1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Ryzen Threadripper "Summit Ridge" Dies are Heavily Binned

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 10, 2017.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,791 (9.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,268
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD revealed that the pair of 8-core "Summit Ridge" dies that make up the Ryzen Threadripper multi-chip module are heavily binned. AMD hand-selects the top-5% highest performing "Summit Ridge" dies for Ryzen Threadripper manufacturing, which makes these chips of a higher grade than even what AMD sets aside for Ryzen 7-series socket AM4 chips.

    AMD requires the highest grade "Summit Ridge" dies to use in Threadripper chips, to keep electrical leakage to the minimum, so the chips can run as cool as possible, with the least power-draw. Choosing the best dies could also ensure that Threadripper chips have the highest overclocking-headroom taking into account other electrical and thermal constraints. A 7-series chip such as the 1800X could still achieve higher clocks than a Threadripper chip, in that sense.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 10, 2017
    DRDNA and infrared say thanks.
  2. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    "which makes them chips."

    I think you mean "which makes their chips?"
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. infrared

    infrared Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,964 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,421
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    We've been expecting this from the beginning, makes sense. It's good to have it confirmed by AMD.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  4. chaosmassive

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    261 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    In the middle of nowhere
    how many hours left till NDA for benchmark result end?
     
  5. Dbiggs9

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    493 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Ryzen chips cost is .44/$
     
  6. Fluffmeister

    Fluffmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,091
    KarymidoN and XiGMAKiD say thanks.
  7. XiGMAKiD

    XiGMAKiD

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    203 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Here
    AMD and chips in the same sentence remind me of this
    [​IMG]
     
  8. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,394 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,090
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    I can't wait for some enthusiast to unlock the hidden 16 cores and unleash a monster! Intel's reaction to that will be very interesting to see.

    I'm also pretty much on tenterhooks for the reviews. We've been waiting for this kind of competition for more than a decade now.
     
    Estaric and infrared say thanks.
  9. XiGMAKiD

    XiGMAKiD

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    203 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Here
    HD64G says thanks.
  10. justimber

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    13 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    reviews now trickling in...seems that initial reviews are confirming the price/performance crown for AMD...and let's see what Intel will offer to ebb the AMD TR wave.

    mighty time to build a new HEDT rig :D
     
    HD64G says thanks.
  11. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    906 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Hidden 16 cores? Two dies are blank silicon, two are actual dies with cores.
     
    HD64G says thanks.
  12. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,394 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,090
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    How do you know they're blank silicon and not disabled cores?
     
    R-T-B and theoneandonlymrk say thanks.
  13. notb

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    793 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    There will be no "unlocking". And even if it happened, Intel wouldn't have to react.
    You can't be serious.
    We're still talking about a very tiny niche.
    The reason why Intel seems to have given up on X299 is... they don't care. AMD can have the "PC Enthusiast" segment.

    Now... the workstation segment is something entirely different. It will be interesting to see how Intel reacts with workstation-oriented Xeons.
    BTW: does Threadripper have security features from Ryzen PRO? Because if not, ECC might not be enough to make it successful in business.
     
  14. jabbadap

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    616 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Even if they are real cores, you can't use them with x399. Platform lacks memory channels needed for them(Every ryzen chip inside threadripper needs two memory channels).
     
  15. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,190 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,214
    Location:
    Houston
    Yea I called this day one Lol. Mainstream always gets the lowest bins...
     
    theoneandonlymrk and infrared say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. R0H1T

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    387 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    perf/$ as well as perf/W in most cases.
    I wouldn;t call the 1700 (non X) a low binned part.
     
  17. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,394 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,090
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    Yes, I can be serious and I really don't like your tone towards me. Always unpleasant so how about you lighten up a bit eh? No need for unpleasantness regardless of who's technical point is right or wrong.

    I think Intel will care about the gaming market, even a niche one as it's all about prestige and image, which helps to bring in the sales. Intel won't invest big money on bringing out a new platform they "don't care about", that's just silly. More likely they're not sure how to react to the Threadripper threat which is why we have these anomalies with Skylake-X and the next generation will be much better.

    I've since read the review below linked to by Fluffmeister above which shows AMD caning Intel in productivity performance, so Intel very much has something to worry about there. This appears to be an official review too, so likely the others will be similar. Personally, I just wish that Ryzen's IPC was better than Intel's, which would then deliver an all-round killer product. The way things are going, that might actually happen one day.

    How can you say for certain that AMD won't allow their CPUs to be unlocked? On what authority are you basing that on, or is that just your opinion? I'm saying maybe/hopefully and that's the best we can do at the moment.

    https://www.techspot.com/review/1465-amd-ryzen-threadripper-1950x-1920x

    Ok that's a fair point. So EPYC must have twice the memory channels then?
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
  18. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,190 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,214
    Location:
    Houston
    Yes it is 8 channels.
     
    qubit says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. ZoneDymo

    ZoneDymo

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,607 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    565
    I want a 1950x badly.... :(
     
  20. jabbadap

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    616 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Like cdawall said epyc has 8 memory channels(even on 8-core epyc). Well I said wrong about it needing two for every chip, it can work single channel too. But x399 platform's has no physical routing for disabled memory channels. So it would need epyc motherboard for getting those work if they are real disabled cores and you can somehow activate them.
     
  21. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,508 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,241
    Massively faster than 7900X in most multithreaded apps (depending on the program), about Ryzen speeds in games (except Civ6 which doesn't like many cores at all, so AMD has a feature to turn some of the cores off, in software, which is neat) and single threaded stuff. So as expected.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,190 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,214
    Location:
    Houston
    The only way threadripper is getting 32 cores on the current board is for amd to release 16 core dies. Until then they are at their limit on this socket. It was never wired for 4 dies.
     
    qubit says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. jabbadap

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    616 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Yeah that was what I said. Epyc server motherboards have physically same socket(socket sp3 has same layout as socket TR4), but it's not compatible with TR -processors(maybe because disabled cores/or software limitation).
     
  24. uuuaaaaaa

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    906 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    505
    Location:
    Porto
    Those 2 dies are not disabled, they are blank pieces of silicon, just spacers, amd themselves confirmed this. According to the die layout it wouldn't make much sense being failed epyc cpus.
     
  25. jabbadap

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    616 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Yeah of course, that should be common knowledge by now. I think that processor Der8auer delidded might have been ES sample made from 32 core epyc processor, thus all the theories of unlocking cores. But yeah how to recognize blank piece of silicon by only eyes from real deal(Well microscope, or enough MPix on camera to get die shot should do the trick).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)