• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Any issues with this RAM?

Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,975 (2.25/day)
Likes
3,926
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Power Color RD Vega 64 Reference
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G710 Blue / G610 Orion Red
Software Win 7 Pro
#2
any issues with my current specs? thanks.
Based on the fact that you don't have specs listed, it should work just fine. ;)
 

jsabo

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965BE
Motherboard Biostar 890FXE
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8 gig
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 670
Case Thermaltake A90
Power Supply Thermaltake BW 850w
#3
whoops, forgot to set show specs to "yes"
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#4
Hi

This RAM kit [Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory (CMZ16GX3M2A1600C10)] *may not work as intended due to motherboard restrictions; according to the manual DDR3 slot A1,B1,A2 & B2 only support 4Gb memory modules

Manual

Source - http://www.biostar-usa.com/app/en-us/mb/introduction.php?S_ID=482#dl

Note: only one 4Gb memory kit was tested at Biostar [TEAM TED34096M1333C9]

Source - http://www.biostar-usa.com/app/en-us/mb/introduction.php?S_ID=482#memory

although this list was not exhaustive [*"This is not a full listing but a memory guide used for testing"] looking at the motherboard bios updates, Biostar do not appear to have updated memory compatibility at this time *and or if possible.

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,975 (2.25/day)
Likes
3,926
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Power Color RD Vega 64 Reference
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G710 Blue / G610 Orion Red
Software Win 7 Pro
#5
whoops, forgot to set show specs to "yes"
It should work fine, your board says it supports 4 DIMM supported DDR3-1800(OC)/1600(OC)/1333/1066, the 1.5v for the memory is the DDR3 standard.

Perhaps someone with an AMD system can chime in too.

Edit: Law-II is da man.

Edit2: Support Dual Channel DDR3 1800(OC)/1600(OC)/1333/1066/800 MHz
4 x DDR3 DIMM Memory Slot
Max. Supports up to 16GB Memory <- this, meaning you may need to get 4x4GB to use the total 16GB MB capacity.
 

jsabo

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965BE
Motherboard Biostar 890FXE
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8 gig
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 670
Case Thermaltake A90
Power Supply Thermaltake BW 850w
#6
so my mobo maxes out at 8 gb at 2 sticks of 4 gigs? confirm please? i think im misunderstanding (noob here). right now have 2 sticks @ 2 gigs each, going for 2 sticks at 8 gigs each. two of my ram slots are blocked, only two are open.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,892 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#8
Hi -PM sent

Corsair Vengeance 8 GB ( 2 x 4 GB ) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800) 240-Pin DDR3 Memory Kit for Core i3, i5, i7 and Platforms SDRAM CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 should work fine; looking at the settings for the motherboard bios; there is enough room to tweak the memory timings if required

nb: you will not see a large drop in performance with 8Gb over 16Gb and may get better OC in general if desired

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited: