• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD RX580 corrupted Windows 10 installation

Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
17 (0.29/day)
System Name Dual Xeon Home Build - based on https://www.techspot.com/review/1155-affordable-dual-xeon-pc/
Processor 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2670
Motherboard Asrock EP2C602
Cooling 2 x Noctua NH-U12DXi4 120mm SSO2 CPU Coolers
Memory 8 x 4GB G.SKill F3-14900CL8Q-16GMZM
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 970
Storage Samsung Evo 850 500GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ GW2765
Case In-Win
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Corsair RMx RM850X 850W ATX12V / EPS12V 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Microsoft
Keyboard Microsoft
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Office 365 Home
Good evening,

I purchased 2 "open box" RX580 8GB 256 bit cards from a seller on EBay. I installed one to replace an NVIDIA GTX 750ti and it worked just fine with the Windows 10 basic drivers but, after installing the latest driver through Windows Update, the screen went blank and I let it sit for over an hour just to see if it was a temporary thing. I hard rebooted, went into system restore and restored the OS back to the basic Windows video drivers and went to the AMD website to ensure that I had the latest drivers and same result. Except, this time, when I tried to system restore, there was some error that wouldn't allow it to be done again.

I tried the startup repair and no luck, I tried to boot into safe mode and it would blue screen before it got to safe mode.

Realizing that I had trashed my Windows installation, I did a clean install of Windows 10 x64 on a new SSD and, identical result to above. That install is now useless.

My machine:

Homebuilt computer
Mobo: Asrock EP2C602
CPU: 2 x Xeon 2670 v.2
Memory: 32GB GSkills Ripjaws?

I attach a picture of the white sticker at the back and a picture of where I understand there might be some sort of switch although I don't see it.

I didn't run GPU-Z before it corrupted the OS or I would post that as well.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

20200331_070128379_iOS.jpg









20200331_070244151_iOS.jpg
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
7,964 (3.89/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor AMD 3200G
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Stock
Memory Adata 8Gb 2133Mhz DDR4
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
We will need more details.
Brand and model number of your PSU.
Brand and model number of the GPU.
Full photo of the card's shroud and ports.

Did you use DDU to remove Nvidia drivers prior to installing the AMD card and drivers?
When attempting to boot into Safe mode did you revert back to the 750Ti and try?
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
17 (0.29/day)
System Name Dual Xeon Home Build - based on https://www.techspot.com/review/1155-affordable-dual-xeon-pc/
Processor 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2670
Motherboard Asrock EP2C602
Cooling 2 x Noctua NH-U12DXi4 120mm SSO2 CPU Coolers
Memory 8 x 4GB G.SKill F3-14900CL8Q-16GMZM
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 970
Storage Samsung Evo 850 500GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ GW2765
Case In-Win
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Corsair RMx RM850X 850W ATX12V / EPS12V 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Microsoft
Keyboard Microsoft
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Office 365 Home
Thanks for your very prompt response.

PSU Corsair RM850X

GPU - not sure - see original listing with photos and GPU-Z screenshot https://www.ebay.com/itm/AMD-Radeon-RX-580-8GB-DDR5-DirectX-Gaming-Mining-GPU/352980173258?ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649

If the pictures on this are not enough, I will take and send others.

I did not use DDU to remove Nvidia drivers but, on subsequent clean install of Windows 10, there were no installed Nvidia drivers.

I tried to revert to 750Ti after being unable to boot into safe mode and would not boot.

Let me know if you require anything further.

Thanks again.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,560 (1.54/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
Re install NVIDIA GTX 750ti
Reinstall windows so you have a working system
install RX580 in Spare PCIx slot
ASRock Rack > EP2C602-4L/D16
www.asrockrack.com › general › productdetail › Model=EP2C602-4L




EP2C602-4L/D16. Dual Socket R (LGA2011), supports Intel Xeon 5-1600/2600/4600 & v2 series. Supports Quad Channel DDR3 1866 memory, 16 DIMM slots, Max. 512GB. 4 PCIe 3.0 x16, 1 PCIe 3.0 x4, 1 PCI.

Run GPUz and upload pics of RX580 TABs

This may be your bios (from those ebay links)
please do nothing untill @eidairaman1 gets back to you
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
17 (0.29/day)
System Name Dual Xeon Home Build - based on https://www.techspot.com/review/1155-affordable-dual-xeon-pc/
Processor 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2670
Motherboard Asrock EP2C602
Cooling 2 x Noctua NH-U12DXi4 120mm SSO2 CPU Coolers
Memory 8 x 4GB G.SKill F3-14900CL8Q-16GMZM
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 970
Storage Samsung Evo 850 500GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ GW2765
Case In-Win
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Corsair RMx RM850X 850W ATX12V / EPS12V 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Microsoft
Keyboard Microsoft
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Office 365 Home
Thanks again for your very prompt reply. The board is actually an EP2C602 (not -4L/D16) URL is https://www.asrockrack.com/general/productdetail.asp?Model=EP2C602#Specifications

It is 2:30 am here and I need to get up in 5 hours and will not be able to reinstall the OS for about 18 hours from now. When you say "install RX580 in Spare PCIx slot" do you mean without first removing GTX 750Ti or after removing GTX 750Ti, install in a different slot?

Thanks for taking the time to deal with my problem.

Until later today.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
8,560 (1.54/day)
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
you leave the GTX installed in the primary Slot so you have a working pc
and fit the RX in a spare slot
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
17 (0.29/day)
System Name Dual Xeon Home Build - based on https://www.techspot.com/review/1155-affordable-dual-xeon-pc/
Processor 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2670
Motherboard Asrock EP2C602
Cooling 2 x Noctua NH-U12DXi4 120mm SSO2 CPU Coolers
Memory 8 x 4GB G.SKill F3-14900CL8Q-16GMZM
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 970
Storage Samsung Evo 850 500GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ GW2765
Case In-Win
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Corsair RMx RM850X 850W ATX12V / EPS12V 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Microsoft
Keyboard Microsoft
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Office 365 Home
Again, thanks. Unfortunately couldn't devote any time to this tonight, may have to wait for weekend but, will advise once done.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
7,964 (3.89/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor AMD 3200G
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Stock
Memory Adata 8Gb 2133Mhz DDR4
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
If the GPU's BIOS is UEFI only then it might not run on a legacy Motherboard.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,839 (0.35/day)
Repair your Windows installation.

Use HDMI cable if possible for the time being.

Open cmd.exe with admin permissions and type there:
set devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices=1
devmgmt.msc

Remove all display adapters, monitors, make sure to check box for delete driver software.

Run DDU from safe mode on both AMD and Nvidia.

Now install drivers from AMD's website.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,508 (2.29/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
its weird coz driver usually dont ruin OS, might be some bugs but wont kill the OS
even you take the driver from AMD web the OS still affected

can you point the brand, just test what about downloading the driver from it
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,839 (0.35/day)
its weird coz driver usually dont ruin OS, might be some bugs but wont kill the OS
even you take the driver from AMD web the OS still affected

can you point the brand, just test what about downloading the driver from it
Hard reboot, power loss and BSODs may cause data corruption.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
17 (0.29/day)
System Name Dual Xeon Home Build - based on https://www.techspot.com/review/1155-affordable-dual-xeon-pc/
Processor 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2670
Motherboard Asrock EP2C602
Cooling 2 x Noctua NH-U12DXi4 120mm SSO2 CPU Coolers
Memory 8 x 4GB G.SKill F3-14900CL8Q-16GMZM
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 970
Storage Samsung Evo 850 500GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ GW2765
Case In-Win
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Corsair RMx RM850X 850W ATX12V / EPS12V 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Microsoft
Keyboard Microsoft
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Office 365 Home
Good day,

dorsetknob. My apologies for the lengthy delay in trying. I have not had the time until today to try out your suggestion. Here are the steps I followed and the results

1. Set a system restore point.
2. Cloned the drive just in case.
3. Added the RX580 to the system in an empty PCIe slot.
4. Booted the system with Nvidia GTX 750i connected to the monitor.
5. Once Windows loaded, it was obvious that the GTX 750i was not using the Nvidia driver but rather the MS basic video driver.
6. Removed HDMI cable from the GTX 750i and attached to the RX580 - no video.
7. Moved HDMI cable back to GTX 750i.
8. Opened device manager and under "Display Adapter" said MS basic driver or something like that.
9. Copied Hardware ID from properties dialog box and searched on Internet.
10. Internet returned result confirming that the Hardware ID was indeed for the RX580.
11. Went back to Device Manager and this time, it identified the sole video card in the device manager as the RX580 - it appears in the background that Windows found and installed an AMD driver.
12. Moved HDMI cable again from Nvidia card to RX580 - again a blank screen.
13. Shut down Windows and started writing this post.

It looks like I am getting a lot more traction than my first failed attempt to install the card - Window is not corrupted!!

Kindly let me know what the next step(s) should be.

Thank you.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
17 (0.29/day)
System Name Dual Xeon Home Build - based on https://www.techspot.com/review/1155-affordable-dual-xeon-pc/
Processor 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2670
Motherboard Asrock EP2C602
Cooling 2 x Noctua NH-U12DXi4 120mm SSO2 CPU Coolers
Memory 8 x 4GB G.SKill F3-14900CL8Q-16GMZM
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 970
Storage Samsung Evo 850 500GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ GW2765
Case In-Win
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Corsair RMx RM850X 850W ATX12V / EPS12V 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Microsoft
Keyboard Microsoft
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Office 365 Home
Good evening folks,

Any further words of wisdom on this?

I am considering:

1. Leaving both cards in and firing up the computer to see if the Radeon card is now outputting a signal;
2. Taking out the Nvidia card then firing up the computer to see if all remains stable and if the Radeon card works.

Please advise recommended course of action, either 1 or 2 above something completely different (as they would say in Monty Python, "And now, something completely different:)

Thanks.

Gary
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
17 (0.29/day)
System Name Dual Xeon Home Build - based on https://www.techspot.com/review/1155-affordable-dual-xeon-pc/
Processor 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2670
Motherboard Asrock EP2C602
Cooling 2 x Noctua NH-U12DXi4 120mm SSO2 CPU Coolers
Memory 8 x 4GB G.SKill F3-14900CL8Q-16GMZM
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 970
Storage Samsung Evo 850 500GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ GW2765
Case In-Win
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Corsair RMx RM850X 850W ATX12V / EPS12V 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Microsoft
Keyboard Microsoft
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Office 365 Home
Good evening.

I decided to remove the GTX 750 Ti, connect the RX580 by HDMI and booted up the computer. The video card outputted video with the MS basic display adapter. i ran GPU-Z and took the attached screenshot. I then downloaded DDU and ran it to uninstall the NVidia drivers and the program rebooted the computer. It came up again with the Microsoft basic display adapter. I started to download the latest AMD driver and, before the download could finish, the screen went blank and the fans on the RX580 started running. The computer stayed that way - presumably all this happened as windows update loaded the AMD drivers.

To get the computer working again, i removed the RX580, reinstalled the GTX750ti and this time Windows rebooted and up came the display, again with the MS basic display adapter. I used DDU to remove both the Nvidia and AMD drivers and tired to install the AMD card again. Same black screen result with cooling fans on AMD card starting to spin at the same time.

I await any further advice which you may have.

Thank you.
 

Attachments

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,028 (6.13/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
What monitor(s) do you have?

Try an older driver version like 19.9.2? You can get it via clicking "Show previous versions" and scrolling down:
I have a friend with a similar issue (20.3.1 drivers) and that's what fixed it for him. If it does fix it...then it's the same regression at play. What's happening is that when the driver loads, it tries to give the monitor a resolution it doesn't understand so the graphics card stops sending data. The monitor then goes to standby because it has nothing to display. The only temporary solution it is to have a second monitor connected that the driver doesn't hate and change the resolution on the main monitor using that secondary monitor.

AMD should get it fixed...eventually.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
17 (0.29/day)
System Name Dual Xeon Home Build - based on https://www.techspot.com/review/1155-affordable-dual-xeon-pc/
Processor 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2670
Motherboard Asrock EP2C602
Cooling 2 x Noctua NH-U12DXi4 120mm SSO2 CPU Coolers
Memory 8 x 4GB G.SKill F3-14900CL8Q-16GMZM
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 970
Storage Samsung Evo 850 500GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ GW2765
Case In-Win
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Corsair RMx RM850X 850W ATX12V / EPS12V 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Microsoft
Keyboard Microsoft
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Office 365 Home
Dorsetknob,

Thank you. i have a BenQ GW2765. In the morning (It's 2 am here) I will:

1. Download the older driver;
2. Reinstall the card and reboot with the computer off the internet (I am now running the video off of the ASpeed AST2300 chip on the motherboard and, with the latest driver, it makes a very presentable image but certainly not useable for any heavy graphics work.
3. Install the older driver - since Windows update was automatically updating and installing the latest driver, i am going to have to ensure that I change the windows update settings to prevent this.

Again, thanks and hopefully I will have some good news to report in a few hours.

Gary
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,028 (6.13/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
DDU can stop the automatic Windows Updating of graphics drivers. There's a button on the right.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
17 (0.29/day)
System Name Dual Xeon Home Build - based on https://www.techspot.com/review/1155-affordable-dual-xeon-pc/
Processor 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2670
Motherboard Asrock EP2C602
Cooling 2 x Noctua NH-U12DXi4 120mm SSO2 CPU Coolers
Memory 8 x 4GB G.SKill F3-14900CL8Q-16GMZM
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 970
Storage Samsung Evo 850 500GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ GW2765
Case In-Win
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Corsair RMx RM850X 850W ATX12V / EPS12V 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Microsoft
Keyboard Microsoft
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Office 365 Home
Good morning,

The saga continues.

1. I used DDU to clear all drivers other than for the onboard VGA, ASPeed AST2300.
2. I shut down computer, swapped RX580 in for the GTX 750Ti.
3. I unplugged the ethernet cable from the network adapter;
4. I restarted and, after windows came up, I installed AMD driver version 19.9.2;
5. Part way through the install, the screen went blank, the fans on the RX580 started spinning and … that's all she wrote;
6. Rebooted again to see if that would help. It didn't. I had to switch to the ASPeed AT2300 output to get any video on my screen.
7. Thinking that the onboard video might be in conflict, I rebooted and disabled the onboard video in the BIOS;
8. I rebooted one more time and still, black screen, no video.
9. I took out the RX580, rebooted into safe mode using the onboard VGA for video and cleaned out the AMD driver with DDU;
10. I reinstalled the GTX 750Ti, booted up, installed the latest drivers and then … I shut down the computer.
11. I removed the GTX750I, and I installed an NVidia GTX970 that I had purchased at the same time and RX580 but intended for another computer.
12. On reboot, the onboard VGA worked but, in device manager, the GTX970 didn't even show.
13. I rebooted into safe mode, removed the NVidia driver with DDU and rebooted;
14. This time the GTX 970 card output some video and device manager showed the Microsoft Basic Driver;
15. Installed the latest NVidia driver, rebooted and all is well with the GTX 970.

I have no clue why the NVidia card works but just can't get the AMD to work. If anyone has any other thoughts, again, I would be most grateful.

Signing off for the night. thanks to all.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
7,964 (3.89/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor AMD 3200G
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Stock
Memory Adata 8Gb 2133Mhz DDR4
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
GTX 970 has a legacy and UEFI compatible Bios.
I am certain new cards are UEFI only.
Hopefully someone can prove this wrong and get the card to work for you.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
9,412 (3.74/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
but, after installing the latest driver through Windows Update
This suggests that your network connection is active during installation. Turn off(disconnect) all network connections when installing Windows as a default rule. Windows should not be allowed to access any network until after installation is complete, all drivers are installed and all security options have been properly setup. You should never allow Windows update to handle driver updates. Driver updates should be done manually with software provided by the hardware vendor at their website, which means you need to download them to USB storage before installation.

Here's my suggestion. Do a fresh install to a blank drive following the below procedure.

1. Download all the drivers you need and place them on a USB drive.
2. Disconnect/disable ALL network devices on the PC in question.
3. Install Windows skipping past all prompts that ask for network connectivity.
4. Once installation is complete install all systems drivers(chipset, video, etc)
5. Configure Windows Firewall or any other security software you use.
6. Connect/enable your network device and install drivers as needed(if they're not automatically install by Windows).
7. Allow Windows update to apply updates to Windows itself. Do not allow it to update drivers(Windows should ask).
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,028 (6.13/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
I think there's something seriously wrong with that RX 580. Drivers shouldn't stop the card from working. Have you tried a different monitor? If possible, connect two monitors to the card simultaneously to see if the issue impacts both.

GTX 970 has a legacy and UEFI compatible Bios.
I am certain new cards are UEFI only.
Hopefully someone can prove this wrong and get the card to work for you.
That's not a driver thing though. That's a no video at POST thing. There's something going on between monitor, video card, and driver.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2020
Messages
17 (0.29/day)
System Name Dual Xeon Home Build - based on https://www.techspot.com/review/1155-affordable-dual-xeon-pc/
Processor 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2670
Motherboard Asrock EP2C602
Cooling 2 x Noctua NH-U12DXi4 120mm SSO2 CPU Coolers
Memory 8 x 4GB G.SKill F3-14900CL8Q-16GMZM
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 970
Storage Samsung Evo 850 500GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ GW2765
Case In-Win
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Corsair RMx RM850X 850W ATX12V / EPS12V 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Microsoft
Keyboard Microsoft
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Office 365 Home
If the GPU's BIOS is UEFI only then it might not run on a legacy Motherboard.
Thanks for this suggestion. I missed it when you first posted.

The motherboard's Bios actually can switch between legacy Bios and UEFI - at least that what it appears to do. My original OS was on an SSD set up as an MBR disk and the new one was set up as GPT and I had to make some changes in the Bios to allow the GPT disk to be used to install Windows 10.

Thanks again.

Repair your Windows installation.

Use HDMI cable if possible for the time being.

Open cmd.exe with admin permissions and type there:
set devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices=1
devmgmt.msc

Remove all display adapters, monitors, make sure to check box for delete driver software.

Run DDU from safe mode on both AMD and Nvidia.

Now install drivers from AMD's website.
My apologies for the late response. I was unable to repair Windows on the original SSD. As previously advised, I couldn't even boot into safe mode or even on a boot disk. As well, when I hooked up the original drive to my laptop and used MiniTool Partition Wizard, I noted all partitions were formatted as NTFS and, unlike other drives with the OS on them, there was no "boot" partition. On the attached screenshot, disks 2 and 3 were on the original build and Disk 1 is on the laptop. As I understand it, Disk 3 should have a FAT32 partition such as the first partition on Disk 1. The 16MB MSR second partition, as I understand it, is only created by the Windows 10 install process on a GPT disk.

I provide this information in case it helps someone recognize something that they have seen before.

I truly appreciate all that have taken the time to assist me in this vexing problem.
 

Attachments

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
1,839 (0.35/day)
My apologies for the late response. I was unable to repair Windows on the original SSD. As previously advised, I couldn't even boot into safe mode or even on a boot disk. As well, when I hooked up the original drive to my laptop and used MiniTool Partition Wizard, I noted all partitions were formatted as NTFS and, unlike other drives with the OS on them, there was no "boot" partition. On the attached screenshot, disks 2 and 3 were on the original build and Disk 1 is on the laptop. As I understand it, Disk 3 should have a FAT32 partition such as the first partition on Disk 1. The 16MB MSR second partition, as I understand it, is only created by the Windows 10 install process on a GPT disk.
Having a boot partition is optional.

Plug the SSD back and create Windows 10 installation media from this link.

Boot with it, and you'll have "repair your computer" option:

Win10_setup.jpg

You can try startup repair, 'refresh', and repair install. See this link for more details.
 
Top