1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD to Launch New High-end Desktop Processor

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jul 23, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    AMD is preparing to launch a new high-end desktop processor, the Athlon 64 X2 6400+, which will be the last processor in the Athlon 64 X2 family. Currently, AMD's highest-end desktop processor is the Athlon 64 X2 6000+, however with its performance unable to match Intel's upcoming Core 2 Duo E6850, AMD plans to launch the new 6400+ to cover up the gap in the market. The 6400+ will have a core frequency of 3.2GHz and 2MB L2 cache, while the pricing will range between US$220-248. Samples of the new CPUs are already shipping to motherboard makers, but there's still no official release date.

    Source: DigiTimes
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,463 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,725
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    yay! pricing matters of course, but competition is what we all want.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,525 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Texas
    yippy kai-yay!
    thanks AMD, at least they're trying to do a little something to tide us over til phenom
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Hmm... cache might work..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,463 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,725
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    yeah 2MB cache instead of 1MB should make them a decent chip. Lets pray for another san diego like core :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Huh? The 6000+ has 2*1MB L2 cache ...
     
  7. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,788 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    That's HOT!

    Welcome to the 130W+ territory.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    rofl, Unless it overclocks to 3.4 and up then its useless. Might as well get a 6000+ x2.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,788 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    It is infact quite impressing how high AMDs 90nm chips are scaling.
    Too bad their 65nm isn't up to the task. Serious leakage problems with high freq AMD 65nm chips I hear.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Jannu New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    42 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tallinn, Estonia
    This beast is gonna be HOT! even 5600+ is ~50C in normal cases with default HSF
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. breakfromyou

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    299 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    virginia, usa
    Bad move.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    eggs and bacon without getting up from your pc ftw? [​IMG]
     
  13. quickie New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    238 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    reminds me of the AthonXP palomino core 2100+ situation a few years back. Before AMD could release the Thoroughbred core, it needed something to close the gap between the XP2000+ and higher clocked P4s. Maybe history is repeating itself..
     
  14. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,798 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    227
    Location:
    US
  15. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    WOW!! 89W?? my opty 185 stock is 110W, so when i crank it upto 3ghz and increase the volts i can end up with 160W thermal output eeek

    so thats fab
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    852 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA
    Nice sig, lol
    Thats good to hear. Hopefully the price point will help AMD.
     
  17. tvdang7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    318 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    why skip 6200?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,543 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    332
    Location:
    Blighty
    for a non overclocker, this will be a superb choice
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,798 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    227
    Location:
    US
    wonder if someone will pull it over 3.2ghz, but i doubt
     
  20. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,885 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,030
    Location:
    Houston
    they should just release a higher clocked FX core (lol) 3.4ghz FX 66 2mb cache and an unlocked multi would be nice. oh and the 6400+ should oc well enough the 6000+ clocks to 3.5ghz or so normal. Heat wont be to much of an issue they will just put it out with the quad heatpipe copper base FX cooler.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,788 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    89W TDP for a 3.2GHz 90nm Windsor? Now that must have required some process tweaks, since current 6000+ has 125W TDP. That's almost a 30% drop!

    But, one could wonder why do they bother with 90nm anymore since FAB36 which makes most of their cores is now all 65nm and the rented node @ Chartered is switching to 65nm too. But maybe they should concentrate on tweaking their 65nm instead, they need Barcelona to save the day and it can't succeed if it doesn't have the clocks.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,885 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,030
    Location:
    Houston
    watch bet they can push a 20x on windsor they just dont want to come on AMD try it :D that would piss of the C2D owner pwned by the old school windsor core :roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    yeah thats well impressive, if they apply that to their 65nm cores... wonder what thermal output they could acheive

    "the latest 65nm AMD offering cooled with the magic of an aluminium thimble!"
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,885 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,030
    Location:
    Houston
    they BETTER apply it to there 65nm chips were would we be if they decided to just update the old parts

    think if they went and overhauled the XP series :roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    nice. Its amazing to get that perf and have it at that cheap of a price. Well done AMD
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)