• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Zambezi ''Bulldozer'' Desktop CPU Roadmap Revealed

Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,623 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,995
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#26
History have shown that a new architecture is never going to work as well as intended (R600, P4 HT, Fermi, Phenom 1 etc)
Wow you just completely disregarded Athlon, Core, AMD5 series was said to be a "new architecture as was i7 (although regardless they are all built on previous technologies of a sort)
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#27
Wow you just completely disregarded Athlon, Core, AMD5 series was said to be a "new architecture as was i7 (although regardless they are all built on previous technologies of a sort)
That is true, but then again, it brings to the tally of 50% at best. Still not impressive enough. If you are referring to the AMD's ATI5xxx series in the graphics card, its just another step in the evolution of the R600, they did not design it from scratch. And from what I remembered, the i7 is derived from the server processors. So, all in all, its just the Core2 processors and the ix processors which are done right the last few years.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#28
Great to see that 1866mhz is the standard of the new cores as that should hopefully mean getting over 2ghz would be much easier than he current generation AMD cpu's

I really can't wait to see how they do against sandy bridge even if I'm unsure if i can wait long enough, but worst case is a buy something from sandy bridge and find out i should sell it and go with a bulldozer core... at least i could keep the ram :laugh:
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,752 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,019
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#29
I intend to upgrade to this next year when released, probably just a 6 core offering, I am very pleased with the system I have now but I have had it for 18 months and it's been far too long since I used AMD so I need a change, things look good so far.

I will be interested however in how their 6 core offerings compete with the current Intel Gulftown models because if they are close, it's fairly certain that Intel will remain competative with their future releases.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#30
No new socket? Well that just sucks. This is starting to smell of fail.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#31
I just jizzed in my pants, is that normal:eek::eek:

 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,880 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#32

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#33
True, but then again, we have seen previews of the Sandy Bridge and its going to be a tall order for Bulldozer to "bulldoze" Intel.
There is potential for AMD to do that, it has done that in the past. Think of it as the Ashes, with Intel being the Aussie team.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#34
There is potential for AMD to do that, it has done that in the past. Think of it as the Ashes, with Intel being the Aussie team.
hahahahaha nice one, Aussie team cry too much:toast::cry::laugh:
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#35
There is potential for AMD to do that, it has done that in the past. Think of it as the Ashes, with Intel being the Aussie team.
Sincerely hope that's the case, competition is always everybody's friend. I just don't have much faith in AMD right now.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#36

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#37
True, but then again, we have seen previews of the Sandy Bridge and its going to be a tall order for Bulldozer to "bulldoze" Intel. Pricing may be the saviour this time round tough. History have shown that a new architecture is never going to work as well as intended (R600, P4 HT, Fermi, Phenom 1 etc) so I am not going to get my hopes high. Zacate previews looks good, I must admit.

Edit: can 1 Bulldozer module handle 1 thread, or 50% of the module will be idle?
Pricing is what matters here, it's like the 980X to 1095t comparisons. It's obviously not at all a fair comparison, to either chip as the audiences are far different, the 980X is faster, and the 1095t is easier to obtain. And with this being a tech site, even here 980X's are rare, I mean don't get me wrong, I like to look at the top dog reviews for all of the best hardware out there, but I can't think of anytime in the foreseeable future where I would be able to justify a $1000 processor. I'd rather see them in the $200 - $350 range, and able to do everything great, like my 1055t, I love the thing and I got it day 1 for $150.

Modules contain two integer cores. Each integer core has its own integer pipeline, so they can simultaneously execute 2 threads (unlike hyperthreading which can handle 2 threads, but has only 1 set of integer pipelines, so it really only executes one thread at a time.)

We will not market modules, we will only market cores; modules are how the designers lay out the processor, but that will not be part of the marketing or naming.
:eek: It seems we have a lurker, right from AMD, nice to see :)
 

JF-AMD

AMD Rep (Server)
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
163 (0.06/day)
Likes
229
#38
So if I have 1 thread, then I can only use 1 integer pipeline?
Correct. Just like every other architecture out there.

Splitting a thread over multiple integer cores would create a scheduling nightmare. You'd spend so much time going back and forth over the two cores that you would lose cycles and efficiency.

Imagine this scenario:

A+B=C
C*4=D
D+E=F
F*G=H
H+I=J

It is all incredibly linear. You could take A+B and run it on one core, but the second core handling that thread would have to wait to get C, so you lose a cycle for that second core. Then you do C*4 on the second cycle, but that second core is still sitting idle. But you probably lose a cycle of overhead now because the second core is saying "do you have anything for me"? The checksum to sync the two cores takes a cycle, so now you are at 3 cycles and you have only run 2 instructions on the 2 cores, and one has sat idle 100% of the time.

Obviously you can see where this goes nowhere. Fast. The only place it would work is if a thread was extremely parallel, but there will still be some checksum/synchronizaiton that will eat up overhead and create latency/inefficiency.

So then you think, well, if we have inefficiency and pipelines sitting idle, why not use SMT to load multiple threads on a single core and take advantage of the pipeline gaps/stalls?

Then you are breaking up all of the threads across multiple cores, creating gaps in pipelines and then trying to load multiple threads to fill in those gaps. Definitely not efficient.

:eek: It seems we have a lurker, right from AMD, nice to see :)
I am not a lurker, I contribute ;)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#39
I'll be back in this thread in April, 6 months from now, when these cpus launch.

Toodles!

:laugh:



EDIT:, yeah, I'll give you that, JF-AMD, you are always on top of the Bulldozer threads, not quite lurking, and I personally appreciate the info.


But ya know, I'll take the contribution of a board and a few cpus...:roll:
 

JF-AMD

AMD Rep (Server)
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
163 (0.06/day)
Likes
229
#40
I have stacks of processors on my desk right now. But if I start giving them away, I'll get hammered with requests. Plus, they are server processors ;)
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#41
I am not a lurker, I contribute ;)
I meant more of a lurker in a good way, you're to AMD as Batman is to Gotham :laugh: Seldom seen, but banishing evil when you are seen. It's just really nice to see some sort of representation from a large corporation actually taking part in our forums, nice to know you guys do care what we loonies think.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#42
I have stacks of processors on my desk right now. But if I start giving them away, I'll get hammered with requests. Plus, they are server processors ;)
Heh. Well, when you want a unbiased opinion of those cpus, you know where to send them. :laugh:

I personally don't care if it's server or desktop...I just need a board with an included PCI-E 16x slot. Those Tyan G34 boards with 4x PCI-E slots seems right up my alley, actually.

It's really the entry price that has most of us stay away from server-based products, even though they seem to be built for a far greater workload. For me, really, it's the memory pricing.

Anyhow, crunchers need cores.


But if you find some of my posts from 5-6 years ago, you'll see that i was posting aobut every house having a server, and then using "thin" clients to actualyl access that server and it's grunt. If that server with 4x vgas could run 4x games...served to various parts of my house, man, I'm in. I know the grunt is there...could get 24 cores, and 4x vgas...

I've got 4 kids, so need 6 PCs. But 6 full-size pcs genreate alot of heat, and suck back alot of power, too.

House is already wired for it, too. All i need is to dump a server into the mechanical room, ethernet and such is all there and waiting.



Oh, and I'm special, you know. Just because you help me out, doesn't mean others are special too...:roll:

Don't let the fact that I'm special in the head deter you. :laugh: Heck, I knew who you were before anyone else here. LOL.
 

JF-AMD

AMD Rep (Server)
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
163 (0.06/day)
Likes
229
#43
Wow, never heard it explained that way. I am just selfish. When people post rumors and lies about my products I can either stamp it out quickly online or spend the next 3 months fielding emails from the press and sales guys where I have to refute the same stuff over and over and over.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#44
Wow, never heard it explained that way. I am just selfish. When people post rumors and lies about my products I can either stamp it out quickly online or spend the next 3 months fielding emails from the press and sales guys where I have to refute the same stuff over and over and over.
We appreciate it. Really. I personally think you're doing the right thing.


Now, where's my cpus?



:laugh:
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#45
I need a better clocking chip for my water loop, so I can send my 940 to my parents (they are heating their house with a even crappier 9850). I only use AMD systems after dealing with underpowered stuttering Intel systems that I have to put video cards in anyway.

Plus ATI raped me on a X1800XT, big time, and my ass still hurts, I sold it to a work intel build for $50 a short while later. Then I coudn't even fold on it.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#46
I need a better clocking chip for my water loop, so I can send my 940 to my parents (they are heating their house with a even crappier 9850). I only use AMD systems after dealing with underpowered stuttering Intel systems that I have to put video cards in anyway.

Plus ATI raped me on a X1800XT, big time, and my ass still hurts, I sold it to a work inel build for $50 a short while later. Then I coudn't even fold on it.
Sounds like you have had some pretty bad luck. :(

I admit if the 8 core bulldozers (or something from sandy bridge) overclock well on water it will be enough to push me to my first custom loop.
I have been loving the H50 but it's hardly water cooling compared to a custom loop with a nice fat 480mm rad :D
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#47
3.71 isn't bad really. My parents 4XXX series card was on par with my old 4850 untill memory became the factor. but they could use the extra CPU horsepower, and I could use it rendering video. Last night a "CCC video took 40 minutes as it wasn't running on the GPU, but on the CPU."

The poor support, and broken promises type of continued fucking is starting to piss me off. Unless AMD comes out with something great I will have a Intel/Nvidia machine, Adobe acceleration, faster CPU based rendering, better memory support. I spent money again and again and each time the promises ATI/AMD make are broken, CCC GPU based encoding? Sure for a few formats that there are freeware converters everywhere for, so I can convert that already small mpg onto my phone. How about something hard like the ability to hardware render M2TS from my canon? Nope, gotta run that on the CPU. Oh yeah, its slower than two series old Intel chips. That is unless you want to purchase this software, and oh, it only works on some things, so you still need all these other codecs that don't work together and cause issues.


You want to accelerate videos and upscale them with the hardware you purchased? That costs extra.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#48
3.71 isn't bad really. My parents 4XXX series card was on par with my old 4850 untill memory became the factor. but they could use the extra CPU horsepower, and I could use it rendering video. Last night a "CCC video took 40 minutes as it wasn't running on the GPU, but on the CPU."

The poor support, and broken promises type of continued fucking is starting to piss me off. Unless AMD comes out with something great I will have a Intel/Nvidia machine, Adobe acceleration, faster CPU based rendering, better memory support. I spent money again and again and each time the promises ATI/AMD make are broken, CCC GPU based encoding? Sure for a few formats that there are freeware converters everywhere for, so I can convert that already small mpg onto my phone. How about something hard like the ability to hardware render M2TS from my canon? Nope, gotta run that on the CPU. Oh yeah, its slower than two series old Intel chips. That is unless you want to purchase this software, and oh, it only works on some things, so you still need all these other codecs that don't work together and cause issues.


You want to accelerate videos and upscale them with the hardware you purchased? That costs extra.
It seams like no matter what you do every company will find a way to accidentally screw you over, i admit the only reason i can be so happy with AMD is i don't really do ha much with my computer, right now some gaming is he only thing that puts any of my hardware to use the rest of the time it's just watching video and poking the net.

I really hope that whatever brands your next upgrade involves that things work out better than they have been for you.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#49
Here I made this:

We can only hope...

 
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
1,066 (0.24/day)
Likes
193
Location
Look behind you!!
System Name NEW
Processor Intel 4770 non-K
Motherboard Gigabyte H81M-DS2V
Cooling CM Hyper 212 plus
Memory 16gb Muskin
Video Card(s) XFX 380X 4gb
Storage Sandisk 120gb plus WD blue 1tb
Display(s) AOC 23.5 LED bl
Case XIGMATEK
Audio Device(s) motherboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 500
#50
I have stacks of processors on my desk right now. But if I start giving them away, I'll get hammered with requests. Plus, they are server processors ;)
A maaan!!! :confused:


I wanna build a server :p