• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD X2 Overclocking Advice Needed

BigJunit

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2007
Messages
117 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
UK - Avon
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus CROSSHAIR nForce 590 SLi
Cooling Custom Watercooled 1/2' Loop (CPU & GPU)
Memory OCZ 2GB PC2-6400C4 Platinum Revision 2 XTC Series DDR2
Video Card(s) Nvida BFG Geforce 8800GTS OC2 320mb
Storage 320gb Seagate SataII & 400gb Freecom External
Display(s) HP 22' Widescreen DVI 1650x1050
Case Asus Custom
Audio Device(s) Asus (5.1 came with board)
Power Supply Jeantech 600w Modular
Software Windows XP Pro
#1
Ok I will start off with a CPUZ screenshot so you can see what im working with. Also system specs are filled in to the left :cool:



I have been playing around for a good few hours now trying to get as high an overclock as I can on this chip.
The highest it will get through POST and Boot is 3250Mhz as in the screenshot. The trouble I am having is that the OC is not 100% stable. Although the system boots up fine I am getting random errors every now and again, mainly on Internet Explorer and SuperPI.

The system is watercooled so I have gone as far as putting 1.65v on the VCore, giving Idle 30-35'C and Load 40-45'C. But still the random errors.

Just wondering if anyone can suggest something that may help stabilise this a little more?

Thanks In Advance :toast:
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.74/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
#2
Use memtest86 to check whether it's the RAM thats running out on you; do a few runs. If so, loosen the timings and/or up the voltage. Other wise I'd up the Northbridge voltage a tad although you probably shouldn't need to.
 

BigJunit

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2007
Messages
117 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
UK - Avon
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus CROSSHAIR nForce 590 SLi
Cooling Custom Watercooled 1/2' Loop (CPU & GPU)
Memory OCZ 2GB PC2-6400C4 Platinum Revision 2 XTC Series DDR2
Video Card(s) Nvida BFG Geforce 8800GTS OC2 320mb
Storage 320gb Seagate SataII & 400gb Freecom External
Display(s) HP 22' Widescreen DVI 1650x1050
Case Asus Custom
Audio Device(s) Asus (5.1 came with board)
Power Supply Jeantech 600w Modular
Software Windows XP Pro
#3
Hey thanks for the quick reply,

I will run memtest as all the symtoms do seem to point to the memory. With regards to adjusting the timings, this is something I have never done before, which ones would you suggest changing and by how much. Appologies for all the questions ;)
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.74/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
#4
First I would change the RAS precharge to 6 (5.5.6.15-23). If that doesn't work set it @ 5.5.6.18-23. Or also try 5.5.5.18-23
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,526 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,159
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#5
Bigger divider on the RAM and give RAM more voltage. If that fails, you could also try pumping the northbridge more voltage.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#6
man, i dont understand why every x2 overclocker i run into uses voltages way higher then me.. on an 4600+ windsor EE, i can go from 2.4 to 2.7 undervolted... you raise your vcore by .4 for a 600 mhz OC, and i lower mine by 0.025 for a 300 mhz oc..

make sure you drop the htt link to 3x (default is 5x) for stability that might be the problem if its not the ram, instability due to the hypertransport..