• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

answer this...

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#1
well a tricky question my brothers pc have nice new effect well it slow motion on everything dvd, gaming even in unzip well the pc runs fine but in random times it just go slow for 2-3 sec then acts like nothing happened


the pc is
core 2 duo e6400
gigabyte 965 ps3 rev 3.3
2 gb ddr 667
evga 7950gx2
the psu is a hiper 530w
1 western digital sata 80 gb
2 western digital sata 250 gb
3 western digital sata 500 gb
1 dvd reader
1 dvd writer

p.s. yes my brother is the black sheep of the family he likes intel......
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
1,540 (0.35/day)
Likes
118
Location
Athens - Hellas
Processor C2D E7600
Motherboard GA EG41M ES2L
Memory 2GB ADATA 800MHZ
Video Card(s) ASUS HD4350
Storage OCZ VERTEX TURBO 32GB + 2 MORE..
Display(s) SM226BW
Audio Device(s) 7.1 HD / X-540
Software 7X86 ULT
#2
a thought is the lack of power..
6 hdds with a 7950 are hungry..
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#3
yeah, get a real PSU. xD

I bet this is happening when the system begins load... the CPU speeds up and everything jerks into action.
 

quickie

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
238 (0.06/day)
Likes
26
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @3.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P35-DS3L rev2.0
Cooling Xigamtek S1283, 2x Antec TriCool 120mm Case fans
Memory 2x2GB OCZ, DDR2-800
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon 3450 256mb
Storage WD 640GB AAKS; WD 500GB AAKS
Display(s) Dell 23" SP2309W
Case Sonata II
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 700W modded with Scythe SFF21e
#4
my money is on the psu too.

lack of power is probably causing the problem

btw, there's nothing wrong with liking intel :D
 

peach1971

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
652 (0.16/day)
Likes
46
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Phenom II X2 550 @3600MHz (VCore -0.05V)
Motherboard Gigabyte MA-780G-DS3H (AMD SB700), BIOS: 04/14/09
Cooling Scythe Samurai cooled by 2x Enermax Warp 80mm ~700 RPM
Memory 2x 1GB GeIL Ultra DDR2-800 @1066 CL4-5-5-15 2T
Video Card(s) MSI R4830 OC (HD4830)
Storage Samsung 400 GB S-ATA, WD 400GB S-ATA
Display(s) Samsung 2433BW 1920 x 1200 Pixel (16:10)
Case timeless office tower ;)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply be quiet! Straight Power BQT E7-400W
Software Windows XP Pro 32bit
#5
Last edited:

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#6
actually is 3 hdd is numerical 1 ,2 ,3,etc

but my guess is a psu







p.s sometimes it hang for no reason..... maybe the c2d hiccup effect?
 
Last edited:

peach1971

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
652 (0.16/day)
Likes
46
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Phenom II X2 550 @3600MHz (VCore -0.05V)
Motherboard Gigabyte MA-780G-DS3H (AMD SB700), BIOS: 04/14/09
Cooling Scythe Samurai cooled by 2x Enermax Warp 80mm ~700 RPM
Memory 2x 1GB GeIL Ultra DDR2-800 @1066 CL4-5-5-15 2T
Video Card(s) MSI R4830 OC (HD4830)
Storage Samsung 400 GB S-ATA, WD 400GB S-ATA
Display(s) Samsung 2433BW 1920 x 1200 Pixel (16:10)
Case timeless office tower ;)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply be quiet! Straight Power BQT E7-400W
Software Windows XP Pro 32bit
#7
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
538 (0.12/day)
Likes
31
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard ASUS RAMPAGE II Extreme
Cooling CM v10
Memory Corsair 3 x 2GB TR3X6G1866C9DF
Video Card(s) Nvidia XFX 8800GT Stock
Storage Seagate ST3500320AS, 2 x Samsung HD103UJ
Display(s) 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
#8
I am an AMD person but if i was to get a computer RIGHT now, I would get an Intel simply because they are better, and i agree with the rest get a bigger psu. btw thats a nice rig he has there
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#9
That result picture just goes to show you how much power two GPUs can pull.

With heavy OC voltages, C2d, single GTX, 1 HDD, 1 PCI E, 2 SDRAM sticks, a single pump internal LCS, single pump external LCS and DVD drive with nothing else you'd be looking at about 450-480 watts.


That result up above has not even half of that and is well over 500.
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.61/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#10
1. Bad OS installation
2. Bad HDD
3. Bad RAM

If it was a power issue the symptom would NOT be a slow down. Insufficient power or unstable voltage causes a reboot.
maybe the c2d hiccup effect?
No such thing exists. That calculator is complete and utter waste of time. It's clueless.
With heavy OC voltages, C2d, single GTX, 1 HDD, 1 PCI E, 2 SDRAM sticks, a single pump internal LCS, single pump external LCS and DVD drive with nothing else you'd be looking at about 450-480 watts.
You got some power hungry accesories since the main components would never go above 300W...
C2D @ 3.6GHz 1.5V -> 120W
8800GTX -> 140W
HDD -> 10W
2GB DDR2 -> 15W
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 12, 2006
Messages
3,252 (0.79/day)
Likes
146
Location
UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
Processor I7 7700k De-lid @ 5GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero IX
Cooling Custom dual 360 rad loops. Cpu monoblock, 295x2 full cover waterblock. Custom R9290x waterblock.
Memory 16Gb Team Xtream DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) 295X2 + R9290X
Storage SSD RAID array, dozen TB HDD's in RAID
Display(s) 27" BENQ XL2730Z 144hz 1440p, Samsung 27" 3D 1440p, QNIX 144p @ 100Hz overclocked
Case Thermaltake Core series
Power Supply 1.5Kw
Mouse RAT 7
Keyboard Ryos II MK Pro Mechanical
Software Windows 10 LTSB
#11
hook a multimeter up tp a rail and see for yourself. during heavy load keep an eye on your 12V rail etc, if it drops very low, psu cant take the load
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#12
well a tricky question my brothers pc have nice new effect well it slow motion on everything dvd, gaming even in unzip well the pc runs fine but in random times it just go slow for 2-3 sec then acts like nothing happened


the pc is
core 2 duo e6400
gigabyte 965 ps3 rev 3.3
2 gb ddr 667
evga 7950gx2
the psu is a hiper 530w
1 western digital sata 80 gb
2 western digital sata 250 gb
3 western digital sata 500 gb
1 dvd reader
1 dvd writer

p.s. yes my brother is the black sheep of the family he likes intel......
JMicron controller, by chance?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,374 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#13
Pertaining to the problem at hand largon may be right. However, the reason why a stick of ram, a hdd, etc. is not working correctly, may infact be due to the PSU not supplying sufficient power to those devices. Plus the GX2 sucks up a lot of power. So first, go with largon, check your memory, hdd's, etc with appropriate software (memtest, etc.). Personally I would replace the PSU with something a little better anyways, the system should have more than that Hiper 520 gives it.
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#14
first i want to thank you all for your comments,
well after some pc component stress test(the miss pac-man and space invanters is power hungry games for my brother)it might be a faulty sata cable ....


p.s. that was something i was never gonna believe well getting older is also getting wiser
p.s.2 the c2d hiccup does exist
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#15
p.s.2 the c2d hiccup does exist
I've got reason to believe it doesn't.

My c2duo has no hiccup. ;)

If theres a "repeatable" hiccup, it would affect all CPU's in which it most certainly does not.


Not to mention every dell laptop we use at work doesn't have any issue.

Though largon is right, that PSU calculator is a bit... extreme. :roll:
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.61/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#16
p.s.2 the c2d hiccup does exist
Oh well, I've only used three different C2D CPUs within the time it's been on the market so maybe I've been lucky enough to have never experience any "hickups" if you mean it's like stuttering or something alike.
What do you mean by it, btw?
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#17
c2d hickup does exist i have see it on a friends mac powerbook and sometimes on some c2d as a hickup i mean that when you alt-tab from a resource hog program it freeze for almost a sec thought i have see it on the amd x2 platform as well,
i hope phenom doesn't have it



p.s. it might be my idea but my friend with the mac also have noticing it.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#18
c2d hickup does exist i have see it on a friends mac powerbook and sometimes on some c2d as a hickup i mean that when you alt-tab from a resource hog program it freeze for almost a sec thought i have see it on the amd x2 platform as well,
i hope phenom doesn't have it



p.s. it might be my idea but my friend with the mac also have noticing it.
Any computer does that, as it tries to reallocate it's resources to a new task. It usually means it's getting into the page file. Solution = more ram.
 

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#19
c2d hickup does exist i have see it on a friends mac powerbook and sometimes on some c2d as a hickup i mean that when you alt-tab from a resource hog program it freeze for almost a sec thought i have see it on the amd x2 platform as well,
i hope phenom doesn't have it
ram maybe?

EDIT - God dammit, Wile E always beats me lmfao.
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#20
well i googlit and i find that there is some post about a c2d hiccups





p.s. maybe you are right it might be just relocate ram process
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#21
Largon quote:
"You got some power hungry accesories since the main components would never go above 300W...
C2D @ 3.6GHz 1.5V -> 120W
8800GTX -> 140W
HDD -> 10W
2GB DDR2 -> 15W"
/end

That's what the web program says. That's not what my results show me :0)

But either way, two cards = exceptional power draw.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#22

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#23
by the way if those two cards is a jack and a ace you are really have a good draw...





p.s. a cold joke for the hot weather never mind it just move along....
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,947 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#24
Did you set a pagefile or are you using dynamic?
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#25
well i googlit and i find that there is some post about a c2d hiccups
Other people calling something "core 2 duo hiccups" doesn't mean its a "bug" or "problem" in any way, 99% of forums are unofficial, and 99% are user error. ;)