• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Anyone having any issues with the 12.1 drivers?

Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
678 (0.17/day)
Likes
191
Processor i7 4790k @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
Cooling Raystorm, D5 Vario, 480 x2 Rads, EK blocks
Memory 16gb G.Skill DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 FE SLI @2k core 8k mem
Storage Crucial M4 256gb, Samsung EVO 250gb, Mushkin Reactor 1TB, Seagate 3TB, WD Red 6TB x2
Display(s) Acer xb270hu 144hz 2560x1440
Case Enthoo Primo
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Halo --> Yamaha Vx375 --> ATHW1000x/Energy 5.1
Power Supply EVGA 1300w G2
Mouse Logitech g400
Keyboard Tesoro Ultimate
Software W7 64 bit
#26
Spaceman Spiff, I too have an undying love for FreeSpace and I curse Interplay for letting it die almost as hard as I curse Fox for letting Firefly die.

Actually, that's not true. Nothing will ever top my rage over Firefly...

But reading this quote and checking your specs got me thinking. Are you using CrossFire with FSO?? My understanding is the OpenGL MediaVPs (or just OpenGL in general) doesn't play nice with CFX because whenever I launched the game or a mod I get to the Main Menu just fine, but whenever I click on the Tech Room which loads the render of the Ulysses, the game crashes even though the Microsoft Anna narration of the Ulysses description continues in the background until I End Task. I disable CFX and repeat the above however, and the game renders perfectly. I'm up to date with the 3.6.12 VPs, and it doesn't matter if I'm launching FS2 or mods like Blue Planet.

So are you saying you've found a way to play FSO with CFX and 11.9s, but not with 12.1s? Or are you saying you too have CFX disabled but even then, 12.1s crash your FSO while 11.9s don't?

I'd be very interested in either answer since I'm playing FSO fine, with CFX Off, and 12.2 previews. So either you can help me get CFX working in FSO, or I can help you get 12.Xs working.
Hmm... As far as I know, CFX was working properly with 11.9's and FSO but I never did check GPU usage, but with 12.1's I have almost the same problem as you. I can load into the menu but when I try to start a campaign I get a black screen and have to end the process. I have not tried 12.1's with only 1 gpu enabled though. I will do some testing, though it will have to be tomorrow evening and get back to you.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
229 (0.09/day)
Likes
44
Location
Toronto, ON
System Name The Sovereign's Prince
Processor i5 6600K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Hero
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290X DirectCU II OC
Storage SanDisk Extreme Pro 480GB, Intel 730 480GB, 2 x 3TB WD Red in RAID 1, 2 x 4TB WD Green in RAID 1
Display(s) BenQ V2400W 24" 16:10 1920*1200 LCD (Review/Pics @ http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1315565)
Case Fractal Define R5 Windowless
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Siberia 800, Asus Xonar Essense STX
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X6
Software Win10 Pro x64
#27
Hmm... As far as I know, CFX was working properly with 11.9's and FSO but I never did check GPU usage, but with 12.1's I have almost the same problem as you. I can load into the menu but when I try to start a campaign I get a black screen and have to end the process. I have not tried 12.1's with only 1 gpu enabled though. I will do some testing, though it will have to be tomorrow evening and get back to you.
Okay, I'll hunt for a download link to 11.9 and try running them with FSO in CFX on my end. Looking forward to your results.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
678 (0.17/day)
Likes
191
Processor i7 4790k @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
Cooling Raystorm, D5 Vario, 480 x2 Rads, EK blocks
Memory 16gb G.Skill DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 FE SLI @2k core 8k mem
Storage Crucial M4 256gb, Samsung EVO 250gb, Mushkin Reactor 1TB, Seagate 3TB, WD Red 6TB x2
Display(s) Acer xb270hu 144hz 2560x1440
Case Enthoo Primo
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Halo --> Yamaha Vx375 --> ATHW1000x/Energy 5.1
Power Supply EVGA 1300w G2
Mouse Logitech g400
Keyboard Tesoro Ultimate
Software W7 64 bit
#28
12.1's work with only 1 GPU enabled just like yours. I'm downloading 11.9s but Im on my cell phone internet and its taking a while. Ill have results tomorrow.

Thought I had 11.9s already stored but I had 10.9s from my 4890 days...
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2009
Messages
267 (0.09/day)
Likes
100
Location
Bolton, England.
System Name Zeus
Processor I7 4790K Devil Canyon
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII HERO
Cooling Corsair water for CPU
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengance 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 1080 Gainward GLH Gold Sample.
Storage Samsung Evo 850 - 500G + data drives
Display(s) 27" illyama G2773HS 120hz 1ms - HTC VIVE - LG OLED 55B6V TV :)
Case Chenbro Gaming Bomb2
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Yamaha cinema amp v657rx + Samson Meteor Desk Mic
Power Supply EVGA 750W Defender
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Roccat Rykos MK Pro K/B loosing LED's every day, replaced them all.. :)
Software windows 10 ultimate x64
#29
usin 4870x2 with 11.12, i did install 12.1 and had endless problems with BF3 and windows, freezes and messed up displays, so i put 11.12 back on and it all went away..
 

AndrewBUD

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2012
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
System Name Reefer Monster
Processor AMD Phenom 2 1090T @ 4ghz..
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Modded CoolIt Freezone
Memory 8gb Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Crossfire MSI 5850 OC 1gb
Storage Two Patriot Pyro 60gb Raid0 + 2TB Western Digital
Display(s) BenQ BL2400PU VA Panel
Case Thermaltake SopranoRS
Audio Device(s) onboard X-Fi
Power Supply Corsair HX650
Benchmark Scores Vantage P27383 3DMarks http://3dmark.com/3dmv/3876780
#30
12.1 drivers gave me horrible performance in CFX...... Lots of issues with playing video on LCD TV via HDMI

I have been using the 12.2 Preview drivers without any problem... Improved performance playing some newer titles....
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
678 (0.17/day)
Likes
191
Processor i7 4790k @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
Cooling Raystorm, D5 Vario, 480 x2 Rads, EK blocks
Memory 16gb G.Skill DDR3 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 FE SLI @2k core 8k mem
Storage Crucial M4 256gb, Samsung EVO 250gb, Mushkin Reactor 1TB, Seagate 3TB, WD Red 6TB x2
Display(s) Acer xb270hu 144hz 2560x1440
Case Enthoo Primo
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Halo --> Yamaha Vx375 --> ATHW1000x/Energy 5.1
Power Supply EVGA 1300w G2
Mouse Logitech g400
Keyboard Tesoro Ultimate
Software W7 64 bit
#31
11.9s allow me to play FSO with cfx enabled but I only get usage on my primary GPU. Tried 11.9cap4s and 12.1cap2s both the same thing. I'm also using a 120hz monitor and if I set it to 60 Hz I get noticeable stutter in FSO even with vsync locked at 60hz. When using 120hz its smooth as butter with no stutter.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2009
Messages
267 (0.09/day)
Likes
100
Location
Bolton, England.
System Name Zeus
Processor I7 4790K Devil Canyon
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII HERO
Cooling Corsair water for CPU
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengance 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 1080 Gainward GLH Gold Sample.
Storage Samsung Evo 850 - 500G + data drives
Display(s) 27" illyama G2773HS 120hz 1ms - HTC VIVE - LG OLED 55B6V TV :)
Case Chenbro Gaming Bomb2
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Yamaha cinema amp v657rx + Samson Meteor Desk Mic
Power Supply EVGA 750W Defender
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Roccat Rykos MK Pro K/B loosing LED's every day, replaced them all.. :)
Software windows 10 ultimate x64
#32
smooth as butter with no stutter.

Like it... ;)
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,475 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,025
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#33
usin 4870x2 with 11.12, i did install 12.1 and had endless problems with BF3 and windows, freezes and messed up displays, so i put 11.12 back on and it all went away..
I dont have any issues in windows with the latest drivers, TBH there the best ive had in windows so far and i dont have BF3.

What other games have you tried and had issues with?
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
1,498 (0.53/day)
Likes
481
Location
canada
System Name INTEL/AMD
Processor I7 4790k stock / 1100T@3.8GHZ(on air)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GAMING 5 / GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 / zalmen 9900
Memory 4x4 GB 1600 / 4x4gb 1600
Video Card(s) GTX670 x2 / ATI 5870 x2
Storage 2xcorsair ssd 120gb raid0 /2x adata ssd 120gb
Display(s) 55Iinch LCD / 22inch acer
Case CM 690 II Advanced (USB 3) / Anteck 900
Power Supply Enermax 800EWT / 750 zalman
Software Win 10
#34
This 12.1 driver makes me BSOD and i think it may have caused my power unit to give out but cant be shure. rando system locks in xfire mid game iv seen my cards lock up and display a shrunken image of the game i was playing but the colours are all messed up. system wont crash it just locks up. running 2x 5870 2 gb eyefinity 6 cards.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
1,190 (0.44/day)
Likes
312
System Name Titan
Processor AMD FX-8350 4.6ghz
Motherboard AsRock 990FX Fatal1ty Professional
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7970 3gb
Storage Western Digital Green 2TB 64mb Cache/ Western Digital 500gb
Display(s) iMac Display 2560 x 1440
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#35
12.1 w/ CAP2 running like butter on my 2x 6950s 2gb.

Games like BF3 completely maxed, metro 2033, witcher 2....etc all running super smooth and no crashes.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,606 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,282
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#36
This 12.1 driver makes me BSOD and i think it may have caused my power unit to give out but cant be shure. rando system locks in xfire mid game iv seen my cards lock up and display a shrunken image of the game i was playing but the colours are all messed up. system wont crash it just locks up. running 2x 5870 2 gb eyefinity 6 cards.
I would try re-installing...maybe run a clean up in between install with like drivercleaner.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2011
Messages
229 (0.09/day)
Likes
44
Location
Toronto, ON
System Name The Sovereign's Prince
Processor i5 6600K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Hero
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290X DirectCU II OC
Storage SanDisk Extreme Pro 480GB, Intel 730 480GB, 2 x 3TB WD Red in RAID 1, 2 x 4TB WD Green in RAID 1
Display(s) BenQ V2400W 24" 16:10 1920*1200 LCD (Review/Pics @ http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1315565)
Case Fractal Define R5 Windowless
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Siberia 800, Asus Xonar Essense STX
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X6
Software Win10 Pro x64
#37
11.9s allow me to play FSO with cfx enabled but I only get usage on my primary GPU. Tried 11.9cap4s and 12.1cap2s both the same thing. I'm also using a 120hz monitor and if I set it to 60 Hz I get noticeable stutter in FSO even with vsync locked at 60hz. When using 120hz its smooth as butter with no stutter.
Hey Spaceman Spiff, sorry for the much delayed reply; had some life stuff to take care of.

But yes, I can confirm as I tried myself a few hours ago. 11.9 catalysts render FSO just fine in CFX with no change whatsoever in the drivers post-installation - even with just the primary GPU showing usage.

12.2 pre-certified drivers however crash FSO upon heading into the Tech Room to trigger a craft render. I know we were testing against 12.1/12.2 previews, but since the pre-certified drivers came out (which are apparently showing as 12.3 in Afterburner) I figured why not.

A few followup notes:

  • Upon installing 11.9s, I first tried running Blue Planet without installing the CAPs (12.1 #3), and then installed the CAPs, rebooted, and ran vanilla FS2 with MediaVPs 3.6.12. Both rendered without issue.
  • Neither the CAPless nor CAPped experiments worked with 12.2 Pre-certs.

My best guess as to the discrepancy is that OpenGL update that was integrated into an 11.N Catalyst sometime last year. I don't remember the specific version where it was updated, but it seems to be the only connection between a Catalyst that can do FSO just fine versus one 4 months later that can't.

Thanks for your assistance with this. I guess I'll just have to manually disable CFX whenever I want to fly FSO. The custom application profiles don't appear to work for me, even when I know I've set them properly...
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
742 (0.32/day)
Likes
331
Location
At the Pub
System Name Kaby Doll
Processor i5 7600K W.C.
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic W.C.
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli W.C.
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#38
No issues 4 me(yet). Flashed cards lovin it.
 

Belalim

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#39
Is this normal that one card "downclocks" by it self?

Ups wasnt suppose to reply in this thread;) Sorry

But any help/advice would appreaciated.

Again sorry for "stealing" the thread.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
1,453 (0.51/day)
Likes
227
System Name 2K Gamer
Processor AMD 8370 @ 4.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Pro Gaming / Aura 970
Cooling Corsair H60 AIO
Memory 16GB G. Skill RipJaw @ 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac AMP! GTX 1070
Storage Samsung 600 Gig HDD (Raid 0 @ 7,500) / WD 1TB Blue @ 7,200 / PNY 128 GB SSD For Linux
Display(s) 27'' ASUS 144MHZ G-SYNC Read 1400p Gaming Monitor / 23'' LG LCD Flatron W2361VG 1080p @ 50,000:1
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1 HD Realtek
Power Supply 750w Corsair HX
Mouse Cougar Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Saitek Eclipse
Software Windows 10 64bit Education Edition
#40
Is this normal that one card "downclocks" by it self?

Ups wasnt suppose to reply in this thread;) Sorry

But any help/advice would appreaciated.

Again sorry for "stealing" the thread.
It's a bug, some of peoples clocks read 150/1250 when in idle, why you think there hasn't been an official release yet? too much bugs! :banghead:
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#41
12.1s gave me issues for awhile, or so I thought, but have cleared up of late. Think was related to GPU OC.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#42
Not a problem at all with them. Work great. Best ones yet.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
432 (0.12/day)
Likes
16
Processor i7 3820 4.5ghz
Motherboard asus x79 deluxe
Cooling silver arrow
Memory 8gb ripjaw
Video Card(s) EVGA 970 Super clock
Storage 1tb F3 +500gb sata ii 64gb ssd
Display(s) 28" LCD 1900x1200
Case HAF932
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#43
i dunno if its driver issues or what, but before driver update and previous bf3 patch i had no problems playing, i play on medium settings with avg of 70 fps, nowwww its the same fps with random fps drops, ill be flying a jet and all of a sudden watch fps crash to 12..no pun intended about crashing. crossfire enabled or disabled doesnt seem to help or hurt the random fps drops. also my computer hangs after the round ends im not sure if thats a punk buster thing or what its about a 30% chance the map will load without crashing the game.