• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Working on a Real GPU Dynamic Overclocking Technology

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
While digging through documentation for the latest version of AMD Display Library (ADL), we discovered evidence that AMD is working on a real GPU dynamic overclocking technology akin to NVIDIA's GPU Boost. Such a technology could manipulate GPU (and possibly memory) clock speeds, and voltages across multiple power states, taking into account processing load and temperatures. ADL allows third-party applications low-level interactions with AMD display drivers. Current generation Radeon graphics cards use Overdrive 5 and the feature-set it comes with, and so the new technology, along with Overdrive 6 could feature on upcoming generations of AMD GPUs.

Show full news post
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
71 (0.04/day)
Likes
14
Processor i7-6700K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus Gene Z170
Cooling Custom Water >15dB
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3500/CL15
Video Card(s) 980 Ti @ 1580/2000
Storage 850 Evo 500 GB
Display(s) 1440p @ 165 Hz
Audio Device(s) Asus Essence STX
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
Mouse PWM3366
Keyboard MX Red + O Rings
#2
Wish they would just go back to 2D and 3D clocks..

Or atleast make boost optional..

Manuel OC ftw!
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,370 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,816
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#3
They should first fix the damn current 2D/3D clock swithching because it's all bugged and broken and not just keep on releasing countless versions of their broken power saving mechanism.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,627 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#4
I can see this being good for non overclockers but what good is this for the few overclockers out there.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#5
Who's to say that a manual overclock won't be possible anymore?

I dont see why they cant make it like the current stock of CPU's with turbo when it comes to overclocking. That way, if you want to fiddle with clocks and such, you can just disable the turbo and clock it any way you see fit.

Whats also great is that apparently they will include the memory clocks in their dynamic scheme. I hope while they're on it they'll also fix the memory clock requirements for things like the UVD so any overclocks you make wont disrupt the working of UVD.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.50/day)
Likes
503
#6
I think this is really great news, especially if it also boosts the memory clock as well. Well, the best would be an optional feature, that would make everybody happy perhaps:toast:
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#7
waste of time and resources. they should try instead to better the performance.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#8
waste of time and resources. they should try instead to better the performance.
This could lead to better performance. Just like there are more and less threaded apps, there are 3D apps that stress more or less of your GPU.
For an instance, take furmark, and a random other game that can stress your GPU to 100% load; Eventhough they can both load up your GPU"to "full", Furmark uses more power and produces more heat. Clocking a card so it wont overheat in furmark will mean clocking it lower then is possible for other games, resulting in less FPS.

If this dynamic clocking works correctly, it would mean your GPU can clock itself up, for games that dont use all the workunits, or down when the GPU would otherwise overheat.

Essentially it would mean you get the maximum performance your card can give you at more times, and would make the card less dependant on wether games are coded correctly(all other bottlenecks ignored).

I would say this development would give you more performance, exactly like you want it.

Furthermore, if they learned anything from their FX CPU lineup, they'll make them just as easy to overclock. Already there is a basic overclocking tool available in catalyst, and I can imagine them further building on that as they did when powertune was introduced.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,357 (1.91/day)
Likes
1,074
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#9
Yep, they should fix first the 2D/low 3D/high 3D clocks, then go for this "let's copy Intel's CPU" first...
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#10
Yep, they should fix first the 2D/low 3D/high 3D clocks, then go for this "let's copy Intel's CPU" first...
Why do you call it copying Intel CPU's, when they have had 3 generations of CPU's with turbo themselves aswell?
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,357 (1.91/day)
Likes
1,074
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#11
Why do you call it copying Intel CPU's, when they have had 3 generations of CPU's with turbo themselves aswell?
I only used Intel CPU's for a while, and my latest 3770K is keep switching between frequencies depending on the application. Can be 1600Mhz, 2000Mhz, 2400Mhz, 3500Mhz or 3900Mhz, as far as I have noticed. Also the voltage is different for every frequency. I really don't know how is on AMD cpu's...
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#12
I only used Intel CPU's for a while, and my latest 3770K is keep switching between frequencies depending on the application. Can be 1600Mhz, 2000Mhz, 2400Mhz, 3500Mhz or 3900Mhz, as far as I have noticed. Also the voltage is different for every frequency. I really don't know how is on AMD cpu's...
Its the same:) For even longer than the time they've had turbo actually. They already had something called Cool&Quiet before turbo which dynamically clocks the CPU up&down depending on the load. Turbo is in a way just an extention of that by clocking it up over the default maximum frequency when there is thermal&power room to spare.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
419 (0.19/day)
Likes
116
Processor Intel i7-3820 @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte X79-UD7
Cooling Thermaltake Water Pro 2.0
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866
Video Card(s) Leadtek GeForce GTX 670 Reference
Storage Intel SSD530 120GB OS/BOOT, various mechanical drives for storage
Display(s) 2x Dell U2311H
Case Lian-Li PC-V1000
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence ST
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro Modular 600W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#13

Optimis0r

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2013
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#14
What I dont like about boost clock is that no two gpu will perform the same out of the box.. i.e GTX 680. If we could have a fixed frequency... so at least we have the same performance per chip before overclocking etc.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2012
Messages
83 (0.05/day)
Likes
16
#15
I think were going to have chips that will all have different performance from the same SKU`s, just like nvidia has now. This way, more chips make the binning, which is a win-win for NVidia and next Gen AMD, but a lottery for the customers.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#16
Or, they could make it like they do with the CPU's, and GPU's at this moment: let it clock based on workload, which is independant of the sillicon.
You dont see the current amd/intel CPU's and AMD Boost cards perform differently per chip while still clocking dynamically? They'd just have different ceilings when overclocking, just like AMD's gpu's have had up till now.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#18
I only used Intel CPU's for a while, and my latest 3770K is keep switching between frequencies depending on the application. Can be 1600Mhz, 2000Mhz, 2400Mhz, 3500Mhz or 3900Mhz, as far as I have noticed. Also the voltage is different for every frequency. I really don't know how is on AMD cpu's...
then dont comment :) this the how flame wars start :laugh:
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
523 (0.25/day)
Likes
122
Processor Intel Core i7-5930k @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99-A
Cooling Corsair H110
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) 2x Titan X @ 1450/8000
Storage WD Black 4TB + Agility 3 240GB + Seagate 600 240GB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 4k LC-60UD27U
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
#19
Ugh I hated Nvidia's gimmicky "GPU Boost" when they launched that on the 6xx series, but the press ate it up for the most part and so I figured that AMD would be following suite... sigh.

Maybe in the future we can see cards with a dual BIOS where the second BIOS doesn't have any of that gimmicky crap and you can work out a stable OC yourself? That would be the best of both worlds.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#20
Ugh I hated Nvidia's gimmicky "GPU Boost" when they launched that on the 6xx series, but the press ate it up for the most part and so I figured that AMD would be following suite... sigh.

Maybe in the future we can see cards with a dual BIOS where the second BIOS doesn't have any of that gimmicky crap and you can work out a stable OC yourself? That would be the best of both worlds.
Personally, I'm the opposite of you, wanting them to push this to the limit, while locking up the chips so that no software-based user adjustment is possible. We can always solder stuff to our cards like we did before to get more out of them.

Enthusiasts that set clocks of their PC are very much a dying breed in today's market, if only because hardware performance is so great that there is little need to. You simply don't NEED to overclock to get decent performance anymore.



So AMD can lock it up tight no problem. Let's see some apps that actually really push today's systems, and then I'll start to get concerned.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,737 (0.73/day)
Likes
859
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
#21
Personally, I'm the opposite of you, wanting them to push this to the limit, while locking up the chips so that no software-based user adjustment is possible. We can always solder stuff to our cards like we did before to get more out of them.

Enthusiasts that set clocks of their PC are very much a dying breed in today's market, if only because hardware performance is so great that there is little need to. You simply don't NEED to overclock to get decent performance anymore.



So AMD can lock it up tight no problem. Let's see some apps that actually really push today's systems, and then I'll start to get concerned.
F everything about that. Performance is not even close compared to OCed. The hardware itself is powerful, but the software is TERRIBLE. You have to OC the CPU and GPU just to play shitty ports nowadays (AC3 is a Fing joke on the CPU side).

Sure, hard-modding is nice, but wtf am I spending 500 dollars on a GPU for if the POS can't even OC without resorting to hard-mods?

Locking them down is their way of cutting out enthusiasts (since we will get more for our money). Morons, who the F do they think buys their shiny new crap?

If the partners aren't stupid they will just start making all non-reference cards.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#22
F everything about that. Performance is not even close compared to OCed. The hardware itself is powerful, but the software is TERRIBLE. You have to OC the CPU and GPU just to play shitty ports nowadays (AC3 is a Fing joke on the CPU side).

Sure, hard-modding is nice, but wtf am I spending 500 dollars on a GPU for if the POS can't even OC without resorting to hard-mods?

Locking them down is their way of cutting out enthusiasts (since we will get more for our money). Morons, who the F do they think buys their shiny new crap?
I started overclocking, really overclocking, with an ASUS BP6 Dual-CPU board, many many years ago.

Until about 3 years ago, I was hardmodding EVERYTHING, even VGAs with software voltage control. This past weekend, I soldered a bunch of crap to my ASUS DirectCUII 7970 VGA.

Uh, I hate to break it to ya, but the only way to get real clocking ability, TODAY, is with hardmods. Software controls are BS, don't work often, and introduce issues all of their own.


I will relish the day when overclocking again becomes a skill, rather than clicking options already provided to you by the OEM...LIMITED options.


you like those options? You aren't aware of how truly limiting they are. Perhaps checking into what an "Infernal Device" is, legally, may help you see things as I do. It's not legal for anyone to sell you something whose use is gonna cost you more than the value of the item.

AMD Radeon HD7970 reference cards...have VRMs that can do over 1.9V. Every single one. Software options allow up to about 1.4 on average. You want more of that? Locked, limited options, introduced with limits so that they aren't selling infernal devices?

The whole reason AMD is investing the time and R&D dollars into this is because the current version, as many have already posted, is clearly broken. I use AMD cards daily, and really, any advanced features, like software clocking, BIOS flashing, Eyefinity...they all cause so many issues...


All I want is a good experience. AMD does not deliver that right now...in fact, no one does. The market isn't shrinking because of a lack of tech...it's shrinking from a lack of interest. OEMs need to appeal to end users, and obviously, by sales figures, current methods are failing, and software overclocking is one of those methods used to appeal to the consumer.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,737 (0.73/day)
Likes
859
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
#23
I started overclocking, really overclocking, with an ASUS BP6 Dual-CPU board, many many years ago.

Until about 3 years ago, I was hardmodding EVERYTHING, even VGAs with software voltage control. This past weekend, I soldered a bunch of crap to my ASUS DirectCUII 7970 VGA.

Uh, I hate to break it to ya, but the only way to get real clocking ability, TODAY, is with hardmods. Software controls are BS, don't work often, and introduce issues all of their own.


I will relish the day when overclocking again becomes a skill, rather than clicking options already provided to you by the OEM...LIMITED options.
:rolleyes: I wouldn't cool anything over 1.4v for everyday use. Everyone knows that dice and ln2 crazy clock benches are going to require hard-mods (and I'm definitely not setting up a chilled water unit). We, obviously, were not talking about these kinds of setups.

I used to hard-mod several years ago b/c it was the only way to get good clocks/control even for everyday use. But the new hardware is sufficient with software control.

If locked down we'd be stuck at 1.1v. I can deal with 1.4 just fine LOL.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#24
If locked down we'd be stuck at 1.1v. I can deal with 1.4 just fine LOL
Well, that's the thing. We already have "overclocking" built in on nearly any part now, whether it be CPU or GPU. In a lot of ways, we are locked down.. Intel only allows wide adjustment on "K" SKUs, for example(AMD as well with certain platforms), and because of this, they are so confident on their product's resilience, they offer a cheap warranty(~$25 USD) so that when you do shove volts down a chip, you're covered.

The idea that we aren't already locked down, except if we pay enough, is FACT today. You buy unlocked chips from AMD and Intel, and the rest are locked up tight. NVidia GPU designs are restricted at the hardware-level, offering only minor adjustments, even so restricted that NVidia board partners have had to remove such functionality(eVBot) from products already released. AMD GPUs are limited by software.

By locking things up, they can ensure far greater quality in the parts sold, and when it comes to CPUs, boards already limit hardware physically with VRM designs and restrictions in BIOS.

My ASUS HD 7970..locked up tight, hence the mods. Look through the forum pages, you'll see many users complaining about it...especially since it advertises right on the box that these software adjustments would be there...but they aren't.

Now, they want to take advantage of those restrictions. This IS a good thing. And it's almost 100% completely deployed already. This isn't an idea...it's what's coming.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
523 (0.25/day)
Likes
122
Processor Intel Core i7-5930k @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99-A
Cooling Corsair H110
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) 2x Titan X @ 1450/8000
Storage WD Black 4TB + Agility 3 240GB + Seagate 600 240GB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 4k LC-60UD27U
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
#25
Personally, I'm the opposite of you, wanting them to push this to the limit, while locking up the chips so that no software-based user adjustment is possible. We can always solder stuff to our cards like we did before to get more out of them.

Enthusiasts that set clocks of their PC are very much a dying breed in today's market, if only because hardware performance is so great that there is little need to. You simply don't NEED to overclock to get decent performance anymore.



So AMD can lock it up tight no problem. Let's see some apps that actually really push today's systems, and then I'll start to get concerned.
I understand there's folks like you who like the whole GPU-boost side of things (and obviously the majority of customers don't overclock), which is why I think a dual-BIOS solution would be ideal.

The idea that you don't need the extra performance is debatable, though... I'm getting about 25-30% more real world performance than stock 7970s due to my overclock. It makes a pretty significant difference in demanding scenarios.

And software overclocking abilities are just fine on the 7970... I can't imagine there's an air-cooled card out there that would perform better with hardware voltmodding over software voltmodding. The temps start to get pretty crazy above 1.3-1.4V and many chips don't even do their max OC at that high a level on air (I've had 3 cards and all of them hit their maximum clock speed around 1.22-1.24V).
 
Last edited: