• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Ryzen 5950x Temp related questions

Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
526 (0.12/day)
Location
Florida
System Name AMD RyZen PC
Processor AMD RyZen 5950x
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero 570x WIFI
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory 64GB G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200 MHz 14C x4
Video Card(s) AMD Radion VEGA 64
Storage Seagate 3TB + 4TB + 2TB external + 512 Samsung 980
Display(s) LG 4K 144Hz 27GN950-B
Case Thermaltake CA-1F8-00M1WN-02 Core X71 Tempered Glass Edition Black
Audio Device(s) XI-FI 8.1
Power Supply EVGA 700W
Mouse Microsoft
Keyboard Microsoft
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
I recently purchased 5950x and I am a bit concerned about the temps I see and want to know if this is normal. I am not sure about the temps as I upgraded from 3700 which use to show 55 as Max temp at stress test.

CPUZ screenshot

CPUZ 1.JPG


Idel temp

TEMP IDLE.JPG



Stress test running Prim95 which is 57c and wont go beyond no matter how many hours I run it.

TEMP1 Prime.JPG


Running CPUZ stress test

CPUZ stress test temps.JPG


Problem is that when I run CPUZ stress test. it goes to 75C :O

I have a 360MM radiator and Hydro X series Pump and Commander pro with CPU block. I am very much worried looking at the temp. I am also running CPU voltage offset - 0.123500 to ensure Asus hero VIII WIFI is not pushing too much V to the CPU...

I would like to know if the temps are normal or I should RMA for this temp. I googled it and getting different opinions and I am not convinced.

If I set the CPU voltage offset - 0.08250 then when I do, Stress test or Prime, all core goes to 4.7 too 4.73gz and temp goes up by 1 to 2c up to 77c
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
1,820 (0.81/day)
System Name Suffering from random access memory loss.
Processor Intel Core i7 980X @ 4.42 GHz (when becnching op to 4.77 GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D Premium
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 CPU cooler with 3 x noctua nf-f12 industrialppc-3000 pwm 120 MM fans
Memory 12 GB DDR3 CORSAIR 1600 MHz TIMMINGS 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 GAMING
Storage 2 x Samsung 950 PRO 256 GB M.2 NVME SSD, Crucial MX300 2 TB SSD, WD RED 4 TB + WD AV-GP 2 TB HDD.
Display(s) 24" SAMSUNG
Case ANTEC TWELVE HUNDRED
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD realtek sound card.
Power Supply THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER 1500 WATT
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Keyboard LOGITECH G19s
Software WINDOWS 10 PRO 64 BITS
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13514527 https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2333033
If it goes to 4.7 ghz all core. Something tells me that motherboard might have some sort of core enhancements active or pbo is on. Cause 75 c is high but not worrying high. Max temp for zen 3 is 90 degrees Celsius. After that it thermal throttles. Infact if it is overclock and runs 4.7 ghz with overclock fully stable. 75 degrees Celsius is actually pretty good for 16 cores at that clock speed.

Cause at stock this usually runs around the 3.8 to 4 ghz when all cores are fully utilized. So tjeck ryzen master and bios for overclock, PBO and other enhancements features active. Cause 4.7 ghz all core when fully loaded is not normal behavior as far I know.

But overall I will not be corcerned about temp before it goes beyond 80 c. Then I will say it's time to stop an overclock or take a look at the cooling.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2020
Messages
36 (0.34/day)
Location
USA
Processor i9-10900x
Motherboard Evga x299 FTW-K
Cooling EK-AIO 240 D-RGB
Memory LPX 4x8 2666
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super Founders
Storage 1TB WD Blue M.2
Display(s) Alienware 34 aw3418dw, ROG Swift pg27q
Case Lian Li o11 dynamic
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum 750w
Mouse Model O
Keyboard Frozen Llama Ducky One 2 Mini
This seems normal my last Gen Ryzen 9 has similar temps on an EK AIO with all core at 4.3. As long as all your fans are spinning, you have them in a configuration that makes sense, and the pump is working you are good!
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2015
Messages
391 (0.19/day)
System Name Harm's Rig's
Processor 5950X /2700x / AMD 8370e 4500
Motherboard ASUS DARK HERO / ASUS X470 PRIME PRO
Cooling Enermax LIQMAX III ARGB 360 AIO/ Zalman cooler fan 110mm
Memory TRIDENT Z F-43600V15D-16GTZ /G.SKILL DDR4 3800CL14 FASTEST PRESET 32GB /EVGA 16Gb 2400 DDR3
Video Card(s) 1080 Ti / 290x/290a cfx
Storage 2X Sabrent Rocket NVMe 512GB / 1 SSD 250GB / 1 HHD 3 TB
Display(s) 40"TV / 24" Asus
Case TT 37 VIEW 200MM'S/ NZXT Tempest custom
Audio Device(s) Sharp Aquos
Power Supply EVGA 1300G2/Corsair w750
Mouse G502
Keyboard G413
I recently purchased 5950x and I am a bit concerned about the temps I see and want to know if this is normal. I am not sure about the temps as I upgraded from 3700 which use to show 55 as Max temp at stress test.

CPUZ screenshot

View attachment 184959

Idel temp

View attachment 184961


Stress test running Prim95 which is 57c and wont go beyond no matter how many hours I run it.

View attachment 184960

Running CPUZ stress test

View attachment 184962

Problem is that when I run CPUZ stress test. it goes to 75C :O

I have a 360MM radiator and Hydro X series Pump and Commander pro with CPU block. I am very much worried looking at the temp. I am also running CPU voltage offset - 0.123500 to ensure Asus hero VIII WIFI is not pushing too much V to the CPU...

I would like to know if the temps are normal or I should RMA for this temp. I googled it and getting different opinions and I am not convinced.

If I set the CPU voltage offset - 0.08250 then when I do, Stress test or Prime, all core goes to 4.7 too 4.73gz and temp goes up by 1 to 2c up to 77c
Use https://www.hwinfo.com/download/
 

Attachments

  • Capturestwasf.PNG
    Capturestwasf.PNG
    85.5 KB · Views: 110
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
526 (0.12/day)
Location
Florida
System Name AMD RyZen PC
Processor AMD RyZen 5950x
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero 570x WIFI
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory 64GB G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200 MHz 14C x4
Video Card(s) AMD Radion VEGA 64
Storage Seagate 3TB + 4TB + 2TB external + 512 Samsung 980
Display(s) LG 4K 144Hz 27GN950-B
Case Thermaltake CA-1F8-00M1WN-02 Core X71 Tempered Glass Edition Black
Audio Device(s) XI-FI 8.1
Power Supply EVGA 700W
Mouse Microsoft
Keyboard Microsoft
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
If it goes to 4.7 ghz all core. Something tells me that motherboard might have some sort of core enhancements active or pbo is on. Cause 75 c is high but not worrying high. Max temp for zen 3 is 90 degrees Celsius. After that it thermal throttles. Infact if it is overclock and runs 4.7 ghz with overclock fully stable. 75 degrees Celsius is actually pretty good for 16 cores at that clock speed.

Cause at stock this usually runs around the 3.8 to 4 ghz when all cores are fully utilized. So tjeck ryzen master and bios for overclock, PBO and other enhancements features active. Cause 4.7 ghz all core when fully loaded is not normal behavior as far I know.

But overall I will not be corcerned about temp before it goes beyond 80 c. Then I will say it's time to stop an overclock or take a look at the cooling.

I think only CPU current is set to 1 and nothing other then CPU voltage I have messed with. So its normal to see Prime95 max out at 57 and CPUZ stress test 75 ?

This seems normal my last Gen Ryzen 9 has similar temps on an EK AIO with all core at 4.3. As long as all your fans are spinning, you have them in a configuration that makes sense, and the pump is working you are good!

That is good news then. I have not set any clock. I do notice clock speed is better when less power is supplied. I had to do that by using offset as my default, CPU shows 1.44 or 1.47 which is scary


not much use to me if that was suppose to help as I do not see any other info other than just temp. what is the ambient temp and what CPU is that ? What's the cooling on it ?
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
1,820 (0.81/day)
System Name Suffering from random access memory loss.
Processor Intel Core i7 980X @ 4.42 GHz (when becnching op to 4.77 GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D Premium
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 CPU cooler with 3 x noctua nf-f12 industrialppc-3000 pwm 120 MM fans
Memory 12 GB DDR3 CORSAIR 1600 MHz TIMMINGS 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 GAMING
Storage 2 x Samsung 950 PRO 256 GB M.2 NVME SSD, Crucial MX300 2 TB SSD, WD RED 4 TB + WD AV-GP 2 TB HDD.
Display(s) 24" SAMSUNG
Case ANTEC TWELVE HUNDRED
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD realtek sound card.
Power Supply THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER 1500 WATT
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Keyboard LOGITECH G19s
Software WINDOWS 10 PRO 64 BITS
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13514527 https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2333033
I think only CPU current is set to 1 and nothing other then CPU voltage I have messed with. So its normal to see Prime95 max out at 57 and CPUZ stress test 75 ?



That is good news then. I have not set any clock. I do notice clock speed is better when less power is supplied. I had to do that by using offset as my default, CPU shows 1.44 or 1.47 which is scary



not much use to me if that was suppose to help as I do not see any other info other than just temp. what is the ambient temp and what CPU is that ? What's the cooling on it ?
It's difficult to say what temp are normal. It is also dependent on what work load you put on the cpu. There are a significant difference between a light load and a AVX load.

I would try run cinebench R20 version in a loop and se where temp it max out at. That is an avx load. If the cpu still max out around the 75 degrees Celsius and also monitor all core clock speed. With cinebench R20. The CPU shut top out at around the 4 ghz mark for all cores if the cpu runs completely stock. Maybe a little higher if you have made a voltage offset.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
526 (0.12/day)
Location
Florida
System Name AMD RyZen PC
Processor AMD RyZen 5950x
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero 570x WIFI
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory 64GB G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200 MHz 14C x4
Video Card(s) AMD Radion VEGA 64
Storage Seagate 3TB + 4TB + 2TB external + 512 Samsung 980
Display(s) LG 4K 144Hz 27GN950-B
Case Thermaltake CA-1F8-00M1WN-02 Core X71 Tempered Glass Edition Black
Audio Device(s) XI-FI 8.1
Power Supply EVGA 700W
Mouse Microsoft
Keyboard Microsoft
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
It's difficult to say what temp are normal. It is also dependent on what work load you put on the cpu. There are a significant difference between a light load and a AVX load.

I would try run cinebench R20 version in a loop and se where temp it max out at. That is an avx load. If the cpu still max out around the 75 degrees Celsius and also monitor all core clock speed. With cinebench R20. The CPU shut top out at around the 4 ghz mark for all cores if the cpu runs completely stock. Maybe a little higher if you have made a voltage offset.

OK, tested it and I set 30min loop and Its worst. It went past 75 and was settling at 78 - 79 :eek:
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
1,820 (0.81/day)
System Name Suffering from random access memory loss.
Processor Intel Core i7 980X @ 4.42 GHz (when becnching op to 4.77 GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D Premium
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 CPU cooler with 3 x noctua nf-f12 industrialppc-3000 pwm 120 MM fans
Memory 12 GB DDR3 CORSAIR 1600 MHz TIMMINGS 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 GAMING
Storage 2 x Samsung 950 PRO 256 GB M.2 NVME SSD, Crucial MX300 2 TB SSD, WD RED 4 TB + WD AV-GP 2 TB HDD.
Display(s) 24" SAMSUNG
Case ANTEC TWELVE HUNDRED
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD realtek sound card.
Power Supply THERMALTAKE TOUGHPOWER 1500 WATT
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Keyboard LOGITECH G19s
Software WINDOWS 10 PRO 64 BITS
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13514527 https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2333033
OK, tested it and I set 30min loop and Its worst. It went past 75 and was settling at 78 - 79 :eek:
Well that´s and AVX load for you. What whas the all core coreclock?
Knowing coreclock would help a lot to know.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
554 (0.19/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R9 5950x/Skylake 6400
Processor R9 5950x/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Master X570/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360/Stock
Memory 4xGB Patriot PVS416G4440 CL14/G.S Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) 6900XT/R7
Storage WD SN850 2TB, Aorus 2TB Corsair MP600 / 960 Evo 1TB
Display(s) 3x LG 27gl850
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 1000watt modular Gold/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
526 (0.12/day)
Location
Florida
System Name AMD RyZen PC
Processor AMD RyZen 5950x
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero 570x WIFI
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory 64GB G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200 MHz 14C x4
Video Card(s) AMD Radion VEGA 64
Storage Seagate 3TB + 4TB + 2TB external + 512 Samsung 980
Display(s) LG 4K 144Hz 27GN950-B
Case Thermaltake CA-1F8-00M1WN-02 Core X71 Tempered Glass Edition Black
Audio Device(s) XI-FI 8.1
Power Supply EVGA 700W
Mouse Microsoft
Keyboard Microsoft
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Well that´s and AVX load for you. What whas the all core coreclock?
Knowing coreclock would help a lot to know.

All core dropped a bit by 52mhz after I tweaked a bit as per Jesdals link.. But its using less power at 4.548GHz and wont go past 70 :).. dont worry about the max you see on core temp. it always jumps to that and then drops and settles at 70

34535.JPG





I tried to mess with PBO as per your post and I enabled some settings and now it wont go past 70c at 1.184v stable at 4.548 which is only 60 or so slower than the other settings I had :D
Thanks man.


That single thread score you posted is nice. But at what cost ? what's the setting on it ? I only have a 3200 14C ram. will that affect the score ? I am running 64GB total.

Setting changes I made..

IMG_4202.jpg


Here is how it looks now. A
54645.JPG


I also removed the Offset for CPU voltage in (-) and set it to Auto.
 

Attachments

  • 34535.JPG
    34535.JPG
    132.4 KB · Views: 28
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
93 (0.02/day)
System Name 5870 Xtreme Xfire System SpeC
Processor Intel I7 920 @ 4.2 HT
Motherboard Biostar Tpower X58
Cooling Thermal Right Extreme 120 - Push Pull Config
Memory 3x2 Ocz Blades 7.7.7.21
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 5870 Xfire @1000/1300 | PhysX 8800GTS
Storage 1TB Samsung F3 32 + 1TB Samsung F1 32 + 3x Misc HDD`s
Display(s) 24" Nec Multisync 24WMGX3 LCD
Case Coolmaster Staker Monster Case Custom
Audio Device(s) XFI Azuntech Prelude 7.1 HD
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 910w Monster Single Rail 75a Killer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Edition x64
Benchmark Scores Vantage, 31k With PhysX
i see a lot of people using low vcore when running all core clocks, just make sure that your getting the performance for that desired clock.. at that desired voltage cause
with ryzen at low voltage it may run perfectly good and not crash but you will end up with clock stretching issues where by the performance wont scale with the speed your running.....

for instance all core 4.6ghz might be stable @ say 1.118v but run that same clock at say 1.23-1.3v will net you even more performance at the same clocks. due to not giving the cpu enough juice to run at desired speed ..
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,094 (3.83/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz @3600MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019, OS drive) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2015) 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G35 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
I think only CPU current is set to 1 and nothing other then CPU voltage I have messed with. So its normal to see Prime95 max out at 57 and CPUZ stress test 75 ?



That is good news then. I have not set any clock. I do notice clock speed is better when less power is supplied. I had to do that by using offset as my default, CPU shows 1.44 or 1.47 which is scary



not much use to me if that was suppose to help as I do not see any other info other than just temp. what is the ambient temp and what CPU is that ? What's the cooling on it ?
HWmonitor is obsolete by now and lacking a tone of info for modern systems.
Please spend some time and try HWiNFO sensors mode. You may not know what to look but others can and will probably help you.
Have it in this form:

1611392711334.png
Maximize window and add more with blue arrows down left. Adjust colums by grabing the lines in headlines (top bar).

The more sensor are visible the better, but make sure all 4 values (curr, min, max, avg) are visible too. SDD/HDD, GPU, and Network info are not relevant for what you trying to find.
Also if the Corsair commander is shown in this window it would be nice to include in screenshot like my H110i is shown above. If its not shown right click the system tray HWiNFO icon, select settings, safety tab and make sure CorsairLink and Asetek support is enabled. When you do this do not run HWmonitor with HWiNFO+iCUE. They dont like each other!!

You can screenshot 1 during P95, 1 during CB R20 and what ever other load you like.

A little info about your water cooler would be nice also. For example how you control your Rad fans? With CPU temp or water temp?
I'm controling mine with water temp.

1611395935775.png

Also, do not panic with 75C CPU temp. Its max operating temp is 95C. I'm not saying dont try to do better, just that your CPU won't be damaged by 75C. The default power draw of 5950X is 50+% more from a 3700X. 142W vs 88W respectively, so dont expect the 5950X to run the same temps as 3700X did when you full load it.

I think only CPU current is set to 1 and nothing other then CPU voltage I have messed with. So its normal to see Prime95 max out at 57 and CPUZ stress test 75 ?
Setting EDC to 1 was a trick used for ZEN2 to be pushed more. Shouldnt be used with ZEN3. It has curve optimizer for this.
 
Last edited:
Top