1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Any downside to using a x3 Xeon processor instead of q9?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by boe, Mar 27, 2008.

  1. boe

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is there a difference between the xeon x3 and the regular Q9550 as far as motherboard or memory compatability? I'm thinking of getting Gigabyte GA-X48T-DQ6. I can't find the Q9550 anywhere so I was thinking of getting the x3360.

    Thanks
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    741 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Australia
    That will work no worries:)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. boe

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks - I don't mean to seem like a jerk but are you 100% sure that CPU will work with that motherboard?

    Thanks for your help.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,508 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,120
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    xeons are actually better chips than the core 2's.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    34,046 (9.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,393
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No SSE4.1 instruction sets with the Xeon X3xxx
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. boe

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    34,046 (9.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,393
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    SSE4 brings with it a set of SIMD instructions. 3D API's such as Direct3D, future versions of Adobe Photoshop and several scientific applications keep close association with the SSE instruction sets and update each time a new set comes out. SSE in lay-man terms, 'speeds-up' math processing many fold. Game engines utilise processor instruction sets for their computation and their developers ensure they're up-to-date. For example, the Doom 3 engine could utilise SSE3 which was very new at the time when Doom 3 came out. The fact that you don't have a certain set doesn't mean the game engine won't work, just that it wont benefit from faster math processing. For example, Doom 3 on a AMD K7 will utilise only SSE and MMX for SIMD processing (because SSE2, SSE3 aren't there on K7).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)