1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD stepping is it fixed?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by freeboy, Feb 27, 2007.

  1. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    title pretty much sums it up, I own a amd 64 fx60..

    I really am pleased with it and tweeked the sys to just under 2.9, since I am a noob do not really understand volts and timings and how changing the timings makes a differnce in the fsb tweeking.. but I ramble!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,776 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,320
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    the stepping is fixed its built in to the cpu is like a revision on a chip....i think you mean multiplyer?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    no, I read for quite abit, even at amd sight and ccould not see anything, like a revision, that is a hardware one? so it is fixed? I am looking for some simple upgrades.. but thanks.. my comp did not like 15, running 14 on the multi and just added 5 on the fsb now at 210 and 2941! not bad for a noob! he pats himself on the back...

    I am not sure how all the volts. timings stuff work togetther..
    For instance why do raising the volts on the mem chips help?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,776 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,320
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    when your memory is running above the frequency it needs more power to run the speed..sorta like a car running 100mph uses more gas than a car thats running 55mph
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    ok, what confused me was the math, duh, I lowered the meme speed from 200 to 160, but forgot all the other stuff affects the mem too! so at 800 210 166 what is my memory running .. and I did not see a divider. Will look again.

    Also
    I can play with the latencies, could raising them help my oc? they seem pretty good at 2.5 3 3 7. that is for a generic chip, duel channel.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)