• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Ryzen Infinity Fabric Ticks at Memory Speed

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
6,783 (4.09/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
The spec charts list full cache for the quads still? I mean they are prerelease, but still.
Think about it: even if the whole L3 cache was left in there, the only way to address it would be over InfinityFabric. Same as reading from RAM.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,104 (3.43/day)
Think about it: even if the whole L3 cache was left in there, the only way to address it would be over InfinityFabric. Same as reading from RAM.
Exactly. If they kill 2 cores on each CCX, 1/2 the L3 would effectively be an L4 cache over the infinity fabric. Which might not be a bad thing. :p



With this picture, you can see that the L3 cache is surrounded by 4 cores. Each core (with SMT) is effectively it's own device with its own L3, and we have 16 blocks of L3 in each CCX.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
103 (0.03/day)
System Name "The scratcher"
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77MA-G45
Cooling watercooled custom loop
Memory kingston hyperx black 2x8GB
Video Card(s) GB GTX1070 G1 gaming
Storage several
Display(s) Dell 2708WFP
Case CM Cosmos RC1000
Power Supply CM UCP 750W
Software Win 10 Pro x64
wow this is incredibly SHITTY, no matter how you spin it, at the tech level it's terribly bad, letme expand:

first you have a non-monolithic-ish CPU design -not quite MCM but you could call it "MCM on die"- that communicates with each other on a 256bit bus as well as the other uncore parts with a crossbar configuration, that by tiself already kills your performance as the inter CCX comm use this slow-ass bus, as pc perspective benchmarks showed it wreaks havoc on cache coherency and L3 access beyond local cache(intel does not have this issue).

And then you compound that by tying the bus to EXTERNAL RAM speed by making the memory controllers the "bus master" essentially, that's beyond bad design, it's appallingly bad

Intel with their Xeon HCC(high core count) does something similar as their ring bus max at 16 cores, so for 22 cores it has 2 ring busses that connect to eachother with bus bridges that have a very small impact of performance and each ring has a dedicated memory controller, in BIOS you can enable "cluster on die" mode which turns the single chip(it's still a monolithic core) into a numa-node for performance reasons(to stop the right ring from acesing the left rin ram space over the bridges), THAT is what you call an elegant and sophisticated design, the ring bus does not depend on the RAM nor core clocks

on one hand, AMD touts ryzen as the expensive intel killer... but they need to most expensive un-buyable memory to actually perform better?, top kek there AMD...

so Intel has not only a very big IPC lead with KBL, but they can maintain that IPC regardless of whatever shitty cheap ram you throw into the system.

Also remember that this is going into naples, and server ECC RDIMM memory tops at 2400, plus massive fabric overhead, as naples will be a MCM(mayeb even interposer to route the massive 256 bit bus) of 4 ryzen dies, each die provides 2 channels of ram so inter-chip ram/cache will be slow as molasses.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
6,783 (4.09/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Exactly. If they kill 2 cores on each CCX, 1/2 the L3 would effectively be an L4 cache over the infinity fabric. Which might not be a bad thing. :p



With this picture, you can see that the L3 cache is surrounded by 4 cores. Each core (with SMT) is effectively it's own device with its own L3, and we have 16 blocks of L3 in each CCX.
Well, that "L4 cache" would be accessible at the same speed as RAM (because of InfinityFabric), so it would be pretty pointless. And that's on top of the thing that no OS or application is L4 cache aware in order to do anything useful with it.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,649 (5.66/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
so Intel has not only a very big IPC lead with KBL, but they can maintain that IPC regardless of whatever shitty cheap ram you throw into the system.
No they don't.

Think about it: even if the whole L3 cache was left in there, the only way to address it would be over InfinityFabric. Same as reading from RAM.
I don't disagree I am just letting you know how it is listed. It could be used as a fallover cash. Fill the L3 and use the crap over infinity fabric, similar to Nvidia's 3.5gb+512mb 970.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
103 (0.03/day)
System Name "The scratcher"
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77MA-G45
Cooling watercooled custom loop
Memory kingston hyperx black 2x8GB
Video Card(s) GB GTX1070 G1 gaming
Storage several
Display(s) Dell 2708WFP
Case CM Cosmos RC1000
Power Supply CM UCP 750W
Software Win 10 Pro x64
No they don't.
yes they do, KBL IPC is far far higher than ryzen, ryzen IPC compares somewhat to broadwell and KBL is 2 gens above and all benchs do sustain that.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,649 (5.66/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores || Into the Blue
Processor 2990WX || 5960X
Motherboard Asrock X399M || Asus X99M WS
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL || TBD
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16 || EVGA 3200 2x8GB
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's || EVGA 1080Ti FE
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB || OCZ Vector 180 480GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz || TBD
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal || Supermicro S5 (GS5A-753K)
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w || Seasonic Snow Silent 750w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller || TBD
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX, Steam controller || Corsair K70
Software W10P || W10P
yes they do, KBL IPC is far far higher than ryzen, ryzen IPC compares somewhat to broadwell and KBL is 2 gens above and all benchs do sustain that.
It's not surprising - but it is a bit shocking to see in this form: Kaby Lake truly does offer zero to the consumer in terms of clock for clock performance. (In fact, a couple of the results show it slower than the Skylake, but these are within the margin of error.) Enthusiasts and analysts have often lamented the "slow" progression of IPC changes on Intel's Core architecture since the introduction of Sandy Bridge, increasing just 3-6% on the product release cadence.
source

There isn't even a 10% difference when one says "far far higher" that is like saying the IPC is "far far higher" between bulldozer and skylake something to the terms of 50%. Single digit differences are not "far far higher"
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,616 (5.19/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Pretty sad about 2x 2-core CCX modules to make up a 4-core :( Just want rid of Infinite Fabric slowness / limitations :(
The only real limitation is when a core on one CCX has to access cache on the other CCX. In that case, the L3 on the other CCX acts more like an L4, it is still faster than accessing system RAM. There is no getting rid of the Infinite Fabric, it is an interconnect between the CPU core and the rest of the system.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
3,402 (0.63/day)
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name RiseEN Gaming PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ stock
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty X370 GAMING X AM4
Cooling Corsair H115i PRO RGB, 280mm Radiator, Dual 140mm ML Series PWM Fans
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ SE
Storage Corsair Force MP500 480GB M.2 (OS) + Force MP510 480GB M.2 (Steam/Games)
Display(s) Asus 27" (MG278Q) 144Hz WQHD 1440p + 1 x Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1080p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 450D Gaming Case
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries 5Hv2 w/ ASUS Xonar DGX PCI-E GX2.5 Audio Engine Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair TX750W Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64-Bit Edition
Benchmark Scores I'm the Doctor.
They need to somehow increase the speed of Infinity Fabric. Hence faster DDR4 ram. I am wondering why AMD didn't make Infinity Fabric's speed based on the CPU frequency. And why they chose the Ram.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
609 (0.12/day)
System Name Beaver's Build
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 3.5 GHz 16-Core
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI) - X570
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB PLATINUM 97 CFM Liquid
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR4-3600 Memory - 16-19-19-39
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti Founders Edition
Storage Inland 1TB NVMe M.2 (Phison E12) / Samsung 950 Pro M.2 NVMe 512G / WD Black 6TB - 256M cache
Display(s) LG - 27UD68-P 27.0" 3840x2160 60 Hz - FreeSync 1 / IPS
Case Fractal Design Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) ROG SupremeFX 8-Channel HDA - ESS® ES9023P
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G3
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark = https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/41362044? Cinebench R15 = 4038 Cinebench R20 = 9210
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
609 (0.12/day)
System Name Beaver's Build
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 3.5 GHz 16-Core
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI) - X570
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB PLATINUM 97 CFM Liquid
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Neo 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR4-3600 Memory - 16-19-19-39
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti Founders Edition
Storage Inland 1TB NVMe M.2 (Phison E12) / Samsung 950 Pro M.2 NVMe 512G / WD Black 6TB - 256M cache
Display(s) LG - 27UD68-P 27.0" 3840x2160 60 Hz - FreeSync 1 / IPS
Case Fractal Design Design Define R6 USB-C
Audio Device(s) ROG SupremeFX 8-Channel HDA - ESS® ES9023P
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G3
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark = https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/41362044? Cinebench R15 = 4038 Cinebench R20 = 9210

__isomorph__

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
wow this is incredibly SHITTY, no matter how you spin it, at the tech level it's terribly bad, letme expand:

first you have a non-monolithic-ish CPU design -not quite MCM but you could call it "MCM on die"- that communicates with each other on a 256bit bus as well as the other uncore parts with a crossbar configuration, that by tiself already kills your performance as the inter CCX comm use this slow-ass bus, as pc perspective benchmarks showed it wreaks havoc on cache coherency and L3 access beyond local cache(intel does not have this issue).

And then you compound that by tying the bus to EXTERNAL RAM speed by making the memory controllers the "bus master" essentially, that's beyond bad design, it's appallingly bad

Intel with their Xeon HCC(high core count) does something similar as their ring bus max at 16 cores, so for 22 cores it has 2 ring busses that connect to eachother with bus bridges that have a very small impact of performance and each ring has a dedicated memory controller, in BIOS you can enable "cluster on die" mode which turns the single chip(it's still a monolithic core) into a numa-node for performance reasons(to stop the right ring from acesing the left rin ram space over the bridges), THAT is what you call an elegant and sophisticated design, the ring bus does not depend on the RAM nor core clocks

on one hand, AMD touts ryzen as the expensive intel killer... but they need to most expensive un-buyable memory to actually perform better?, top kek there AMD...

so Intel has not only a very big IPC lead with KBL, but they can maintain that IPC regardless of whatever shitty cheap ram you throw into the system.

Also remember that this is going into naples, and server ECC RDIMM memory tops at 2400, plus massive fabric overhead, as naples will be a MCM(mayeb even interposer to route the massive 256 bit bus) of 4 ryzen dies, each die provides 2 channels of ram so inter-chip ram/cache will be slow as molasses.

christ!!! thanks for the post. i read enough: not buying Ryzen to do my 1st build ever. even though i am a noob, i could feel something was amiss as i pored over countless reviews, articles, and forum posts re Ryzen. smells like smoke and the bird is crashing down in flames, it seems. perhaps AMD will codename v2 'Phoenix'. that'd be funny.

how i was hoping though to get something sensible to kick Intel's ass at a lower price point. damn, what a downer.
 

__isomorph__

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
8 (0.01/day)
i now hang my head in shame. everybody, cancel my last post. after watching this :
the fog of war has lifted and it now seems clear Ryzen 7, especially 1700, but also 1800X, is the superior CPU.

watch the stats of Ryzen vs 7700K running BF1 starting @ 12:57. as the reviewer says, the Intel chip has no headroom left and is at its limit, and with optimization! whereas Ryzen, without any optimization, is barely breaking a sweat with plenty of headroom left. i predict that once the optims start rolling in, carnage and mayhem will ensue leaving the broken carcass of the Intel 7700K on the floor like the rotten corpse that it is.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,323 (1.03/day)
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
i now hang my head in shame. everybody, cancel my last post. after watching this :
the fog of war has lifted and it now seems clear Ryzen 7, especially 1700, but also 1800X, is the superior CPU.

watch the stats of Ryzen vs 7700K running BF1 starting @ 12:57. as the reviewer says, the Intel chip has no headroom left and is at its limit, and with optimization! whereas Ryzen, without any optimization, is barely breaking a sweat with plenty of headroom left. i predict that once the optims start rolling in, carnage and mayhem will ensue leaving the broken carcass of the Intel 7700K on the floor like the rotten corpse that it is.
That was a great video. And I like that dude's Scottish accent :) Anyway that explains everything. It is really nice that somebody managed to make such a video and explained how those RyZen and Intel CPU's go. RyZen is better from intel I7 7700K and within a year RyZen will mop the floor with the I7 7xxx series. This video shows how you should be looking at the CPU's. Great point of view and the only one that's actually valid.

BTW.
I wonder when we would expect a game RyZen fully ready. I wish to see how those CPU's are performing. Also how will the Ryzen+ perform and when they will release it :)
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Location
Chilili, NM - Walter Whites Hideout
Dual Channel seems to be one of the problems, if they brought it out with Triple / Quad, these would have performed way better.
They are bringing out quad channel memory for their High-End Ryzen Desktop Platform which will have 12 core and 16 core Ryzen parts for the real PC Enthusiast crowd, assuming that crowd exists. This not yet announced platform will require a new chipset probably X399 (or something along those lines) and a new much larger LGA socket, which will undoubtedly require more expensive boards. Expect $300-400 boards and $600-800 Ryzen parts using "roughly" the same socket as Naples. I say roughly because AMD will probably have the board designs built in such a way that Naple chips may not work on them at all, or heck maybe they will.

I would love to see Asus release a Rampage+Extreme X399 tier using 12 or 16 core Ryzen parts. That would be a first for AMD. Although not sure we have Enthusiasts of that caliber any longer these days. Ten years ago I would have dropped 5K on a machine just because, but today I don't even want to spend 2K if I can help it.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
3,402 (0.63/day)
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name RiseEN Gaming PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @ stock
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty X370 GAMING X AM4
Cooling Corsair H115i PRO RGB, 280mm Radiator, Dual 140mm ML Series PWM Fans
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ SE
Storage Corsair Force MP500 480GB M.2 (OS) + Force MP510 480GB M.2 (Steam/Games)
Display(s) Asus 27" (MG278Q) 144Hz WQHD 1440p + 1 x Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1080p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 450D Gaming Case
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries 5Hv2 w/ ASUS Xonar DGX PCI-E GX2.5 Audio Engine Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair TX750W Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64-Bit Edition
Benchmark Scores I'm the Doctor.
Infinity Fabric specs is a 256-bit wide bi-directional crossbar. Would a 512-bit wide bi-directional crossbar be more beneficial?
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
6,783 (4.09/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Infinity Fabric specs is a 256-bit wide bi-directional crossbar. Would a 512-bit wide bi-directional crossbar be more beneficial?
I'm pretty sure AMD has measured it from all points of view and 256 is the best compromise today. Whether 512 bit wouldn't add any significant improvements or would have done so by (further) sacrificing memory compatibility or blowing out max TDP, there must be a solid reason they went with 256.

And please note IF in its current incarnation is not a problem. It can have an impact on some workloads that are rather rare during typical desktop usage. It's only mentioned because users need to know about it lest they go with Ryzen and later find out (for whatever reason) they need to run of of these workloads for significant periods of time. For 99.99% users, IF has literally no impact.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
1,017 (0.34/day)
Location
Porto
System Name No name / Purple Haze
Processor Phenom II 1100T @ 3.8Ghz / Pentium 4 3.4 EE Gallatin @ 3.825Ghz
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming/ Abit IC7-MAX3
Cooling CM Hyper 212X / Scythe Andy Samurai Master (CPU) - Modded Ati Silencer 5 rev. 2 (GPU)
Memory 8GB GEIL GB38GB2133C10ADC + 8GB G.Skill F3-14900CL9-4GBXL / 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC4000
Video Card(s) Asus R9 Fury X Strix (4096 SP's/1050 Mhz)/ PowerColor X850XT PE @ (600/1230) AGP + (HD3850 AGP)
Storage Samsung 250 GB / WD Caviar 160GB
Display(s) Benq XL2411T
Audio Device(s) motherboard / Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro + Front panel
Power Supply Tagan BZ 900W / Corsair HX620w
Mouse Zowie AM
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 7 Pro 64Bit / Windows XP
Benchmark Scores 64CU Fury: http://www.3dmark.com/fs/11269229 / X850XT PE http://www.3dmark.com/3dm05/5532432
They are bringing out quad channel memory for their High-End Ryzen Desktop Platform which will have 12 core and 16 core Ryzen parts for the real PC Enthusiast crowd, assuming that crowd exists. This not yet announced platform will require a new chipset probably X399 (or something along those lines) and a new much larger LGA socket, which will undoubtedly require more expensive boards. Expect $300-400 boards and $600-800 Ryzen parts using "roughly" the same socket as Naples. I say roughly because AMD will probably have the board designs built in such a way that Naple chips may not work on them at all, or heck maybe they will.

I would love to see Asus release a Rampage+Extreme X399 tier using 12 or 16 core Ryzen parts. That would be a first for AMD. Although not sure we have Enthusiasts of that caliber any longer these days. Ten years ago I would have dropped 5K on a machine just because, but today I don't even want to spend 2K if I can help it.
Given AMD's history it would not surprise me to see consumer grade boards compatible with Naples if the socket is the same. Heck We could see a dual socket Naples board like the old eVGA SR-2, now that would be monstrous!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,255 (6.22/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Given AMD's history it would not surprise me to see consumer grade boards compatible with Naples if the socket is the same. Heck We could see a dual socket Naples board like the old eVGA SR-2, now that would be monstrous!
Uses different socket, akin to 2011-3 or 2066
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
1,017 (0.34/day)
Location
Porto
System Name No name / Purple Haze
Processor Phenom II 1100T @ 3.8Ghz / Pentium 4 3.4 EE Gallatin @ 3.825Ghz
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming/ Abit IC7-MAX3
Cooling CM Hyper 212X / Scythe Andy Samurai Master (CPU) - Modded Ati Silencer 5 rev. 2 (GPU)
Memory 8GB GEIL GB38GB2133C10ADC + 8GB G.Skill F3-14900CL9-4GBXL / 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC4000
Video Card(s) Asus R9 Fury X Strix (4096 SP's/1050 Mhz)/ PowerColor X850XT PE @ (600/1230) AGP + (HD3850 AGP)
Storage Samsung 250 GB / WD Caviar 160GB
Display(s) Benq XL2411T
Audio Device(s) motherboard / Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro + Front panel
Power Supply Tagan BZ 900W / Corsair HX620w
Mouse Zowie AM
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 7 Pro 64Bit / Windows XP
Benchmark Scores 64CU Fury: http://www.3dmark.com/fs/11269229 / X850XT PE http://www.3dmark.com/3dm05/5532432
Uses different socket, akin to 2011-3 or 2066
I am aware that this new HEDT platform will use a different socket. If they use the same LGA socket that they have on their Naples server platform, we could see some 32C/64T parts on "consumer" computers. In the past AMD has allowed it.
 
Top