• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Super Res froze up Windows 10

Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
294 (0.09/day)
System Name Game Raver
Processor Core i7-770K
Motherboard ASRock Z170A-X1
Cooling Coolermaster AIO
Memory 16gb
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage 1TB Crucial SSD. 4TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) AOC 1080p 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom 410 /w/ Silverstone FN121P-BL fans
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX760
I have a friend new to custom PCs that froze her PC (FX-6300, 700 series mobo, r9-270x) and now it no longer works. She told she tried the Super Resolution setting in Catalyst. Even I can't access it with her wireless keyboard so I have to use my wired one on the next visit.

How can I fix it it? I would like to help her out.

Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
4,024 (1.73/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
what do you mean 'cant access it'?

reset the BIOS with the CMOS jumper procedure ( read the manual) or pull the boards battery for 30 seconds+
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2020
Messages
108 (1.17/day)
what do you mean Cant access it
are you trying to boot into the bios
or reset cmos
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
294 (0.09/day)
System Name Game Raver
Processor Core i7-770K
Motherboard ASRock Z170A-X1
Cooling Coolermaster AIO
Memory 16gb
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage 1TB Crucial SSD. 4TB Seagate HDD
Display(s) AOC 1080p 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom 410 /w/ Silverstone FN121P-BL fans
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX760
what do you mean Cant access it
are you trying to boot into the bios
or reset cmos
Windows would boot up with an enlarged screen (the "super" res) and then completely freeze up once it is fully loaded. I can't even move the mouse.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,655 (0.38/day)
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2x4gig 2133mhz 11/11/11/31/1t overclocked to 2600mhz 14/14/14/42/1t
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8gig
Storage Samsung 850 evo SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) HiSense 43inch 4k/HDR TV
Case NZXT H500
Audio Device(s) X-FI titanium HD - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale diamond 9.1 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
Boot into safemode and remove the drivers
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
447 (0.15/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R9 5950x/Skylake 6400
Processor R9 5950x/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Master X570/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH15D-SE/Zalman 9500 series/Stock
Memory 4xGB Patriot PVS416G400C9K/G440 CL14/G.S Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) R7/ R290X
Storage Aorus 2TB Corsair MP600 + 960 Evo 1TB/ 2xSamsung EVO 850 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG 27gl850
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 850watt modular Gold/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
Btw super resolution and generation rx 270 do not sound like a possible match, hope you manage to reset windows
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
10,211 (4.57/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
reset the BIOS with the CMOS jumper procedure ( read the manual) or pull the boards battery for 30 seconds+
This ^^^
Unplug the computer and pull the CMOS battery out for 30 seconds.
 
Top