1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Any way to play games without CD?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Azn Tr14dZ, Oct 7, 2006.

  1. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,289 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Well, is there anyway to play games without having to put the CD in the drive?

    So far, the only games that I have that don't use CDs are Steam games (All CS and DoD and HL), GuildWars, and City of Heroes. Besides those, and a few other MMORPGs, everything else needs the CD, like Oblivion, CoD2, FarCry etc. Is there a (Free) software that will let me play games without the CD?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Use Cracks you can download them here http://gamecopyworld.com/ then replace the game launcher with the crack.

    If you own the games it's not illegal so...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,358 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seattle
    I prefer the mini-disc images, usually better compatibility (and no potential sneaky code in the exe)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,289 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    And how do I do these things?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,066 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    NoCD cracks are easy and fun! After downloading the proper EXE matching your game version (for example, the Halo 1.07 EXE should be downloaded to patch Halo 1.07). It will come in a .rar or a .zip archieve. Assuming you have WinRAR, unRAR to the main games program folder (like I would do C:/Program Files/ Microsoft Games/ Halo). If you did it right, it should prompt you to overwrite your current game files (it would ask me if it should overwrite Halo.exe). Say yes, and then it will overwrite your EXE with the noCD cracked one. Any and all shortcuts to the game should work, and without a CD :).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    For the crack, you down it then open it's folder and you'll see a laucher just like the one of the game you copy that launcher into the game directory and when you're asked if you want to replace the cracked launcher with the original you say yes, done.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Damn you beat me to it Zek :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Singapore
    Use Emulator like Daemon Tools / PowerISO. Then download a image file from Gamecopyworld. Use the emulator to MOUNT those fake images. By doing so will bypass the "Cannot find CD" problem. This leaves the .exe original and does not give you the hassale to have a copy of it. Also allow you to update without any problems on offical patches.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,541 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Location:
    City 17, California, U.S.A.
    I use Gamejackal standard edition. (It was the only version available when I purchased) It works great for me. It runs everygame I try. I use it mostly for BF2. The only complaint is after some of the BF2 patches I had to re-do the game image, but really no big deal. They have updates for it often so you know they support it. I would say dl the trial version and give it a try. To me the $10 was worth it, but now I see they offer a lifetime upgradeable PRO Edition. I would say if you were going to buy it get the PRO Edition.
    If you try it, let us know what you think.
    http://www.gamejackal.com/home.asp

    I know this isn't a free program, but I think it's worth it for only $10 to $18.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Singapore
    Use a cd-mounting emulator is better as you only need an image mounted. The original files that runs your games would be left untouched. Who would want a messed up game with so many files that simply makes you stress. And oh its for free for both Daemon and PowerISO. You wont even have to pay a single cent.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,838 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston
    you can make your own iso using alcohol 120%, which is what i like to use for that and mounting the images
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,651 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Make sure you scan these files with a virus scanner. Many of them are infected, and can creat a bunch of fun problems.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,066 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Me neither it's reliable ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Singapore
    The lucky thread it receive my 200post. Lol......anyway its so much safer to download an image file rather then exe. Exe are so dangerous that you might be running virus if you're not careful. Being an image file there's no way to execute the file nor have extensions that will lead to it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Yeah but those exe are way easier to work with and then again http://gamecopyworld.com/ is realiable i've never got a virus from there and i have many games cracked...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Singapore
    And updating would be a hassle if you didn't back up the original exe as most updates usually find the exe to check the version before updating.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Eh... I don't care about the updates i just wanna play the damn game :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,289 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    So...can someone help me in doing this? I just went to GameCopyWorld.com, and it seems legal to me. But I don't know what to download and what to do period.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,501 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    To the right, click H for halo, and then find the 1.07 hacked exe.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. b1lk1

    b1lk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    688 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,289 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    But you have to pay $...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,153 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Go to to gamecopyworld.com search the game exe you want down it and... we've already told you :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,289 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Which one do I DL for TES IV: Oblivion?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    950
    megagames.com, fixes section. I have always had good luck with them. I love this forum, I got banned for talking about this issue at planet doom.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)