1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Any way to manually change CPU fan speed?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Casheti, Nov 22, 2006.

  1. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I've tried loads of fan software but none of it works. I really HATE this auto fan speed control crap, I want it running max speed. Is there anything I can do??
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. ATIonion New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,015 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    maybe you could plug the fan into your psu instead of your mobo...then if your mobo requires a fan to be running before you can boot, then just hook up an old fan to it and place it somewhere that doesnt really need any airflow....:rockout: .
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    How can I plug a cpu fan into a psu??
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. randomperson21

    randomperson21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,534 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    its 3-pin, right? you could get a 4pin molex to 3 pin adapter.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. p-jack New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    334 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arheilgen
    you´ve also tried SpeedFan i assume? works fine for me...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I've tried lots of things. Speedfan doesn't work
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    [​IMG]

    Mine looks like that....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,405 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    you have to edit the settings in the bios to change fan speed for intel boards.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Get something like this, plug it into one of the 4 pin connectors from the PSU and plug the fan into that. Your BIOS might complain about the CPU fan missing then though, so do what was mentioned above and plug a spare fan into that... Like ktr says you might be able to use your bios to change the speed anyway.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    LMFAO!! ME??? BIOS??? WITH THIS BOARD?? EDIT?? ROFLMAO!! Every single f*cking setting on this board is locked...but yeah I'll try and get one of those. Thanks :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,405 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    hardware monitor is usually unlocked...

    jim... you want the this one instead...

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Hardware monitor is pretty much it. Can't change anything....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,338 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Can you not go into the bios and set the quiet cpu fan mode to disabled? you can tell the bios to keep the cpu @ lowest temp pos, thus making fan run fast! It makes no diffence to me now as ive gone water cooling! :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Nope. As I said before everything in BIOS is locked down...I think I'll get two of those 3 pin converters as well for my case fans :D

    Put the side on, GPU Idle went from 34*C to 39*C and rising...only been on a few minutes...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,338 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    That will allow his fan/s to run @ 5v not 12v like he wants, flat out!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Shit...what can I do then?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    ANNOUNCEMENT!! GPU hit 40*C!! STILL RISING!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. aximbigfan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    848 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    a 4 pi nfan connector is uses pwm (pules with modualtion)... i man ot sure if you can jst plug a pwm fan into a psu liek you can with a old 3 pin fan...


    chris
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,338 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Wire them manually into the 12v rail, bit of electrical tape n bob's your uncle, cheapest way aswel!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I can't do that!! How in God's name could I do anything to do with power. I'm power n00b!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    YAY GPU HIT 41*C STILL RISING :eek: All because of a fucking side panel...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,338 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Well I suggest you leave the cpu hsf alone as it is 4 wired!

    The case fans is another matter, as they have 3 wires red, black and yellow! just worry about the red and black, red being the + black - On a molex connector you have yellow - black - black - red, yellow being the 12v and red the 5v! aslong as you connect red on fan to yellow on molex and black to black you will be good to go!

    You just have to beable to strip a few cable n connect them n rap em back up, bit of a bodge but does the job and is cheap as chips!

    :cool:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Any pics??
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
  25. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    FUCKING PIECE OF SHIT WITH SIDE PANEL ON CPU JUMPED UP 11*C...:banghead: :banghead: :banghead: :mad: :mad: :mad: :banghead: :banghead: :shadedshu :shadedshu :shadedshu :cry: :cry: :cry: :banghead: :banghead:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)