a UEFI updated bios.

You maybe able to attempt a bios mod of 1 of the following RX590 files and change it from E366 to E353 and lower the clock speeds to match your current rx580 bios, possibly memory timings and volts too. Perhaps change the GPU Device ID to match this bios
GPU Device Id: 0x1002 0x67DF 113-4E353BU-O50 E353 Polaris20 XTX A1 GDDR5 256Mx32 8GB


Use this tool

Non SE cards

2019 10 29

2018 11 09

2018 10 18


SE cards
2018 10 18




 
Last edited:

surenmunoo

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2021
Messages
12 (0.21/day)
Im not turning up anything additional for your particular RX580, I only see RX590 updates with micron memory with a Sub ID of E366. Its a risk but if the card has a dual bios switch, Id say flash the uefi bios but not the csm bios.

The only other option is to Reach Sapphire for a UEFI updated bios.

You maybe able to attempt a bios mod of 1 of the following RX590 files and change it from E366 to E353 and lower the clock speeds to match your current rx580 bios, possibly memory timings and volts too. Perhaps change the GPU Device ID to match this bios
GPU Device Id: 0x1002 0x67DF 113-4E353BU-O50 E353 Polaris20 XTX A1 GDDR5 256Mx32 8GB


Use this tool

Non SE cards

2019 10 29

2018 11 09

2018 10 18


SE cards
2018 10 18




Thanks, unfortunately my card does not have a switch for duel bios so it might be a risk that i could brick the card. Is there no other way to get this to boot without CSM? what are the downfalls of leaving CSM enabled?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,253 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thanks, unfortunately my card does not have a switch for duel bios so it might be a risk that i could brick the card. Is there no other way to get this to boot without CSM? what are the downfalls of leaving CSM enabled?

Nothing honestly.

Yeah if you brick, it would require you to have a spare gpu so you csn unbrick or a spi flasher.

Reach out to Sapphire and ask them this question about a UEFI bios newer than 2018
 

surenmunoo

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2021
Messages
12 (0.21/day)
Nothing honestly.

Yeah if you brick, it would require you to have a spare gpu so you csn unbrick or a spi flasher.

Reach out to Sapphire and ask them this question about a UEFI bios newer than 2018
Hey mate. I am at my wits end now. Sapphire emailed me the same bios I already had, flashed it still same thing no UEFI boot. I put In my Nvidia GT710 to see if this is not PC related and I can boot with CSM disabled with Nvidia so the issue is the RX580. Sapphire support says I must update my bios but there is no other bios for my Gigabyte Z490 Vision D board, I am already on the latest bios for the mono which is F20 because of my Rocket Lake cpu. I also managed to do the GOP and flashed that bios but still nothing. I have now both Graphics card installed in the PC - the GT710 and RX580 but have the HDMI cable to the Nvidia. With the RX580 just being installed but no Hdmi cable to it I get video acceleration HEVC.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,253 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Hey mate. I am at my wits end now. Sapphire emailed me the same bios I already had, flashed it still same thing no UEFI boot. I put In my Nvidia GT710 to see if this is not PC related and I can boot with CSM disabled with Nvidia so the issue is the RX580. Sapphire support says I must update my bios but there is no other bios for my Gigabyte Z490 Vision D board, I am already on the latest bios for the mono which is F20 because of my Rocket Lake cpu. I also managed to do the GOP and flashed that bios but still nothing. I have now both Graphics card installed in the PC - the GT710 and RX580 but have the HDMI cable to the Nvidia. With the RX580 just being installed but no Hdmi cable to it I get video acceleration HEVC.

Have you tried the 580 in another brand of motherboard because it would seem gigabyte bios quality is pretty abysmal.

I have a R9 290 Vapor X which has CSM and UEFI with my asus 990 fx sabertooth r2.0 and it boots fine on both UEFI and CSM whether the motherboard or gpu are set either way. Apparently this hasnt been a major case of problems for Sapphire because they didnt update the bios for your particular card. There used to be someone here by the name of @MrGenius but he appears to have abandoned tpu that could tweak the gop portion.
 
Top