• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

an8 sli mobo prob. bios??

CUSACKOTG

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
50 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD athlon 3000 (venice?)
Motherboard ABIT SLI AN8 Guru
Cooling Thermaltake fans all over the case
Memory 2 X 512mb Geil DDR 400
Video Card(s) X800 ATI Radeon
Storage 37gb Raptor WD- 10000Rpm
Display(s) 21 inch Hp p1130 - NOT lcd but a killer mon anyway
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) WANTING one
Power Supply 430w Thermaltake
Software I want a version of LINUX that does all (i have xp)
#1
Hi there,

i have the ABIT an8 sli. MOBO. and am having problems with start up. Turn my machine on, boots to the MOBO post screen then just sits there. Doesn't want to load into Windows and won't even go into BIOS if i hit delete...

The error appearing on my MOBO (MY mobo has a diagnostic POST code definition number sequence on the board that lights up telling the user whats wrong/ right....)

The error says '07' and the explanation says 1. Blank Out screen and 2. Clear CMOS error (in the MOBO manual that is)

Obviously tried resetting the CMOS with jumber and battery- no luck- tried one bios upgrade/ flash and had no luck...


Thanks in advance for any help


System specs. Are as follows:

AMD 64 Bit 3000 Cpu
37 Gb Raptor (10000 rpm)
1gb Geil Ram (3200’s- DDR) –2x 512’S
ATI Radeon x800 PCI/E card (256mb)
Mobo: ABIT anl8 SLI guru
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
1,034 (0.22/day)
Likes
23
System Name Beatle_Juice
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II
Storage Crucial CT064M4 SDD/Samsung 840 EVO 120GB/Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 22" E2220HD
Case Cooler Master ATCS. 840
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic 850W M12II-850 Evolution
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#2
How about trying with one stick of ram?
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.57/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#3
Did you OC any at all as well? Too bad you cant get back into your bios to set all your settings to default. When I first installed my Abit AT8 32x Crossfire mobo, the thing wouldnt boot past a certain point and I couldnt get Windows to install.


The problem I had is I have a card reader and I had my microSD to SD converter card in. Took it out and it booted up and posted no problems. I usually find its something simple I have overlooked
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2007
Messages
398 (0.10/day)
Likes
8
Location
Rhode Island, USA
Processor AMD64 Athlon X2 5600+ Socket AM2- 3.43GHz @ 1.45V
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair
Cooling Zalman 9700 and AS5
Memory 2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800- ???? @ 4-4-4-12 2.2V
Video Card(s) EVGA e-Geforce 8800GTX 768MB 630 Core \ 980 Memory
Storage 2x Seagate 320GB 7200.10 in RAID-0 NVRAID, Seagate SATA 1.5GB/s 160GB
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 226BW 22" Widescreen, DVI
Case Cooler Master RC-690 (Some Mods.)
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 700Watt Thermaltake ToughPower Modular
Software Windows XP Professional SP2- Tweaked :D
#4
are you using a ps2 or usb keyboard? bios' don't support usb keyboards by default, try using a ps2 adapter and holding the insert key on you keyboard while powering on, usually that'll set the settings to default long enough for you to get into the bios..
 

CUSACKOTG

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
50 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD athlon 3000 (venice?)
Motherboard ABIT SLI AN8 Guru
Cooling Thermaltake fans all over the case
Memory 2 X 512mb Geil DDR 400
Video Card(s) X800 ATI Radeon
Storage 37gb Raptor WD- 10000Rpm
Display(s) 21 inch Hp p1130 - NOT lcd but a killer mon anyway
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) WANTING one
Power Supply 430w Thermaltake
Software I want a version of LINUX that does all (i have xp)
#5
thanks guys- i just bought a cheapie mobo. for the time being but i am going to try the insert key advice- as for the RAM i have tried that with no success

cheers
 

mortal

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2006
Messages
151 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Location
Croatia - Umag
Processor q6600 G0 @ 3400 1,30V
Motherboard DFI LP T2R P35
Cooling Sonic tower @ 40C
Memory 2x1024 Team Elite 4 4 4 12 @ 850mhz
Video Card(s) x1950xtx @ vf-900
Storage Segate 500GB server edition
Display(s) Hanns-g
Case Chieftec LCX Big tower
Audio Device(s) Hercules Muse
Power Supply Silwerstone Strider 560W 12.01-12,04V
#6
Did you tried to disconect hdd and optical drive's.