• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD to Enable NVMe RAID on X399 Threadripper Platform

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
38,316 (8.39/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) BenQ 1440p 60 Hz 27-inch
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse ASUS ROG Strix Impact
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
When AMD Ryzen Threadripper HEDT platform launched earlier this year, a shortcoming was its lack of NVMe RAID support. While you could build soft-RAID arrays using NVMe drives, you couldn't boot from them. AMD is addressing this, by adding support for NVMe RAID through a software update, scheduled for 25th September. This software update is in the form of both a driver update (including a lightweight F6-install driver), and a motherboard BIOS update, letting AMD X399 chipset motherboards boot from RAID 0, RAID 1, and RAID 10 arrays made up of up to ten NVMe drives. AMD confirmed that it has no plans to bring NVMe RAID support for the X370 or B350 platforms.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
443 (0.42/day)
Processor i7 4790k / ryzen 1700
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Extreme / gigabyte b350 mini itx
Cooling Corsair H70 / cooler master master liquid
Memory 32gb DDR3 / 32gb ddr4
Video Card(s) Gtx 1080 / gtx 1080
Storage 128gb Samsung 850 Pro, 2tb hdd / 500gb 850 evo
Case Thermaltake Chaser Mk-1 / Silverstone m13b
Power Supply 1000W OCZ Gold Full Modular / seasonic focus 850w
Mouse Proteus Core G502
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
This is very good news. It deals with the major advantage that the intel platform had over it. AMD is now, at least in my opinion, objectively better than intel in their HEDT lineup (except with the 18 core 2000 processor that's only nominally faster than the 16 core threadripper with less features).

If only I had buckets of money, multiple samsung 960 pros in a raid for booting, dual threadrippers, multiple gpus, render anything in sony Vegas instantly :p
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
243 (0.25/day)
It may be a purely software solution. And if it happens to be, it might be possible to be ported to other platforms :)
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,118 (4.56/day)
How many people really boot off nvme raid arrays though? I can see using them but to boot from seems pretty pointless.

Still a good value add and better than intels VROC jazz..
 
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
475 (0.17/day)
System Name The Cube
Processor i7 - 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximum VI Hero
Cooling Corsair H110 w/ 2x Cougar Vortex 140mm Fans
Memory 32GB G.Skill Z-series @ 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
Storage 1 x 256GB Samsung 840 Pro, 1 x 512GB Samsung 850 EVO & 2 x 2TB WD BLACK RAID 0
Display(s) Alienware AW3418DW
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 1000W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
How many people really boot off nvme raid arrays though? I can see using them but to boot from seems pretty pointless.

Still a good value add and better than intels VROC jazz..
Doesn't really matter how many use it - it's something AMD gets to shove in Intel's face with their VROC bullshit and having to buy a fucking dongle just to get it to work. Any feature they can use against their giant of a competitor is a good thing.
 
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
443 (0.42/day)
Processor i7 4790k / ryzen 1700
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Extreme / gigabyte b350 mini itx
Cooling Corsair H70 / cooler master master liquid
Memory 32gb DDR3 / 32gb ddr4
Video Card(s) Gtx 1080 / gtx 1080
Storage 128gb Samsung 850 Pro, 2tb hdd / 500gb 850 evo
Case Thermaltake Chaser Mk-1 / Silverstone m13b
Power Supply 1000W OCZ Gold Full Modular / seasonic focus 850w
Mouse Proteus Core G502
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Doesn't really matter how many use it - it's something AMD gets to shove in Intel's face with their VROC bullshit and having to buy a fucking dongle just to get it to work. Any feature they can use against their giant of a competitor is a good thing.
Well said. It's about time intel gets what's coming to them.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
723 (0.14/day)
Location
Austin, TX
System Name WAZAAM!
Processor Intel i5-2500k - 4.4GHz @ 1.3v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus IV Extreme-Z (z68)
Cooling HSF:: Noctua NH-D14 || CASE:: 2x Intake: Noctua NF-P12-1300 | 2x Exhaust: Noctua NF-S12B
Memory G.Skill RipJaws 16GB (4x4GB) @ 1866MHz | 10-10-10-28-2T @ 1.35v
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB SC
Storage Crucial 1.4TB P420m PCIe (boot & steam) | 4x Ultrastar 2TB in Storage Spaces Parity (Media)
Display(s) 3x1 nVidia Surround | Three Dell U2412m - 24" e-IPS 1920x1200
Case Antec P183 - Custom Interior Paint Job
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Bose Companion 2 Speakers
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series HX850
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Server -- Inte 4c Atom C2550D -- 2x4GB G.Skill 1866MHz DDR3 -- 100GB OS SSD -- 4x 2TB 5400 RAID5
How many people really boot off nvme raid arrays though? I can see using them but to boot from seems pretty pointless.

Still a good value add and better than intels VROC jazz..
Businesses will buy workstation systems and generally want fast storage that's redundant. Look at Dell's Precision line. They offer SAS controllers and hot-swap bays so they can accommodate customers that need the high performance of a RAID array.

Individuals probably won't use it much, but businesses absolutely will.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,118 (4.56/day)
Again, why would they BOOT from a RAID array? I understand, and mentioned, uses for it. There isnt a need to boot from these.

Doesn't really matter how many use it - it's something AMD gets to shove in Intel's face with their VROC bullshit and having to buy a fucking dongle just to get it to work. Any feature they can use against their giant of a competitor is a good thing.
I hear you. But if you NEED to boot of nvme, then one would assume you can afford the dongle.

I know that isnt the point, but, just saying...
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
My questions have more to do with the NVMe ports
that are currently available, and will be available
on future motherboards with the X399 chipset.

If I could be permitted to speculate a little bit
about how AMD expects to support bootable RAID modes,
for example, it could be that AMD is quietly
working with an OEM controller manufacturer
to provide BIOS support for bootable add-in cards.

What comes to mind, therefore, are the several
AICs with x16 edge connectors and room for
4 x M.2 sockets. Some are proprietary,
like the ones already being offered by
HP and Dell.

On the other hand, AMD have announced
an "agnostic" approach, implying that
their solution(s) should inter-operate
on all X399 chipsets, with all compatible
M.2 NVMe SSDs, regardless of vendor
e.g. 4 x Samsung 960 Pro, or
4 x Intel M.2 Optane SSDs.

To illustrate, Highpoint have announced
NVMe AICs with x16 edge connectors,
and support for installing two of those
AICs in the same motherboard.

Thus, existing motherboards with X399 chipsets
would only need a BIOS update and,
assuming compatible AICs become available,
2 x AICs @ 4 M.2 ports = 8 NVMe M.2 ports
with support for bootable RAID 0, 1 and 10 modes.

My 2 cents, FWIW :)
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
> Individuals probably won't use it much

We have an approaching need to increase the size of our ramdisk,
because we've run out of memory in our 16GB workstation.

So, by going with a TR system and 32GB of DDR4,
our ramdisk will then have plenty of room to grow.

Using RamDisk Plus from superspeed.com,
we have enabled automatic SAVE and RESTORE
at SHUTDOWN and STARTUP.

This setup benefits a LOT from a very fast
non-volatile storage subsystem where
the ramdisk's image is saved at SHUTDOWN
(because the DRAM hosting our ramdisk is still volatile).

Likewise, STARTUPs should be accelerated a LOT
by hosting that image on a RAID-0 array
using 4 x M.2 NVMe SSDs.

So, such a RAID-0 will definitely help our individual
workstation users.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,118 (4.56/day)
What does a ramdisk have to do with TR? Why cant you add more ram to [insert system here] and expand your ram disk?

Anyway, niche use... :)
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
What does a ramdisk have to do with TR? Why cant you add more ram to [insert system here] and expand your ram disk?
... because my workstation is starting to age,
and the motherboard only supports 16GB max DRAM.

The ramdisk is already sized at 14GB, which
leaves only 2GB for the OS.

(We don't buy new motherboards every 3 years :)

TR is attractive because it should support
multiple add-in RAID cards with x16 edge connectors,
in addition to one or more GPUs.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
17,118 (4.56/day)
16gb max support...? Yeah, thats aged alright. :)

Id have to imagine if your work benefits that much from such a setup, you wouldnt he holding on to such an old dog. :)
 

Fx

Joined
Oct 31, 2008
Messages
1,332 (0.32/day)
Location
Portland, OR
Processor Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix X470-F Gaming
Cooling Noctua
Memory G.SKILL Flare X Series 16GB DDR4 3466
Video Card(s) EVGA 980ti FTW
Storage (OS)Samsung 950 Pro (512GB), (Data) WD Reds
Display(s) 24" Dell UltraSharp U2412M
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser GAME ONE
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Mouse Mionix Castor
Keyboard Deck Hassium Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
RAID 10 is awesome. Thank you AMD.
 
Top