• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD's Latest AGESA Update Removes PCIe 4.0 Support from Pre-X570 Motherboards

Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,135 (4.30/day)
Good thing this isn't a really big deal... but damn, this is an Intel-like move from AMD, ehh team red fans? :p

Suddenly throwing rocks at big bad intel yields a glass house source.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
4,493 (6.04/day)
Location
Poland
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 CL8
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
in the end good for amd,doesn't matter for most users,dick move for enthusiasts.

If I owned a high end x470 board and planned to move to 3000 I'd be a little annoyed that amd didn't let the manufacturer implement it even though they had come out with 4.0 bios so it was probably working fine.
 

Nkd

Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
268 (0.06/day)
This is a very odd move by AMD, I get pci 4.0 is a selling point for x570 buts it's not even that big of a selling point unless you just need the fastest ssd's possible. So why disable it on older models?

I'm curious if there are technical reasons behind it or if it's just "buy more x570"
because none of the boards fully meet the pcie4 requirement and it’s AMD that will get blamed when shit doesn’t work 100%. Board makers aren’t really being100% clean here. They shouldn’t be allowing connection that doesn’t meat the standard 100%.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
4,493 (6.04/day)
Location
Poland
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 CL8
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
because none of the boards fully meet the pcie4 requirement and it’s AMD that will get blamed when shit doesn’t work 100%. Board makers aren’t really being100% clean here. They shouldn’t be allowing connection that doesn’t meat the standard 100%.
I'm unaware now it's amd who have to deal with asus or biostar's rma tickets.but agree this should be verified,not just by manufacturer's word.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,135 (4.30/day)
because none of the boards fully meet the pcie4 requirement and it’s AMD that will get blamed when shit doesn’t work 100%. Board makers aren’t really being100% clean here. They shouldn’t be allowing connection that doesn’t meat the standard 100%.
lol, meat the standards? We talking steak? :p

AIBs mentioned that some boards could meet the requirements. I thought it would be up to the board partners to figure this out. But in the end, I agree AMD is simply protecting themselves and as splash damage, gets to sell more x570 boards for the unadorned who think they need it.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
2,161 (0.41/day)
Location
United Kingdom
I'm unaware now it's amd who have to deal with asus or biostar's rma tickets
AMD ultimately takes a financial hit if a board with one of their chipsets is RMA'd. If it's RMA'd because of an unsupported feature like PCIe 4 causing instability, that's a flat loss for no good reason. And of course, people who are dumb enough to RMA motherboards because they enabled a feature that made the board unstable, are also the same people who will go around flaming AMD for the rest of eternity.

If you absolutely need PCIe 4 support, stop being a cheapass mofo and shell out the damn cash for an X570 board. Otherwise, shut your damn mouth, because AMD doesn't owe you anything.
 
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
570 (1.22/day)
Location
London, UK
AMD turning into an Intel? More to come soon hehe
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
422 (0.67/day)
Location
Asia
Processor Intel Core i5 4590
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97x Gaming 3
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-800MHz [1600MT/s]
Video Card(s) XFX RX 560 4GB
Storage Transcend SSD370S 128GB; Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S20D300 20" 768p TN
Case Delux DLC-MV888
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair VS450
Mouse A4Tech OP-620D
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores BaseMark GPU : 250 Point
That not cool at all and community needs to raise against this BS ! If motherboard vendors are ok with offering PCIe 4.0 on older platforms then what does AMD care about ? Imagine all the flak Intel would had reveived for pulling such a move !
This is not software, it is a hardware specification. You cant update hardware like software. PCI-e 4.0 need new wiring in PCB which cannot be obtaned using software update.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
313 (0.46/day)
Location
France
Processor RYZEN 5 1600
Motherboard ROG STRIX B450-i
Cooling NOCTUA NH-L9 + 3 NF-F12
Memory CORSAIR VENGEANCE LPX 2x8 GB 3600Mhz ( running at 3200 )
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX 1080Ti OC
Storage SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
Display(s) SAMSUNG U28D590D 4K 28''
Case NODE 202
Power Supply CORSAIR SF600
Mouse Logitech G203 Prodigy
Keyboard Ajazz ak33
This is not software, it is a hardware specification. You cant update hardware like software. PCI-e 4.0 need new wiring in PCB which cannot be obtaned using software update.
What are you talking about man you live under a rock or something ? There are already plenty of x470/b450 boards that do offer PCIe 4.0 and have been tested and work perfectly fine.
PCIe 4.0 doesn't need new wiring it's a question of signal integrity / trace length and it happens that many boards meet those requirements on their 1st PCIe slot , it's for the rest of the PCIe slots that things become tricky and where X570 chipset comes to play !
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2005
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
I think we still need to keep in mind that AMD allow us to run Ryzen 3000 cpu on older board. The competition have many time made users requiring buying a new motherboard for no good reason.

In this case, they could just have said, Everyone need to buy an X570 board on a new sockets. But still, you can update to a modern Ryzen on 3x0 series chipset with the only downside of not having a feature that you do not need.

Let say it's not the perfect scenario but it is in line with what they said all along. It's not like that come out of nowhere. And like many people specified, when PCI-E 4.0 will be required, these board will start to be outdated
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
4,493 (6.04/day)
Location
Poland
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 CL8
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
AMD ultimately takes a financial hit if a board with one of their chipsets is RMA'd. If it's RMA'd because of an unsupported feature like PCIe 4 causing instability, that's a flat loss for no good reason. And of course, people who are dumb enough to RMA motherboards because they enabled a feature that made the board unstable, are also the same people who will go around flaming AMD for the rest of eternity.

If you absolutely need PCIe 4 support, stop being a cheapass mofo and shell out the damn cash for an X570 board. Otherwise, shut your damn mouth, because AMD doesn't owe you anything.
well are amd supposed to replace working chipsets ? with what ? where is the part where they take the hit ?
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
422 (0.67/day)
Location
Asia
Processor Intel Core i5 4590
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97x Gaming 3
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-800MHz [1600MT/s]
Video Card(s) XFX RX 560 4GB
Storage Transcend SSD370S 128GB; Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S20D300 20" 768p TN
Case Delux DLC-MV888
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair VS450
Mouse A4Tech OP-620D
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores BaseMark GPU : 250 Point
What are you talking about man you live under a rock or something ? There are already plenty of x470/b450 boards that do offer PCIe 4.0 and have been tested and work perfectly fine.
PCIe 4.0 doesn't need new wiring it's a question of signal integrity / trace length and it happens that many boards meet those requirements on their 1st PCIe slot , it's for the rest of the PCIe slots that things become tricky and where X570 chipset comes to play !
OEM downgrade VRM of gpus from the reference card, you expect them to build PCI-e 3.0 board with 4.0 specification. Mobo manufactures better make PCI-e 3.0 board with PCI-e 2.0 specification than PCI-e 4.
Mobo manufactures dont even supports all I/O of chipset, but they will support next gen PCI-e in mobo. It only possible in fools heaven.

New high speed interfence dont new wiring then why we need new cable for 5G/10G Ehternet?? Cant we just download new cabel on those old cable??
Where is my Skylake CPU download?? My CPU already supports 84W TDP and so does my mobo. So where is my download??
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
4,493 (6.04/day)
Location
Poland
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 CL8
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
6,513 (1.89/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo
Processor Amd R5 2600X@4.1
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2304
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3466cas16 16Gb in two sticks.
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8056 vega 3dmark timespy
well,this could've at least been an option for manufacturers to test and determine.
if a manufacturer knows their best boards can handle it and do it fine,which is probably the case here,they could've been given the chance to do so.
amd used the case of low-end boards to lock everyone out.

not saying they did bad,they did fine for themselves,but absolutely against enthusiasts.
You do say such or imply it to be the case so often.

Be real motherboard makers scarcely give a rats ass about the end user post sale ,we're lucky they bother updating the bios at all, they are not going to retest and re certify all their old boards , some already updated many times so multile versions of the same board too so they can prove pciex4 compatibility , they would f##$ up their own new motherboard sales and go against they're chip manufacturers guidelines.

And can anyone post an x470 board advertised as pciex4 compliant new or old, I think it doesn't exist except obviously in china as a hacked special.

So no , Amd didn't do anything wrong here.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
98 (0.03/day)
Location
Christchurch, New Zealand
I expect longtime BIOS modders to get around AGESA updates so users can retain PCIe 4.0 compatibility and have the bug fixes/stability improvements.

128701
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2011
Messages
1,214 (0.40/day)
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel i7-3930k @ 4GHz Undervolted
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth X79
Cooling Intel AIO
Memory 8x4GB DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage LSI 9266-8i|3xHitachi SAS 15K600 450GB RAID5|6x WD RE Enterprise 4TB in RAID 10|HP Ultrium 1760 Tape
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Fractal Define XL Black
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi Uber/Sony CDP-XA20ES/Pioneer CT-656>Sony TA-F630ESD>Sennheiser HD600
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Logitech G613
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
The comments about "AMD only did this to protect themselves" are BS IMO.

Let me give you one example: Asus Crosshair IV AM3 supported Bulldozer CPU's and if I remember correctly even Piledriver worked but none of them worked perfectly which was expected.
So please explain to me why at that time AMD didn't do anything? I can give you a hint - they were demolished by Intel and needed every possible income.

IMO they disabled PCIe4 only so people buy x570 and nothing else.
If board makers tested it and found it works correctly (in this case it either works or it doesn't!) I don't see any problem.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,766 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
4,493 (6.04/day)
Location
Poland
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 CL8
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
Till gpus saturate pcie 3, no point of pcie 4 yet...
to be fair all we saw was 5700xt,that's 2070 equivalent.who knows when 2080ti-eqivalent comes around.we might see ~5%,not much but you see the tendency.
the more I think about it,amd would win if nvidia came out with 3080ti soon.they'd get crushed in gpu power,but imagine people selling their coffee lakes for ryzen :laugh:
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
422 (0.67/day)
Location
Asia
Processor Intel Core i5 4590
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97x Gaming 3
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-800MHz [1600MT/s]
Video Card(s) XFX RX 560 4GB
Storage Transcend SSD370S 128GB; Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S20D300 20" 768p TN
Case Delux DLC-MV888
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair VS450
Mouse A4Tech OP-620D
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores BaseMark GPU : 250 Point
separate issue.


or via bios download
I am saying that an OEM will cheap out from base than add advance feature.
Are you saynig that we can download hardware like RAM or CPU??
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
4,493 (6.04/day)
Location
Poland
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 CL8
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
Are you saynig that we can download hardware like RAM or CPU??
I don't think asus required you to download the x570 chipset.

and it's a separate issue of different kind.what does gpu vrm have to do with this,seriously ?
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
422 (0.67/day)
Location
Asia
Processor Intel Core i5 4590
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97x Gaming 3
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-800MHz [1600MT/s]
Video Card(s) XFX RX 560 4GB
Storage Transcend SSD370S 128GB; Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S20D300 20" 768p TN
Case Delux DLC-MV888
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair VS450
Mouse A4Tech OP-620D
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores BaseMark GPU : 250 Point
I don't think asus required you to download the x570 chipset.

and it's a separate issue of different kind.what does gpu vrm have to do with this,seriously ?
Then how can you will get PCI-e 4.0??
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
4,493 (6.04/day)
Location
Poland
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 CL8
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
Then how can you will get PCI-e 4.0??
there's a chart in the thread,use it.
and pci-e lines are on the cpu.the hardware is there.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,608 (1.44/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2966MHz 16-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
Till gpus saturate pcie 3, no point of pcie 4 yet...
Absolutely. I kinda chuckle on those looking on first gen pcie4 crap controller nvme ssd's and wet their pants only on useless sequential speeds also...
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
422 (0.67/day)
Location
Asia
Processor Intel Core i5 4590
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97x Gaming 3
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-800MHz [1600MT/s]
Video Card(s) XFX RX 560 4GB
Storage Transcend SSD370S 128GB; Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S20D300 20" 768p TN
Case Delux DLC-MV888
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair VS450
Mouse A4Tech OP-620D
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores BaseMark GPU : 250 Point
there's a chart in the thread,use it.
and pci-e lines are on the cpu.
That chart shows that a Cat5 cabel can work with a 10G NIC but dont guaranty that the all data is transmitted.
 
Top