1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD "Vishera" FX-Series CPU Specifications Confirmed

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 27, 2012.

  1. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,831 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    554
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
    In the past I believe it took INTEL approx: 2 years to addopt DDR. At that time they were using Rambus RAM. AMD started using DDR I think in the year 2000 with the Athlon CPU's. So my original point was perhaps AMD will wait for DDR4 prices to fall and continue to use DDR3 or they will develope a IMC that supports both DDR3/4 for Socket AM4?..

    Now I really need to stay away from that Irish Whiskey :laugh: I'm sticking to Greek Ouzo next time. :D

    FIXED!!!
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,505 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,886
    I think you quoted the wrong person. :confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,915 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,366
    :wtf::confused:
     
  4. AvonX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    169 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Maybe he is high. :roll:
     
  5. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,831 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    554
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
    I fixed my post, don't know what I was thinking lol, I got Intel confused with AMD :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,451
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    Isn't Intel already doing this? There are [either active or disabled] GPUs in every current Intel CPU, AFAIK.
    (Of course, I might be mistaken.)
     
  7. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,782 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Thats kind of my point Vinska, its allready being done and Amd will do it too, oh and though comercial intel cpu's are as you say, i doubt that xeons and the like have any gpu in them, what with the core count , use etc.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  8. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    Yes they are doing just that and still they overclock very well. I can see AMD doing the same thing along the whole line of CPUs.
     
  9. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,831 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    554
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
    Good News, an internal source claims: (ATInsider) has posted on Fudzilla that the upcoming Piledriver is on average 15% to 20% faster than Bulldozer. He states it will be a combination of both minor tweaks/modifications and clock speeds. He states the clock rate is more effective than Bulldozer's such as if you OC it you will see a gain better performance gain, even with a mild 200MHz to 400MHz. Bulldozer.
    I believe we did not see that much of a performance boost with OC'ing unless we aggressively OC'ed it. For me I took my Bulldozer with all 8-cores to 4.40 GHz with a mild bump in vCore. Now I am interested in Piledriver, who knows, if the price is right, I may bite into it.

    http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/news/2204765/amd-vishera-chip-running-at-5ghz-is-spotted
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,915 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,366
    internal source from who?
     
  11. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,831 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    554
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
    I don't know his name is ATInsider, you know insider :confused:
    But the article states the obvious anyway.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,915 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,366
    oh ok, well this to me is still speculation.

    Grain of Salt for me till reviewers are given the Green to pull the NDA off.

    CPUs have to be fast in todays apps as well as tomorrows.
     
  13. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,831 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    554
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
    Yes a big grain of salt. I can't wait for some reviews. :D

    Wow, you are still on the AMD Athlon XP-M 2500+ very nice, and I am sure it's been serving you very well. Ahh, the good old Athlon XP days.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,915 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,366
    Ya true. When things are golden for me ill build something considerably faster. X1950 Pro is held back by the XP machine.
     
  15. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,831 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    554
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
    WOW, :laugh: you still have an original ATI Radeon, very nice indead, what a classic :toast:

    Who knows, perhaps Steamroller will be your next upgrade :D DDR3 Memory is dirt cheap, you can easily get 16GB to 32GB and even 64GB Dual-Channel, but DDR4 being more expensive when released I believe should offer much more benefits. It all depends on whether Excavator and/or Steamroller will be DDR4 with new socket or DDR3 with the same AM3+. You obviously don't mind waiting ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,915 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,366
    i honestly dont care because I built my Bros AM3+ machine with 970 Extreme 4 AsRock and a 6770 (Bulldozer-Which proved to be a sidegrade at best)- I put in a X2 555 BE for that machine and I unlocked it with stock cooling (Runs quiet actually less room temp reaches 80+), 8 GB Ram and its running as fast as it did a year ago but i finally drilled in his head to keep it updated and clean software and hardware wise
     
  17. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,831 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    554
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
    Ah, good stuff and yes you have to keep the PC nice and clean. Dust kills PC components. Anyhow, I am curious as to how Piledriver is going to stack up to it's big brother Bulldozer. The Piledriver cores within Trinity are tuned down versions, so I would expect the Desktop to perform better at 125w. :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,297 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,799
    Turned down versions? This isn't a car.

    It may seem like they can get more, but they are bound by the limitations of the die size, and the existing traces in the die.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  19. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,831 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    554
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
    Yes, that is what I meant. I believe AvonX said you can't really push an APU's CPU too much due to those limitations.
    Good Night Guys, it's close to midnight here,

    Oh and here is that quote from that so called Insider.

     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. AvonX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    169 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Don't understand why you place high hopes on vishera.
    There is nothing really to see from vishera, generally it will be the same as bulldozer.
    You already have an fx-8120 and its not worth getting a vishera cpu.
    You should wait for steamroller and hope things will be better.
    I personally believe that the real improvement will be "excavator" and that is the one that they are really focusing on and there will be major changes.
    As i told you before, it needs a complete redesign in order for this architecture to get fixed.
     
  21. AvonX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    169 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    The bad news is that the fx-8350 is more power hungry than the fx-8150.
    If this is true, i think they will be officially out of the dedicated desktop CPU's market.
    Unless they have cancelled it and they are waiting to release steamroller.
     
  22. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,451
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    Sauce please!
     
  23. AvonX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    169 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
  24. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,526 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    They are now oc higher then 9Ghz...:eek:

    Anyhow real or not (all we see about it on the internet) i have to agree with AvonX Piledriver/Vishera won't be much improvement over Bulldozer I'll say about 10-15% max & probably not even 5% in some area's & all that because of higher clock speed so in another word probably slower then current Bulldozer at same clock speed...

    I don't rally care about it much anymore , anyways as i hardly play games since the past 5 years or so & even less since i got back into slot cars racing , now all i need is a cheap PC to surf the net & watch Movies/TV-Series
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  25. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,451
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)