1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Sempron 140 2.70 GHz

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by Omega, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. Omega

    Omega New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    140 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Sibenik - Croatia
    AMD's Sempron 140 is here to seal the deal in the entry level market for $39. It offers all the features of the K10.5 architecture, but comes with only a single core at 2.70 GHz. Despite its single core it offers decent performance for every day office use, media PCs and casual gaming. If you get lucky you might even be able to unlock a second core.

    To read this review go to: https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/Sempron_140/
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2009
    qu4k3r, DrPepper, BUCK NASTY and 9 others say thanks.
  2. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,999 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Nice Review!
    Keep them coming Omega. :toast:
     
    skylamer says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Imsochobo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    603 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    Interesting, i didnt think it would overclock that well with both cores enabled!
     
    skylamer says thanks.
  4. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,999 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Well, many people thinks the Phenom II 810 won't clock either, but mine does 3.7Ghz easily. :laugh:
     
    skylamer says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,779 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    i know people who may actually want some of that
     
    skylamer says thanks.
  6. The Gonz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I thought using a AM2+ CPU in an AM3 mobo was a no no?

    Can anyone confirm this?
     
    skylamer says thanks.
  7. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    608 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    Sweet Stuff!! I remember not long ago people used to curse AMD over overclocking capability, high temps and high consumption.....
    But man...... this Sempron 140 is a true BAD BOY! At $39.00 you can unlock + overclock to 3.6ghz, still keeping cool, relative low power to performance, eating E8200 in the breakfast and even X2 550BE......
    Oh boy... I wish I had gone 785/X2 240 or Sempron 140 instead of G31/E5200 for my HTCP project I'm about to complete..... =(((((
     
    skylamer says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Omega

    Omega New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    140 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Sibenik - Croatia
    Sempron 140 is new generation of Sempron family. Its native to AM3 socket with DDR2/DDR3 memory and AM2+ socket. Read the text, it says numerous times that Sempron 140 is nothing more than Athlon II X2 with disabled core
     
    skylamer says thanks.
  9. Omega

    Omega New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    140 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Sibenik - Croatia
    Tnx... next one may be coming very very soon :rockout:
     
    Solaris17 and skylamer say thanks.
  10. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Hm. I think this is a bad move for AMD. I think they should follow Intel's steps here and make their Sempron line dual core. Just take a Regor core and clock it really slow. I think a 2GHz dual core would be better than a 2.7GHz single.

    But for enthusiests, this is sick!! $40 can get a 3.6GHz dual core CPU! Very very nice. Buying any other Regor core seems pointless now. Just get this and unlock and overclock.

    Edit: AMD listened! :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2009
    skylamer says thanks.
  11. Imsochobo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    603 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    dont see the reason either.
    anyways we get Phenom 1000 so they have 10 series of cpu's.
    nice to see you can actually build yourself a NAS! GW/FW, Domain controller, whatever you want at 120 bucks for the mobo cpu and memory!

    thats crazy! :D
     
    skylamer says thanks.
  12. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,232 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,443
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I bought one of these a while back. Its cheap, it works faster than some of the dual cores of the 939 and AM2 generations. I can't say anything for heat as i used my Phenom II 955's stock cooler on this CPU to get it nice and frosty at the 3.3 Ghz it runs at. Mobo I bought was $60 and didn't support AAC.

    All an all, I used this CPU and $50 case to build a computer out of spare parts and old stuff I had lying around. It runs Win7 very well, games ok, and only disappointed me in Virus scans as I could not run AVG, S&D, Registry Mechanic, and Ccleaner at the same time.
     
    skylamer says thanks.
  13. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,809 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Awesome cpu and for 39 bucks man, that is chump change. I could literally build me an HTPC for 200 bucks and kick serious ass with it. Can't wait for your next bad ass awesome review Omega.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Omega

    Omega New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    140 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Sibenik - Croatia
    :eek:

    Tnx man, working on two more budget cpu's. ETA - end of weekend :ohwell:
     
  15. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,779 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    celeron e3xxx??
     
  16. Omega

    Omega New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    140 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Sibenik - Croatia
    Not yet.
    I need to make a time frame for Windows7 transition, and that's gonna happen after next two reviews. Athlon II X3 425 (already tested, unlocked and overclocked) and Pentium E6300.

    After that there will be a little down time while I rebench most of the CPU's with Windows7 and new benchmark suite. When done, new Celeron E3x00 series, Core i5/i7 LGA1156 and Phenom's X4 9xx will be following. Slowly moving to higher end models while building a quality CPU database and learning all the thingys when writing for TPU.

    Again, I have to ask for some support and ideas on how to improve benchmark suite. Please check HERE

    :toast:
     
  17. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,553 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,124
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Nice review. Keep it coming. Looking forward the unlock and OC of the X3 425.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. MK4512

    MK4512 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Wow! What a CPU for the price! $39 can't be beat IMO.

    Offtopic: What's up with that skylamer guy thanking everyone?
     
  19. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,779 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    troll of thanks? :laugh:
     
  20. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,242 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    Whenever he becomes giddy on new stuff. he does that.
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,920 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Decent Single Core, It seems the 1MB L2 Parts are really performing close to the units with the L3 Cache but much cheaper. TBH I cant wait until the Athlon 2 X4 with 4MB L2 Cache as a Black Edition, I may grab one and Skip the Phenom 2 955.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    999 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    undervolt it and u got the greenest/cheapest machine
     
  23. F2K New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Europe
    Great review Omega.
    Unfortunately my board has the SB700 so I gave up on the idea of getting one of these :(

    There is a typo on "System Power Consumption" images on page 12 - it says Semron :)
     
    Omega says thanks.
  24. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    608 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    Omega
    On "Overclocking and Unlocking"Power consumption was measured with both cores unlocked or only one ? I guess with 2 cores, right ? Also, could you add a power consumption test with cores unlocked and undervolt ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Omega

    Omega New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    140 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Sibenik - Croatia
    ooops... forgot to re upload fixed graphs. thanks

    Sempron 140 gray bar - stock
    Sempron 140 3.64 GHz green bar - single core, oc
    Sempron 140 X2 3.64 blue bar - unlocked, oc

    Sorry, don't have the CPU anymore so additional test are not possible. But look in the Athlon II X2 240 review, it's the same core so the results should be similar
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)