1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD's R600 mysteries revealed

Discussion in 'News' started by NamesDontMatter, Feb 14, 2007.

  1. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    803 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    "AMD's R600 mysteries revealed" Says TheINQ.net
    First clarification TheINQ makes says that all cards will be 9' their will be no 12' variants. The picture of the card that made its rounds last week was not for a PC, what was it for? Well it was for Apple. According to TheINQ "At present, there is actually only one design for both OEM/SI and retail/AIBs, and that one is 8-pin/6-pin. You can use 6+6-pin configuration, but if you do not plug 8-pin/6-pin, the ATI Catalyst driver suite will forbid you to enter the "Overdrive Zone"." This means it is coming with a fully legal overclocking mode. Current clock estimates are 1 and 1.1GHz GDDR-4 memory in DDR mode (which translates to 2.0-2.2 GHz), the actual GPU clock will be set at 800Mhz.

    TheINQ also states, "These estimates are for the A13 revision. As we wrote quite some time ago, AMD/ATI decided to re-spin the chip to solve some problems it had with the product. It turns out that those problems involved engineers trying to get as high a clock as possible and to try to lower the power consumption, which is pretty steep right now - but still within do-able limits."

    TheINQ also notes that the R600 will include "Smart" bios that can detect thermal leakage and throttle down the core in case of this event.

    Source: TheINQ.com
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    816 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    woow i thought 12" was alittle tooo long lol the bios sounds neat
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    The power consumption will require a lot of you to buy a new PSU. If you think your Antec neo, etc will do, you are diluted.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    14,301 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,196
    the news just keeps getting better!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. C.Ash

    C.Ash New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    204 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, Missouri
    "their will be no 12" variants" ;)
     
  6. TXcharger

    TXcharger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    431 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    SAN ANTONE, TX
    i think thats a typo and its supposed to be 9 feet not 9 inches
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    Ahhhh, great stuff, 12" :laugh:

    I guess it was just bragging, eh? ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Saurian New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    40 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The funny thing is, as delicious as this all sounds, honestly for those of us running X8xx/FX5xxx/6xxx cards still, honestly the X2600 series looks like heaven, ya know! Cheap enough to allow for the switch to PCIe to finally stop being put off for a decent graphics card to boot! The question is though...how low can you go and still run Crysis.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    Probably pretty low, just the characters will be replaced bystick men and the trees airbrushed on using microsoft paint :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    This is much relief and good news. I wish they would have worked to get the power consumption really low. If they could make cards that use like 120 to 130 watts, that would be fine. Not these 200+ watters.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    Yeah, think all ATI users here gave a collective Sigh of relief

    ATI..:rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Earth
    None of this should realy suprise any of you. The first reports are always wrong!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. petepete

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    318 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    That previous chart in chinese or whatever was SO fake..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. rhythmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,028 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
    I'm not diluted, I'm full strength freeze-dried maniac...i.e. deluded :roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    ditto
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)