1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Unable to Introduce 2.6GHz Phenom CPUs by 2008

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,422 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    DigiTimes reports that Taiwan motherboard makers do not expect AMD to roll out the highest frequency 2.6GHz version of its new quad-core Phenom CPU family before 2008. According to sources close to DigiTimes, AMD will only introduce two Phenom CPUs on November 19th, the 2.2GHz 9500 and 2.3GHz 9600 models. A 2.4GHz 9700 model is expected to launch during December, but a 2.6GHz one will not be introduced until 2008. AMD is planning to offer the 9500 and 9600 Phenoms for as low as US$250 and US$270 to OEM channels, while the officially announced prices will be US$280 and US$320. The 9700 processor will be priced at around US$300. AMD declined to comment on the speculation, saying that it cannot reveal details about the upcoming Phenom launch.

    Source: DigiTimes
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,004 (4.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,831
    Location:
    Florida
    somehow this doesn't surprise me
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    850 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA
    Not good for AMD if they are trying to gain ground with the motherboard industry.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,560 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865

    surely quads can go higher than 2.6? checked with intel and their highest is 2.67 - there must be more in them than that...surely.
     
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,864 (5.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,016
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Perhaps the Phenoms don't scale well...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Perhaps the 2.6 Ghz is so fast that AMD has decided we're just not ready for it.

    ...kinda like how Intel did back in the day with 300Mhz Pentium II's.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Intel actually has quads at 3GHz right now... And the new Penryn based chips are going to beat that pretty quick as well. AMD is fighting a major up hill battle.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    970 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Let's hope so. But if they were so fast, then the pricing wouldn't be this low...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,004 (4.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,831
    Location:
    Florida
    true but amd has alot to make up for their loosing mad profits and $$$ as this point if AMd came out with something that could destroy the core2's their hurting so bad they would be a little more than cheap but they wouldnt be expensive imo
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. b1lk1

    b1lk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    688 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    As long as they are stating prices in US dollars, that will mean BIG savings for us Canadians for once!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    I have always liked AMD, but lets face it the boat is sinking. AMD is starting to look like VIA, remember the Cyrix processor?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. ryboto

    ryboto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    289 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    amd is selling a lot of chips, which most of us don't realize because we just look at performance benchmarks. AMD might post a net loss, well, they did just recently buy Ati, and they had to take a loan for that, they're also retooling fabs, yadda yadda. They'll be here for a long time, they've just got to build up momentum for Bulldozer and 45nm.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. mas0n New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    dallas
    AMD's dream of 4 cores in a single die is kicking them in the ass right now as it has been very difficult to get the manufacturing process stabilized. Not to mention that a 65nm "native" quad core is a freaking huge die which only complicates the issue and causes poor yields. This is why Intel chose the dual-die approach for it's quads until they had moved to 45nm.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,250 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    dont bother me, im getting my "phenom" ready rig sorted now, tracer ddr 8500, M3A32-MVP deluxe mobo and a cheapo X2 4000+ processor to see me til 08 when ill get a phenom fx 9700 or sommit
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,809 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Thanks ryoto for saying that, folks tend to forget that. Honestly, they shouldnt worry about high speeds. When you got four cores working together, you cant insanely clock all 4 uber high (I mean, even Intels cant OC that damn much) because each one has to be on par or some crap like that. Basically, I can do without a 2.6GHz quad core if I can oc the 2.2 or 2.4 ghz one decently. Ill be getting me a Phenom rig up and going as well.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,336 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,050
    Location:
    Ohio
    I want a 2GHz one to clock to 2.4 :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)