1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

And the CPU socket is toasted

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by xkm1948, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,316 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    i thought it was the PSU. Turns out it was the motherboard. Plugged the CPU into a friend's MoBo ans it boots just fine. I have no idea how the hell this could have happened. Rig was working perfectly and all of a sudden it just decided to crap out. I have been super careful during swap out to 6950X. I am just sitting here scratching my head.

    On close examination pins seems to be fine. I don't know WTH was wrong. It was stuck in a bootup loop. On and off and on and off for over 20 minutes
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2017
  2. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    4,949 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,740
    Location:
    Washington, USA
    Pop goes the hardware
     
    xkm1948 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,316 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Yeah expensive shit
     
  4. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,201 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,956
    Location:
    Rochester area
    doesn't need to be the socket could be a bad vrm bad cap bad trace a issue with one the bga's a dozen other things dead board is dead
     
    HD64G, infrared, R-T-B and 1 other person say thanks.
  5. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,122 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    That sabertooth x99 is cheap compared to some x99 boards...
     
    eidairaman1 and xkm1948 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,248 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,372
    Pretty interesting how the sabertooth went from a truly tough product (990FX R2.0 ) to a cheap product (X99).

    At op did you breadboard it?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,316 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    OK I unplugged the two additional 8+4 plug to mobo and it WILL boot up. But no signal. CPU fan wont spin


    BTW thanks for the awesome help guys. I knew i could count on you guys.
     
  8. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,201 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,956
    Location:
    Rochester area
    one of the vrm stages bought it then
     
    biffzinker, eidairaman1 and xkm1948 say thanks.
  9. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,316 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Both VRM unplugged. Boot no signal. Either VRM plugged, boot looping.

    VRM shot? Time to get the good old RMA then.
     
  10. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,201 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,956
    Location:
    Rochester area
    fried like tofu and Doritos
     
    xkm1948 and eidairaman1 say thanks.
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,248 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,372
    Id say so
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,316 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Well everything is out now. Hope ASUS RMA won't be too much of a hassle.

    IMG_1416.JPG
     
  13. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,084 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,199
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I was gonna say, how much for the cpu, but guess you're gonna rebuild....
     
  14. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,316 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384

    Damn you thought i was gonna sell everything just now? lol


    I hope my old cat doesn't get any funny ideas about knocking stuff to the ground then.

    IMG_1421.JPG
     
    biffzinker, Sasqui, 9700 Pro and 3 others say thanks.
  15. MrGenius

    MrGenius

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    1,280 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,019
    Location:
    On The Highway To Hell \m/
    Kitteh Lazuhs FIRE!!!
    IMG_1421.JPG
     
  16. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,316 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    I am trying to think of any other possible cause. If CPU is toasted it should not even boot. I just don't understand when unplugging VRM can lead to booting up but no display signal
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2017
  17. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,201 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,956
    Location:
    Rochester area
    no power to the peg slots would be a good start
     
  18. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,105 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Sockets don't just go bad. Generally, they have to be physically abused and that is pretty hard to do once the CPU is properly mounted.

    Any component on the motherboard, however can fail. In fact, all electronics age and WILL fail eventually, if given a chance.

    If your motherboard is still under warranty, you don't want to do anything to it that would void that warranty. You might try one stick of RAM at a time just to see what happens. Since the CPU works on another system, I would attempt to reset the BIOS/CMOS settings. If no luck there, RMA it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,316 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384

    Tried all of that. Did not work. Scary part was on friends machine we didn't see if it would enter BIOS. We just did a quick on and off to see if it lights up. I sincerely hope the CPU is not dead. Now I need to ask him to spare me his machine for one more day.

    FML





    OK a quick recap of event:

    I was trying to install Windows 10 onto the new NVMe SSD. Installed fine. Booted up fine. Then after I installed the drivers and thought to reinstall softwares the machine crashed. Then this refuse to boot problem started.

    Waited overnight, eventually it will allow me to boot up again. Run good for about half a day and then dead again. This time it refuse to boot up.

    Fast forward a week. Got the replacment PSU. Hooked up. Stuck in boot loop. If I unplug the VRM 8+4 plug it will stay on buy no signal display over monitor.

    This board does not have a Q-CODE and the TUF detective requires an Andriod. RMA filed with ASUS.


    Before the attempted Windows 10 Reinstallation everything was perfect. Honestly I have no freaking idea what went wrong.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2017
  20. infrared

    infrared Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,078 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,584
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ugh, problems like this are the worst, hopefully smooth sailing once you get the new board. Nice pile of parts btw! ;)
     
    biffzinker and xkm1948 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  21. HD64G

    HD64G

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    744 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    671
    Location:
    Greece
    Cursed OS that win10 ;)

    I hope the CPU is live mate and with a RMA you will be up and running soon :toast:

    BTW, pretty weird series of events you faced there. From the looks of it, mobo is the cause as most already implied.
     
    xkm1948 says thanks.
  22. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,316 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    One small detail. During both of the crash the problem happened right around when I installed the Intel Chipset driver. Now looking back I should have installed the 10.1.1.xx version which is for consumer version. I installed 10.1.2.xx, which is supposed only for server version. Could this be causing all the problem?

    Already got RMA lined up and ready to go ATM. Will the board to ASUS and hope for the best.
     
  23. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,553 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    609
    No i dont think so, that would only be loaded once you are in the OS. If you are having a hard time booting, it's not software related.
     
  24. Filip Georgievski

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2015
    Messages:
    409 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Skopje, Macedonia
    Could be a BIOS coruption from that driver you installed?
    Just a wild guess.

    Take out that NVME, use a spare sata drive with Windows on it, reset the BIOS (take out battery) and try to boot.

    Could be NVME failled or BIOS coruption.
    That is all i can think of.

    P.S: Forgive me for not following whole thread but i read your initial problem and first thing that poped in to my head, i wrote.

    Boot looping tells me 2 things:
    Bad boot device
    BIOS coruption
    Jayz2Cents had a simmilar problem, check out his video.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2017
    xkm1948 says thanks.
  25. xkm1948

    xkm1948

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,316 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Thx for the input Filip, the board has already gone out to RMA. Just mailed it. Frankly i'd rather drive over there since their service center is only 3 hrs drive from where I live.


    Now you mentioned it. Should i also get a replacement for the 960Pro just in case it is faulty? Still within newegg's return for replacement period.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)