• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Ryzen Infinity Fabric Ticks at Memory Speed

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,496 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,519
Location
Hyderabad, India
#1
Memory clock speeds will go a long way in improving the performance of an AMD Ryzen processor, according to new information by the company, which reveals that Infinity Fabric, the high-bandwidth interconnect used to connect the two quad-core complexes (CCXs) on 6-core and 8-core Ryzen processors with other uncore components, such as the PCIe root-complex, and the integrated southbridge; is synced with the memory clock. AMD made this revelation in a response to a question posed by Reddit user CataclysmZA.

Infinity Fabric, a successor to HyperTransport, is AMD's latest interconnect technology that connects the various components on the Ryzen "Summit Ridge" processor, and on the upcoming "Vega" GPU family. According to AMD, it is a 256-bit wide bi-directional crossbar. Think of it as town-square for the chip, where tagged data and instructions change hands between the various components. Within the CCX, the L3 cache performs some inter-core connectivity. The speed of the Infinity Fabric crossbar on a "Summit Ridge" Ryzen processor is determined by the memory clock. When paired with DDR4-2133 memory, for example, the crossbar ticks at 1066 MHz (SDR, actual clock). Using faster memory, according to AMD, hence has a direct impact on the bandwidth of this interconnect.



Source: CataclysmZA on Reddit
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,758 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,163
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
So in other news it is memory bandwidth intensive. Can it utilize the bandwidth properly and show considerable gains in memory performance unlike Piledriver?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
626 (1.04/day)
Likes
103
System Name Bro
Processor Intel I7 3770K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASrock Extreme 4 Z77
Cooling BOX
Memory Kingston 16 GB Hyper Beast XMP @ 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 780Ti Windforce 1150/7000
Storage 2x SSD OCZ vertex 3 120GB / Sasmsung Black 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Cooler Master Silverlight
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Win 7 ultimate 64bit/windows 10 64 bit
#3
Hmm. one thought then. So those low latencies were actually architectural not like some people said windows scheduler problem? Wonder if they will release refurbished Ryzen now or how that is going to work.. also it would be great if the "crossbar" connection You mentioned tick not with half the speed of the memory but full speed. That would kick things up a notch I'd say.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,758 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,163
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#4
Hmm. one thought then. So those low latencies were actually architectural not like some people said windows scheduler problem?
Wonder if they will release refurbished Ryzen now or how that is going to work.. also it would be great if the "crossbar" connection You mentioned tick not with half the speed of the memory but full speed. That would kick things up a notch I'd say.


There is a Reason the Ryzen Logo is an Incomplete circle, it means the arch is open to improvements big and small.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2011
Messages
177 (0.08/day)
Likes
69
Location
South-Africa
Processor i5 4670k @ 4.2 Ghz
Motherboard MSi Z87 GD65 Gaming Motherboard
Cooling Zalman CNPS11 Extreme
Memory 16GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance @ 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1070 FTW 8GB
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA950D
Case Corsair 750D Airflow Edition
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Platinum
Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma (2015)
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate (2012)
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#5
This is the only thing I don't like what I read about the Ryzen CPU's.

Is there room for improvement? Yep. Will it cost you a new motherboard and CPU in the near future? Yep.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
5,294 (4.46/day)
Likes
3,227
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 4 ATX
Cooling Antec C400
Memory G. Skill 8Gb (2x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) iGPU
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Case Antec Sonata (don't laugh)
Audio Device(s) No need.
Software W7 Home Premium 64 bit
#6
Why couldn't they make it 512 bit instead to increase the bandwidth?
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
316 (0.40/day)
Likes
329
Location
Croatia
System Name Hallowed Be Thy Name
Processor FX-6300 @4,0 GHz/ i3-2100 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard ASUS M5A97 EVO R2.0/ Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40-TB /w Akasa Viper/ Stock
Memory 2x4 GB G.Skill Ares @1600 MHz/ 2x4 GB Kingmax/Adata @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX1050Ti 4GB/ Palit GTX750Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage Seagate 500 GB 7200 rpm/ WD Blue 160 GB 7200 rpm
Display(s) LG 23MP68VQ-P/ ASUS VW190DE
Case Zalman Z3 Plus /w 5x Scythe Glidestream 1400 rpm/ Deepcool Smarter
Audio Device(s) Onboard x2
Power Supply OCZ ZS 550W / FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Sharkoon Shark Force / Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard Lenovo SK-8825 / Keytronic KT800P2
Software W7 Ultimate 64-bit/ W7 Pro 64-bit
#7
This is the only thing I don't like what I read about the Ryzen CPU's.

Is there room for improvement? Yep. Will it cost you a new motherboard and CPU in the near future? Yep.
New CPU sure, but I don't think you'll need a new board, seeing how AMD is staying on this platform for about 4 years, and Zen 2 is supposedly coming out sooner than that.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
626 (1.04/day)
Likes
103
System Name Bro
Processor Intel I7 3770K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASrock Extreme 4 Z77
Cooling BOX
Memory Kingston 16 GB Hyper Beast XMP @ 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 780Ti Windforce 1150/7000
Storage 2x SSD OCZ vertex 3 120GB / Sasmsung Black 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Cooler Master Silverlight
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Win 7 ultimate 64bit/windows 10 64 bit
#8
Why couldn't they make it 512 bit instead to increase the bandwidth?
That's the point. Maybe they couldn't do it. But since they see were it is now maybe they want this somewhere else. :) Meaning they will increase the bandwidth :)
 

Taloken

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2015
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#10
Hmm. one thought then. So those low latencies were actually architectural not like some people said windows scheduler problem? Wonder if they will release refurbished Ryzen now or how that is going to work.. also it would be great if the "crossbar" connection You mentioned tick not with half the speed of the memory but full speed. That would kick things up a notch I'd say.
It actually tick with the full speed. The real frequency of a DDR module is always half its DDR-rating (eg DDR4-3200 -> 1600 MHz).
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
626 (1.04/day)
Likes
103
System Name Bro
Processor Intel I7 3770K @4Ghz
Motherboard ASrock Extreme 4 Z77
Cooling BOX
Memory Kingston 16 GB Hyper Beast XMP @ 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 780Ti Windforce 1150/7000
Storage 2x SSD OCZ vertex 3 120GB / Sasmsung Black 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Cooler Master Silverlight
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Win 7 ultimate 64bit/windows 10 64 bit
#11
It actually tick with the full speed. The real frequency of a DDR module is always half its DDR-rating (eg DDR4-3200 -> 1600 MHz).
Yeah right. Forgot it is dual channel DDR.
Thanks for clarification. Well then in this case the only thing is to get the memory with higher frequency although I'm wondering now if it is worth additional money? Will this better performing memory really make noticeable difference. From a consumer stand point this difference should be noticeable if you wanna go with good 3200Mhz mem. Otherwise it's pointless.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2015
Messages
295 (0.34/day)
Likes
161
Location
In the middle of nowhere
System Name Scrapped Parts, Unite !
Processor i5-2500 @ 3.3 Ghz//Q9300 @ 2.5 Ghz
Motherboard GA-H67MA-USB3-B3// P35 Neo2-FR
Cooling Stock
Memory 10 GB DDR3 1333 // 3 GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 Nitro+ 4GB // Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Storage Hitachi 500 GB, Sony 1TB // Samsung 160 GB
Display(s) HP 2009f
Case Xigmatek Asgard Pro // Cooler Master Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ ModXStream Pro 500 W
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Minesweeper 30fps, Tetris 40 fps, with overheated CPU and GPU
#12
AMD need to drop this "CPU block style", interface between between 'group' of CPUs tend to be bottlenecked by bandwidth
look at back, Intel C2Q, Pentium D linked via FSB speed, but ultimately dropped it
AMD need to make real 'individual' cores, with shared L3 cache across 8 cores like Intel do

I dont know, maybe AMD try to save R&D cost by making 'blue print' of 4 cores configuration and simply 'copy-paste' cores to silicon
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2011
Messages
177 (0.08/day)
Likes
69
Location
South-Africa
Processor i5 4670k @ 4.2 Ghz
Motherboard MSi Z87 GD65 Gaming Motherboard
Cooling Zalman CNPS11 Extreme
Memory 16GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance @ 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1070 FTW 8GB
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA950D
Case Corsair 750D Airflow Edition
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Platinum
Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma (2015)
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate (2012)
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#13
New CPU sure, but I don't think you'll need a new board, seeing how AMD is staying on this platform for about 4 years, and Zen 2 is supposedly coming out sooner than that.
Dual Channel seems to be one of the problems, if they brought it out with Triple / Quad, these would have performed way better.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
273 (0.06/day)
Likes
66
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2699 V3 18-core
Motherboard ASUS X99-DELUXE
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 SE2011
Memory 4x 8GB Corsair Ballastix Sport DDR4
Video Card(s) [eVGA] NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Storage Samsung 950 Pro M.2 NVMe 512GB / WD Black 6TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) ASUS V238H 23"
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HDA
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G3
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
#14
Why did they even decide against a Monolithic design? Can't believe we're talking about two separate modules called CCXs (CPU Complex)... just seems like an obsolete design back to the first dual cores that had to reach out to the FSB to communicate between each other. This is unbelievable to me, I know it's better than going out to the FSB, but it imagine how crazy Ryzen could of been with a Monolithic design... it'd be crazy fast I imagine...

Tired of anything related to modules with slow interconnects.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,649 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,899
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#15
Very happy now that I hunted for 3200 GSkill memory for my build. I knew it responded better to frequency but i also knew the compatibility was an issue.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
972 (0.42/day)
Likes
563
Location
Porto
System Name No name / Purple Haze
Processor Phenom II 1100T @ 3.8Ghz / Pentium 4 3.4 EE Gallatin @ 3.825Ghz
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming/ Abit IC7-MAX3
Cooling CM Hyper 212X / Scythe Andy Samurai Master (CPU) - Modded Ati Silencer 5 rev. 2 (GPU)
Memory 8GB GEIL GB38GB2133C10ADC + 8GB G.Skill F3-14900CL9-4GBXL / 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC4000
Video Card(s) Asus R9 Fury X Strix (4096 SP's/1050 Mhz)/ PowerColor X850XT PE @ (600/1230) AGP + (HD3850 AGP)
Storage Samsung 250 GB / WD Caviar 160GB
Display(s) Benq XL2411T
Audio Device(s) motherboard / Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro + Front panel
Power Supply Tagan BZ 900W / Corsair HX620w
Mouse Zowie AM
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 7 Pro 64Bit / Windows XP
Benchmark Scores 64CU Fury: http://www.3dmark.com/fs/11269229 / X850XT PE http://www.3dmark.com/3dm05/5532432
#16
Zen's uarch makes sense from a server perspective, also Naples (32C/64T server zen) runs on eight channel memory. At least there will be a reason to buy high end ultra fast ram now! (let's wait for motherboard support...)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,538 (0.46/day)
Likes
380
System Name Lailalo / Edelweiss
Processor FX 8320 @ 4.5Ghz / i7 3610QM @2.3-3.2Ghz
Motherboard ASrock 990FX Extreme 4 / Lenovo Y580
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus / Big hunk of copper
Memory 16GB Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600+ / 8GB Hyundai DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 / GTX 660M 2GB
Storage Seagate 3TB/1TB + OCZ Synapse 64GB SSD Cache / Western Digital 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) LG Ultrawide 29in @ 2560x1080 / Lenovo 15.6 @ 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper / Lenovo Y580
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Whatever Lenovo used
Power Supply Antec Truepower Blue 750W + Thermaltake 5.25in 250W / Big Power Brick
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 Home
#17
Why did they even decide against a Monolithic design? Can't believe we're talking about two separate modules called CCXs (CPU Complex)... just seems like an obsolete design back to the first dual cores that had to reach out to the FSB to communicate between each other. This is unbelievable to me, I know it's better than going out to the FSB, but it imagine how crazy Ryzen could of been with a Monolithic design... it'd be crazy fast I imagine...

Tired of anything related to modules with slow interconnects.
Could be limitations in what is and isn't patented. As well as other limitations we don't know about and AMD's engineers might.

Look back at the old G4 chips in classic Macs. In the generation where there was a switch from the 7410 to the 7450, the 10s held a performance advantage due to shorter data paths. The 50s didn't get anywhere till the 55s when they brought in L3 and found ways to negate the longer paths. But Motorola couldn't just go back to the 7410s at the time. They'd only clock up to 600-650Mhz. The pathways being so short causes problems with running faster than that. Apple was in the big push to 1Ghz back then so, they opted to go with the less optimal 50s in order to get the Mhz.

Limitations in a design, forced the engineers to adopt a less optimal design. People really didn't know about it till the more hardcore Mac clockers got into the designs and really analyzed it. Which took longer back then than these days.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
177 (0.28/day)
Likes
156
#18
i do guess than intel platform have highter support of ram than ryzen , but its not , ryzen have highter native support for run 2667mhz without OC .

AMD X370

Support for DDR4 3600(O.C.) / 3400(O.C.) / 3200(O.C.) / 2933(O.C.) / 2667* / 2400 / 2133 MHz memory modules

GA-Z270-Gaming K3

Support for DDR4 3866(O.C.) / 3800(O.C.) / 3733(O.C.) / 3666(O.C.) / 3600(O.C.) / 3466(O.C.) / 3400(O.C.) / 3333(O.C.) / 3300(O.C.) /3200(O.C.) / 3000(O.C.) / 2800(O.C.) / 2666(O.C.) / 2400 / 2133 MHz memory modules

link. http://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA-Z270-Gaming-K3-rev-10#sp


link. http://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA-AX370-Gaming-K7-rev-10#sp
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2015
Messages
1,162 (1.25/day)
Likes
334
System Name My all round PC
Processor i5 750
Motherboard ASUS P7P55D-E
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire 380 OC... sold, waiting for 480 with custom cooler
Storage 256GB Samsung SSD + 2Tb + 1.5Tb
Display(s) Samsung 40" A650 TV
Case Thermaltake Chaser mk-I Tower
Power Supply 425w Enermax MODU 82+
Software Windows 10
#19
So in other news it is memory bandwidth intensive.
Huh?
This is a core cluster to core cluster thing, normalmemory isn't even involved.

Runs at memory frequency is quite a revelation, actually, what you state doesn't cover it like, at all.


AMD need to make real 'individual' cores, with shared L3 cache across 8 cores like Intel do
They might do that, once people will actually start buying their products and they have more money to spend on R&D.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
565 (1.50/day)
Likes
242
System Name Cave Dweller
Processor Intel i7-6900K (4500MHz @1,395 vcore, 3600MHz cache @1,255 vring)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA X99 Designare EX
Cooling Corsair H115i (both fans replaced with Noctuas NF-A14 PPC-3000)
Memory 4x8gigs G.Skill F4-3400C16Q-32GTZSW (3400MHz, 16-18-18-38, T1 @1,43 volts)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 Waterforce 8GB (fan replaced with Noctua NF-F12 PPC-3000)
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Display(s) LG 24GM77-B
Case modified Fractal Arc XL black
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 80 Titanium 1000
Mouse Corsair M95
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64bit (build 1607) ((and staying there))
#20
@nem.. dude how many more threads are you going to post that in? We got it :)
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Messages
42 (0.04/day)
Likes
14
Processor 3570K/H²O H100i
Motherboard AsRock Z77 extreme4-M µATX
Cooling H100i + Custom GPU Loop
Memory 4x4GB DDR2133
Video Card(s) Vega64/H²O Custom
Storage 850PRO 256/840EVO 256/2x750GB r0
Case FD Arc Mini R2
Power Supply Corsair 850W
#21
edit3 : talking out my arse.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
245 (0.39/day)
Likes
79
System Name Bo-minator (my name is bo)
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO Z87
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory G-SkiLL 4x4GB RAM 2133 Mhz (CL 9)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 1070 8GB RAM
Storage Samsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411T 144hz, DELL UltraSharp 2713HM
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Antec HCP 1000W
Mouse G500/Razer Chroma
Keyboard CM STORM Quick Fire Rapid
Software Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Benchmark Scores I dont do pen**-marks :D
#22
Hmm. one thought then. So those low latencies were actually architectural not like some people said windows scheduler problem? Wonder if they will release refurbished Ryzen now or how that is going to work.. also it would be great if the "crossbar" connection You mentioned tick not with half the speed of the memory but full speed. That would kick things up a notch I'd say.

The latency is due to architechtural differences but can be solved in making the scheduler handle task differently. Basically Ryzen have core-complexes and the latency is due to handing task from on complex to another. Ryzen is 4(8)+(4(8) or 3+3 or 2+2. This is not necessary a problem if the scheduler KNOWS to minimize taskhandling across. So if scheduler identifies a Ryzen CPU i could handle all gaming on one complex (and everything other on the other complex and the issues that have caused problems in performance can somewhat be corrected) (Ryzen still have a clock disadvantage), but in everything above 1080p this should be miniscule.)

Feel free to correct me if im wrong but do it in an nice way :)
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
245 (0.39/day)
Likes
79
System Name Bo-minator (my name is bo)
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO Z87
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory G-SkiLL 4x4GB RAM 2133 Mhz (CL 9)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 1070 8GB RAM
Storage Samsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411T 144hz, DELL UltraSharp 2713HM
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Antec HCP 1000W
Mouse G500/Razer Chroma
Keyboard CM STORM Quick Fire Rapid
Software Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Benchmark Scores I dont do pen**-marks :D
#23
AMD need to drop this "CPU block style", interface between between 'group' of CPUs tend to be bottlenecked by bandwidth
look at back, Intel C2Q, Pentium D linked via FSB speed, but ultimately dropped it
AMD need to make real 'individual' cores, with shared L3 cache across 8 cores like Intel do

I dont know, maybe AMD try to save R&D cost by making 'blue print' of 4 cores configuration and simply 'copy-paste' cores to silicon
All this is done to make a cheaper CPU (contra 1100 dollars) you get a 399 dollars. If taken into account there is as I understand it REALLY few downsides except inter-complex communication latencies, but unless you have ONE application that needs 16 cores intertwined it should not be a problem. (U want to keep your task on the same core anyway) Im not saying that you cant create an application that cant expose this "bottleneck", but it would not make sense to code an application that way) (If we talk gaming / everyday user applications.)

In fact can anyone name application where this WILL be a problem (granted that the scheduler understand the CCX architecture.) Im not trying to be smart or anything but I cant come up with one where this would actually be a limit (granted that the architecture was taken into account.)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,457 (1.06/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#24
Good video showing how talking across the CCXs through the fabric hurts performance. This also shows that MS Windows 10 scheduler need some tweaking.

 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,697 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,927
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#25
Feel free to correct me if im wrong but do it in an nice way :)
The latency is due to architechtural differences but can be solved in making the scheduler handle task differently.
I'll be making up numbers to illustrate the point here, the core reason is that you only can tweak the scheduler to improve the performance in one use case (gaming) by 0.5% and at the same time degrade performance in the other use cases (productivity) by 20% ... and you can't have both behaviors in the scheduler because games and other software run often at the same time.
Why couldn't they make it 512 bit instead to increase the bandwidth?
It would be great if latency issues could be fixed by increasing the bandwidth, but sadly it ain't so