• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

An AMD Gaming Evolved game that uses nVidia PhysX! WTF?!

Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
681 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i GTX
Memory Patriot Gamer 2 Series 8GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 460 4GB
Storage 1TB WD Red
Display(s) 1920x1080 HDTV
Case NZXT Phantom 240
Power Supply Corsair CX750M 750w
Software Win7 Professional though I hate it, I want XP back!
#1
How is this even possible that this exists?

Why would a game developer under AMD use nVidia's physics engine over AMD's own?

Why not TressFX?

Why not at least Havok?

And if nVidia keeps their technology so closed why is it even possible for an AMD developer to use it?

Or is nVidia not really as uptight about Physx as people here say?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
What game?
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.75/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#3
Uh you do realize PhysX has an entirely CPU dependent version thats completely agnostic and functions identically to Havok correct?
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#5
yea what game is it, obviously it will run on the cpu but what game do you mean will use the gpu.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
1,769 (0.39/day)
Likes
96
Location
Singapore
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k 3.40Ghz @ 4.50Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P67 UD7 B3
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2O 920
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3 4GB X2 1600Mhz (Model F3-12800CL7Q-8GBXM)
Video Card(s) Powercolor R9 290 (Stock)
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital Black Cavier 2TB X2
Display(s) Dell U2715H 2560X1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1000W
Mouse Logitech G510
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur Spectrum
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Professional
#6
No offense but this thread sounds like you're talking to a mirror. NAME THE GAME! :slap:
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
681 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i GTX
Memory Patriot Gamer 2 Series 8GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 460 4GB
Storage 1TB WD Red
Display(s) 1920x1080 HDTV
Case NZXT Phantom 240
Power Supply Corsair CX750M 750w
Software Win7 Professional though I hate it, I want XP back!
#7
Bioshock Infinite.

Sorry.

I would do it if it meant $$ from both companies
True, but with as strict as everyone here claims nVidia is with Physx it is surprising they would allow their technology to be used in an AMD game.

But more surprising to me that AMD would put their Gaming Evolved stamp on a game that is based on nVidia technology and not on their own TressFX.

It really makes AMD look foolish that their developers aren't even interested in using their technology.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#8
No NVidia physX in that game.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.75/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#9
Bioshock runs on Unreal Engine 3

primary Physics engine for Unreal Engine is PhysX

developers can choose to use GPU-PhysX if they want or just Nvidia CPU PhysX.

It doesnt matter who sponsered the game.

PhysX is a phyiscs middleware in the same vein as, Havok and Bullet Physics.

Bioshock Infinite being run on Unreal Engine 3 = CPU-PhysX at worst

Getting bent out of shape over it does nothing.

PhysX in its CPU form is nothing more than middleware and its built into Unreal Engine

The reason that logo is there is because of the Unreal logo

Unreal engine is paid for by developers, EPIC paid for PhysX and implemented it into their game engine, thus both logos appear.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
681 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i GTX
Memory Patriot Gamer 2 Series 8GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 460 4GB
Storage 1TB WD Red
Display(s) 1920x1080 HDTV
Case NZXT Phantom 240
Power Supply Corsair CX750M 750w
Software Win7 Professional though I hate it, I want XP back!
#10
No NVidia physX in that game.


Getting bent out of shape over it does nothing.
I'm not getting bent out of shape about anything.

I'm just saying it doesn't make sense, especially for AMD.

Everyone says nVidia is so closed with PhysX, but yet they allowed it to be used in an AMD game.

Though looking at it again, it kind of makes sense, because now nVidia can brag that AMD had to use their physics engine instead of TressFX.

It really doesn't make sense for AMD though, it really makes them look foolish.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.75/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#11
Tress FX is not a god damn physics engine. /sigh

literally the ONLY thing Tress FX does is HAIR = thats it. Could they expand on it? yes will they knowing AMD yes will it end up working well ? probably not

its not NVIDIA doing anything

again EPIC paid Nvidia to license PhysX for their game engine. same as they did Bink Video by Rad Game Tools etc etc

Irrational games then licensed Unreal Engine 3 from Epic for their game.

By licensing the game engine they automatically got licenses to Bink Video / PhysX etc etc etc. Its why licensing game engines is expensive as not only are you paying for support you are paying for the license and accompanying technology. This is why Unreal Engine is so popular its pretty much a 1 stop shop to get what you need to make a game.

Irrational games could add their own physics engine if they wanted to but the PhysX logo would still most likely be shown due to licensing agreements between Nvidia and EPIC games.

So how is AMD foolish? Irrational games paid for a game engine license with that license came Nvidia PhysX end of story.

Unreal Engine 3 games = physx and Havok

Developers can pick either one as both are MIDDLEWARE, but UE3 comes with PhysX by default. '

Even my old developers kit auto installs PhysX.

Regardless it does not matter,

Physx on the CPU and Havok on CPU both accomplish the exact same thing. There is nothing foolish about it Nvidia has a potent physics library that is supported by a vast majority of tools

example Autodesk maya has a direct plugin for PhysX, so if working with game assets in Maya you can test physics effects in real time without having export content to the game engine and run it.

right now theres basically 3 ways Developers can go when it comes to Physics.

Nvidia = PhysX
Intel = Havok
Other = code your own.

Option 3 costs far more money than option 1 or 2 and if starting from scratch. Option 3 is still more expensive than 1 and 2 COMBINED.

A fourth option does exist = Bullet Physics but then that engine seems just about dead. Only Futuremark and the Starwars Force Unleashed games used it. I think Rockstar did as well. Even then it still hasnt been properly GPU accellerated last time i checked. The creator of the software now works for AMD and has for the last 3 years still nothing to show for it really.
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,024 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,880
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#12
Everyone says nVidia is so closed with PhysX, but yet they allowed it to be used in an AMD game.
You may use PhysX in any game there is no limitation like that. It would probably be grounds for epic lawsuit anyway.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
681 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i GTX
Memory Patriot Gamer 2 Series 8GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 460 4GB
Storage 1TB WD Red
Display(s) 1920x1080 HDTV
Case NZXT Phantom 240
Power Supply Corsair CX750M 750w
Software Win7 Professional though I hate it, I want XP back!
#13
Tress FX is not a god damn physics engine. /sigh

literally the ONLY thing Tress FX does is HAIR = thats it. Could they expand on it? yes will they knowing AMD yes will it end up working well ? probably not
Hair is the only thing it has been used for.

However, according to AMD it is an physics engine for rendering soft body objects.

It can be used for hair, grass, cloth, etc.

And from what I've seen in Bioshock so far cloth is the only physics element in the game.

Nothing else in the environment even moves...

So TressFX certainly could have been used.

So how is AMD foolish?

They are foolish by slapping their name on a game running on a nVidia engine instead of their own.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#14
no its an unreal engine and unreal adopts physx in UDK and even in bioshock infinite I believe it only runs on the cpu only as I have seen no difference between amd and nvidia cards in BI.

and many say nvidia is closed off with physx because if it does not have an nvidia name on it they cripple it, even after the rewrite on the physx sdk 3 its still crippled on modern cpu's.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,739 (2.75/day)
Likes
3,634
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#15
Hair is the only thing it has been used for.

However, according to AMD it is an physics engine for rendering soft body objects.

It can be used for hair, grass, cloth, etc.

And from what I've seen in Bioshock so far cloth is the only physics element in the game.

Nothing else in the environment even moves...

So TressFX certainly could have been used.

So how is AMD foolish?

They are foolish by slapping their name on a game running on a nVidia engine instead of their own.
Again theres only 2 options for Physics

why use Tress FX when it covers only 1 thing? that does not constitute a Physics Library for use in a game

Bullet Physics would have been the AMD alternative to use, considering again they HIRED the guy that originally created it works for AMD, and has for the last 3 years. Tress FX from what I can tell is work of trying to make Bullet Physics GPU Accelerated. So what they have shown = all they have managed to accomplish in three years.

that leaves again just Havok or PhysX as viable alternatives.

Regardless of which way you look at it niether AMD nor Nvidia really give great performance in Bioshock Infinite, frame rates may go as high as 150-200 but due to runts and drops on BOTH brands the way the game feels its runn much much lower. Drivers have begun correcting that but I digress thats something for another time.

PhysX is essentially a seperate entity now from NVIDIA, they own it yes they license it yes. But it has no bearing on GeForce products. because regardless of GPU acceleration or not it is one of only two viable middleware physics engines widely used.

and how is it an Nvidia engine? when its CPU only. Nvidia doesnt prioritize development for Nvidia CPUs cause Nvidia cpus dont exist in the x86 space. Their PhysX library is agnostic in that it sucks on all CPUs, but regardless of that fact, it works on every platform

360 / PS3 / 720 / PS4 / Wii U / PC / iOS / Android etc etc etc.

You are too hung up on it being Nvidia PhysX. When only running on the CPU drop the Nvidia from that its seperate its middleware, it is no different in this regard than Sapphire TriXX for overclocking. Its a middleware software package that serves a purpose.

Other Examples of Middleware for games include but are not limited to.

Speed Tree
Havok
PhysX
Bink Video
Game Spy
Emotion FX
RAD Game Tools Miles Sound
Simul Weather
Umbra Software
Geomerics
etc etc

these are all Middleware

Slap Nvidia in front of those and people would bitch about it.
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#16
This is CPU PhysX. It works on both AMD and Intel processors. Has nothing to do with the GPU which "AMD Gaming Evolved" is attributed to. I see no cause for concern or surprise for something that is so commonplace.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,570 (2.08/day)
Likes
3,905
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#17
Err Bioshock was created on a Modified unreal engine in 2007.. PhysX was bought from Ageia in 2008 by Nvidia. PhysX was not created by Nvidia.. 2K games made Bioshock not AMD.. So, it's not really up to AMD.. Blame Epic games for changing there physics engine, because they used the Havok Physics in there first game. :toast: The cake is a lie!
 

hukondejo

New Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#18
(source: https://developer.nvidia.com/physx-games)
"Bioshock Infinite
APEX Clothing - PhysX 3.1
BioShock Infinite is a first-person shooter video game developed by Irrational Games, and published by 2K Games. The game is using APEX Clothing for Elizabeth which helps to provide a more realistic character interaction."

The game doesn't contains the full physx only a part of it. APEX is just a part of physx technology thats why they need to indicate NVidia's logo.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,801 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,575
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#19
This is CPU PhysX. It works on both AMD and Intel processors. Has nothing to do with the GPU which "AMD Gaming Evolved" is attributed to. I see no cause for concern or surprise for something that is so commonplace.
if i remember correctly running PhysX of the CPU takes a lot of power, and i think the first cpu that could actually handle it was the AMD Phenom II X6 or am i wrong?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.58/day)
Likes
13,523
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20
if i remember correctly running PhysX of the CPU takes a lot of power, and i think the first cpu that could actually handle it was the AMD Phenom II X6 or am i wrong?
wrong. its poorly coded and single threaded, but it could always run on the CPU if nvidia had wanted it to.
 
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
5,846 (2.86/day)
Likes
5,225
Location
Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
System Name Monster Panzer Max [MPM]/Nostalg33k/Shield/Neo U1/Nokia 5
Processor i5-6600K @4.4/C2D E8500/Tegra K1/Amlogic S905 4X1.535ghz Cortex A53/Snapdragon 430 8x Cortex A53
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7/XFX 650i Ultra/nvidia/AMlogic P200-2G/uh?
Cooling Corsair H115i /Alphacool Eisberg /magnesium/Aluminum heatsink/uh? bis
Memory 4x4gb HyperX Predator 2800 CL14/2gb DDR2 800/2gb/2gb LPDDR3/2gb LPDDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 ARMOR 8gb OC/XFX 8800 GTX/GK20A/Mali 450MP5/Adreno 505
Storage 120gb OCZ VertexIII,60gb Patriot Blaze,1tb/8gb SSHD,2xToshiba 1tb/none/16gb+64gb/32gb/16gb+128gb
Display(s) Philips 273E3LH 27" 1920x1080 1ms/Toshiba 32L1343DG 1920x1080/8"1920x1200/5.2" 1280x720
Case Cougar Panzer Max/none/well... /Minix Neo U1/mono-bloc aluminum
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon3Di/SB Audigy 2 Platinum/HDMI output
Power Supply Seasonic M12II Evo 750 /Enermax Coolergiant 480/5v 3A/5V 2A
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum/Minix Neo A2 Lite/touch
Keyboard Logitech G410 Atlas Spectrum/Minix Neo A2 Lite/touch
Software Win10 64/none/Android 5.1.1 Zombiepop/Android 5.1.1 + Kodi/Android 7.1.1 Nougat (08.01.17 SPatch)
Benchmark Scores bench...mark? i do leave mark on bench sometime, to remember which one is the most comfortable. :o
#21
http://img.techpowerup.org/130428/BioShockInfinitePhysX.png



I'm not getting bent out of shape about anything.

I'm just saying it doesn't make sense, especially for AMD.

Everyone says nVidia is so closed with PhysX, but yet they allowed it to be used in an AMD game.

Though looking at it again, it kind of makes sense, because now nVidia can brag that AMD had to use their physics engine instead of TressFX.

It really doesn't make sense for AMD though, it really makes them look foolish.
after reading all that ... i wanted to say ... So What?:rolleyes:...

i play Bioshock Infinite, i played on my GTX480/460 hawk(with a PhII X2 511 for the 460) and my R7950 (ofc the 7950 gave better result even with the PhysX calculated by the X4 955) Bioshock is not what we can call a "heavy" game ... it runs all fine on a 8800/9800GT (1gb at last and relatively playable on high/very high)

Gaming Evolved means : NONONO its not for Nvidia they have TWIMTBP no Nvidia on that HERETIC!??!?! luckly some Dev are inteligent enough to split the apple and use both tech

TL:DR oh well i see some people with good senses (no name involved) also since its only Apex its the same as Tomb Raider 2013 and TressFX only 1 thing is concerned in both case, lara's hair for one and Elizabeth clothings in the other.

i also launched a Ultimate setting TR2k13 on my GTX480 hufff 55fps average what a loss for enabling a AMD tech on a Nvidia GPU ;)
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
523 (0.25/day)
Likes
122
Processor Intel Core i7-5930k @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99-A
Cooling Corsair H110
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) 2x Titan X @ 1450/8000
Storage WD Black 4TB + Agility 3 240GB + Seagate 600 240GB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 4k LC-60UD27U
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
#22
It's 2013 and people still don't understand the difference between CPU PhysX (which is meaningless middleware not dependent on Nvidia hardware at all) and GPU-accelerated PhysX (which DOES depend on Nvidia hardware but is in only a tiny handful of games)?

:slap: