1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone else getting freaky issues with Nvidia lately?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Recon-UK, Sep 19, 2016.

  1. Recon-UK

    Recon-UK

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,894 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    I'm on the latest driver and noticed that my game will freeze then go to desktop for a split second then go back to the game.
    This happened in the Unigine Valley bench too.
     
    ...PACMAN... says thanks.
  2. alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,505 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,294
    Nope. Haven't run into any sort of issues at all.

    Granted, the only game I've been playing as of late has been God Eater 2.
     
    GreiverBlade and Recon-UK say thanks.
  3. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,678 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Texas
    Only issues I have been having is what seems to be a slow response time for some random assortment of games to start loading up. League of Legends is a primary example for me as for some odd reasons takes forever now to start up where as on my 290X its instant. Granted maybe its something else I am not seeing but I noticed putting one 290X back in my system and using it instead League of Legends is instant on startup (For an actual game, not the client). Other than that everything has been perfect and Doom was instant over the weekend in loading and working fine.
     
    Recon-UK says thanks.
  4. Kanan

    Kanan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,815 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,522
    Location:
    Europe
    Kepler is old that's most certainly the problem because nvidia isn't supporting it with all their effort anymore. Maybe try another (older) driver or reinstall, that should solve it.

    Could also simply be your gpu but I wouldn't go so far yet.

    Ps: my card works flawlessly atm. I have newest drivers installed.
     
    Recon-UK says thanks.
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,431 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,800
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    That sounds like the driver crashed and reset.
     
    Recon-UK says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,530 (4.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,267
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    No, not seen this. The only thing I've seen is CoD: Advanced Warfare refuse to switch back to the desktop, or glitch on trying to do so, but I think that this is a problem with the game rather an AMD or NVIDIA problem.
     
  7. Recon-UK

    Recon-UK

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,894 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    I uninstalled it and allow3ed Windows 10 to update to a recommended driver and it's working a lot better, i am on 353 which is seemingly better performing for my card so i am happy with that.
     
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,431 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,800
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    My youngest daughter and my oldest son are both using GTX670 on that same driver and neither reports any issues. My son plays popular games, my daughter tends to paly indie stuff. But who knows, could be just a problem with the driver you had previously, but it could also be an indicator of your system not being fully stable. I'm interested to see what you think in a week or two from now. ;)
     
    Recon-UK says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    679 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    737
    Just like to report I have seen the exact same issue on Windows 10 anniversary and the latest drivers with my ancient card and certain games...not all. Once I go back into game though it stays in and gpu clocks are still the same/full speed.
     
    AsRock and Recon-UK say thanks.
  10. xorbe

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,634 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    559
    Sorry to say, but this sounds like a TDR -- is your gfx card an "OC" model? Are you overclocking?
     
  11. Recon-UK

    Recon-UK

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,894 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Well the card will OC it's self anyway.. it's an SC EVGA model...

    It's not a stability problem as it was a recent thing in one or two games and that Valley bench.
     
  12. xorbe

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,634 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    559
    The first stage is denial ...
     
  13. Recon-UK

    Recon-UK

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,894 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Well ok i can see the bait, i'm not biting.

    I'm a shark i rip bait and human apart.
     
    RealNeil says thanks.
  14. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    679 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    737
    Did you guys even see my post? Post #9 same issues with the same gen of card. Rolling back to older drivers I don't come across this issue.
     
    rtwjunkie and Recon-UK say thanks.
  15. Recon-UK

    Recon-UK

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,894 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Thanks for reporting your experience this kinda cements the issue home now.

    Seems Kepler is getting it's ass raped by driver updates :(
     
    rtwjunkie and ...PACMAN... say thanks.
  16. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    679 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    737
    Yeh but I'm not going to moan, it's to be expected with tech. These cards are several years old now :) Looking forward to a nice new beefy system by the end of the year.
     
    Recon-UK says thanks.
  17. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,530 (4.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,267
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    It's quite possible that this is an issue with newer drivers not supporting older cards and/or games properly.

    I remember when SLI was broken for DX8 games, resulting in some unplayably awful stuttering. Only turning SLI off in the 3D settings still left a residual stutter. No, I had to laboriously turn off SLI completely to remove the stutter. Infuriating. :banghead:

    It eventually got fixed after about 6 months or so, when NVIDIA felt like it, bless. DX9 and later games didn't have this problem.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2016
    rtwjunkie, ...PACMAN... and Recon-UK say thanks.
  18. SomeOne99h

    SomeOne99h

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    119 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    I don't know, but what if the newest driver make the card draw a little bit more power than the previous one which then you would get this issue because your powersupply is starting to fail. Or maybe it is the RAM in which the newest driver could trigger it?

    Myabe PACMAN has another problem different from yours since cadaveca says his family who have the same video cards don't have the problem.
     
  19. Vayra86

    Vayra86

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    3,105 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,551
    Location:
    Duiven, Netherlands
    No problems here, on Kepler v2 / 780ti. Still updating to newer drivers occasionally, I rarely miss one.
     
    rtwjunkie says thanks.
  20. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,327 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,337
    Location:
    Houston
    I have had issues with 368/372 no recognizing 1060/70/80's on install. Almost every other card seemed to have issues.
     
    Recon-UK says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. FYFI13

    FYFI13

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    749 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    588
    Location:
    Ireland
    On PCs running Windows 10 - yes, on Windows 7 - nope. Different systems though.
     
    Recon-UK says thanks.
  22. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    7,107 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,397
    I've actually seen this on my Titan X. Infrequently but I have seen it.
     
    Recon-UK says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,052 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Europe\Slovenia
    I've learned that Windows 10 stupid "Xbox" app is causing problems with performance because of DVR function. Launch the Xbox app and disable DVR feature. That solved one huge issue I had with CS:GO that used to run like crap for no reason.
     
    rtwjunkie and Recon-UK say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,678 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Texas
    Funny enough I don't know if the Windows 10 update fixed it or if there another update I didn't notice but the problems I mentioned earlier are completely gone for me so I no longer have any issues on my end (League of Legends is now instant instead of taking an extra 10-20 seconds to start loading). Don't know what fixed it again but hey I can't complain.
     
    rtwjunkie and Recon-UK say thanks.
  25. SomeOne99h

    SomeOne99h

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    119 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    (I know it got fixed for you Ghost). I would try disabling "Shader Cache" to troubleshoot for that issue that you got fixed. Maybe Windows 10 had a problem with that feature.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)