1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD to cut FX-70 prices.

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Dec 6, 2006.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,066 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Before the CPU's are available, AMD has decided to cut the prices. QuadFX processors are now $100 cheaper. The FX70 series will cost $499/699/899 for the FX70/72/74, respectively. The FX70 series of AMD CPU's should be available later this month.

    Source: The Inquirer
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,501 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    So... what socket, ddr2? And also, clockspeeds?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,066 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    I heard something about Socket F, and I know nothing about the clock speeds. Best to wait until they actually make the thing available...lol. Too bad FX70 isn't faster then Kentsfield (or whatever the Intel quad core thingy is).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. ATIonion New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,015 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i think AM2 and DDR2 as well..maybe socket F...but dont these cards come in pairs or am i thinking of another model from AMD....also if they do sell in pairs then what mobo will be available for those when they are released???
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. bornfree New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    101 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    More AMD bashing from the Inquirer... SOS, DD.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    If it wasnt for that damn power problem...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. jocksteeluk

    jocksteeluk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,455 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
    if it wasnt for the negative press recently AMD wouldnt eve bother with this price reduction, why are they even bothering to produce and release a product that is inferior to its competitor. Didnt they do benchmarks and such when they were developing them?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,956 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    yes, but they need something to counter quick, this was the answer
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. shoman24v

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    215 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Look at the prices, $500 bucks for a quad core? It may be slower then an Intel but it sure is cheaper. At least AMD didn't half ass their quad core.

    AMD is the shit, well used to be according to everybody. Everybody seems to forget how long AMD bitch slapped Intel.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. stevorob

    stevorob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,060 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    465
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    And Intel was bitch slapping AMD for many many years before that...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Track

    Track New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    312 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Wait, Quad-Core for 500$??
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,289 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Yeah, a Quad Core for $500 compared to an Intel QX6700 for $1599, which would you pick? Even with the special motherboard made by Asus, and a Thermaltake AMD approved case it would still be cheaper...not bad IMO.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,358 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seattle
    I thought QuadFX was two dual core cpu's for use in special dual socket mobos, I think it was called 4x4 early on... or is that something different? If it is a quad core, $500 is pretty good, $125 per core. Edit: It is a package with two cpu's that require a dual socket mobo. Meh.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,289 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Seems like the motherboard is solid though, being made by Asus, not bad.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,368 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,002
    Quad core.....WTF??? They aren't even fully using dual core yet. Why waste money now when they will drop even further in price later on?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    If you're building/buying a system from scratch, and are the type of person that keeps a system until an upgrade is required (AKA: a normal person), then it makes perfect sense to go quad, if you can afford it. It will still have some legs when these dual cores long ran out of steam.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,956 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    GRAPHICAL WORK use it a lot
    autocad, rendering, 3d modeling, etc...
    that's why i want one :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    4,012 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    476
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Graphical work can be done with the help of GPU.
    Also things like compressing large files and converting high quality video will use lots of CPU power, since they rely solely on the CPU. (The HDD and ram also....)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,717 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    447
    Location:
    Blighty
    its a dual core, for dual processor(physical) use, 2x2 would be a more accurate description
    they have a quad core in the works, but thats not out for a good few months yet
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)