• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

annoying mic monitor turtle beach px21

Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,087 (0.27/day)
Location
Upstate NewYork
System Name no remorse
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.7 ht on
Motherboard gigabyte z68x-ud3p-b3
Cooling xspc rasa cpu block, bitspower restop, mcp355
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair vengance 1600 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 570 gtx
Storage 2x32 gb patriot ssd's in raid 0 (os & games) / 2 x 500gb barracuda (storage)
Display(s) 25 inch 1080p widescreen i-inc
Case cooler master haf x
Audio Device(s) turtle beach earforce px21 headset (usb)
Power Supply corsair HX850
Benchmark Scores super pi 1m : 7.160 sec. 34,837 3dmark06
hello all, just received a new headset as a christmas gift (turtle beach px21).
I like the way they feel and sound but one thing that annoys me right away is the "mic monitoring". wich basically has your mic on at all times, anything you say or even breathing will be played thru your headset.

I figured it was an easy fix, just like my old headset in going into the playback options and simply muting the mic.

went there and all I have is this speakers only no mic ...



thought this was odd, did some searching on turtle beach site and came across the user manual for the headset, and it clearly shows a mic slider on that tab where i dont have one, and says to adjust the mic monitoring that way.





thats where i get confused, the mic slider is not there. it used to be there on my old headset, and the manual for this one shows that it should be there.

how do i fix this, it pretty annoying hearing yourself breathe in your headset. Besides the obvious muting of the mic, i use ventrilo and ts3 regularly so that's not an option.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,087 (0.27/day)
Location
Upstate NewYork
System Name no remorse
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.7 ht on
Motherboard gigabyte z68x-ud3p-b3
Cooling xspc rasa cpu block, bitspower restop, mcp355
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair vengance 1600 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 570 gtx
Storage 2x32 gb patriot ssd's in raid 0 (os & games) / 2 x 500gb barracuda (storage)
Display(s) 25 inch 1080p widescreen i-inc
Case cooler master haf x
Audio Device(s) turtle beach earforce px21 headset (usb)
Power Supply corsair HX850
Benchmark Scores super pi 1m : 7.160 sec. 34,837 3dmark06
no idea's? bump...
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,087 (0.27/day)
Location
Upstate NewYork
System Name no remorse
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.7 ht on
Motherboard gigabyte z68x-ud3p-b3
Cooling xspc rasa cpu block, bitspower restop, mcp355
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair vengance 1600 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 570 gtx
Storage 2x32 gb patriot ssd's in raid 0 (os & games) / 2 x 500gb barracuda (storage)
Display(s) 25 inch 1080p widescreen i-inc
Case cooler master haf x
Audio Device(s) turtle beach earforce px21 headset (usb)
Power Supply corsair HX850
Benchmark Scores super pi 1m : 7.160 sec. 34,837 3dmark06
is there anybody out there?
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
27,977 (5.38/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
what about under the recording tab and not the playback tab?
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,254 (0.31/day)
Location
MN
System Name Personal / HTPC
Processor i5-4670k @ 4.4 / i5-4460
Motherboard ASUS z97-AR /ASRock Z87 Extreme4
Cooling Corsair H100i / stock HSF
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 / 8GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega / Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega
Storage 250 GB Crucial SSD MX200, 1TB & 500GB Western Digital / 2x 4TB WD Red
Display(s) 3x 24" Asus Ve248H LED (5760x1080) / 50" LCD TV
Case CoolerMaster XB Evo / CM HAF XB Evo
Power Supply 850W SeaSonic X Series / 750W SeaSonic X Series
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Microsoft Natural Elite Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Home 64 / Windows 10 Home 64
I have the PX21 headset from Turtle Beach. There is a On/Off switch for the mic on that volume control box thing that's attached right on the headset wires. Switch it to off.

Now, if you're talking about certain programs you may be using, then I do believe it would be tied on to that program. For example, Ventrilo - I can set the program to only use the mic when I push a certain key or mouse button or I can have it always transmit my voice when it picks up sound from me.
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,156 (5.08/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
  1. Go to the Recording Tab.
  2. Click on the microphone for your headset to select it.
  3. Click on the properties button at the bottom.
  4. Go to the Listen Tab.
  5. Uncheck the box for "Listen to this device".

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,087 (0.27/day)
Location
Upstate NewYork
System Name no remorse
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.7 ht on
Motherboard gigabyte z68x-ud3p-b3
Cooling xspc rasa cpu block, bitspower restop, mcp355
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair vengance 1600 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 570 gtx
Storage 2x32 gb patriot ssd's in raid 0 (os & games) / 2 x 500gb barracuda (storage)
Display(s) 25 inch 1080p widescreen i-inc
Case cooler master haf x
Audio Device(s) turtle beach earforce px21 headset (usb)
Power Supply corsair HX850
Benchmark Scores super pi 1m : 7.160 sec. 34,837 3dmark06
  1. Go to the Recording Tab.
  2. Click on the microphone for your headset to select it.
  3. Click on the properties button at the bottom.
  4. Go to the Listen Tab.
  5. Uncheck the box for "Listen to this device".

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v296/newtekie1/turnoffmic.png
allready checked for that, it's not enabled.

I have the PX21 headset from Turtle Beach. There is a On/Off switch for the mic on that volume control box thing that's attached right on the headset wires. Switch it to off.

Now, if you're talking about certain programs you may be using, then I do believe it would be tied on to that program. For example, Ventrilo - I can set the program to only use the mic when I push a certain key or mouse button or I can have it always transmit my voice when it picks up sound from me.
if i turn the mic off it mutes it, making it useless in ventrillo.

what about under the recording tab and not the playback tab?
thats just for the mic transmitting properties.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,156 (5.08/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
From looking at the manual it seems like there should be two audio devices you should be looking at. You standard sound card that controls the main audio coming from the 3.5mm jack, and a second one that is the Turtle Beach USB device. Are you sure you are going into the right one to adjust that level? If you go into the standard sound card properties it won't show up.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,087 (0.27/day)
Location
Upstate NewYork
System Name no remorse
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.7 ht on
Motherboard gigabyte z68x-ud3p-b3
Cooling xspc rasa cpu block, bitspower restop, mcp355
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair vengance 1600 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 570 gtx
Storage 2x32 gb patriot ssd's in raid 0 (os & games) / 2 x 500gb barracuda (storage)
Display(s) 25 inch 1080p widescreen i-inc
Case cooler master haf x
Audio Device(s) turtle beach earforce px21 headset (usb)
Power Supply corsair HX850
Benchmark Scores super pi 1m : 7.160 sec. 34,837 3dmark06
no i have just the usb part plugged in didnt think that would matter, will try.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
1,087 (0.27/day)
Location
Upstate NewYork
System Name no remorse
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.7 ht on
Motherboard gigabyte z68x-ud3p-b3
Cooling xspc rasa cpu block, bitspower restop, mcp355
Memory 4 x 4gb corsair vengance 1600 8-8-8-24
Video Card(s) 570 gtx
Storage 2x32 gb patriot ssd's in raid 0 (os & games) / 2 x 500gb barracuda (storage)
Display(s) 25 inch 1080p widescreen i-inc
Case cooler master haf x
Audio Device(s) turtle beach earforce px21 headset (usb)
Power Supply corsair HX850
Benchmark Scores super pi 1m : 7.160 sec. 34,837 3dmark06
doesn't seem to change anything anywhere.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,309 (0.65/day)
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212X, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitor) | 3dfx Voodoo3 3000
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Toshiba 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) LG 24UD58-B @ 4k & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @ 1600x1200
Case Antec Three Hundred Two | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Realtek ALC898 (Headphones) | Sound Blaster AWE64
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Razer DeathAdder | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard Redragon K551-UK VARA | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro | Microsoft Windows 98SE
It's an issue with the headset itself, not Windows. Happens when I plug it into my TV for use with the XBox 360.
 
Top