• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Antec VP550w v2 less amperage than v1

Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,623 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,995
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#1
I'm seriously pissed right now, I bought an Antec VP550w v2 as a mid-term temporary replacement for my Fatal1ty 750w (loose lead connector) on Amazon and was shocked to find that instead of the dual +12v 30a rails that combine to 45a (540w) on the v1, it has the same dual +12v 30a rails that only combine to 444w, that's nearly a 100w difference for the same (albeit updated) model, and it's not widely advertised either I had to wait until I unboxed it today to find out.

Now I am seriously having doubts this will comfortably run my overclocked rig and have to go through the hassle of contacting Amazon and making a complaint as it wasn't even listed as the V2, bloody dodgy if you ask me trying to palm it off as the VP550p when it is the VP550p V2, makes you wonder what else they cut out and skimped on.

If I had wanted a bloody 450w PSU I would of bought an Corsair builder for less!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.27/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#2
Corsair is excellent value and quality especially the ones that are seasonic rebrand.
I bought my CX430 on sale for $30. I don't think anyone can pass that up. The thing that people should take note is that always have a PSU on hand. It makes diagnosing hardware problems so much easier and you won't be pissed off when your PSU takes a dump. Newegg and other sites have good PSUs on fire sales every couple months. It's always a good idea to have one on reserve.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,376 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#3
Do you mean the "BP" version? Only VP version I can find is 400 watts.

Do you think it may be possible that the V1 version's ratings weren't correct and they rebadged it V2 with correct specs?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,623 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,995
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#4
Do you mean the "BP" version? Only VP version I can find is 400 watts.

Do you think it may be possible that the V1 version's ratings weren't correct and they rebadged it V2 with correct specs?
No, VP550p, here is the product manual for VP550p http://www.antec.com/pdf/flyers/VP550P_EN.pdf it clearly states "+12V1-2 maximum combined output: 540W (45A)"

The version I have is VP550p V2 here: http://web.antec.com/pdf/manuals/VP550P_V2_manual_EN.pdf , you'll notice on this it shows dual +12v rails though conveniently doesn't mention the combined which I only found out after opening 37a
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.72/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#5
Well if its only temporary just run your rig at stock for the time being.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,623 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,995
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#6
It's not temporary as in a few weeks, possibly a few months as money is tight, though my OCZ Fatal1ty still works fine here is the issue, see the connector where the power lead goes in has come loose from the back of the unit? it seems to work fine as long as it doesn't get knocked but is making me nervous:

 
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
750 (0.41/day)
Likes
430
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
#7
What you have is VP550F, and the one with the 540W on 12V is the VP550P. Both the old one and the new one are made by Delta Electronics, the new one being based on a CAA-550AT/A platform (compare 80plus reports, Antec, Delta). I'm not sure about the P variant's base platform. Might even be a custom-order one.

I know none of this solves your problem, but this PSU just might do the trick for you, or you could insist on returning it and getting a refund, on account of the difference in model specifications not being clearly represented. Be advised, though, that the fact this is a VP550F and not a VP550P rev.2 certainly won't help with your complaint.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,623 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,995
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#8
What you have is VP550F, and the one with the 540W on 12V is the VP550P. Both the old one and the new one are made by Delta Electronics, the new one being based on a CAA-550AT/A platform (compare 80plus reports, Antec, Delta). I'm not sure about the P variant's base platform. Might even be a custom-order one.

I know none of this solves your problem, but this PSU just might do the trick for you, or you could insist on returning it and getting a refund, on account of the difference in model specifications not being clearly represented. Be advised, though, that the fact this is a VP550F and not a VP550P rev.2 certainly won't help with your complaint.
You are wrong, did you look at my links? both are VP550P only one is denoted V2 which is what I have. The fact it was advertised as a VP550P and the box also says it leads me to think these are correct and you're mistaken.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.72/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#9
It's not temporary as in a few weeks, possibly a few months as money is tight, though my OCZ Fatal1ty still works fine here is the issue, see the connector where the power lead goes in has come loose from the back of the unit? it seems to work fine as long as it doesn't get knocked but is making me nervous:

http://img.techpowerup.org/130128/IMAG0083.jpg
Just keep using your 750,the worst that could happen is your system will suddenly power down(if your working on any important projects,ect then use the 550).

EDIT:you can pour super glue around the edges and glue the thing back in.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,623 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,995
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#10
Just keep using your 750,the worst that could happen is your system will suddenly power down(if your working on any important projects,ect then use the 550).

EDIT:you can pour super glue around the edges and glue the thing back in.
A lot of people might jump on this statement butin all honestly this is what I have been doing up until now and it seems stable unless I knock/wiggle the connector, my only fear is if it does get knocked and blows it may well take other parts with it, and with a £100 mother board, £150 CPU, £250 GPU and £150 SSD amongst other things I really don't know if I can take that risk. That said I did dig out some superglue from t6he back of the cupboard earlier to do exactly as you said but it had leaked and dried up lol :laugh:
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.72/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#11
Maybe you can take it apart and take a picture of the inside so we can be sure that just super gluing it will be enough?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,623 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,995
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#12
Maybe you can take it apart and take a picture of the inside so we can be sure that just super gluing it will be enough?
Well it's still running my 2500k at 4.5ghz stable even when gaming, though I don't fancy opening it up and possibly cause more damage, I think the less I mess with it the better lol :laugh:
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.72/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#13
Well it's still running my 2500k at 4.5ghz stable even when gaming, though I don't fancy opening it up and possibly cause more damage, I think the less I mess with it the better lol :laugh:
Well its really simple to open up a PSU but its not a big deal if you dont want to,im pretty sure it will run fine,you should see about securing that inlet though.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#14
I would take the 750w apart and check there is nothing loose inside it apart from the mains socket. If its just the socket that's loose and the wires are intact I would just epoxy glue it back in place and keep using it.

There are usually only 4x screws holding a power supply together and they are usually pretty open inside just make sure you drain the capacitors first by powering on the computer without the mains lead in it ( you will usually hear a click) before you take it out.

A decent 500w psu will run any CPU and single graphics card no matter how far it's overclocked. My antec 500w ran my x6 and hd4870x2 without issues and that card sucks down nearly 300w alone